The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 334 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9991 of 12491 Old 10-02-2014, 01:22 AM
Member
 
netjumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to setup my replacement 4520 to 4311. I find the remote to be very inferior to the 4311. Does anyone know what happened to the "Standard" button option to have the avr play whatever sound mode is coming in instead of me selecting one. If I select a mode with the "Movie, Game etc buttong how do i make it go back to as you would with the Standard button option.
netjumper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9992 of 12491 Old 10-02-2014, 03:10 AM
Member
 
com5984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by netjumper View Post
Trying to setup my replacement 4520 to 4311. I find the remote to be very inferior to the 4311. Does anyone know what happened to the "Standard" button option to have the avr play whatever sound mode is coming in instead of me selecting one. If I select a mode with the "Movie, Game etc buttong how do i make it go back to as you would with the Standard button option.
You need to hold the required colour button and a pop up box will appear.
com5984 is offline  
post #9993 of 12491 Old 10-02-2014, 09:24 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 4,251
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post
Mine clicks if I hold down the volume button on the remote.

Mine doesn't click with either incremental increases or holding down of the volume button on a pcm audio feed. I'll obviously waste time trying anything when I need to go out and mow the yard.
rlb is offline  
post #9994 of 12491 Old 10-02-2014, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
ben_r_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Sigh, didnt think I was going to upgrade my 4311, but I just jumped on a deal for a 4520. $999 shipped and no tax, not too shabby considering the 4311 goes for around 900 on ebay in perfect condition.

ben_r_ is offline  
post #9995 of 12491 Old 10-02-2014, 03:14 PM
Member
 
barryle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how the Dacs are in the 4520 versus the new Emotive XMC-1 processor? The processor can be bought for $200 more than the Denon 4520
barryle is offline  
post #9996 of 12491 Old 10-02-2014, 03:47 PM
Senior Member
 
mlah384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 81
In the Great Found Deals forum someone posted that Adorama has the 4520 for $999... coupon code S452099900

Yep... I just confirmed... coupon code deducts $600 off the $1599 listed price... cool
mlah384 is offline  
post #9997 of 12491 Old 10-02-2014, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
Mine doesn't click with either incremental increases or holding down of the volume button on a pcm audio feed. I'll obviously waste time trying anything when I need to go out and mow the yard.
I don't know what the source format was when I noticed mine clicking. It really doesn't concern me enough to investigate any further.
Schwa is offline  
post #9998 of 12491 Old 10-02-2014, 09:41 PM
Member
 
netjumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok. So I hold hold down one of the color buttons say Movie. A list pops up with different options to select different sound modes ie Dolby Digital, Multi Channel in etc. How do I know which is the actual input signal coming in ? Or is there a way to default it to pick the input coming in. Not sure if this makes sense.
netjumper is offline  
post #9999 of 12491 Old 10-02-2014, 10:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 23,168
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1607 Post(s)
Liked: 991
Once you set it then it will remember your settings for each format as well as each input. Unfortunately for me I mainly use just one input with the 4520, so I need to change the settings a fair amount depending on what I am listening to or watching. I found that I am mostly using PLIIz though. I don't like what DSX does with some of the content where I will hear speech coming from the FL/FR and front height speakers. PLIIz keeps it anchored to the center speaker. I've found that when I do use Audyssey DSX it is mainly with a BD.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #10000 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 05:05 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 4,251
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by netjumper View Post
Ok. So I hold hold down one of the color buttons say Movie. A list pops up with different options to select different sound modes ie Dolby Digital, Multi Channel in etc. How do I know which is the actual input signal coming in ? Or is there a way to default it to pick the input coming in. Not sure if this makes sense.

If you want to know actual incoming signal, go to: setup/general/information/audio/input signal
rlb is offline  
post #10001 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 06:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sourbeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 23
the 4520 runs surprisingly cool. I never saw a need for fans. Mine is in an open shelf but has a glass shelf only an inch above it. I couldn't believe how cool it felt to the touch compard to the Onkyo 705 it replaced. That one always had the internal fans running and they were loud enough to hear from my seat with everything else muted. I can honestly say I have never heard a fan running on the 4520 internally if they are then they are completely quiet when they run.

TV - Panasonic 58PZ700U plasma
L/R - Ascend Sierra Towers with RAAL Tweets in piano black
C - Ascend Sierra Horizon with RAAL Tweet in piano black
Surr - Polk Fxi-A6
Sub - SVS PC-13 Ultra
AVR - Denon 4520-CI
Blu-ray - OPPO 103
Comcast Set Top Box
sourbeef is offline  
post #10002 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,869
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1787 Post(s)
Liked: 1974
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
If you want to know actual incoming signal, go to: setup/general/information/audio/input signal
Also worth noting that for any multichannel signal input the FIRST option on the list when you press Movie/Music/Game is going to be the "standard" decoding.

One thing you could do is, if you never use the "Game" button, save that as the first / standard option and then use it as a "standard decoding" button and then use Movie/Music to play with other modes.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #10003 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
turbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In what ways would the AVR-4520ci be an upgrade to AVR-5805?

In what ways would the AVR-4520ci be an downgrade to AVR-5805?

I have a 5805 and I am considering the 4520 but not quite sure.
turbo1 is offline  
post #10004 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 07:35 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 4,251
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Also worth noting that for any multichannel signal input the FIRST option on the list when you press Movie/Music/Game is going to be the "standard" decoding.

One thing you could do is, if you never use the "Game" button, save that as the first / standard option and then use it as a "standard decoding" button and then use Movie/Music to play with other modes.

Can't find it now, but believe I read once where there were some differences. For example, "movie" dolby digital included the audyssey high level rolloff; but "music" or "game" would be flat.
rlb is offline  
post #10005 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Has anyone used any specialty Power Cables such as the Silnote with thier 4520 and felt a difference in performance like the Silnote people suggest and their References vaidate?
AVSF458 is offline  
post #10006 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,869
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1787 Post(s)
Liked: 1974
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
Can't find it now, but believe I read once where there were some differences. For example, "movie" dolby digital included the audyssey high level rolloff; but "music" or "game" would be flat.
Those surround mode buttons are just for memorizing favorites. They have zero relationship with the audyssey EQ curves.

You are probably thinking of THX surround processing which Denons don't have.
rlb likes this.
batpig is online now  
post #10007 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 08:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,869
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1787 Post(s)
Liked: 1974
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVSF458 View Post
Has anyone used any specialty Power Cables such as the Silnote with thier 4520 and felt a difference in performance like the Silnote people suggest and their References vaidate?
You're not going to find much support for fancy exotic cables on AVSCIENCE forum.
batpig is online now  
post #10008 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 01:22 PM
Member
 
fububoyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No video signal from PC to Receiver (HDMI)

Hoping someone has a solution for this issue:

I can't seem to get the receiver to output any video signal to my tv from my PC through HDMI. Windows is not detecting a new display when I plug in the cable from PC to Receiver. however, if I plug the same cable directly from TV to PC then the display is detected fine. Pass through is enabled on my receiver and other sources are working correctly. FYI, I'm running a HDBASE-T switcher from my tv to media closet, but don't think that's the issue. The video card on the pc is intel hd 4600.


Anyone else have this issue, tips, or fixes?
fububoyee is offline  
post #10009 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 01:24 PM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 4,251
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Those surround mode buttons are just for memorizing favorites. They have zero relationship with the audyssey EQ curves.

You are probably thinking of THX surround processing which Denons don't have.

Thanks. It's possible I'm thinking of THX because I am coming from an Integra 9.8.
rlb is offline  
post #10010 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,869
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1787 Post(s)
Liked: 1974
Quote:
Originally Posted by fububoyee View Post
Hoping someone has a solution for this issue:

I can't seem to get the receiver to output any video signal to my tv from my PC through HDMI. Windows is not detecting a new display when I plug in the cable from PC to Receiver. however, if I plug the same cable directly from TV to PC then the display is detected fine. Pass through is enabled on my receiver and other sources are working correctly. FYI, I'm running a HDBASE-T switcher from my tv to media closet, but don't think that's the issue. The video card on the pc is intel hd 4600.


Anyone else have this issue, tips, or fixes?

HTPC's can be tricky with HDMI switches (which is what the receiver is in this case). You might want to ask on a HTPC forum for others who are using that video card, or check into an EDID detective software that you can download to the HTPC and override whatever EDID goofiness is causing the problem.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #10011 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by netjumper View Post
Trying to setup my replacement 4520 to 4311. I find the remote to be very inferior to the 4311. Does anyone know what happened to the "Standard" button option to have the avr play whatever sound mode is coming in instead of me selecting one. If I select a mode with the "Movie, Game etc buttong how do i make it go back to as you would with the Standard button option.
Wait...you own a $2500 MSRP Flagship Receiver and are using the factory remote???!! Dear God, that's insane! Go get a Harmony Universal and snag all of batpigs ircodes for it and you will be in heaven! Nearly everything has a easy to use "discrete" code!
mecmec is offline  
post #10012 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
Wait...you own a $2500 MSRP Flagship Receiver and are using the factory remote???!! Dear God, that's insane! Go get a Harmony Universal and snag all of batpigs ircodes for it and you will be in heaven! Nearly everything has a easy to use "discrete" code!
How do we learn how to use these codes. I have one for years but only to control multiple devices but not easy to use codes for everyone.
AVSF458 is offline  
post #10013 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 08:28 PM
Member
 
netjumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea pretty insane hunh. No my 4311 died few weeks ago and they sent me a 4520 as a replacement. So I'm just trying to figure out where everything is at in comparison. The remote for the 4311 was so much better in my opinion.
netjumper is offline  
post #10014 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,889
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2711 Post(s)
Liked: 1378
Quote:
Originally Posted by netjumper View Post
Yea pretty insane hunh. No my 4311 died few weeks ago and they sent me a 4520 as a replacement. So I'm just trying to figure out where everything is at in comparison. The remote for the 4311 was so much better in my opinion.
Interesting. The 4311 came with two remotes, the large one and the small one. I thought the large one was so lame that I threw it away. The 4520 large remote is so much better, IMO. I guess this is a good example of how different people's preferences are.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #10015 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
 
davidbarrickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rpml View Post
(ul) sjt e159216 vw-1 300V105C 2X14AWG BAOHING CSA SJT LL112007 VW-1 300V 105C 2X2.08MM(14AWG) LF

Looks like a normal computer core with the ground missing...
Quote:
Originally Posted by veeha View Post
Thanks! They gave me a thinner wire with lower temp rating. I'll see if I can ask them for the right one...
veeha...I got the thinner 16 gauge power cord with my open box BB 4520 like you did. Tonight my BB absolutely insisted it was the correct power cord. Did you have any luck getting BB to exchange yours for the 14 gauge cord that Rpml posted came with his new-in-box 4520? The lettering/numbering on Rpml's 4520's 14 AWG cord matches my 4311's cord exactly...the info on my 16 AWG cord is as follows:
(UL) SJT E159216 VW-1 300V 60*C
2X16AWG BAOHING CSA SJT LL112007 VW-1 300V 60*C 2X1.31mm2(16AWG) LF
Thanks in advance, David.
davidbarrickman is offline  
post #10016 of 12491 Old 10-03-2014, 09:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Interesting. The 4311 came with two remotes, the large one and the small one. I thought the large one was so lame that I threw it away. The 4520 large remote is so much better, IMO. I guess this is a good example of how different people's preferences are.
Your right. Most people don't throw away things needed to operate their devices...

(Could have sold it for $50 on eBay, btw).
Dreamliner is online now  
post #10017 of 12491 Old 10-04-2014, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: The very wet, humid, muggy South !!
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I find for my relatively simple system that the Denon 4520 remote is really nice. Quite easy to configure. Actually have stopped using my Harmony One remote.
cchunter likes this.
PeterK is offline  
post #10018 of 12491 Old 10-04-2014, 08:39 AM
mnc
AVS Special Member
 
mnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 2,232
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 271
I've noticed that even though I have it set up for -20 mute, sometimes it completely mutes instead. Anyone else have this happen?

NHT speakers, Denon 4520, Panasonic 65VT50, DUAL PSA XS30SE's
mnc is online now  
post #10019 of 12491 Old 10-04-2014, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tangled Cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Once you set it then it will remember your settings for each format as well as each input.
So say I have my blu-ray player attached to the HDMI "DVD" input on the Denon ... how do I set that so it always plays the format my player is outputting?
Tangled Cable is offline  
post #10020 of 12491 Old 10-04-2014, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,889
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2711 Post(s)
Liked: 1378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tangled Cable View Post
So say I have my blu-ray player attached to the HDMI "DVD" input on the Denon ... how do I set that so it always plays the format my player is outputting?
It doesn't matter which input your BD player is connected to. The 4520 should always remember your last format selection. So, for example, if you chose Dolby Digital with DSX off, the next time you play a BD (assuming it is a 5.1 audio format), it will play in Dolby Digital with DSX off. If you play a Redbook 2.0 CD and select PLII Music, it should play PLII Music the next time you insert a CD, but switch to Dolby Digital if you insert a 5.1 Blu-ray.

Is that not the way it is working?
Tangled Cable likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread - 4520ci by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off