The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 284 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8491 of 8899 Old 06-20-2014, 04:21 PM
Member
 
pmcduie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
Thanks, I will look here to see if I can find a solution to my problem.
pmcduie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8492 of 8899 Old 06-20-2014, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 208
hey guys. So I have been thinking lately I am going to order a HTIB decent little set. Perhaps the Definitive Technology Pro cinema 600. set. I used to have pro monitor 1000's and they were fantastic big little satellite speakers. The 600's are about the size of a 16oz aluminum can but a little thicker. Anyway mainly after the 4 speakers to run as heights and wides. I would really like 6 so I could add in back surrounds but I will need a two channel amp so I will do that later. I could also sell the center and sub from the HTIB to make the 4 satellites even cheaper!

Question is if I want to run the center as a single back surround like some people do with a old school 6 channel setup how exactly do I connect that? Just to one of the back surrounds of left or right? Do I bi wire the two? I also have thought of running the little sub on one channel of my mini dsp and adding a HPF to use as va little mid bass filler sub.

thoughts?
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #8493 of 8899 Old 06-21-2014, 04:11 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,115
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
^^
For a single center back surround, you wire the speaker to the SBLeft speaker posts.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8494 of 8899 Old 06-21-2014, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Dreamliner is offline  
post #8495 of 8899 Old 06-21-2014, 10:53 AM
Member
 
PepperOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post


It's called 6.1 in case you've never heard of that.
PepperOne is offline  
post #8496 of 8899 Old 06-21-2014, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by PepperOne View Post
It's called 6.1 in case you've never heard of that.
I know, I just thought it was funny.

I went from 5.1 -> 7.1 -> 9.2 -> 11.2. I've had a Denon 887, 888, 3310, 4311 & 4520.

...Still have the 888 & 4520.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #8497 of 8899 Old 06-21-2014, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Basically in my case if I were to put two speakers back there they would be like 1.5 to 2 ft apart. And I would need to pick up another pair of little monitors to go with the 4 I have. But I do have the matching center and could put it directly behind mounted up on a light fixture. Still would need to amplify that channel though. Perhaps I could find like a 50 watt a channel stereo amp and bridge it to like 125 or so. Anyway this case all I need is to get the amp and I am ready to go Installing the heights and wides today.
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #8498 of 8899 Old 06-21-2014, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by PepperOne View Post
It's called 6.1 in case you've never heard of that.
Way to miss the joke
batpig is offline  
post #8499 of 8899 Old 06-21-2014, 01:09 PM
Member
 
PepperOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Way to miss the joke

A fly ball, and he caught it!
PepperOne is offline  
post #8500 of 8899 Old 06-21-2014, 03:23 PM
Member
 
Red Dolittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is anyone going to make fun of me for having 8.1? Only have room for a rear center channel and no space for wides so I'm running heights. The heights actually improve my front soundstage. Having fun revisiting some movies I haven't seen in a while. World War Z sounds pretty sweet!
Red Dolittle is offline  
post #8501 of 8899 Old 06-21-2014, 11:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Dolittle View Post
Is anyone going to make fun of me for having 8.1? Only have room for a rear center channel and no space for wides so I'm running heights. The heights actually improve my front soundstage. Having fun revisiting some movies I haven't seen in a while. World War Z sounds pretty sweet!
WWZ is a very well done soundtrack. I installed wides today and will have heights Monday when mounts arrive. Need an amp to run my one rear channel lol. Anyone know of an inexpensive 2 channel amp that can be bridged to get about 125-150 watts?
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #8502 of 8899 Old 06-22-2014, 03:46 AM
Member
 
Red Dolittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpowell84 View Post
WWZ is a very well done soundtrack. I installed wides today and will have heights Monday when mounts arrive. Need an amp to run my one rear channel lol. Anyone know of an inexpensive 2 channel amp that can be bridged to get about 125-150 watts?
Dredd sounds really cool, too! I thought the rear center channel comment was funny since I've been using a Def Tech C1 as my back surround for a while. Have fun with your new setup

You might be better off getting a multi-channel amp in case you want to upgrade to Dolby Atmos! Where can I put those extra speakers
Red Dolittle is offline  
post #8503 of 8899 Old 06-22-2014, 07:57 AM
Member
 
johnny dollar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
On the 4311 when you select a given input source, like an HDMI video, and assign it to a slot like, say, DVD, it's no longer available for any of the other slots. I'd like to use a video input more than once and use it in two different slots, one as is and another that uses the same HDMI cable but with the analog audio inputs. Does the 4520 allow use of a given source more than once, or is it like the 4311 and does not permit it? Thank you so much.
Is there anyone who can answer this question? Thanks in advance...

yours truly, johnny dollar
johnny dollar is offline  
post #8504 of 8899 Old 06-22-2014, 10:11 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,115
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
^^
All D&M models are the same in this respect in that an HDMI input can only be assigned to a single source; however, if you simply want to watch HDMI video will listening to analog audio, then you can plug the source's analog outputs to the 4311's analog inputs labeled DVD and then change the INPUT MODE for the DVD source to "Analog" when you want to switch from HDMI to analog audio. The 4520CI offers the additional feature in that any analog inputs can be used and then "assigned" to the DVD source name just as with the HDMI, optical, and coax digital on the 4311CI.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 06-22-2014 at 10:14 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8505 of 8899 Old 06-22-2014, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Dolittle View Post
Dredd sounds really cool, too! I thought the rear center channel comment was funny since I've been using a Def Tech C1 as my back surround for a while. Have fun with your new setup

You might be better off getting a multi-channel amp in case you want to upgrade to Dolby Atmos! Where can I put those extra speakers
Nice! These little Pro Monitor 600's or any of the series really are great little speakers! Look tiny in my room with my mains, subs, and room treatments lol. Stealth status. But they do their job well!
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #8506 of 8899 Old 06-22-2014, 10:29 AM
Member
 
johnny dollar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
All D&M models are the same in this respect in that an HDMI input can only be assigned to a single source; however, if you simply want to watch HDMI video will listening to analog audio, then you can plug the source's analog outputs to the 4311's analog inputs labeled DVD and then change the INPUT MODE for the DVD source to "Analog" when you want to switch from HDMI to analog audio. The 4520CI offers the additional feature in that any analog inputs can be used and then "assigned" to the DVD source name just as with the HDMI, optical, and coax digital on the 4311CI.
Thank you JDSmoothie. And thanks for the tip about input mode too. I'm going to try that out!

yours truly, johnny dollar
johnny dollar is offline  
post #8507 of 8899 Old 06-22-2014, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Glock3540's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Just outside Nashville
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi Guys,
I just purchased a 4520 a month or so ago. My previous receivers were a 4810ci and before that a 4802R. I have it set up in 11.2. My main speakers (and my center speaker) are Infinity P-fr's. My side surrounds are Infinity Overture 1's (soon to be replaced with P-fr's) and my height,wide and rear surrounds are Infinity Overture 1's.
I have a Emotiva XPA-1 powering my center speaker, An XPA-2 powering the mains, An XPA-5 powering the side and rear surrounds. The heights and wides are powered by the 4520. My subs are a pair of CHT 18.2's powered by a MQ-600 pro amp.
I'm in process of switching from Windows to Mac. I purchased a MacBook Pro to play iTunes without all of the glitches I've fought with Windows over the years.
My question is this; I listen to Multi Channel Music and it sounds great in my A/V room but I have run upon an issue I cannot figure out. My MacBook is connected to my router and then my 4520. When plain iTunes (as I am right now) the volume limits itself to appx 75% volume. When turning up the volume on the 4520 it will briefly go up to say 78 or 79 on the volume scale and then it decreases (by itself) back down to 74 or 75 almost instantly. I checked my settings on the 4520 and the scale is set to 0-98, and the Volume Limit is set to "Off". The volume on my MacBook in iTunes is at full volume. Do you have any ideas?
It is quite loud as is (appx 104 or 105 dB in the center of the room but I am used to quite a few more dB than that when having parties. (I know it is not advisable but I like it loud sometimes). I DO NOT LIKE MY EQUIPMENT ACTING AS A NANNY and limiting the volume. I do have Audyssey engaged and have not tried it with it turned off but it does not limit me when watching movies or playing music through my CD player.
Any Help Will Be Greatly Appreciated.
Thanks, Brian

"I'm Your Huckleberry..."

Last edited by Glock3540; 06-22-2014 at 05:20 PM.
Glock3540 is offline  
post #8508 of 8899 Old 06-22-2014, 05:34 PM
Member
 
Glock3540's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Just outside Nashville
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think I just figured out part of the issue I am having. I went into my Mac's Audio Midi Setup and changed some settings there. It now will go up to 93.5 but something is still not quite right....

"I'm Your Huckleberry..."
Glock3540 is offline  
post #8509 of 8899 Old 06-22-2014, 10:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 208
So I popped a CD into my new Oppo BD103D to compare the SQ to my ALAC files in iTunes. All the listening presets worked fine until I went to Stereo. The Denon does that clicking noise like it does when you power it off or go into the Audyssey setup. Not sure what was going on...
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #8510 of 8899 Old 06-23-2014, 01:48 AM
Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glock3540 View Post
Hi Guys,
I just purchased a 4520 a month or so ago. My previous receivers were a 4810ci and before that a 4802R. I have it set up in 11.2. My main speakers (and my center speaker) are Infinity P-fr's. My side surrounds are Infinity Overture 1's (soon to be replaced with P-fr's) and my height,wide and rear surrounds are Infinity Overture 1's.
I have a Emotiva XPA-1 powering my center speaker, An XPA-2 powering the mains, An XPA-5 powering the side and rear surrounds. The heights and wides are powered by the 4520. My subs are a pair of CHT 18.2's powered by a MQ-600 pro amp.
I'm in process of switching from Windows to Mac. I purchased a MacBook Pro to play iTunes without all of the glitches I've fought with Windows over the years.
My question is this; I listen to Multi Channel Music and it sounds great in my A/V room but I have run upon an issue I cannot figure out. My MacBook is connected to my router and then my 4520. When plain iTunes (as I am right now) the volume limits itself to appx 75% volume. When turning up the volume on the 4520 it will briefly go up to say 78 or 79 on the volume scale and then it decreases (by itself) back down to 74 or 75 almost instantly. I checked my settings on the 4520 and the scale is set to 0-98, and the Volume Limit is set to "Off". The volume on my MacBook in iTunes is at full volume. Do you have any ideas?
It is quite loud as is (appx 104 or 105 dB in the center of the room but I am used to quite a few more dB than that when having parties. (I know it is not advisable but I like it loud sometimes). I DO NOT LIKE MY EQUIPMENT ACTING AS A NANNY and limiting the volume. I do have Audyssey engaged and have not tried it with it turned off but it does not limit me when watching movies or playing music through my CD player.
Any Help Will Be Greatly Appreciated.
Thanks, Brian
Quite sure you have checked this, but where are your channel volumes?

I believe these can influence where master volume maxes out at.
TorTorden is offline  
post #8511 of 8899 Old 06-23-2014, 05:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by TorTorden View Post
Quite sure you have checked this, but where are your channel volumes?

I believe these can influence where master volume maxes out at.
It's not the receiver, it's iTunes. This is a known issue with Airplay streaming from a computer that's been reported many times. For some reason the volume gets capped at -6 (74 on the absolute scale). I don't know the exact cause or the solution.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #8512 of 8899 Old 06-23-2014, 05:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpowell84 View Post
So I popped a CD into my new Oppo BD103D to compare the SQ to my ALAC files in iTunes. All the listening presets worked fine until I went to Stereo. The Denon does that clicking noise like it does when you power it off or go into the Audyssey setup. Not sure what was going on...
Did something actually go "wrong" or are you just concerned because you heard some clicks? Because there's nothing to be concerned about if it's the latter.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #8513 of 8899 Old 06-23-2014, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Did something actually go "wrong" or are you just concerned because you heard some clicks? Because there's nothing to be concerned about if it's the latter.
No I am not concerned that something is wrong. I know the Denon units make clicks like that. Just trying to figure out why all the listening presets work fine then it does that when I go to stereo. And only from my Oppo...
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #8514 of 8899 Old 06-23-2014, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpowell84 View Post
No I am not concerned that something is wrong. I know the Denon units make clicks like that. Just trying to figure out why all the listening presets work fine then it does that when I go to stereo. And only from my Oppo...
Ok now I am concerned something is wrong and TBO honest a little irritated I buy a flagship model and it is already having issues. Everything has worked 100% flawless besides the only thing yesterday when I would select "stereo" listening preset with a CD playing music via my Oppo BD103D connected via HDMI (like everything else (PS3, Mac Mini)). The Denon would make that traditional clicking sound when stereo was selected and I would get no audio. Anyway all worked besides that little weirdness when I turned everything off last night. Now I turn on this evening and I can not GET ANYTHING THROUGH ANY HDMI SOURCE. The Oppo, the PS3, the Mac mini, all are inactive through hdmi. HDMI pass through is not working either. I tried different HDMI cables, and even my computer monitor connected to Zone 4 will not get an HDMI signal. Sure hope this is a bonehead move on my part and I don't have to send in a BRAND NEW FLAGSHIP DENON!!!!!
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #8515 of 8899 Old 06-23-2014, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpowell84 View Post
Ok now I am concerned something is wrong and TBO honest a little irritated I buy a flagship model and it is already having issues. Everything has worked 100% flawless besides the only thing yesterday when I would select "stereo" listening preset with a CD playing music via my Oppo BD103D connected via HDMI (like everything else (PS3, Mac Mini)). The Denon would make that traditional clicking sound when stereo was selected and I would get no audio. Anyway all worked besides that little weirdness when I turned everything off last night. Now I turn on this evening and I can not GET ANYTHING THROUGH ANY HDMI SOURCE. The Oppo, the PS3, the Mac mini, all are inactive through hdmi. HDMI pass through is not working either. I tried different HDMI cables, and even my computer monitor connected to Zone 4 will not get an HDMI signal. Sure hope this is a bonehead move on my part and I don't have to send in a BRAND NEW FLAGSHIP DENON!!!!!
Before you screw yourself into the ceiling, heed the advice JD includes in his signature (i.e. if all else fails, reset the processor).
Schwa is offline  
post #8516 of 8899 Old 06-23-2014, 10:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post
Before you screw yourself into the ceiling, heed the advice JD includes in his signature (i.e. if all else fails, reset the processor).
Well that worked. First time I have ever had to do that. First time as a Denon owner I have had to do that. Forgive me for those of you who read and sighed at my previous comment. I was just thinking to myself this is the worst time for something to go wrong with heights and wides being setup and guests and such...the thought of having to pack up and send off...ughhghg....

So what exactly causes this? My 3313 never had any issues. Is it basically like a software freeze?

No worries having to rerun Audyssey as I installed heights today before turning everything on. So I have to rerun anyway.
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #8517 of 8899 Old 06-23-2014, 11:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Ahab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: California
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am having audio problems with my receiver.

Purchased the 4520 late last year and ran fine until about a month ago when it started shutting off on its own. Took it to an authorized repair service. They had to replace a part. Picked it up today and ran the Audyssey calibration. I only have a 3.1 system so calibration didn't take too long and all seemed to go ok.
I have an Apple TV, Oppo Blu Ray player and Denon DVD play connected via HDMI.

When I tried playing some songs through the Apple TV I could not get any sound at first. Manged to get sound by changing Input Mode from Auto to HDMI.

Had to make the same change to the Input Mode for the Denon and Oppo players and was getting audio fine through all speakers from the sample discs I played.

Watched a movie on the Oppo and all was still working ok. But when I tried playing a disc on the Denon player the only sound I could get was from the SW, even though I had gotten full audio earlier. Went back and tried another movie in the Oppo but had the same result as with the Denon.

Video is fine. But am presently getting no sound through the center and front speakers.

Is a processor reset the only thing left for me to try at this time? Or is there some setting I'm overlooking in the setup menu?

Updated Info: Tried doing a reset this am. Still no sound from speakers. Will switch in my 4310 tonight and see if there is a problem with speakers. Rather doubt it since everything was working fine with the 4310 while the new receiver was being repaired.

Last edited by Ahab; 06-24-2014 at 08:50 AM. Reason: Update
Ahab is offline  
post #8518 of 8899 Old 06-24-2014, 09:56 AM
Member
 
travis-g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just hooked up my 4520 and I noticed in stereo mode listening to music the bass is almost non existent through my subs. All my speakers are set to small. Any ideas?
travis-g is offline  
post #8519 of 8899 Old 06-24-2014, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by travis-g View Post
i just hooked up my 4520 and i noticed in stereo mode listening to music the bass is almost non existent through my subs. All my speakers are set to small. Any ideas?
just bump the trim up
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #8520 of 8899 Old 06-24-2014, 11:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glock3540 View Post
Hi Guys,
I just purchased a 4520 a month or so ago. My previous receivers were a 4810ci and before that a 4802R. I have it set up in 11.2. My main speakers (and my center speaker) are Infinity P-fr's. My side surrounds are Infinity Overture 1's (soon to be replaced with P-fr's) and my height,wide and rear surrounds are Infinity Overture 1's.
I have a Emotiva XPA-1 powering my center speaker, An XPA-2 powering the mains, An XPA-5 powering the side and rear surrounds. The heights and wides are powered by the 4520. My subs are a pair of CHT 18.2's powered by a MQ-600 pro amp.
I'm in process of switching from Windows to Mac. I purchased a MacBook Pro to play iTunes without all of the glitches I've fought with Windows over the years.
My question is this; I listen to Multi Channel Music and it sounds great in my A/V room but I have run upon an issue I cannot figure out. My MacBook is connected to my router and then my 4520. When plain iTunes (as I am right now) the volume limits itself to appx 75% volume. When turning up the volume on the 4520 it will briefly go up to say 78 or 79 on the volume scale and then it decreases (by itself) back down to 74 or 75 almost instantly. I checked my settings on the 4520 and the scale is set to 0-98, and the Volume Limit is set to "Off". The volume on my MacBook in iTunes is at full volume. Do you have any ideas?
It is quite loud as is (appx 104 or 105 dB in the center of the room but I am used to quite a few more dB than that when having parties. (I know it is not advisable but I like it loud sometimes). I DO NOT LIKE MY EQUIPMENT ACTING AS A NANNY and limiting the volume. I do have Audyssey engaged and have not tried it with it turned off but it does not limit me when watching movies or playing music through my CD player.
Any Help Will Be Greatly Appreciated.
Thanks, Brian
I was just reading this post and had to ask. Why would you buy a 4520 and use all those Emotiva amps. Wouldn't it make more sense to get a x4000 and spend the rest on something else? Is the 4520 a superior processor?
audio.hobby is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off