The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 51Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 8914 Old 10-05-2012, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,839
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post

Jerry,
Sorry to hear that the 4520 is defective frown.gif. It is frustrating especially since you when through all the work of moving the 4311 to another room. Then to take the time to set both units up only to find the 4520 is defective. Well the good thing is you have the 4311 to fall back on which is nice to have. I'll be interested to see if you get another 4520 or not.
Bill

Bill, I returned the 4520 for a refund, and have decided to wait awhile before considering getting another 4520. I paid MSRP, so I am likely to wait until some discounts start appearing.
AustinJerry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 8914 Old 10-05-2012, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,839
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent A View Post

I can see why Denon dropped many of the icons as some of them were a bit redundant.

I don't know that there are fewer icons on the 4520. However, the icons are now located on the top edge of the case, not on the front panel. This is why there is more room on the front panel.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #273 of 8914 Old 10-05-2012, 06:03 PM
Member
 
mhaneef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South of Boston,MA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is "Free Amp Assign" a Denon/ D&M "exclusive" feature at this point or is there an equivalent capabilty on the Onkypo 3010/5010? This is a big consideration for me as it may mean one fewer power amp in an 11.4 setup with two rows each having dedicated side surrounds.
mhaneef is offline  
post #274 of 8914 Old 10-05-2012, 08:34 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,185
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 1345
Not sure about all other brands, but AFAIK, not a feature of the 3010/5010.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #275 of 8914 Old 10-05-2012, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
jevansoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern, Ohio
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by joehonest View Post

I've been looking over the 4520 and it looks good, @ 2500 it should be very resonable with discounts in a year, maybe just 200 or 300 more than the best pricing for the 4311. I see it weighs in at 36 pounds is that a misprint ? It should be in retailer show rooms very soon for a demo. I just downloaded the manual from denon usa. Can the the amps be configured anyway I wish, by that I mean can I turn off the mains and center ampsand just use the balance of the amps for surround?

Yes, you can configure the amps as you describe.  The amp assign capabilities of the 4520 are quite flexible.

As for the weight of the 4520, this has no relevance to performance or sound quality.  It falls into the same category as a plastic face plate--WGAF?

Hey now, mister! Be nice. biggrin.giftongue.gif

Thanks to EVERYONE that Helps Make These Threads so Awesome!

jevansoh is online now  
post #276 of 8914 Old 10-05-2012, 08:58 PM
Senior Member
 
jevansoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern, Ohio
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent A View Post

I can see why Denon dropped many of the icons as some of them were a bit redundant.

I don't know that there are fewer icons on the 4520. However, the icons are now located on the top edge of the case, not on the front panel. This is why there is more room on the front panel.

Would you clarify this?

You mean there are other lights/indicators that used to be part of the lcd that are now above it? Or something else?

--J

Thanks to EVERYONE that Helps Make These Threads so Awesome!

jevansoh is online now  
post #277 of 8914 Old 10-05-2012, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,839
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by jevansoh View Post


Hey now, mister! Be nice. biggrin.giftongue.gif

My sincerest apologies--I should be more sensitive!

AustinJerry is offline  
post #278 of 8914 Old 10-05-2012, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,839
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by jevansoh View Post


Would you clarify this?
You mean there are other lights/indicators that used to be part of the lcd that are now above it? Or something else?
--J

 

No, just the technology icons (or decals) like Dolby, HDMI, Sirius, Audyssey, etc.  On my 4311, these are all on the faceplate, but on the 4520, they are on the top edge of the case.  No big deal at all.

 

Edit:

 

These icons (pic is of the 4311):

 

AustinJerry is offline  
post #279 of 8914 Old 10-05-2012, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
jevansoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern, Ohio
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 37
^^ Got it. That actually sounds cool/much better!

Thanks to EVERYONE that Helps Make These Threads so Awesome!

jevansoh is online now  
post #280 of 8914 Old 10-06-2012, 04:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
joehonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

No, just the technology icons (or decals) like Dolby, HDMI, Sirius, Audyssey, etc.  On my 4311, these are all on the faceplate, but on the 4520, they are on the top edge of the case.  No big deal at all.

Edit:

These icons (pic is of the 4311):


It must of been some NASCAR copyright infringement that caused the big change:D
joehonest is offline  
post #281 of 8914 Old 10-06-2012, 04:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,185
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 1345
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

I don't know that there are fewer icons on the 4520. However, the icons are now located on the top edge of the case, not on the front panel. This is why there is more room on the front panel.

I'm referring to "icons" that actually light up on the front panel display when in use rather than the "decals" on the front panel faceplate.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #282 of 8914 Old 10-06-2012, 04:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
joehonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Thats cost cutting in your face, what else could it be. To see sound / DSP modes at a glance is now history, that's progress
The OSD should makeup for it in someway. Its good they left the speaker output indicators on the front display but removed the channel input.
joehonest is offline  
post #283 of 8914 Old 10-06-2012, 05:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Brent A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

I don't know that there are fewer icons on the 4520. However, the icons are now located on the top edge of the case, not on the front panel. This is why there is more room on the front panel.

I was aware of the move of the "decals" to the top (which I think was a taseful move btw), I was referring to the simplifying of the OSD and the lack of displaying the input/output channel indicators simultaneously.
Brent A is offline  
post #284 of 8914 Old 10-06-2012, 06:43 PM
Senior Member
 
kamiraa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by DANNER View Post

I'm thinking of using the denon for both Front L/R and a low-power external amp (an emotive mini-X a-100) to fill out the surrounds. I'd like to see if using the denon as the "crossover" makes any difference.

I'm going to be doing something similar in the near future. Currently running a 9.2 (heights and wides) off the board itself on the AVR-4311ci

I'm going to send out the heights to an external amp (small).

I will then bi-amp off the main board for the Left and Right (using the back surrounds as the 2nd feed).

I know a lot of people say it doesn't matter, but I have Bowers & Wilkins CM5's downstairs, powered off a AVR-3313ci, and decided to biamp them, since I had a spare set of outputs meant for the rear surround.

I tried it back and forth, after running Audysessy each time . . . and for music it seemed "clearer". I did a blind test set with my neighbor and wife to verify, and everyone preferred the bi-amp selection mentioning it sounded "clearer"

Didn't cost me anything downstairs on the AVR-3313ci since I had the free outputs. For upstairs it will cost me some money since I need a smaller external amp, but what the hell . . . if it's not amazing, I will just use the external amp to expand to the 11.2, instead of the 9.2 biamp.
kamiraa is offline  
post #285 of 8914 Old 10-06-2012, 07:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

Bill, I returned the 4520 for a refund, and have decided to wait awhile before considering getting another 4520. I paid MSRP, so I am likely to wait until some discounts start appearing.

Jerry,

That will be my situation as well. I'm very happy with the 4311 and will wait it out till the 4520 hits the $1500 or lower mark. Might take awhile but I'm in no rush wink.gif.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #286 of 8914 Old 10-07-2012, 01:47 PM
Member
 
DANNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamiraa View Post

I know a lot of people say it doesn't matter, but I have Bowers & Wilkins CM5's downstairs, powered off a AVR-3313ci, and decided to biamp them, since I had a spare set of outputs meant for the rear surround.
Okay, so you were able to do 9.2 + Biamp Front L/R with the 3313? I guess then I should be able to do it with the 4520. Just need to figure out how.

I don't have room for wide speakers so I can't do 11.2 anyways.
DANNER is offline  
post #287 of 8914 Old 10-07-2012, 01:49 PM
Member
 
DANNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 4520. Gonna be a while before I can set it up though frown.gif Moving into my new place this week so still have lots of setup and unpacking to do. (Don't think the woman will tolerate it if the AVR is the first thing I unpack).
DANNER is offline  
post #288 of 8914 Old 10-07-2012, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
knoxtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just replaced my Onkyo 3008 with this baby. The picture was the first thing I noticed.....a lot snappier and better contrast.
knoxtn is offline  
post #289 of 8914 Old 10-07-2012, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
IwantmyTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greater Metropolatin Los Angeles area Suburb
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by DANNER View Post

(Don't think the woman will tolerate it if the AVR is the first thing I unpack).
Having music going always help with the rest of the move/unpacking.smile.gif
tlin1688 likes this.

"Pure-Direct" is my friend
Now where is the "LIVE" button?
IwantmyTHX is offline  
post #290 of 8914 Old 10-07-2012, 04:17 PM
Member
 
DANNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IwantmyTHX View Post

Having music going always help with the rest of the move/unpacking.smile.gif
Excellent Point!
DANNER is offline  
post #291 of 8914 Old 10-08-2012, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by egrady View Post

You've obviously never used a Denon 5805 in an enclosed home theater room in South Texas. During August. To answer your specific question, three degrees.

Yeah, sure. It raises the room temperature 3 degrees. If you say it, then it must be true. Do you have any idea how much energy it takes to raise the temperature of even the smallest living room three degrees?

I've only owned about 20 AVR's over the last ten years, Denon, Sony, Onkyo, Yamaha...do they all run at the same temperature? No. Did ANY of them raise the temperature of my living room three degrees? Of course not, but, sigh, whatever.

James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is offline  
post #292 of 8914 Old 10-08-2012, 10:00 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I can say that running a projector in my dedicated theater room (24' x 12') noticably raises the room temperature after a 2 hour movie - but that also includes the two humans in the room as well. Since 1 degree is not noticable, it must be at least 2 or 3 degrees temp increase if not more. I can easily see a AVR doing the same in a closed off room as well.
cybrsage is offline  
post #293 of 8914 Old 10-08-2012, 10:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: The very wet, humid, muggy South !!
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Well I know that my 63" plasma raises my living room temp by about 5 degrees during a movie! I have never owned the Denon 5805 so sure won't say his statement is wrong. My Elite TX-49 doesn't get noticably hot but that is not to say the Denon is the same.
PeterK is online now  
post #294 of 8914 Old 10-08-2012, 10:32 AM
Member
 
Dallas J Fuller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post

Well I know that my 63" plasma raises my living room temp by about 5 degrees during a movie! I have never owned the Denon 5805 so sure won't say his statement is wrong. My Elite TX-49 doesn't get noticably hot but that is not to say the Denon is the same.


Are you exaggerating a bit or do you notice a 5 degree increase in room temperature? My 64" Samsung puts off some heat, I figure maybe a degree increase for my room but it is a room 25X16 with vaulted ceilings. Maybe the heat rises so that it doesn't affect the viewing locations as much.
Dallas J Fuller is offline  
post #295 of 8914 Old 10-08-2012, 03:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: The very wet, humid, muggy South !!
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 49
No not exaggerating at all. I live in Louisiana with all the heat and humidity. Being a transplanted (damn) Yankee, I am really sensitive to temperature and humidity changes! My 63" Samsung plasma really pours out heat from the top vents. I believe it is rated 500 watts consumption but it sure feels like more than that coming out of it. I really noticed the affects to the room temperature when I replaced my old Sony 50" rear projection television - 200 watt bulb I believe - with the Samsung! I have an older Elite 49TX receiver and an Emotiva XPA-3 that never feel more than barely warm to the touch. Have had them for far longer than the plasma. Sure they contribute some heat but doesn't feel like anything compared to the Samsung. My house is one floor with one air unit and the thermostat is located at the back near the bedrooms so it never senses the raised temp in the living room. Walking to the back of the house, it is very easy to feel the temperature change.
einre likes this.
PeterK is online now  
post #296 of 8914 Old 10-08-2012, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dallas J Fuller View Post

Are you exaggerating a bit or do you notice a 5 degree increase in room temperature? My 64" Samsung puts off some heat, I figure maybe a degree increase for my room but it is a room 25X16 with vaulted ceilings. Maybe the heat rises so that it doesn't affect the viewing locations as much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post

No not exaggerating at all. I live in Louisiana with all the heat and humidity. Being a transplanted (damn) Yankee, I am really sensitive to temperature and humidity changes! My 63" Samsung plasma really pours out heat from the top vents. I believe it is rated 500 watts consumption but it sure feels like more than that coming out of it. I really noticed the affects to the room temperature when I replaced my old Sony 50" rear projection television - 200 watt bulb I believe - with the Samsung! I have an older Elite 49TX receiver and an Emotiva XPA-3 that never feel more than barely warm to the touch. Have had them for far longer than the plasma. Sure they contribute some heat but doesn't feel like anything compared to the Samsung. My house is one floor with one air unit and the thermostat is located at the back near the bedrooms so it never senses the raised temp in the living room. Walking to the back of the house, it is very easy to feel the temperature change.



Woe, I have a Samsung 64 PDP as well, but it's a hell of allot cool than my previous Kuro PDP, ways cooler...That think would raise hell literally, enough to make sell it because of it high energy consumption. I have a 4311 and I have reset the setting a few weeks ago, and I haven't had the need to power on the rear USB which I have a pair of fans connect to. Sure it's cooler here out east, but the 4311 is enclosed in a cabinet with more gear and I still think it remains Luke warm.

Now my old Onkyo, whether it be an AVR, or a SSP always H*O*T, scary hot.

Djoel
Djoel is offline  
post #297 of 8914 Old 10-08-2012, 05:53 PM
Member
 
mrkalel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got it today...can't wait to open it up and start the long process of hooking it up (neatly) biggrin.gif
mrkalel is offline  
post #298 of 8914 Old 10-09-2012, 07:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
my theater room is significantly warmer than the rest of the house, as much as 15 degrees... the combination of stuff in there gets it quite warm... the insulating black out curtains help too...

it's one of the big reasons i had split a/c installed in my house... even in the winter, it gets VERY warm in there....

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #299 of 8914 Old 10-09-2012, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastermaybe View Post

Yeah, sure. It raises the room temperature 3 degrees. If you say it, then it must be true. Do you have any idea how much energy it takes to raise the temperature of even the smallest living room three degrees?
I've only owned about 20 AVR's over the last ten years, Denon, Sony, Onkyo, Yamaha...do they all run at the same temperature? No. Did ANY of them raise the temperature of my living room three degrees? Of course not, but, sigh, whatever.
James

I don't believe my lying eyes, but I do believe my lying thermostat. Read the review of the 5805 at Audioholics, let me know what you find.

As others have said, in an enclosed home theater room heat can be issue.
egrady is offline  
post #300 of 8914 Old 10-09-2012, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
joehonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Its not just the avr heating up the room, the big flat screen is adding as much if not more BTUs to the room and the sub to.
joehonest is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off