The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 189 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2377Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5641 of 13775 Old 09-05-2013, 12:34 AM
Member
 
geoffrsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAV View Post

You turn off network standby.
Default is network "Always On"

OK, got it, thanks. Somehow I managed to search the manual and miss that. I appreciate the help.
geoffrsc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5642 of 13775 Old 09-05-2013, 07:11 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16,452
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7741 Post(s)
Liked: 4333
The downside, of course, is that any other devices that might be connected to the network hub will lose their connections. For example, I have my two DirecTV DVR's on the hub, and occasionally set up a recording using the DTV web app when the 4520 is powered off. This wouldn't be possible unless Network Always On was set.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5643 of 13775 Old 09-05-2013, 07:02 PM
Member
 
Randy Schmidt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Glenview, IL
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Can I use the second sub out on this receiver and tune my 18" sealed sub to just play 30 hertz and lower. I have (4) Epik Empires connected to sub 1 out.

Thanks...

Theater: Denon AVR 4520ci - Emotiva XPR-5 - Denon 3313 BDP - L/C/R Klipsch KL7800 THX, SL/SR Klipsch KS7800 THX SBL/SBL, FHL/FHR, FWL/FWR Klipsch 5800W - (2) Epik Empire subs/(1) DIY 18" sub - Darbee Darblet - Epson 5030UB/150" Fixed Mount Screen

Family Room: Denon AVR X6200W - Sony XBR55X930D - Samsung UBD-K8500 - (5) Speakercraft Profile AIM8 One
Randy Schmidt is offline  
 
post #5644 of 13775 Old 09-05-2013, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 28,337
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3732 Post(s)
Liked: 3613
The two sub outs receive an identical signal and are EQd as a summed response. So that kind of "splitting the load" functionality isn't really supported natively.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #5645 of 13775 Old 09-05-2013, 07:17 PM
Member
 
Randy Schmidt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Glenview, IL
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

The two sub outs receive an identical signal and are EQd as a summed response. So that kind of "splitting the load" functionality isn't really supported natively.
thx Batpig. You can set the volume for each sub out independently... Correct. Just not the freq.

Theater: Denon AVR 4520ci - Emotiva XPR-5 - Denon 3313 BDP - L/C/R Klipsch KL7800 THX, SL/SR Klipsch KS7800 THX SBL/SBL, FHL/FHR, FWL/FWR Klipsch 5800W - (2) Epik Empire subs/(1) DIY 18" sub - Darbee Darblet - Epson 5030UB/150" Fixed Mount Screen

Family Room: Denon AVR X6200W - Sony XBR55X930D - Samsung UBD-K8500 - (5) Speakercraft Profile AIM8 One
Randy Schmidt is offline  
post #5646 of 13775 Old 09-05-2013, 08:08 PM
Member
 
Oven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I go into my AVR and change the crossover settings or change my fronts from big to small, do I need to rerun Audyssey? My speakers were detected as large.

Oven is offline  
post #5647 of 13775 Old 09-05-2013, 08:12 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16,452
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7741 Post(s)
Liked: 4333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oven View Post

If I go into my AVR and change the crossover settings or change my fronts from big to small, do I need to rerun Audyssey? My speakers were detected as large.

No. You may set the speakers to Small and set a crossover value with no effect on the Audyssey calibration. It is actually recommended to set all speakers to Small if you have a sub.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5648 of 13775 Old 09-05-2013, 08:19 PM
Member
 
geoffrsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

The downside, of course, is that any other devices that might be connected to the network hub will lose their connections. For example, I have my two DirecTV DVR's on the hub, and occasionally set up a recording using the DTV web app when the 4520 is powered off. This wouldn't be possible unless Network Always On was set.

Yes. Also, my iPhone remote apps don't see the unit if it's not in Network Standby so I have to turn it on another way before I can use the app.
geoffrsc is offline  
post #5649 of 13775 Old 09-05-2013, 08:27 PM
Member
 
aries316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
First i want to say thank you to everyone in the community. I have learned so much from all of you. So I have two more questions.

1. Audyssy set my crossover on all my speakers to 40hz with the exception of my center channel it set it to 60hz. Should I change the crossovers to 60hz or leave them where they are at.

2. I am looking for a 10ft trigger to go from my Denon to my Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 2. The one that came with the Emotiva was too short. I have been looking and haven't been able to find one.

Thanks/

aries316 is offline  
post #5650 of 13775 Old 09-05-2013, 09:21 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16,452
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7741 Post(s)
Liked: 4333
Quote:
Originally Posted by aries316 View Post

First i want to say thank you to everyone in the community. I have learned so much from all of you. So I have two more questions.

1. Audyssy set my crossover on all my speakers to 40hz with the exception of my center channel it set it to 60hz. Should I change the crossovers to 60hz or leave them where they are at.

2. I am looking for a 10ft trigger to go from my Denon to my Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 2. The one that came with the Emotiva was too short. I have been looking and haven't been able to find one.

Thanks/

 

 

OK to raise the crossovers to any value you like.  If you have a capable sub, I would raise all satellites to 80Hz.

 

You should be able to pick up a longer mono cable at a Radio Shack store.  Take the short one with you and show it to them.  It will be very inexpensive.

AustinJerry is online now  
post #5651 of 13775 Old 09-05-2013, 09:30 PM
Member
 
aries316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post


OK to raise the crossovers to any value you like.  If you have a capable sub, I would raise all satellites to 80Hz.

You should be able to pick up a longer mono cable at a Radio Shack store.  Take the short one with you and show it to them.  It will be very inexpensive.


Thanks I'll give that a try

aries316 is offline  
post #5652 of 13775 Old 09-07-2013, 06:58 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,847
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3036
I think I may have figured out what my 4520ci is trying to do: it is giving me the message on the Front Display it is in "H/P input on" when first turned on.
And because of this, is not outputting sound to my speakers.
In other words, it believes it is hooked up to headphones when it is not.

Anyone else having this problem?
oink is offline  
post #5653 of 13775 Old 09-07-2013, 07:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,881
Mentioned: 387 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15390 Post(s)
Liked: 7528
This a problem that is quite common with the XX09 models, but don't recall any 4520CI owners experiencing it.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5654 of 13775 Old 09-07-2013, 07:22 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16,452
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7741 Post(s)
Liked: 4333
Is this caused by a defective headphone jack, JD? You may recall that I returned a 4520 for replacement because of a defective headphone jack as well as a defective calibration mic jack, which I believe are on the same board.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5655 of 13775 Old 09-07-2013, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,881
Mentioned: 387 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15390 Post(s)
Liked: 7528
Sorry, it's been too long since then and had indeed forgotten, although likely related if your unit also displayed the "H/P input ON" message. The issue with the XX09 models is caused by build up of dust on the connections rather than a defective jack.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5656 of 13775 Old 09-07-2013, 11:21 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,847
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3036
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Sorry, it's been too long since then and had indeed forgotten, although likely related if your unit also displayed the "H/P input ON" message. The issue with the XX09 models is caused by build up of dust on the connections rather than a defective jack.
My 4520 is a direct from Denon refurbish.
Must not have been "refurbished" after all.rolleyes.gif
oink is offline  
post #5657 of 13775 Old 09-08-2013, 01:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,881
Mentioned: 387 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15390 Post(s)
Liked: 7528
^^
I would first try the solution used with the XX09 models which is to blow compressed air into the headphone jack or insert/remove a headphone plug a few times.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5658 of 13775 Old 09-08-2013, 04:35 AM
Senior Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 18
When I try to enter the code to control my Cambridge Audio BD player, I get the FAIL message
Actually, the code for Cambridge BD players is not on the list?
40157 is the only Cambridge code on the entire list
Is there a solution?
Thanks
jake51 is offline  
post #5659 of 13775 Old 09-08-2013, 05:24 AM
Member
 
nexusdoan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey Guys,

I am trying to play two different audio sources on Zone 1 vs. Zone 2. I can get the same audio (airplay) to play on both but am unable to watch TV on Zone 1 while listening via airplay on Zone 2. Is this not possible?
nexusdoan is offline  
post #5660 of 13775 Old 09-08-2013, 05:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
mhrischuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Garnet Valley, Pa.
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by aries316 View Post

Hello I Have a Denon 4520ci set up with 9.2 is there a benefit to getting a Emotiva XPA-5 5-Channel Power Amplifier to take some of the load of the AVR? I know if i add an amp i can go to 11.2 but is there any other advantage?

Thanks

Do you need more power? I have always heard that it's best to have too much than not enough. You want to be able to handle the spikes without distorting everything below. Headroom.
As so many have repeated... it depends on how loud you like to listen.
I like loud. I wanted to be able to feel the power. At levels like that you can hear if there is something weak in the system.

My current setup using the 4520 only uses the AVR amps for the four surrounds.

My front LCR's are Seaton CAT12's and a Seaton CAT8 center. These are self powered with a total of 5000 watts.

Sub is SVS PB-13 Ultra.

Total system power 4 x 150 + 750 (sub) + 5000 = 6350 watts

I think I'm done for a while.

Seriously though right now I think my only real complaint with the 4520ci is the lousy remote with the almost unreadable display that constantly flashes on and off even if you walk past it. Horrible for a flagship unit.

See My System Here
Processor: Emotiva XMC-1
R/C/L Amps... (3) Emotiva XPR-1's (1750w x 3 = 5250w)
Surround Amps: Emotiva XPA-5 G2 (200 x 4 = 800w) not using 5th
Zone 2: Emotiva Mini-X a-100 driving 2 Boston Acoustics Voyager 70's
10050 watts total power.
mhrischuk is offline  
post #5661 of 13775 Old 09-08-2013, 05:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 25,971
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6824 Post(s)
Liked: 5262
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhrischuk View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by aries316 View Post

Hello I Have a Denon 4520ci set up with 9.2 is there a benefit to getting a Emotiva XPA-5 5-Channel Power Amplifier to take some of the load of the AVR? I know if i add an amp i can go to 11.2 but is there any other advantage?

Thanks

Do you need more power? I have always heard that it's best to have too much than not enough. You want to be able to handle the spikes without distorting everything below. Headroom.
As so many have repeated... it depends on how loud you like to listen.
I like loud. I wanted to be able to feel the power. At levels like that you can hear if there is something weak in the system.

My current setup using the 4520 only uses the AVR amps for the four surrounds.

My front LCR's are Seaton CAT12's and a Seaton CAT8 center. These are self powered with a total of 5000 watts.

Sub is SVS PB-13 Ultra.

Total system power 4 x 150 + 750 (sub) + 5000 = 6350 watts

I think I'm done for a while.

 

 

If you are able to drive your speakers, in your room, to the SPL levels you require, without clipping, then more power won't serve any useful purpose. So the question is, can you?  If yes, then you are all set. If no, then more power might be useful.

 

Having "too much" power is pointless. If your speakers can be cleanly driven to xxdB using Y watts, then having 5Y watts won't make any difference. The additional power will be left on the table.

 

Here is a very good AVS thread that goes into a lot of detail about it and which hasn't - so far - been derailed by 'audiofools':

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1485846/quality-power

SoundofMind likes this.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #5662 of 13775 Old 09-08-2013, 10:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 166

^Nice link, Keith.


Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #5663 of 13775 Old 09-08-2013, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
mhrischuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Garnet Valley, Pa.
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Yea but what about bragging rights? LOL

See My System Here
Processor: Emotiva XMC-1
R/C/L Amps... (3) Emotiva XPR-1's (1750w x 3 = 5250w)
Surround Amps: Emotiva XPA-5 G2 (200 x 4 = 800w) not using 5th
Zone 2: Emotiva Mini-X a-100 driving 2 Boston Acoustics Voyager 70's
10050 watts total power.
mhrischuk is offline  
post #5664 of 13775 Old 09-08-2013, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 25,971
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6824 Post(s)
Liked: 5262
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #5665 of 13775 Old 09-08-2013, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 25,971
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6824 Post(s)
Liked: 5262
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhrischuk View Post

Yea but what about bragging rights? LOL

 

Ah well... they are worth having, no doubt about that.  And appearance too - some of those McIntosh amps look totally wikkid. There are lots of good reasons for buying big, shiny, new amps. It's just that improved sound quality isn't usually one of them ;)  If I had my amps on show, I'd love a pair of those big Macs with huge meters and stuff.  I'd get a load of pleasure from owning them - but none of it would be audible, in my case.

kbarnes701 is offline  
post #5666 of 13775 Old 09-08-2013, 11:40 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,847
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3036
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
I would first try the solution used with the XX09 models which is to blow compressed air into the headphone jack or insert/remove a headphone plug a few times.
Thanx, will give it a try.
oink is offline  
post #5667 of 13775 Old 09-09-2013, 09:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked: 552
New FW found tonight (9/9/2013) for the 4520CI. Says 7 mins to download. Did Main, then saw Ether IMG, then a quick reboot, and back to menu OK.

Was 3325-0843-4401 now updated to 3325-3843-4485.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is online now  
post #5668 of 13775 Old 09-10-2013, 02:06 AM
Newbie
 
Wilford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Porsgrunn - Telemark - Norway
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
New Firmware also for European versions of AVR-4520.

Samsung UE70KU6075 - Denon AVR-4520 - OPPO UDP-203
Patos Lyric 502 - Cerwin Vega E76C - Patos Lyric SUB 10 - Dali R1000
More - wilford.no
Wilford is offline  
post #5669 of 13775 Old 09-10-2013, 03:08 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,881
Mentioned: 387 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15390 Post(s)
Liked: 7528
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5670 of 13775 Old 09-10-2013, 03:41 PM
Newbie
 
thinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a great forum and have used it many times for research. I thank y'all.

Now I have a prob and became a member.

Anybody had any trouble with the subwoofer outs dropping output or content? My 4520 is not a month old yet.

Just had my POA 2800 repaired due to loose grounds by cert Denon rc. Came home and hooked to 2 new Dayton subs and ran some spl thru system and was amazed. Ran it all hard. The other night I had it loud but not cranked so as not to bother my neighbor and all of a sudden heavy bass went away. Sub out was at -6 or -3. Usu at -6 if cranked. No appreciable low end increase when sw vol set to +3 or +6. Called repair center and spoke with tech who fixed and he bet it was the 4520 screwing up the sub out content and not the 20 or so year old 2800 having another issue Amp still works but does not seem to have authority now. Hooked 2800 up to old Onkyo mono sub out w y adapter as used in previous set ups and it seemed it took some volume to get the subs kicking. So much that the little outdoor polks were giving out on the high end.
The low end does not sound like it did is all I know.

Just wanna check it out before I pull the trigger on the Yamaha pro series P7000 amp. Cuz if it could be the 4520, I really do not need to spend the cash on a new amp.

Thank in advance.
thinds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off