The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 297 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8881 of 8889 Old Yesterday, 06:01 PM
Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
while I doubt there will be any way to update the 4520 to do atmos. I'm sure they could.....

I was just wondering if when ever it becomes a norm. Could something like an Oppo, with all the multi channel analog out it has, be able to trick the 4520 into some type of atmos hybrid, using the multi channel analog in.

I mean i'm running 11.2, I'd think somehow I should be able to get at least 2 channels on the ceiling do something new....I'd be ok with 9.2.2....
harrybnbad is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8882 of 8889 Old Yesterday, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sam S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrybnbad View Post
while I doubt there will be any way to update the 4520 to do atmos. I'm sure they could.....
And I'm pretty sure they can't. Seems like Atmos + Audyssey requires 2X the processors/processing power that the 4520 has onboard.
Sam S is offline  
post #8883 of 8889 Old Yesterday, 08:34 PM
Member
 
johnny dollar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Please accept my apologies if this is answered somewhere in the thread but after a half hour of searching I'm just more confused than ever.

I just strung an HDMI cable from the 4520 into another room where I connected it to a small tv. It was my thought from what I got out of the manual that Zone 4 would pass thru whatever source I chose to assign to it and send it thru that cable into the 2nd tv when the 4520 was in standby mode. But in standby mode I get nothing.

I finally figured out that I can get a signal when I power ON Zone 4. But then the 4520 is no longer in standby and has to be on like 24 hours a day unless I want to keep running back and forth from one room to another every time I turn a tv on or off.

Is there a way to get a signal out of Zone 4 while the 4520 is in the typical standby mode (no display, red light over power button)? If I have to leave the 4520 on 24 hours a day I don't think that's at all worthwhile for the wear and tear or electricity cost.

Thank you so much for your help on this.

yours truly, johnny dollar
johnny dollar is offline  
post #8884 of 8889 Old Yesterday, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam S View Post
And I'm pretty sure they can't. Seems like Atmos + Audyssey requires 2X the processors/processing power that the 4520 has onboard.
No big loss, figure you don't want to mess with initial implementations anyway, it always improves with the next model, just look at how HDMI interfaces and DSP usage has evolved with each new model. Does it ever stop.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #8885 of 8889 Old Yesterday, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,850
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny dollar View Post
Please accept my apologies if this is answered somewhere in the thread but after a half hour of searching I'm just more confused than ever.

I just strung an HDMI cable from the 4520 into another room where I connected it to a small tv. It was my thought from what I got out of the manual that Zone 4 would pass thru whatever source I chose to assign to it and send it thru that cable into the 2nd tv when the 4520 was in standby mode. But in standby mode I get nothing.

I finally figured out that I can get a signal when I power ON Zone 4. But then the 4520 is no longer in standby and has to be on like 24 hours a day unless I want to keep running back and forth from one room to another every time I turn a tv on or off.

Is there a way to get a signal out of Zone 4 while the 4520 is in the typical standby mode (no display, red light over power button)? If I have to leave the 4520 on 24 hours a day I don't think that's at all worthwhile for the wear and tear or electricity cost.

Thank you so much for your help on this.
Zone 4 is an active matrix, not a standby pass through. If you want Zone 4 to be on, it has to be on. It's not the passive pass through that you get with the main zone outputs. But in terms of energy use / cost I would bet it's quite minimal, the main zone circuitry and amps don't have to be on.

If you don't need the independent source control you can use the second main zone HDMI output and designate it as the standby option. But you can't actively select the source that is passing through (setting is either one designated source or "last" source) and you basically have to choose between having the main zone on or the second zone pass thru, not both simultaneously.

If you want the flexibility of a full matrix with independent source and power for the two zones, you have to use Zone 4.

All that said.... why do you have to leave it on 24 hrs a day? In terms of running back and forth between rooms to turn power on or off.... Um, you have heard of this thing called the internet right? You do know tour receiver can be controlled by it, right?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #8886 of 8889 Old Today, 06:17 AM
Member
 
johnny dollar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Um, you have heard of this thing called the internet right? You do know tour receiver can be controlled by it, right?
I don't know about that. Do you really think that internet thing is going to catch on?

Finally I understand how zone 4 works. Thank you so much for clearing it up. Plus it's suggested to me another possibility (teach my RF remote the on/off zone 4 commands).

yours truly, johnny dollar
johnny dollar is offline  
post #8887 of 8889 Old Today, 04:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 605
I'm thinking about adding front heights to my setup to take advantage of the two extra channels of amplification the 4520 has over the 3808 it replaced. WIth my setup, front heights are all I can add. I don't have the space for front wides.

I currently have a 7.1 setup using an SVS subwoofer from 2003 along with a seven speaker SVS system from 2008. My space is limited for front heights because there is only one spot I can mount them on the wall where the stud is. And one of those spots is above a window. So I was looking at the Axiom M3 bookshelf speaker to use for front heights.

With the MultEQ XT32, will that do a decent job with the Axioms and the SVS speakers in my system?(with just the SVS speakers it sounds superb) Will those Axiom speakers even work well for front height speakers?

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #8888 of 8889 Old Today, 05:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,850
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 953
I think they will be fine. Axiom speakers should be pretty neutral and close to flat so it shouldn't be hard for XT32 to tweak them to the target curve. And furthermore the height speakers probably don't stick out that much anyway so you'd be unlikely to notice whatever small differences are left.

Side note, but if you are going to put money into improving the setup, what about a second SVS subwoofer instead? You can use the same rationale ("taking advantage" of an unused feature of the 4520, namely SubEQ) and adding a second sub should yield pretty signficant improvements in smoothness of bass response across the listening zone.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #8889 of 8889 Old Today, 05:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 605
I would love to add a second sub but I am in a condo. With just the one sub and the sub-sonic bass it produces, things can really start rattling. Fortunately I don't have to worry too much about the volume since I'm in the basement condo. But if I added a second SVS subwoofer I think that would push it a little too far.

Although next on my list would be to just replace my existing sub with a newer SVS sub.

Thanks for the comment about the Axioms. I wasn't really sure if they would work or not. I was completely resigned to stick with a 7.1 setup until I got the 4520. And with the excellent results I can hear in my current setup I really want to try and take advantage of the two extra channels of amplification. Plus I need to test it out soon anyway since it's a refurb. If there is an issue during the first 30 days, Denon covers shipping both ways to fix it.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme


Last edited by aaronwt; Today at 05:10 PM.
aaronwt is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off