Using Amp for Headphones only, Do I need to put load on speaker outs? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-15-2012, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Eric Goldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up a Crown D75 to use solely as my headphone amp. Question is will the amp be damaged without some load being placed on the speaker out terminals?

If I do need to place a load...how is it done?
Eric Goldman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-15-2012, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
hakstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Jax, FL.
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Most audio equipment bypass speakers when headphone jack is used.

hakstone is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-15-2012, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hakstone View Post

Most audio equipment bypass speakers when headphone jack is used.

^true, and also most modern ommercial (meaning for sale, not as in professional only or anything) amplifiers do work fine with no load. It is possible to build (and probably buy, but uncommon these days) an amplifier that does not behave that way, but that problem should be rare. Just FYI, if you needed to add a load that you don't want to actually make sound, you'd get what's called a "dummy resistor" of the appropriate resistance (8 ohms to mimic most speakers, but can vary) and power (not too hard to find ones rated to 50w or 100w).. they've got them at www.parts-express.com amongst other places.

"Vintage" is good for wine, not for A/V equipment.

-Dan D.
DonoMan is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-15-2012, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 121
DonoMan is correct..
Parts-Express has these..

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=019-020

You should definitely use these as your power amplifier can destroy the headphones if the level is too high, as headphones are very fragile relative to power handling..

Just my $0.02... wink.gif
M Code is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off