The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 190 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5671 of 10191 Old 09-10-2013, 03:41 PM
Newbie
 
thinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a great forum and have used it many times for research. I thank y'all.

Now I have a prob and became a member.

Anybody had any trouble with the subwoofer outs dropping output or content? My 4520 is not a month old yet.

Just had my POA 2800 repaired due to loose grounds by cert Denon rc. Came home and hooked to 2 new Dayton subs and ran some spl thru system and was amazed. Ran it all hard. The other night I had it loud but not cranked so as not to bother my neighbor and all of a sudden heavy bass went away. Sub out was at -6 or -3. Usu at -6 if cranked. No appreciable low end increase when sw vol set to +3 or +6. Called repair center and spoke with tech who fixed and he bet it was the 4520 screwing up the sub out content and not the 20 or so year old 2800 having another issue Amp still works but does not seem to have authority now. Hooked 2800 up to old Onkyo mono sub out w y adapter as used in previous set ups and it seemed it took some volume to get the subs kicking. So much that the little outdoor polks were giving out on the high end.
The low end does not sound like it did is all I know.

Just wanna check it out before I pull the trigger on the Yamaha pro series P7000 amp. Cuz if it could be the 4520, I really do not need to spend the cash on a new amp.

Thank in advance.
thinds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5672 of 10191 Old 09-10-2013, 04:56 PM
Member
 
howard68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi
Had the 4520 ci for 9 months
It has been good until
Today it is just shutting down and the light is flashing red
Unplugged it a few times
Any advice?
howard68 is offline  
post #5673 of 10191 Old 09-10-2013, 05:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,287
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1413 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
^^
Check to make sure your speaker wire connections are secure with no loose strands from one post touching another post which is the most common reason for an AVR to shut down, especially if there are small animals or kids that may have gotten behind the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5674 of 10191 Old 09-10-2013, 05:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161

^

power indicator blinking every .5 sec is most likely a speaker cable short (stray speaker wires touching)

 

As jd said, first thing check for stray/loose wires at all speaker wire posts (rear of AVR and rear of speakers)

 

power indicator blinking every 2 sec is thermal overload

aries316 likes this.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #5675 of 10191 Old 09-10-2013, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by thinds View Post

...Anybody had any trouble with the subwoofer outs dropping output or content? My 4520 is not a month old yet.
Just had my POA 2800 repaired due to loose grounds ...
Just wanna check it out before I pull the trigger on the Yamaha pro series P7000 amp. Cuz if it could be the 4520, I really do not need to spend the cash on a new amp.

Hi, welcome.  I disagree with the tech, based on your report.  AFAIK there's no known sub preout issue on the 4520. Yup, prob better to spend the $ on a new amp than re-fix the old one.


Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #5676 of 10191 Old 09-10-2013, 06:37 PM
Member
 
howard68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info
On the red light
Will see what it says
When it happens again
howard68 is offline  
post #5677 of 10191 Old 09-10-2013, 07:11 PM
Newbie
 
thinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep. Thanks for the + rei.
thinds is offline  
post #5678 of 10191 Old 09-11-2013, 06:02 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Hugo S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Hi,
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post

...
Here is a very good AVS thread that goes into a lot of detail about it and which hasn't - so far - been derailed by 'audiofools':

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1485846/quality-power

Thks Keith, nice link. smile.gif

Hugo
Hugo S is offline  
post #5679 of 10191 Old 09-11-2013, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,558
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 755 Post(s)
Liked: 792

Just received and installed a Sony XBR65X900a 4K flat panel.  With IP Scaler = On in the 4520, the Sony will not see a signal.  I tried all IP Scaler settings, from 4K down to 480i, and regardless of the setting, if the 4520 is scaling the video, the Sony refuses to recognize the signal.  With IP Scaler = Off, the signal is passed through the 4520 and up-converted in the Sony just fine.

 

Anyone else out there with a 4520 and a 4K display that can test this out?

AustinJerry is online now  
post #5680 of 10191 Old 09-11-2013, 12:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 18,698
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1902 Post(s)
Liked: 1991
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
 

Just received and installed a Sony XBR65X900a 4K flat panel.  With IP Scaler = On in the 4520, the Sony will not see a signal.  I tried all IP Scaler settings, from 4K down to 480i, and regardless of the setting, if the 4520 is scaling the video, the Sony refuses to recognize the signal.  With IP Scaler = Off, the signal is passed through the 4520 and up-converted in the Sony just fine.

 

Anyone else out there with a 4520 and a 4K display that can test this out?

 

Hey Jerry.  I'm just guessing here, but are you trying to marry up two different '4K' standards. AIUI, the Sony 4K TV is 'Ultra HD' which has a res of 3840 x 2160. But 'real' 4K, as seen in the Sony 4K cinemas, has a res of 4096 x 2160.  Yet another brilliant example of standardisation of standards from the AV world. Could it be that your Denon has 'real 4K' upscaling and your Sony has Ultra HD?  If so, then it's likely they can't talk to each other. HST, I'd have expected them to find a res that they both have in common and settle on that.

 

I know that you will want the Denon to work with the TV in the way it ought to, but there's surely nothing wrong with upscaling to 4K in the Sony?  

 

I doubt if this answer is going to help you much, but it was my first thought when I saw your problem.

kbarnes701 is online now  
post #5681 of 10191 Old 09-11-2013, 02:46 PM
Member
 
howard68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re set processor
Still shutting down
Will have to send it to
Doc Denon now
Will let you know how the repair process works
howard68 is offline  
post #5682 of 10191 Old 09-11-2013, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,558
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 755 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
 

Just received and installed a Sony XBR65X900a 4K flat panel.  With IP Scaler = On in the 4520, the Sony will not see a signal.  I tried all IP Scaler settings, from 4K down to 480i, and regardless of the setting, if the 4520 is scaling the video, the Sony refuses to recognize the signal.  With IP Scaler = Off, the signal is passed through the 4520 and up-converted in the Sony just fine.

 

Anyone else out there with a 4520 and a 4K display that can test this out?

 

 

This issue has been reported to both Sony and Denon.  I'll report back if I get an answer.

AustinJerry is online now  
post #5683 of 10191 Old 09-11-2013, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,558
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 755 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
 

 

Hey Jerry.  I'm just guessing here, but are you trying to marry up two different '4K' standards. AIUI, the Sony 4K TV is 'Ultra HD' which has a res of 3840 x 2160. But 'real' 4K, as seen in the Sony 4K cinemas, has a res of 4096 x 2160.  Yet another brilliant example of standardisation of standards from the AV world. Could it be that your Denon has 'real 4K' upscaling and your Sony has Ultra HD?  If so, then it's likely they can't talk to each other. HST, I'd have expected them to find a res that they both have in common and settle on that.

 

I know that you will want the Denon to work with the TV in the way it ought to, but there's surely nothing wrong with upscaling to 4K in the Sony?

 

I doubt if this answer is going to help you much, but it was my first thought when I saw your problem.

 

Interesting theory, Keith, but not sure if it is the root cause.

AustinJerry is online now  
post #5684 of 10191 Old 09-11-2013, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,713
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1434
The perils of early adoption in the stupid world of HDMI. I don't have any insight into the problem but my money is on a firmware fix being necessary for one or both devices.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #5685 of 10191 Old 09-11-2013, 04:20 PM
PMA
Senior Member
 
PMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just got a message that there is new firmware for this unit. Any idea what is in it? Is there a place to go to see any release notes?
PMA is online now  
post #5686 of 10191 Old 09-11-2013, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,713
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1434
See post #4 in this thread where JD posts changelog info. Denon doesn't publicize this but JD gets it through an inside connection and posts it here.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #5687 of 10191 Old 09-11-2013, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just got my 4520 (Thank you JD!!!) Can anyone with URC tell me what Denon listings you used? I'm assuming it's the ones on the bottom but just wanted to be sure. I've also sent an email to URC asking them when it will be "added" by name.

hsb

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #5688 of 10191 Old 09-13-2013, 01:58 PM
Member
 
mhaneef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South of Boston,MA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
1324 is pretty popular in Complete Control for URC.
mhaneef is offline  
post #5689 of 10191 Old 09-14-2013, 08:45 AM
Member
 
Mark1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Although it is great to have an inside man, the changelog is also available, as always, at http://firmware.denon.eu. Mark
Mark1000 is offline  
post #5690 of 10191 Old 09-14-2013, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhaneef View Post

1324 is pretty popular in Complete Control for URC.

Thank you.. Lot of the functions seem to map well. I'm mapping it out with MX900 editor first, and will move on to CCP when I get a chance.

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #5691 of 10191 Old 09-14-2013, 09:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,287
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1413 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark1000 View Post

Although it is great to have an inside man, the changelog is also available, as always, at http://firmware.denon.eu. Mark

Note access to the Europe website is only available if you have an European unit serial number to use. If you would like to offer yours, I can post it in post #6 for all to use. wink.gif


---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5692 of 10191 Old 09-14-2013, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Mark1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
😊
Mark1000 is offline  
post #5693 of 10191 Old 09-15-2013, 08:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,287
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1413 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Post #4 updated with more accurate firmware update change log information.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1430049/the-official-denon-avr-4520ci-thread/0_100#post_22413910

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5694 of 10191 Old 09-15-2013, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I need help with Airplay. I read the Denon/Marantz Airplay FAQ, and six pages of "airplay" related posts in this thread. I thought the post about setting the GUI/Net timeout to 30 vs always on was my problem, but alas that wasn't it.

Internet Radio works. Denon sees my PC as a viable source, so there's no connectivity issues.

When I start the music app (Apple's native Music app on Ipad), I just don't see the Airplay icon. Apple's troubleshooting articles all start with "make sure you're airplay devices are on..."

So other than tuning to the NET source, is there anything else I need to do for the 4520? Looking at the FAQ, I guess the older models xx11's required an Airplay App purchase from Denon. I couldn't find anything for the 4520 so that doesn't seem to be the issue. (and the manual doesn't say anything about it).

So is there anything you need to do to start Airplay function on the receiver? Other than tuning to NET source?

I can't imagine how this would factor in, but I do have a static IP assigned to the receiver.

Thank you.

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #5695 of 10191 Old 09-15-2013, 05:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
mhrischuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Garnet Valley, Pa.
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark1000 View Post

😊

I agree.

See My System Here
 
"Wolves don't lose sleep over the opinions of sheep."
mhrischuk is offline  
post #5696 of 10191 Old 09-15-2013, 05:54 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,287
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1413 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post

I need help with Airplay. I read the Denon/Marantz Airplay FAQ, and six pages of "airplay" related posts in this thread. I thought the post about setting the GUI/Net timeout to 30 vs always on was my problem, but alas that wasn't it.

Internet Radio works. Denon sees my PC as a viable source, so there's no connectivity issues.

When I start the music app (Apple's native Music app on Ipad), I just don't see the Airplay icon. Apple's troubleshooting articles all start with "make sure you're airplay devices are on..."

So other than tuning to the NET source, is there anything else I need to do for the 4520? Looking at the FAQ, I guess the older models xx11's required an Airplay App purchase from Denon. I couldn't find anything for the 4520 so that doesn't seem to be the issue. (and the manual doesn't say anything about it).

So is there anything you need to do to start Airplay function on the receiver? Other than tuning to NET source?

I can't imagine how this would factor in, but I do have a static IP assigned to the receiver.

Thank you.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1465528/the-official-2013-denon-e-series-x-series-avr-model-owners-thread-faq/0_100#user_L1

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5697 of 10191 Old 09-15-2013, 06:56 PM
Member
 
a33montoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Longtime lurker here on the AVS forums I recently bought a 4520 and have set it up and everything is working great.
Build date is 04/13 according to the serial number. I ran the calibration and it set all my speakers to large except my surround backs I will try changes this to a standard all 80hz crossover. I did manage to read through this entire thread skipping the bulk of the off topic stuff which was extensive lol. I am coming from a older pioneer elite vsx-94txh and the difference is night and day no buyers remorse whatsoever. I had one question regarding changing my speakers from large to small if I leave them with what audyssey set them to will the sub only compliment my surround rears?
a33montoya is offline  
post #5698 of 10191 Old 09-15-2013, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,558
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 755 Post(s)
Liked: 792
tongue.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by a33montoya View Post

Longtime lurker here on the AVS forums I recently bought a 4520 and have set it up and everything is working great.
Build date is 04/13 according to the serial number. I ran the calibration and it set all my speakers to large except my surround backs I will try changes this to a standard all 80hz crossover. I did manage to read through this entire thread skipping the bulk of the off topic stuff which was extensive lol. I am coming from a older pioneer elite vsx-94txh and the difference is night and day no buyers remorse whatsoever. I had one question regarding changing my speakers from large to small if I leave them with what audyssey set them to will the sub only compliment my surround rears?

The normal setting is for the subs to receive bass signals from all speakers set to small. So if only your surrounds are set to small, the subs will only get their redirected bass, in addition to whatever is on the LFE track, of course.

The recommended action is to change all speakers to small, and then set the crossover to a value you find acceptable. 80Hz is a good starting point.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5699 of 10191 Old 09-15-2013, 07:05 PM
Member
 
a33montoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I forgot to add my receiver temperature averages around 115-120F I have it in a cabinet with fully opened front 12" on top but only 1/4" on the sides and 4" in the rear. Is this good or is the temp to high?
a33montoya is offline  
post #5700 of 10191 Old 09-15-2013, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,558
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 755 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by a33montoya View Post

I forgot to add my receiver temperature averages around 115-120F I have it in a cabinet with fully opened front 12" on top but only 1/4" on the sides and 4" in the rear. Is this good or is the temp to high?

Sounds about normal to me.
a33montoya likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off