Which HDMI cable do i need to buy from Monoprice? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 08-10-2012, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey guys, i haven't been to monoprice since my last HT Upgrade, well im going the 3D Route so im going to upgrade my HDMI Cables to HDMI 1.4, now can someone please post the Link to the Cable on Monoprice.com that i should get?

I mean i found this : http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10240&cs_id=1024008&p_id=3992&seq=1&format=2

is that the one?

Now the cables are going to be used between the Onkyo 818 and the Samsung LED LCD, I dont need the HDMI Cables with ethernet right?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
::
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lamonsasa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 08-10-2012, 04:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
pukemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Any high speed HDMI cable will be fine. If you use any adapters, I recommend spending the extra couple bucks for silver lined cables. Made a difference for the occasional dropouts I had from my laptop and adapters I had on both ends. Otherwise unnecessary and the high speed cables will do all video fine.

butter and jelly please.
pukemon is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 08-10-2012, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i spoke to the Monoprice Tech support and he told me that if im going to use the HDMI cable with a AV Receiver that its better to get the 24 AWG instead of the cheaper 28AWG, should i get that instead of the 28 awg or it doesnt matter?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
::
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lamonsasa is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 08-10-2012, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,735
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 301
As long as it's high speed, the gauge doesn't matter. I have quite a few 28 gauge cables and they work great with HD. If you looking to get longer than 10 feet, go with 24 gauge.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is online now  
post #5 of 21 Old 08-10-2012, 06:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,454
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 1505
The current cables that you're using now should work just fine. If you need more, then 28 gauge will work as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #6 of 21 Old 08-10-2012, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What do you mean? the current cables that i have now are v1.3 hdmi cables which dont support 3D, im buying a 3D TV so thats why i need new cables, you're saying i should just save money and get the cheaper HDMI Cable without the Jacket right?

the guy at Monoprice told me that if im connecting the cables to the av receiver i should get the 24 AWG cable and not the 28 AWG, he was just trying to sell me more expensive cables right?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
::
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lamonsasa is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 08-10-2012, 06:21 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,454
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 1505
A cable is a cable .. the HDMI spec applies to the device, not the cable. If you have "High Speed" HDMI 1.3 cables that can pass 1080p video then they will also work with 3D 1080p video as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8 of 21 Old 08-10-2012, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was under the impress that 3D can only be used with HDMI 1.4 cable? HDMI 1.3 doesn't have the channel in the cable to pass 3D,

So should i just get this cable : http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10240&cs_id=1024008&p_id=3992&seq=1&format=2

?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
::
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lamonsasa is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 08-10-2012, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamonsasa View Post

I was under the impress that 3D can only be used with HDMI 1.4 cable?
Wrong. 3D can be transmited over any HDMI cable that has the bandwidth required. 1080p24 3D from a BD player requires less bandwith that 1080p60 2D.
Quote:
HDMI 1.3 doesn't have the channel in the cable to pass 3D,
Wrong. There is no separate channel for 3D. All video and audio is transmitted over the same 4 TMDS pairs that have been there since HDMI 1.0.

There are only four kinds of HDMI cables (ignoring automotive cables): standard and high speed, with or without ethernet. A certified high speed HDMI cable has sufficient bandwidth to handle any HDMI signal. There is no such thing as a HDMI 1.4 cable. No body needs a HDMI cable with ethernet because so far there are no devices which use the ethernet capability.
Colm is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 08-10-2012, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So i should just keep my current HDMI 1.3 cables and use them with my new 3D LED HDTV? so whats the reason to buy hdmi 1.4 cables?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
::
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lamonsasa is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 08-10-2012, 06:59 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,454
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 1505
There is none. Cables marked as HDMI 1.4 was simply a marketing ploy to get you HDMI 1.3 cable owners to buy new cables when you purchased a 3D TV. In fact the HDMI certification organization now prohibits mfr's from using an HDMI number on any newly mfr'd cables, rather only "High Speed" (ie. 1080p) or "Standard Speed" (ie. 720p/1080i). Take notice of the Monoprice HDMI cables .... see any HDMI numbers used? Nope.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12 of 21 Old 08-10-2012, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Wow i see, thanks alot for the clarification, i was going to place an order for new hdmi 1.4 cables lol, im getting a 3d tv next week so im preparing..

When i bought my cables from monoprice 2 years ago it said "HDMI 1.3a Category 2 Certified Cable 28AWG - 6ft w/Ferrite Cores (Gold Plated Connectors) - BLACK"

now, i read that if my cables are category 2 then it can 100% handle the 3D and 1080P? right?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
::
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lamonsasa is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 08-10-2012, 07:22 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,454
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 1505
Yup ... Category 1 = Standard Speed, Category 2 = High Speed

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #14 of 21 Old 08-11-2012, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
dandan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've bought hdmi cables from monoprice in the past and the only complaint I have is they are usually not very flexible. Where do you get more flexible cables from ?
dandan123 is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 08-11-2012, 11:42 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,454
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 1505
You may also want to try forum sponsor Blue Jeans Cable.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #16 of 21 Old 08-11-2012, 12:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
jlanzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dandan123 View Post

I've bought hdmi cables from monoprice in the past and the only complaint I have is they are usually not very flexible. Where do you get more flexible cables from ?

 

Flexibility is in part related to the guage, and obviously the rest is the cable covering.  I wouldn't expect flexibilty to vary significantly from different manufacturers at the same guage. I too would like to hear from others who have more experience in various hdmi cables flexibility and guage relationship. I purchase principally from Monoprice and haven't used other manufacturers.

jlanzy is online now  
post #17 of 21 Old 08-11-2012, 12:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
pukemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
yes, monoprice hdmi cables seem to be a little stiffer than the competition but you can also buy 90* and 270* and right angle 90* and 270* adapters. they also have short extensions i think 6" and 8" and also pivoting adapters.
pukemon is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 10-04-2012, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
chappy16775's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I agree its a little confusing. Monoprice currently has the following offerings:

28AWG HDMI High Speed Certified Male to Male Cables
Metallic Series High Speed HDMI Male to Male Cables with Ethernet
Ultra Slim Series High Performance HDMI® Cable w/ RedMere® Technology
Slim Series High Performance HDMI® Cables w/ RedMere® Technology
28AWG HDMI Male to Male Cables
26AWG HDMI Male to Male Cables
Premium 24AWG HDMI High Speed Certified Male to Male Cables
Premium 24AWG HDMI Standard Speed Male to Male Cables
Premium 24AWG HDMI Male to Male Cables with Ethernet
Premium 24AWG Flat Type HDMI Cables

From the information on here I figure just stick with any of the high speed ones.
chappy16775 is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 10-04-2012, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kensmith48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The Redmere cables are about as flexible as they get. Small diameter and easy to run. Cost a little more but they're worth it.
Kensmith48 is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 10-05-2012, 10:39 PM
Member
 
jvinhj240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jvinhj240 is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 12-16-2012, 03:37 PM
Member
 
willndmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm View Post

No body needs a HDMI cable with ethernet because so far there are no devices which use the ethernet capability.
glad I found this thread
I have been trying to find info on cables with not much luck

So there is no point for me to buy a Ethernet cable to go from my tv (which connects wireless) and hook it to my blu ray (that connects hardwire)??
Mono price gave me the impression that I could use the tv to connect the bluray

Also wanted info on going to from a receiver as they stated the pid6105 wasn't good but reading here it seems like it would be fine at 10 feet (the length I need)

Basically I need 10' cables to go TiVo > tv
Surround/DVD combo > tv
Bluray > tv
Will the basic 28awg with ferrets work?
Tia
willndmb is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off