Marantz SR6006 HDMI output not the same as input. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-25-2012, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
DAP
AVS Special Member
 
DAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I currently have a Marantz SR6006 acting as a video switch for my computer.

I have noticed that white text on an orange background looked smeared.

When I connected the computer directly to the monitor with the HDMI cable, the image was clear.

I have attached photos of the screen for comparison.

Marantz SR6006.png 644k .png file
Direct Connection.png 646k .png file

I can't find a way to get the Marantz to pass the signal unmolested. Any clues?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Marantz SR6006.png
Views:	53
Size:	643.8 KB
ID:	63273   Click image for larger version

Name:	Direct Connection.png
Views:	39
Size:	646.0 KB
ID:	63274  
DAP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-25-2012, 06:12 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,891
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4421 Post(s)
Liked: 2377
Have you tried setting the "i/P Scaler" setting to OFF?

Also note that there is a dedicated thread for 6006 Owner's ---> http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334415/marantz-sr5006-marantz-sr6006-receiver-thread/0_100

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-27-2012, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
DAP
AVS Special Member
 
DAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Have you tried setting the "i/P Scaler" setting to OFF?

Also note that there is a dedicated thread for 6006 Owner's ---> http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334415/marantz-sr5006-marantz-sr6006-receiver-thread/0_100

Turning off the i/p Scaler did not fix the problem.

But, also in that menu is something called "Video Convert" (something I did not see last time I was looking). Turning this off fixed the problem.

A side affect of this is that the menu is no longer overlaid over a dimmed picture, but instead on a black screen. This is easier to live with than the smeared text.

Thank you.
DAP is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-27-2012, 02:19 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,891
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4421 Post(s)
Liked: 2377
The Video Convert setting is only required when converting an analog input source ---> HDMI; however, as you learned disabling it disables the GUI overlay capability.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr6006 Av Receiver , Receivers Amplifiers
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off