The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 172 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 842Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2013, 05:50 PM
Member
 
Oven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my 4520 since the day it came out, and I have only one gripe with the unit. I seem to inadvertently switch on zones 2, 3, and 4 even though I'm not using them. I have a 7.1 setup, with no other zones configured. I want all my available power dedicated to my 7.1. By turning on these zones am I limiting the power that's going to the 7.1 setup?

I don't know if i'm hearing things or what, but it seems the system isn't as loud when I find they're accidentally turned on, and when I turn them off the sound is louder. Anyway, is it possible to disable these zones? I can't find anything in the menus about this, but I do know the unit is highly configurable, and I feel like I've just barely scratched the surface of what it can do.

Oven is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-15-2013, 06:01 PM
Member
 
Oven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oven View Post

I've had my 4520 since the day it came out, and I have only one gripe with the unit. I seem to inadvertently switch on zones 2, 3, and 4 even though I'm not using them. I have a 7.1 setup, with no other zones configured. I want all my available power dedicated to my 7.1. By turning on these zones am I limiting the power that's going to the 7.1 setup?

I don't know if i'm hearing things or what, but it seems the system isn't as loud when I find they're accidentally turned on, and when I turn them off the sound is louder. Anyway, is it possible to disable these zones? I can't find anything in the menus about this, but I do know the unit is highly configurable, and I feel like I've just barely scratched the surface of what it can do.

ACK! I just looked in the manual and realized I could bi-amp my fronts! All this time, I forgot the unit had this ability. Looks like once I assign it to 7.1 bi-amped, all the other zones go away. Awesome, can't wait to set it up this weekend!

Oven is offline  
Old 07-15-2013, 07:46 PM
Member
 
Gary Hudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oven View Post

I've had my 4520 since the day it came out, and I have only one gripe with the unit. I seem to inadvertently switch on zones 2, 3, and 4 even though I'm not using them. I have a 7.1 setup, with no other zones configured. I want all my available power dedicated to my 7.1. By turning on these zones am I limiting the power that's going to the 7.1 setup?

I don't know if i'm hearing things or what, but it seems the system isn't as loud when I find they're accidentally turned on, and when I turn them off the sound is louder. Anyway, is it possible to disable these zones? I can't find anything in the menus about this, but I do know the unit is highly configurable, and I feel like I've just barely scratched the surface of what it can do.


I find the other zones turned on at times too. I suspect my kids are doing it but there is the possibility that I'm doing it by accident.
Gary Hudson is offline  
Old 07-15-2013, 08:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 28,054
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3387 Post(s)
Liked: 3233
Are you guys using universal remotes? Denon changed their IR codes so what used to be the Power On command is now an All Zone Power On. If you are using a universal to power on there's a good chance they are still using the old code.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 07-15-2013, 08:12 PM
Member
 
Oven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

Are you guys using universal remotes? Denon changed their IR codes so what used to be the Power On command is now an All Zone Power On. If you are using a universal to power on there's a good chance they are still using the old code.

Yes, I'm using a Logitech Touch (and I hate it). That must be why they're always on.

Oven is offline  
Old 07-15-2013, 08:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 28,054
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3387 Post(s)
Liked: 3233
Easy fix. Just teach your universal a different command for Power On discrete. Since the receiver will power on with an input selection command, you can just teach it any old input as a proxy for Power On. For example my X4000 had the same thing and I just taught it InputAUX (front aux input) as Power On.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 07-16-2013, 02:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 8,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oven View PostI seem to inadvertently switch on zones 2, 3, and 4 even though I'm not using them. I have a 7.1 setup, with no other zones configured. I want all my available power dedicated to my 7.1. By turning on these zones am I limiting the power that's going to the 7.1 setup?
.....

ACK! I just looked in the manual and realized I could bi-amp my fronts! All this time, I forgot the unit had this ability. Looks like once I assign it to 7.1 bi-amped, all the other zones go away. Awesome, can't wait to set it up this weekend!

Simply having unused zones enabled should not affect the available power as it's not using any of the capacity of the amps or the poweer transformer.

 

This is not true biamping but rather "passive" biamping.  It is unlikely to make any difference in terms of SQ.  As you are still limited to the total power available through your one power transformer and still using the passive crossovers built into your speakers, this technique really does not increase the power available for any particular driver in a way that's meaningful. 


Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
Old 07-16-2013, 02:19 AM
Newbie
 
Wilford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Porsgrunn - Telemark - Norway
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

Easy fix. Just teach your universal a different command for Power On discrete. Since the receiver will power on with an input selection command, you can just teach it any old input as a proxy for Power On. For example my X4000 had the same thing and I just taught it InputAUX (front aux input) as Power On.

 

Thanks, I was not aware of this. I used the codes from the Logitech Server. Result: all Zones was turned on and all was turned off at close down. I had this rather annoying problem, 5 minutes or so, after I turned on my Denon AVR-4520, it suddenly changed to another input.

 

Btw. I love my Logitech Ultima remote.


wilford.no
Samsung 60" UE60D8005
Dreambox DM8000
Denon AVR-4520
OPPO BDP-103EU
Apple TV v.3
D-Link Boxee Box
Sonos ZP90 (2)
Patos Lyric 502 (Bi-Amp)
Cerwin Vega E76C
Patos Lyric SUB 10
Dali R1000
Wilford is offline  
Old 07-16-2013, 04:39 AM
Senior Member
 
knoxtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oven View Post

I've had my 4520 since the day it came out, and I have only one gripe with the unit. I seem to inadvertently switch on zones 2, 3, and 4 even though I'm not using them. I have a 7.1 setup, with no other zones configured. I want all my available power dedicated to my 7.1. By turning on these zones am I limiting the power that's going to the 7.1 setup?

I don't know if i'm hearing things or what, but it seems the system isn't as loud when I find they're accidentally turned on, and when I turn them off the sound is louder. Anyway, is it possible to disable these zones? I can't find anything in the menus about this, but I do know the unit is highly configurable, and I feel like I've just barely scratched the surface of what it can do.


I've had maybe 10 top of the line receivers in the past and this one is the first that I've had zero problems with. From day one.
knoxtn is offline  
Old 07-16-2013, 02:41 PM
Member
 
tknx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

Are you guys using universal remotes? Denon changed their IR codes so what used to be the Power On command is now an All Zone Power On. If you are using a universal to power on there's a good chance they are still using the old code.

I have a Harmony 700, and it seems to work fine.

Moving over to Roomie Remote IP control and also doesn't seem to be a problem, although I need to really sit down and run through the whole setup.

Denon 4520ci | Salk Veracity ST | U-turn Orbit | Neeo Remote (pending) | Heir Audio 4.A CIEM | Philips Fidelio X2
tknx is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 03:23 AM
Member
 
fab68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlockFan View Post

I just ordered a Brand New Denon 4520 with full factory 3 year warranty from an Authorized Denon Dealer for less than the Accessories 4 Less price.
harrybnbad, I sent you a PM.

Could you please guide me on were you got this deal? I am interested on a 4520
fab68 is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 08:43 AM
Member
 
GlockFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by fab68 View Post

Could you please guide me on were you got this deal? I am interested on a 4520

PM Sent.
GlockFan is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 511
CALL AVS Sales

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:16 PM
Member
 
GlockFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have had a chance to spend some time with my new 4520.
I am simply amazed at how good this receiver sounds.
I put it on Pandora and cranked up some Rush and it sounded as if I was sitting on the front row at a concert. It is unbelievable!
I love it!!
GlockFan is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Kisakuku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlockFan View Post

I put it on Pandora and cranked up some Rush and it sounded as if I was sitting on the front row at a concert. It is unbelievable!
I love it!!

128kbps does not a live concert make.
donmj1 likes this.
Kisakuku is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:30 PM
Member
 
GlockFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kisakuku View Post

128kbps does not a live concert make.

It does when you my B&W CM5's cranked.. LOL
There is definitely better sources but the receiver is incredible.
GlockFan is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,579
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5417 Post(s)
Liked: 3079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kisakuku View Post

128kbps does not a live concert make.

A bucket of ice water would have been equally effective.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 07-18-2013, 08:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Kisakuku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

A bucket of ice water would have been equally effective.

Oh, so that's what people mean when they say "splash damage'!
Kisakuku is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 08:38 PM
Member
 
GlockFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
lol
GlockFan is offline  
Old 07-19-2013, 02:54 AM
Newbie
 
Wilford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Porsgrunn - Telemark - Norway
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Still have this rather annoying problem, 5 minutes or so, after I turned on my Denon AVR-4520, it suddenly changed to another input from the one I’m currently using.


wilford.no
Samsung 60" UE60D8005
Dreambox DM8000
Denon AVR-4520
OPPO BDP-103EU
Apple TV v.3
D-Link Boxee Box
Sonos ZP90 (2)
Patos Lyric 502 (Bi-Amp)
Cerwin Vega E76C
Patos Lyric SUB 10
Dali R1000
Wilford is offline  
Old 07-19-2013, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 28,054
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3387 Post(s)
Liked: 3233
Is it a random input or is it always going to one specific input?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 07-19-2013, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Can someone tell me the android app that controls this amp . The 4520...
harrybnbad is offline  
Old 07-19-2013, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Kisakuku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrybnbad View Post

Can someone tell me the android app that controls this amp . The 4520...

http://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.pskiwi.avrremote
Kisakuku is offline  
Old 07-20-2013, 12:52 AM
Newbie
 
Wilford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Porsgrunn - Telemark - Norway
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

Is it a random input or is it always going to one specific input?

More like random input.

 

I have done a reset to the CPU more than once.


wilford.no
Samsung 60" UE60D8005
Dreambox DM8000
Denon AVR-4520
OPPO BDP-103EU
Apple TV v.3
D-Link Boxee Box
Sonos ZP90 (2)
Patos Lyric 502 (Bi-Amp)
Cerwin Vega E76C
Patos Lyric SUB 10
Dali R1000
Wilford is offline  
Old 07-20-2013, 02:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 63,050
Mentioned: 195 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10207 Post(s)
Liked: 4736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilford View Post

Still have this rather annoying problem, 5 minutes or so, after I turned on my Denon AVR-4520, it suddenly changed to another input from the one I’m currently using.

If random and not "TV" all the time then not likely related to the HDMI-CEC setting on the TV, never-the-less, if ON, set it to OFF (eg. Anynet+, VieraLink, BraviaSync, etc.). Otherwise, when this issue has been seen on the lower level models, it is generally an indication of HDMI board failure.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 02:07 AM
Newbie
 
Wilford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Porsgrunn - Telemark - Norway
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

I tried something new, I turned OFF Network in Std By. This seems to work, so far anyway..

SanchoPanza likes this.

wilford.no
Samsung 60" UE60D8005
Dreambox DM8000
Denon AVR-4520
OPPO BDP-103EU
Apple TV v.3
D-Link Boxee Box
Sonos ZP90 (2)
Patos Lyric 502 (Bi-Amp)
Cerwin Vega E76C
Patos Lyric SUB 10
Dali R1000
Wilford is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Down Under
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 941 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilford View Post

I tried something new, I turned OFF Network in Std By. This seems to work, so far anyway..
Yes, that worked for me too a few months back..
SanchoPanza likes this.
petetherock is online now  
Old 07-21-2013, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by petetherock View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilford View Post

I tried something new, I turned OFF Network in Std By. This seems to work, so far anyway..
Yes, that worked for me too a few months back..

Thank you, gentlemen, thank you.

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 08:14 AM
Newbie
 
Wilford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Porsgrunn - Telemark - Norway
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I hope that the people at Denon Technical staff are reading this. Maybe this can be fixed in a future firmware release.
SanchoPanza likes this.

wilford.no
Samsung 60" UE60D8005
Dreambox DM8000
Denon AVR-4520
OPPO BDP-103EU
Apple TV v.3
D-Link Boxee Box
Sonos ZP90 (2)
Patos Lyric 502 (Bi-Amp)
Cerwin Vega E76C
Patos Lyric SUB 10
Dali R1000
Wilford is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 08:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 63,050
Mentioned: 195 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10207 Post(s)
Liked: 4736
Much better to give Denon USA or your local regional rep a call to identify the problem and resolution to them as well. smile.gif

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off