What receiver should I get for the KEF iQ70? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 08-23-2012, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, this is my first time posting. Please be patient with me if I don't provide all the important information...

I just bought a pair of the KEF iQ70 and need to buy a receiver. I always had those $200-$300 HT system so my knowledge of good receivers is next to zero.

Anyways, I am putting the iQ70 in my living room and plans to do a 3.1 system eventually...but I will wait a bit before getting the center and sub. I care about the quality of playing music pieces over movies also.

I have read that certain brands of receivers pairs well with certain brands of speakers. So I would appreciate recommendations on what pairs well with the iQ70. My budget for the receiver is around $300-$400.

Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 08-24-2012, 01:25 AM - Thread Starter

bump
post #3 of 7 Old 08-24-2012, 07:46 AM

Liked: 11
I just bought the same speakers along with the matching center channel.

I also just bought an onkyo nr809 (135x7) to power them.

The sensitivity (90) and 8 ohm rating suggests they may not need a ton of power, but I have these in a very large room and would rather have too much rather than not enough power.

I'll report back with my findings.

Edit : just saw your budget. I paid 499 for my onkyo. If recommend the denon 2311 at your price point. Gets good reviews here. Its selling at accessories 4 less for 429.99
post #4 of 7 Old 08-24-2012, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 244
I suggest the Onkyo 709.

It has good power, a wide range of features, and it has preouts for all channels in case you ever want to add a power amplifier to the front channels for better sound quality.

Those speakers are very good; wise choice there.