Denon 4311 Audio Passthrough via HDMI to TV - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-01-2012, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chefwong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can't seem to get the 4311ci Audio Passthrough via HDMI to TV.

4311ci HDMI Control On.
TV HDMI Control On.
Turned off all Power HDMI settings on the TV.
1.4 Cable with the cable plugged correctly into the ARC port of the TV (Panasonic VT50)
I can see it's working cause when I choose content via TV - Arc kicks in and switches the input on the AVR to TV.

No speakers connected at this time.
All the sources are connected to the AVR via HDMI.

Video works fine...just can't seem to get audio to passthrough to the the TV if I'm doing the opposite - all sources connected to AVR *no speakers connected at this time*.....and just simply want audio out from the TV speakers.

Thoughts, suggestions?
chefwong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-01-2012, 05:08 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2371
Set HDMI Control on both the TV and the AVR to OFF. Set the "HDMI Audio Output" (p. 98 OM) to "TV".

Also note, there is a dedicated thread for AVR-4311CI Owner's --> http://www.avsforum.com/t/1274153/the-official-denon-avr-4311ci-avr-a100-thread-no-price-talk/0_100

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-02-2012, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chefwong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
HDMI Output set and audio passes out when AVR is in standby.

No audio when receiver is on.
chefwong is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-02-2012, 01:21 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2371
With HDMI Audio Out set to "TV", the audio should pass through to the TV when the AVR is ON. You may need to set the source audio to PCM 2.0 if the TV does not accept the audio when the source audio is connected directly to the TV.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off