Help! - Ethernet Cable to Receiver or to Smart TV?. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 08-27-2012, 08:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Nate427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tech novice here and just recently purchased an A/V Receiver (Yamaha) with an Ethernet port and a Smart TV with an Ethernet port. If I were to run an Ethernet cable from my Verizon FiOS router should I plug it into my A/V receiver or directly to the TV? Or does it not make a difference since I'll have my HDMI cable going from my A/V receiver to my Smart TV?

Thanks!!
Nate427 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 08-27-2012, 08:57 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Depends on which you will be using more when watching streaming. Make it easy and just hook both up to ethernet.
gregzoll is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 08-27-2012, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sam S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Buy a 5-port switch for $20, and hook them both up!
RonAlam likes this.
Sam S is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 08-27-2012, 09:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 413
afrogt is online now  
post #5 of 16 Old 08-28-2012, 06:24 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
afrogt, they would be better to get a Gig switch, not a 100meg switch, since most 100 meg switches cause problems with streaming.
gregzoll is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 08-28-2012, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sam S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

...since most 100 meg switches cause problems with streaming.

Really? What streaming would this fellow be doing that would saturate a 100Mbps switch? He's not going to be pushing Blu-ray ISOs over his LAN....
Sam S is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 08-28-2012, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

afrogt, they would be better to get a Gig switch, not a 100meg switch, since most 100 meg switches cause problems with streaming.
Agree with Sam S. I have my smart TV and Blu-ray player connected via ethernet through a basic router's 100Mbps switch, and I have no problems. I can't imagine that a dedicated switch would present any problems.

Can you provide links to some problems that people have had with them?

JBWIII is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 08-28-2012, 06:22 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
JBWIII, 10/100 switches are unable to properly handle multicast & unicast. That is why it is always suggested to use a 10/100/1000 switch.
gregzoll is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 08-28-2012, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
enthuzist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have my FiOS router plugged into three Cisco Catalyst 2900 series gigabit switches. This is overkill for many, but I had them on hand as spares. This allows me to connect whatever I want. You can go with the lower cost gigabit switches and enjoy the choice of using either device connected. Also there are wireless options for a lot more devices now if wired is too difficult.

Mitsubishi WD-92842, Onkyo HT-S9400THX, Oppo BDP-93, XBOX 360 w/Kinect, XBOX (modded), WD My Book Essential, FiOS Bundle
enthuzist is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 08-28-2012, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sam S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

JBWIII, 10/100 switches are unable to properly handle multicast & unicast. That is why it is always suggested to use a 10/100/1000 switch.


Whaaaaat? Multicast doesn't care if the switch is 10/100 or gigabit. If you want the proper switch to handle multicast, you need one with VLANs or IGMP snooping. Neither of which are of a concern to the OP, so a 10/100 switch will suit him just fine.
Sam S is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 08-28-2012, 07:41 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
No, that is not overkill enthuzist. That just means that you are sick, and know what real networking equipment is, and how to do a network properly. A mix of Wifi & Wired with using Gig switches, allows you to not only have options, but allows the best option out there as you also understand. I would not have it any other way of going backwards in placing a 100meg switch on my network. Never have I had any problems with streaming using the Netgear GS-108 that I use for the wired portion on my network. When I had a 100meg switch on it, streaming would crap out, because it could never handle the packets properly, let alone multicast as some on this thread seem to think that 100 meg switches are the right way, but actually the wrong way to do today's networks.

BTW, if you get tired of those 2900's, you can send them my way. I am sure my wife would have a fit on that one.
gregzoll is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 08-28-2012, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

JBWIII, 10/100 switches are unable to properly handle multicast & unicast. That is why it is always suggested to use a 10/100/1000 switch.
Maybe true for servers but in this case the OP is receiving the streaming video...

Edit: gregzoll makes a valid point about future-proofing your network. Might as well get the gig. I have one of these gig switches and it has served me well. Only $17 more than the 100Mbps: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122128

JBWIII is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 08-28-2012, 07:48 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBWIII View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

JBWIII, 10/100 switches are unable to properly handle multicast & unicast. That is why it is always suggested to use a 10/100/1000 switch.
Maybe true for servers but in this case the OP is receiving the streaming video...
What backwards way of thinking are you pulling this out of where you sit? Actually for streaming video, a Gig switch will handle the streaming better than a garbage 100meg switch. Yes you may think for servers, but the norm is now that every computer out there is coming with 10/100/1000 NIC's, because 100 is old and dying like 10, 1000 is now the norm. Same as every wireless device out there is now coming with Wireless N, because it is the new G.

Some of you just need to either go back to the century you came from, or actually catch up with the times like most of us that know the direction that things are moving, and have dealt with the headaches caused by using 100 meg switches when streaming video across a network.
gregzoll is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 08-28-2012, 08:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

... the headaches caused by using 100 meg switches when streaming video across a network.
I hate to beat this dead horse even more because I agree with you that he should just buy a gig switch (see my edited comment above). But it seems that your problems with the 10/100 switch were unique vis-a-vis streaming video. With a streaming video service like Cisco IPTV, then yes, you'll run into multicast issues. But the vast majority of folks out there are looking to stream from Netflix, Amazon, etc. Do those services have the same issues?

JBWIII is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 08-28-2012, 09:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 413
I use a 10/100 switch to stream netflix, pandora etc on my Roku box. Never had any problems.

Its not like those streaming devices have gigabit ports.

But if you makes you feel better he can get this gigabit switch under $20 after rebate.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833320092

Or this one too with great ratings.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833704042

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #16 of 16 Old 08-28-2012, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
javi404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm not going to address any of the BS I read on this post. Any cheapo gigabit switch will do. For the price difference might as well go gigabit. If someone gave you a free used 100m switch. that would do just fine.
javi404 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers , Yamaha

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off