single source multi-room multi-receiver HT - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-10-2012, 08:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sawyerthecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The integra line of receivers like DTR-7.6 have individual preouts and individual dvd inputs.

The newer DTR 80.4 can drive two home theatre rooms. I want to do that on the cheap with my two DTR-7.6 Receivers - They support individual preouts as wells individual inputs on DVD.

Currenty I have been using one Integra DTR-7.6 to drive a home theatre and a second room using the preouts for zone 2 to Hafler Amp and a powered subwoofer.

So, just add my other DTR-7.6 to the preouts of the first DTR-7.6 connecting to the second DTR-7.6 DVD inputs


With that addition, I no longer have the zone2 limitation - do what I want in the second room.

I want to retain the ability to have one source driving music in both rooms as well as the ability for each room to have it's own input - just like i do now with one receiver.

Using the single receiver I could take the main room source and also play it in zone2 but not the other way around.
WIth this setup I can drive both rooms from either if I want to cable it up that way. (and if I want I think I can make a nice feedback loop and create a big headache)

Are we having fun yet? Any suggestions? It did occur to me to split or T the source into each receiver rather than gang them together, think it just adds a stage without benefit.
sawyerthecat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-12-2012, 05:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sawyerthecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So hasn't anyone driven mutli-room from ganged receivers?
sawyerthecat is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-16-2012, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sawyerthecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no way around it with this gear, got to split the signal either at input or in the connection and will need a switch at the connection so better to leave them separate.
sawyerthecat is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off