The new Harman Kardon AVR1700 - Page 29 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #841 of 850 Old 05-13-2014, 11:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Nikwasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nantahala
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 89

Have you tried holding in the surround mode button to get a full reset? I think you have to hold it 5 seconds or longer.

Nikwasi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 850 Old 05-16-2014, 03:05 PM
Member
 
diceman1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
well, i'm irritated... i was peeling the plastic off of the Karman Kardon label today ant the H and the / came off, now the front of my receiver reads arman Kardon, i know it seems silly, but it really bugs me...
diceman1000 is offline  
post #843 of 850 Old 05-16-2014, 04:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by diceman1000 View Post

well, i'm irritated... i was peeling the plastic off of the Karman Kardon label today ant the H and the / came off, now the front of my receiver reads arman Kardon, i know it seems silly, but it really bugs me...

Join the club. The same thing happened to my 2700. I ended up removing all of the letters. Now its stealth...
Paulo72 is online now  
post #844 of 850 Old 05-16-2014, 09:49 PM
Member
 
diceman1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo72 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by diceman1000 View Post

well, i'm irritated... i was peeling the plastic off of the Karman Kardon label today ant the H and the / came off, now the front of my receiver reads arman Kardon, i know it seems silly, but it really bugs me...

Join the club. The same thing happened to my 2700. I ended up removing all of the letters. Now its stealth...

That's my plan as well:D

Sent from my SCH-R760X using Tapatalk
diceman1000 is offline  
post #845 of 850 Old 05-22-2014, 07:07 PM
Member
 
kohlgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Motown
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo72 View Post

Now its stealth...

cool, might have to try it biggrin.gif

science flies you to the moon, religion flies you into buildings.
kohlgren is offline  
post #846 of 850 Old 06-15-2014, 07:28 PM
Newbie
 
tamade1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question: Bluetooth Adapter Capable?

Can I use a Bluetooth adapter for the avr1700 so that I can connect my Bluetooth headphones? If not, any work around? Or if it is not possible at all, does any hk model offer it?
tamade1 is offline  
post #847 of 850 Old 09-01-2014, 10:38 AM
Member
 
kohlgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Motown
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
anyone else getting tired of vtuner?
the radioharmankardon.com/ site is always down.
surely harman kardon could upgrade to a better interface for internet radio
internet radio is the reason i bought this hk 1700, i have internet radio on 16 hrs per day

when it works

science flies you to the moon, religion flies you into buildings.
kohlgren is offline  
post #848 of 850 Old 01-20-2015, 06:58 PM
Member
 
kohlgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Motown
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
hk is offering a refurb avr1700 for $180 plus shipping
what a deal, what a deal...

http://www.harmanaudio.com/refurbish....html?CJPID=CJ

science flies you to the moon, religion flies you into buildings.
kohlgren is offline  
post #849 of 850 Old 01-21-2015, 11:14 PM
Newbie
 
HandOfReform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, so I thought I had posted here in the past, but I guess I hadn't. First off, I love this receiver, it's definitely been everything I could have hoped for in a first receiver, paired with some Klipsch speaker, and a sub, I've been VERY impressed. However, I've always had one issue, that's really more of an inconvenience than anything else...

So, my setup is as such: I've got the receiver plugged into the TV (Samsung LED 6000 series) via ARC HDM output, that is all that's plugged into the TV, everything else is through the receiver. In the receiver we've got, Xbox 360, PS3, Chromecast, and a spare HDMI cable for hooking computers up if need be. I've set them all to their own separate channels (Xbox = Game, PS3 = STB, Chromecast = Cable/Sat), ANYNET+ (HDMI-CEC) on the TV, and receiver, so that when I turn off the TV, it shuts down the receiver, or, the more frequent (ideal) case, is that when I push something to Chromecast, it should turn on the receiver, and the TV, and go to the correct source (Cable/Sat) automagically. Here's where the issue lies.

Instead of that working like I want it to, here's what happens (using the Chromecast for this example): I push the cast button in Netflix on my phone, and the TV turns on, that's it, the receiver won't turn on unless I press the Cable/Sat button, then when it does turn on, it sits at the Chromecast screen for 3-7 seconds, then flashes to the TV source, I'm not sure why. It does this for every source. So as another example, I turn on the PS3, I then have to manually turn on the TV, and press teh STB source on the receiver remote, at which point it shows the PS3 screen for a few seconds, before flashing to the TV source.

I'm not sure if I just have something configured wrong or if I need to do a reset or something, OR if this is just a known recognized issue, and I'm wanting too much from it. Please let me know, I'm open to ANY input, as getting this resolved would be immensely helpful!

I'm also not 100% positive that it's an issue with the receiver, I'm sort of almost convinced it could be a shortcoming of the TV and how it utilizes Anynet+, since it seems to me like the Chromecast sends the initial CEC request (which for some reason the receiver doesn't pick up on) which the TV gets, then when I turn the receiver on, it detects that the TV is on and switches to that source. Which makes it seem like this would work much better if the Chromecast were connected directly to the TV, however the practicality of that is also low, since the TV is mounted on a wall, so having as few cables up there as possible is ideal, however, worst case scenario, I could put it up there I suppose.

Sorry for rambling, any help is GREATLY appreciated!
HandOfReform is offline  
post #850 of 850 Unread Today, 10:02 AM
Member
 
Wiendog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone been successful when updating the firmware the V03.05A via USB?

I am just curious for those who have because I haven't updated mine and I'm wondering if I should.

Thanks,
Mike
Wiendog is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Harman Kardon Avr 254 7x50w 7 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver With Hdmi 1 3a Repeater , Harman Kardon , Harman Kardon Avr 1700 5 1 Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - 7x50w by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off