The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 10630 Old 10-09-2012, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Dionyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is this a receive thread or a thread about heat.

Please take the heat discussion elswhere and get this thread focused back on AVR-4520

Thanks
Dionyz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 10630 Old 10-09-2012, 07:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,249
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 1724
Firmware Changelog Update

Post #4 has been updated.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #303 of 10630 Old 10-09-2012, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
sonic debauchery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Denon moved away from Anchor Bay 2 years ago and now uses video chips from Analog Devices, with AFAIK, the ADV 8003 (same as in the 3313CI) being used in the 4520CI.

Are these inferior to the HQV in onkyo's?
sonic debauchery is offline  
post #304 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 12:57 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,249
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 1724
Not according to flint350 who responded to you the first time you asked .... although also likely depends on the picture quality of the TV/PJ in use.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1430049/the-official-denon-avr-4520ci-thread/200_100#post_22465982

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #305 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 09:31 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonic debauchery View Post

Are these inferior to the HQV in onkyo's?

Theoretically, the Onkyo is superior to the Denon. In reality, it depends on how crappy your source material is on whether you will see the difference in real life. Same thing with 1080 vs 4k video - theoretically the 4k look better, but in real life situations they both look the same.
cybrsage is offline  
post #306 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 09:32 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dionyz View Post

Is this a receive thread or a thread about heat.
Please take the heat discussion elswhere and get this thread focused back on AVR-4520
Thanks

Receivers put out heat - and given that past Onkyo's put out a LOT of heat I can understand why people are talking about heat in a receiver thread.
cybrsage is offline  
post #307 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Guinness77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see that on page 112 of the manual, you cannot use the HDMI or digital input for zone 2 & 3.

On page 80 though, if you use All Zone Stereo, it says you can select any source.
Does that mean I can use the HDMI or digital input and use the same source over all the zones?

Also, did not see anything listed about zone 4 in the amp assign function. If I wanted to run 2 or 3 channels in the main room, could I assign zone 2, 3 & 4 to use the on board amps?

Thanks
Guinness77 is online now  
post #308 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Dionyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

Receivers put out heat - and given that past Onkyo's put out a LOT of heat I can understand why people are talking about heat in a receiver thread.

I agree, if it is a specific problem with this particular receiver running unusually hot (and not because of someone insisting on putting it completely enclosed cabinet) then people should be made aware of the specific problem.

However, if it is a general discussion how any receiver or projector contributes heat to a room, then it would more appropriate to have its own thread to discuss heat generation in general.

And this was just a respectful suggestion as the discussion was getting sidetracked to heat generation from any and all receivers, TVs, etc., and had nothing to do with the 4520 specifically.
Oldemar likes this.
Dionyz is offline  
post #309 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 12:45 PM
Member
 
pgor888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guinness77 View Post

I see that on page 112 of the manual, you cannot use the HDMI or digital input for zone 2 & 3.
On page 80 though, if you use All Zone Stereo, it says you can select any source.
Does that mean I can use the HDMI or digital input and use the same source over all the zones?
Also, did not see anything listed about zone 4 in the amp assign function. If I wanted to run 2 or 3 channels in the main room, could I assign zone 2, 3 & 4 to use the on board amps?
Thanks



I think you need to also run analog audio to zone 2 from your HDMI source. If the source does not have analog outs I would consider an audio matrix that downconverts.

On the speaker assign questions, that is my reading of the custom AMP Assign part of the manual -- the flow chart is helpful here.

My 4520 ci is on the way and my question on reading the maual is whether the pre outs can be assigned to allow for more than 2 channels in zone 2 and zone 3 like the on board amps appear to be under custom. It does not look like they can but I appeaciate someone's input here. I am using my 4520ci as a preamp only for several external amps and really want the abilty to have 6 channels in zone 2. I know I could just use Y splitters but then I would not be able to control volume and on/off for the speakers in that zone independently. I could use my old 4308ci for zone 2 but that does not have the pure pre amp mode and I am running out of room in my rack. Thoughts?
pgor888 is offline  
post #310 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 01:32 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,249
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 1724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guinness77 View Post

I see that on page 112 of the manual, you cannot use the HDMI or digital input for zone 2 & 3.
On page 80 though, if you use All Zone Stereo, it says you can select any source.
Does that mean I can use the HDMI or digital input and use the same source over all the zones?
Also, did not see anything listed about zone 4 in the amp assign function. If I wanted to run 2 or 3 channels in the main room, could I assign zone 2, 3 & 4 to use the on board amps?
Thanks

1. The manual is a bit misleading on this point; however, AFAIK, this is not like the Yamaha Party mode in which HDMI stereo audio in the main zone will also pass to Zones 2 and 3, rather as noted, an analog cable connection is required in addition to the HDMI cable in order for the audio to pass to Zones 2 and 3.

2. Zone 4 only applies to the Zone 4(HDMI) monitor out.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #311 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 01:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,983
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1127 Post(s)
Liked: 1574
Quote:
Also, did not see anything listed about zone 4 in the amp assign function.

Zone 4 is dedicated to the HDMI zone matrix output, it cannot be powered internally like the "traditional" Zones 2 and 3.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #312 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 01:36 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,249
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 1724
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgor888 View Post

My 4520 ci is on the way and my question on reading the maual is whether the pre outs can be assigned to allow for more than 2 channels in zone 2 and zone 3 like the on board amps appear to be under custom. It does not look like they can but I appeaciate someone's input here. I am using my 4520ci as a preamp only for several external amps and really want the abilty to have 6 channels in zone 2. I know I could just use Y splitters but then I would not be able to control volume and on/off for the speakers in that zone independently. I could use my old 4308ci for zone 2 but that does not have the pure pre amp mode and I am running out of room in my rack. Thoughts?

Correct, it does not appear it can be done. Based on the "Custom" pre-out chart, there is only a direct one-to-one correlation between the physical pre-outs and their corresponding channel assignments.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #313 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 01:47 PM
Member
 
pgor888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Correct, it does not appear it can be done. Based on the "Custom" pre-out chart, there is only a direct one-to-one correlation between the physical pre-outs and their corresponding channel assignments.


Thanks -- that is what I thought. Do you think I could I use the "media player" analog output as a 2nd zone 2 pre out as the manual says that outputs zone 2 by default.
pgor888 is offline  
post #314 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Guinness77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

1. The manual is a bit misleading on this point; however, AFAIK, this is not like the Yamaha Party mode in which HDMI stereo audio in the main zone will also pass to Zones 2 and 3, rather as noted, an analog cable connection is required in addition to the HDMI cable in order for the audio to pass to Zones 2 and 3.
2. Zone 4 only applies to the Zone 4(HDMI) monitor out.


Thanks, that is what I was thinking, but the added note had me hoping it was possible only in party mode like the Yamaha.
Guinness77 is online now  
post #315 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,983
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1127 Post(s)
Liked: 1574
somebody really needs to test the "All Zone Stereo" function just to be sure....

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #316 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 02:19 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,249
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 1724
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgor888 View Post

Thanks -- that is what I thought. Do you think I could I use the "media player" analog output as a 2nd zone 2 pre out as the manual says that outputs zone 2 by default.

Yes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #317 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 02:20 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,249
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 1724
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

somebody really needs to test the "All Zone Stereo" function just to be sure....

Agreed ... could end up being a nice surprise. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #318 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 03:03 PM
Member
 
jjslegacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
buying my first AVR soon for my theater - question.

If I setup 7.2 and have zone2 use the last 2 amps, I assume I need to have zone3 use the pre-amp outs but can I control the volume remotely? Are they variable pre-amp outs?

Thanks!

JJ
jjslegacy is offline  
post #319 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,983
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1127 Post(s)
Liked: 1574
see pg 151 in the manual -- both Zone 2 and Zone 3 can have the pre-outs set to Variable or Fixed.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #320 of 10630 Old 10-10-2012, 03:52 PM
Member
 
jjslegacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Thanks - read through most of the manual but missed that - perfect

JJ
jjslegacy is offline  
post #321 of 10630 Old 10-11-2012, 01:09 PM
Member
 
pgor888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Yes.


Zone 4 not allowing for audio control pushed me to another option. I just decided to go with an HTD MC-66 preamp for 3 zones of AT 8.3e ceiling speakers with a Emotiva UPA-700 providing amplification. My plan has the Denon 4520ci pushing out a 5.2 + 2 main zone set up with a stereo zone in each of zone 2 and 3. The Denon runs as a preamp with 2 Emotiva XPA-5s and 1 Emotiva XPA-1 providing amplification. I have a combo hdmi/audio matrix switch with digital to analog downconversion that ties the sourcing together for both amps. I have an RTI front end on all of this. Just hope that when I get it all set up I don't end up with sound delay in all on party mode as my house is an open floorplan loft where that would be very noticeable.

Will post a thread on the project when I start installing all the gear in about a month. Very pumped.
pgor888 is offline  
post #322 of 10630 Old 10-11-2012, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
knoxtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Wowsers !! I just had a little surprise while manual browsing. You can custom assign the pre-amp and amps so I can use my Emotiva XPA-3 for the Fronts and center and then reassign the Denon amps not needed for Zones or something (or I suppose use them for bi-amps).

Is this correct ???

Anyway....the 200W Emotivas sound awfully good now with no bi-amping.....I'm curious as to how it sounds with a little extra help from Denon. I was thinking of running the Denon into the tweeter and the Emotiva into the mid and low connections (I have three) -- not sure how that would work with two different amps on the same speaker.
knoxtn is offline  
post #323 of 10630 Old 10-11-2012, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,983
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1127 Post(s)
Liked: 1574
I would think it's a bad idea to try to bi-amp with BOTH the external and internal amps. The gain structure will be different, it will probably be a mess to calibrate properly. I think if you want to bi-amp you should EITHER use all internal amps (traditional "receiver bi-amping") or use all external amps.

When AMP ASSIGN is set to "Custom" (free assign mode) you can reassign the amps according to the chart on pg 183 of the manual. Note that the C, SR, and SL amps are non-assignable even in this mode, but you CAN reassign the FR/FL main amps.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #324 of 10630 Old 10-11-2012, 03:16 PM
Member
 
mrkalel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've been in the slow process of setting up this new Amp as an upgrade to my older 4306. Love this baby so far...but I am having a few issues that I can't seem to find answers to...

1. Is it possible to Power OFF/ON all Zones in on button press? (Would it have to be a Macro?)

2. My TV has ARC...which I enabled...but even after following all steps...can't seem to get Audio to work through the HDMI ARC channel

3. Is there a way to Unlink USB Power from Network Always ON? (I am trying to run a USB Powered Fan that will only turn OFF/ON with AMP power.)

4. I have a Video only DVI (Converted to HDMI) 1080p Monitor that I want to use as a 3rd HDMI-out running on Zone 4...but when I activate Zone 4 I lose sound on all other Zones...any way around that?

Thanks again guys for any help!!
mrkalel is offline  
post #325 of 10630 Old 10-11-2012, 03:45 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,249
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 1724
1. Macro
2. Ensure HDMI-CEC/ARC on the TV is enabled and TV audio set to External speaker/home theater as well as HDMI Control on the AVR must be enabled.
3. AFAIK, no.
4. Likely by selecting a unique source only to Zone 4 or connecting an HDMI display with speakers.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #326 of 10630 Old 10-11-2012, 03:48 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,249
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 1724
Quote:
Originally Posted by knoxtn View Post

Wowsers !! I just had a little surprise while manual browsing. You can custom assign the pre-amp and amps so I can use my Emotiva XPA-3 for the Fronts and center and then reassign the Denon amps not needed for Zones or something (or I suppose use them for bi-amps).
Is this correct ???
Anyway....the 200W Emotivas sound awfully good now with no bi-amping.....I'm curious as to how it sounds with a little extra help from Denon. I was thinking of running the Denon into the tweeter and the Emotiva into the mid and low connections (I have three) -- not sure how that would work with two different amps on the same speaker.

Although the caution note seems to be missing in the 4520CI manual, previous year's manuals generally include the following caution note under the description of the pre-outs ....


---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #327 of 10630 Old 10-11-2012, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Although the caution note seems to be missing in the 4520CI manual, previous year's manuals generally include the following caution note under the description of the pre-outs ....

Hmmm, who in his/her right mind would do that, i.e. while using an external amp would still connect the speakers to the power output of the AVR?
mogorf is online now  
post #328 of 10630 Old 10-11-2012, 04:31 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,249
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 1724
Well .. as noted above ... knoxtn for one and likely many others as well that are considering bi-amping.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #329 of 10630 Old 10-11-2012, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,844
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 981 Post(s)
Liked: 884

I am in the process of setting up my (second) 4520, and I have encountered something I can't figure out.  First, let me say that the new GUI is not an improvement, IMO, for someone who has had the prior (4311) GUI memorized.  The thing that has me stumped right now is how to select the audio mode.  For example, when I am playing musing from my Sonos, the 4520 select Stereo as the mode.  I can't find in the menu where to change the mode to PLII Music.  There is a row of buttons on the remote under the heading "Sound Mode", with four buttons, Movie, Music, Game, and Pure.  When I press Movie, it changes to PLII Cinema.  When I select Music, it changes to Stereo.  When I select Game, it changes to Neo:X Game.  And when I select Pure, it toggles between Direct and Pure Direct.  Where the heck is PLII Music?  And where are all of the adjustments for things like width?

 

Here are othger things I can't find:

- Surround Parameters screen, allowing changes to Panorama, Dimension, Width, etc.

- Dolby Volume

- Parameter chech screens, especially the EQ graphs

- Screen saver On/Off (I get the Denon logo when I play a non-video source like Sonos)

 

Unless I am missing something, the 4520 setup and configuration options have been "dumbed down" from the 4311.  JD, please tell me I am wrong....

 

Couple of other pieces of info:  Current F/W is 3325-8562-1375.  Audyssey mic is mode ACM1HB.  S/N starts with 208 (2012 August build date). 

 

Temperature:  using an infrared thermometer, the 4520 measures around 130 degrees, which is almost exactly the same as my 4311.  The 4520 is in a open rack with 3 inches of clearance.  All four sides are open for ventilation.

 

Later I will be posting some information regarding the Audyssey calibrations, both Standard and using the Pro Kit.

AustinJerry is online now  
post #330 of 10630 Old 10-11-2012, 05:54 PM
Member
 
Rev75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just hold down music or movies and a list of all the different sound modes will come up.
mrkalel likes this.
Rev75 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off