The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 298 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2014, 09:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,072
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 991 Post(s)
Liked: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
The speaker posts and pre-outs are always "hot." In fact some have placed a mirrored 5.1 setup in another room as a result using both the speaker posts and pre-outs.
So even if the zones are off the pre-outs are hot? Why would that be the case? I leave my Zone 2, 3, and 4 off. I would not expect there to be a signal unless I had those zones on.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-01-2014, 09:56 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,643
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2052 Post(s)
Liked: 1764
^^
The OP was speaking of the main zone so my reply was in reference to the main zone.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 08-02-2014, 03:39 AM
Newbie
 
user222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Surround Back Channels turned off

Quote:
Originally Posted by reyalP View Post
I have the 4520 and a 7.1 setup. I noticed that when watching movies even though they advertise the recodring in 5.1 the reciever still plays it in 7.1. Not all movies but some do this. Is there a way to turn off the surround back left and right when I don't want to hear 7.1?
Dear reyalP,

This you have noticed happens because you have your surround back channels installed and turned on. So the receiver adds two more channels if the original audio is 5.1 (in 7.1 original audio reproduces the original channels). If you don't wan't the receiver to add these channels in 5.1 original audio you can turn surround back channels off using the setup menu. There is also a much more easier way if you own a harmony remote with the press of a button!
user222 is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,948
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1072 Post(s)
Liked: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by user222 View Post
Dear reyalP,

This you have noticed happens because you have your surround back channels installed and turned on. So the receiver adds two more channels if the original audio is 5.1 (in 7.1 original audio reproduces the original channels). If you don't wan't the receiver to add these channels in 5.1 original audio you can turn surround back channels off using the setup menu. There is also a much more easier way if you own a harmony remote with the press of a button!
Can you elaborate on how you were able to configure the Harmony to toggle the surround backs off and on? Previous Denon AVR's had a command to turn off the surround backs, but AFAIK the 4520 does not have this command.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 08-02-2014, 06:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 19,473
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2390 Post(s)
Liked: 2187
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Can you elaborate on how you were able to configure the Harmony to toggle the surround backs off and on? Previous Denon AVR's had a command to turn off the surround backs, but AFAIK the 4520 does not have this command.
Often the commands from older units will also work with later units, so it is worth trying adding the commands from the previous model to your Harmony remote and seeing if they work with the 4520. You may have to download the older unit and Add it as a Device in your Harmony software - then you can just select the command and add it to the config for the 4520. I've done this a few times and it has worked nicely. Not guaranteed though.
kbarnes701 is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 07:04 AM
Newbie
 
user222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Can you elaborate on how you were able to configure the Harmony to toggle the surround backs off and on? Previous Denon AVR's had a command to turn off the surround backs, but AFAIK the 4520 does not have this command.
The complexity of the procedure and how I can help you it depends from 2 factors:
1. What harmony remote do you have.
2. If you have 2 harmony remotes (or more).

Give me these information and I will see how I can help you. If for instance you have any two of these harmony remotes below then the procedure for you it will be a joy, I can send you the commands ready and you will teach your harmony to use it and that's all:

Harmony ultimate,
Harmony touch,
Harmony 900,
Harmony one
user222 is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,948
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1072 Post(s)
Liked: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
Often the commands from older units will also work with later units, so it is worth trying adding the commands from the previous model to your Harmony remote and seeing if they work with the 4520. You may have to download the older unit and Add it as a Device in your Harmony software - then you can just select the command and add it to the config for the 4520. I've done this a few times and it has worked nicely. Not guaranteed though.
I have a 4311 in the bedroom, which supports a discrete command to toggle the rear surrounds off and on. The usual procedure would be to take the 4311 remote and use it to program the Harmony for use on the 4520. However, the command does not work with the 4520, nor does the 4520 have a way to toggle the rear surrounds in its menu structure. This has been discussed a number of times. The only way to turn off the rear surrounds (in music modes) is to remove the speakers in the speaker configuration menu, which is not ideal.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 08-02-2014, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,948
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1072 Post(s)
Liked: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by user222 View Post
The complexity of the procedure and how I can help you it depends from 2 factors:
1. What harmony remote do you have.
2. If you have 2 harmony remotes (or more).

Give me these information and I will see how I can help you. If for instance you have any two of these harmony remotes below then the procedure for you it will be a joy, I can send you the commands ready and you will teach your harmony to use it and that's all:

Harmony ultimate,
Harmony touch,
Harmony 900,
Harmony one
OK, I am game. I have a Harmony One remote. I would like to be able to toggle the rear surrounds when in one of the music modes, e.g. PLIIx Music. Show me how, please.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 08-02-2014, 07:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 19,473
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2390 Post(s)
Liked: 2187
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I have a 4311 in the bedroom, which supports a discrete command to toggle the rear surrounds off and on. The usual procedure would be to take the 4311 remote and use it to program the Harmony for use on the 4520. However, the command does not work with the 4520, nor does the 4520 have a way to toggle the rear surrounds in its menu structure. This has been discussed a number of times. The only way to turn off the rear surrounds (in music modes) is to remove the speakers in the speaker configuration menu, which is not ideal.
Ah - in that case, you are screwed by the sound of it (NPI). Unless user222 has a way...
kbarnes701 is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 08:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,053
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1169 Post(s)
Liked: 1603
I wish he would be less cryptic and simply explain what's going on. For example why does it matter what Harmony remote you have? They all can be taught a command.
batpig is online now  
Old 08-02-2014, 11:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,072
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 991 Post(s)
Liked: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
OK, I am game. I have a Harmony One remote. I would like to be able to toggle the rear surrounds when in one of the music modes, e.g. PLIIx Music. Show me how, please.
PLIIx Music uses the surrounds in that mode. So it makes no sense to even be able to turn them off. It wouldn't even sound right without the surrounds.

PLIIx, cinema and music, is designed to create a 5.1 or 7.1 sound field.
aaronwt is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,948
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1072 Post(s)
Liked: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
PLIIx Music uses the surrounds in that mode. So it makes no sense to even be able to turn them off. It wouldn't even sound right without the surrounds.

PLIIx, cinema and music, is designed to create a 5.1 or 7.1 sound field.
It is a matter of preference, Aaron. I think the rear surrounds add just a little too much ambiance to two-channel music, so I prefer to turn them off. With previous Denon's, it was a simple remote keystroke. With the 4520, not so easy.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 08-02-2014, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Are you looking for 2 channel stereo?
harrybnbad is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,948
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1072 Post(s)
Liked: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrybnbad View Post
Are you looking for 2 channel stereo?
Don't understand the question, Harry.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 08-03-2014, 12:55 PM
Member
 
johnny dollar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm still working my way through the mysteries of the Zone 4 output, so I'm turning again to the experts here for an answer to this puzzle.

I thought if I set the Zone 4 output passthrough to DVR, it would always feed the DVR signal. And yet when I change the main zone to some other source, Zone 4 changes along with it. And I have to manually set it back to DVR. This seems to happen every time I change the main zone to a different source.

Am I doing something wrong or is this a 'feature' of the 4520? Thanks in advance for any assistance you can render.

yours truly, johnny dollar
johnny dollar is online now  
Old 08-03-2014, 01:19 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,643
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2052 Post(s)
Liked: 1764
^^
Each zone should be independent of another. Try setting the unit to Standby and unplug for 10 minutes (soft reset).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 08-03-2014, 02:40 PM
Member
 
Gordon-XZ71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Lyon, Michigan USA
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Being that there are 200+ pages on this Receiver that I did not want to sift through, does anybody know when the replacement for the DENON AVR-4520 will be out ? My Integra 70.2 just crapped out and am in the market for something new.

Welcome My Son, Welcome To The Machine
Gordon-XZ71 is offline  
Old 08-03-2014, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,053
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1169 Post(s)
Liked: 1603
Gordon- the lower level models and the higher level models are announced, see this thread: The "Official" 2014 Denon Atmos+XT32 Model Thread (X4100/X5200/X7200)

The direct replacement is the X7200
batpig is online now  
Old 08-03-2014, 02:58 PM
Member
 
johnny dollar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Each zone should be independent of another. Try setting the unit to Standby and unplug for 10 minutes (soft reset).
I will try that now, though I did spot this in the manual under troubleshooting:

symptom:
When the HDMI ZONE4 function is used and an operation is performed in MAIN ZONE, the following operations occur.
• The input source on this unit automatically changes.
solution:
• When the input source for ZONE4 is “SOURCE”, select an input source that is different from the one for MAIN ZONE.

That sounds like what's happening to me, though the 'solution' doesn't seem very helpful. The way it looks to me, they're saying if the input changes, change it back. Again I could be misunderstanding. I'm off to unplug my Denon. Thanks much.

EtA: After I unplugged the Denon for 10 minutes and powered everything up again, I was able to change the main zone input and Zone 4 stayed on DVR. You guys know your stuff. Thank you so much.

yours truly, johnny dollar

Last edited by johnny dollar; 08-03-2014 at 03:20 PM. Reason: update...
johnny dollar is online now  
Old 08-03-2014, 04:08 PM
Member
 
mustangchris04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there a way to control a Denon bluray player with the AVR's remote? It has all the play/pause/stop/skip/up/down/left/right buttons so it would be nice to be able to to control the blueray as well. Specifically the DBT-3313
mustangchris04 is offline  
Old 08-03-2014, 04:18 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,643
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2052 Post(s)
Liked: 1764
^^
Yes, the remote can be used to control a number of other devices (p. 157 Owner's manual).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 08-03-2014, 05:10 PM
Member
 
mustangchris04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Yes, the remote can be used to control a number of other devices (p. 157 Owner's manual).
Thanks! I thought the AVR would be able to control over HDMI to the blueray player. Never thought about using the remote to send the IR command directly to the bluray.
mustangchris04 is offline  
Old 08-03-2014, 05:31 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,643
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2052 Post(s)
Liked: 1764
^^
The only thing HDMI-CEC does is turn the devices ON/OFF in the chain. Set HDMI Control to ON on the 4520CI.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 08-03-2014, 08:00 PM
Newbie
 
PanManz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I apologize if this has been covered off or is a stupid question but I have tried searching this thread and cannot find it. I want to control a Panasonic PT-AE8000 projector from my 4520 Denon remote. Is there a default ir id code that I can enter for Panasonic Projectors? The manual has no projector ir id's.
PanManz is offline  
Old 08-03-2014, 09:50 PM
Member
 
Gordon-XZ71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Lyon, Michigan USA
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Gordon- the lower level models and the higher level models are announced, see this thread: The "Official" 2014 Denon Atmos+XT32 Model Thread (X4100/X5200/X7200)

The direct replacement is the X7200
Thanks, looks like all the info for the X7200 is not out yet. I am looking at the Yamaha 3040 or the Denon. Will have to wait a bit and see what the X7200 offers once it has been officially released.

Welcome My Son, Welcome To The Machine
Gordon-XZ71 is offline  
Old 08-04-2014, 02:58 AM
Member
 
Mark1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am puzzled. Yesterday I reran Audyssey on my 4520 because of some furniture rearrangements. As a first step I recalibrated my sub to be as close to a constant 75 dB as possible. Then I went through the whole series of measurements for all eight microphone positions. When finished, I checked all values. Most speakers were around 0 dB or a little above. Only my sub was -5dB. I would expect this to be (almost) exactly 0 dB as this is the purpose of calibrating to 75 dB in the first place. I know final testing is done 10 dB lower than reference, but this should make no difference as this is taken into account while calculating the final results. As far as I know, levels are measured at the first mic position; the same I used for calibrating my sub. Can anybody help me in understanding how this 5 dB difference can occur?
Mark
Mark1000 is offline  
Old 08-04-2014, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: The very wet, humid, muggy South !!
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 54
On the a Denon 4520 remote, is there a specific button used for CDs and BluRays to open the drawer or extract the disc? Probably a dumb question but there is no labeled button or assigned button when I program the unit. Seems weird that there is not a button just for that.
Guess I could program a macro button for that?
PeterK is offline  
Old 08-04-2014, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nightlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southern Sweden
Posts: 1,935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
On the a Denon 4520 remote, is there a specific button used for CDs and BluRays to open the drawer or extract the disc? Probably a dumb question but there is no labeled button or assigned button when I program the unit. Seems weird that there is not a button just for that.
Exactly why would you open the drawer remotely? It's the most silly button ever on a remote - you will have to go to the player anyway to pick it...

Under construction: the Larch theater
Nightlord is online now  
Old 08-04-2014, 06:42 AM
Newbie
 
user222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Cryptic? Not at all !

Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
I wish he would be less cryptic and simply explain what's going on. For example why does it matter what Harmony remote you have? They all can be taught a command.
Dear batpig, please consider this scenario:
I can create an "open" harmony remote account (for harmony one for example, because I own this model) with only one device in it namely Denon Avr-4520. Because I already have the SurroundBackChannel command I can include this command in the device's commands. Any one who need this command and own harmony one model can login to this account, change the remote of the account to be his remote and then sync. So the command now should be in his remote. If happens and he owns a second harmony remote then it can teach it the command using the first remote. After that can bring his first remote in his normal condition using his own account. What do you think did I missed something?
That is why I asked for the harmony models, so I can create the "open" account, I don't have all the models of harmony remotes!
This is the easiest way to get the command in my opinion.
As a second but not so easy way I also have detailed instructions to create by himself any one is interested any command included in official avr-4520 ir list of codes and if the procedure is understood I ccan provide the hex code for any command. So I only wanted to help and not get mysterious!
Thank you.
user222 is offline  
Old 08-04-2014, 06:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,072
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 991 Post(s)
Liked: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightlord View Post
Exactly why would you open the drawer remotely? It's the most silly button ever on a remote - you will have to go to the player anyway to pick it...
I rarely ever use the eject button on a player. I almost always use the eject button on the remote.

You hit the eject button on the remote, and by the time you get to the player the disc is ejected. Otherwise you might have to wait a second or two if you do it from the player.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
 

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off