The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 340 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10171 of 10195 Old Yesterday, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,913
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 324
I can't handle dyn eq on. When watching normal HDTV with 5.1, the mids and lows are just boomy. I cut it off all the time.

I think part of it matters with speakers. On my old setup, I enjoyed it OK, but not now. YMMV.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10172 of 10195 Old Yesterday, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
This is what my email receipt from AC4L says:

SKU Description Qty
DENAVR4520CIA DENON AVR-4520CI Denon's Flagship Home Theater Receiver 150wpc (DENAVR4520CIA)
1
New
Cool, I also notice (DENAVR4520CIA) the A at the end for A stock vs B.
bluer101 is online now  
post #10173 of 10195 Old Yesterday, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,716
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1434
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I can't handle dyn eq on. When watching normal HDTV with 5.1, the mids and lows are just boomy. I cut it off all the time.

I think part of it matters with speakers. On my old setup, I enjoyed it OK, but not now. YMMV.
You need to adjust the Reference Level Offset to make DEQ usable with non film sources. Most TV broadcasts are recorded at different levels than films so using DEQ on full blast will cause boomy bass and overwhelming surrounds. Rather than turning it off entirely, adjusting the RLO will help tone it down and make it usable again.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #10174 of 10195 Old Yesterday, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,913
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 324
No thanks, IMO, it aint needed.

And IMO, your statement brings to light stupid decisions by companies (Audyssey/Denon). When I run Audyssey, they enable dyn eq by default, yet it is flawed in it's enabled setting. Real swift!

I watch HDTV (Directv) around -12.0 to -8.0, and it sounds great. No need for any features like Dyn EQ for me. I never sit around and watch at "low" volumes.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

Last edited by gadgtfreek; Yesterday at 05:18 PM.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #10175 of 10195 Old Yesterday, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
flyguyjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Snowy interference

My (1yr old) 4520 just started randomly displaying a snowy interference. White specks evenly distributed across the entire image. It comes and goes and is sometimes very faint and sometimes very bright. Coincidentally my previous AVR (4308) did this also. The image would cut out frequently with the snowy image remaining. This was the reason I bought the 4520.

Any ideas? Anyone else experiencing this?

flyguyjake is online now  
post #10176 of 10195 Old Yesterday, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,716
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1434
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
No thanks, IMO, it aint needed.

And IMO, your statement brings to light stupid decisions by companies (Audyssey/Denon). When I run Audyssey, they enable dyn eq by default, yet it is flawed in it's enabled setting. Real swift!

I watch HDTV (Directv) around -12.0 to -8.0, and it sounds great. No need for any features like Dyn EQ for me. I never sit around and watch at "low" volumes.
That is basically effective reference level for the broadcast content. That's why you don't need DEQ (at least at the default setting).

So if you set DEQ to RLO of 10db it would be doing nothing. The advantage would be that if on occasion you happen to listen a a reduced volume, DEQ will start kicking in and maintain the same tonal balance.

If you never lower the volume, well then it doesn't matter. No need for dynamic compensation if your volume is static.
batpig is online now  
post #10177 of 10195 Old Yesterday, 07:41 PM
Member
 
WHATTHEDILEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Metro-Detroit, MI
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I just watched a BluRay on my PS3, and my 4520 display 'IN' has only FL & FR illuminated. The PS3 tells me it is outputting the DTS-MA 5.1 output, and I am listening in DTS Neo-X through 9.1 speakers. It doesn't sound like it is matrixed from stereo, but I'm wondering what is going on.

WHATTHEDILEO
Some people LOVE MUSIC.
Some people LOVE the SOUND of music.
If you don't know the difference, then you LIKE MUSIC.
My lazily meandering Theater Room quest
WHATTHEDILEO is offline  
post #10178 of 10195 Old Yesterday, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,716
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1434
If the Denon says the input signal is 2ch then that's what it's getting. Time to go check your PS3 audio settings. It's not enough to select the 5.1 soundtrack on the disc if the global output settings are configured for stereo output.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #10179 of 10195 Old Yesterday, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 80
I just ordered my 4520ci.

Now I need to return the x4000
bluer101 is online now  
post #10180 of 10195 Old Yesterday, 08:35 PM
Member
 
Dave_A_Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 8
The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by WHATTHEDILEO View Post
I just watched a BluRay on my PS3, and my 4520 display 'IN' has only FL & FR illuminated. The PS3 tells me it is outputting the DTS-MA 5.1 output, and I am listening in DTS Neo-X through 9.1 speakers. It doesn't sound like it is matrixed from stereo, but I'm wondering what is going on.

Is that what it shows when you hit the round "display" button on the PS3 remote? If so, and if you have the older "fat" model, try setting BD audio to LPCM. Ran into that myself. There is a PS3 FAQ here that you might want to check out. I'm assuming you are using HDMI for audio output.

http://www.avsforum.com/showthread.php?t=931796

Last edited by Dave_A_Anderson; Yesterday at 08:45 PM. Reason: added PS3 FAQ link
Dave_A_Anderson is offline  
post #10181 of 10195 Old Today, 02:16 AM
Member
 
WHATTHEDILEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Metro-Detroit, MI
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Thanks for the comments! Sorry - I should have been more descriptive in my original post:
  • PS3 Slimmest (latest generation) outputting audio via HDMI-only (no multi-output via optical, etc, which I know limits the surround output capabilities).
  • 4520CI outputting in Main zone only, 9.1 surround via DTS Neo-X, Front LH/Ctr/RH are line-level output to external amp - Emotiva XPA-3.

Per the feedback, I will read up on how I might be unwittingly down-mixing the audio coming out of the PS3. I will note that the PS3 automatically turns my plasma on via CEC, prior to me turning on the 4520 (HDMI-Through). Perhaps the initial handshake causes the crippling of the audio. I will try turning the 4520 on FIRST next time.

I just set up the system last week, and started watching blurays daily since Sunday. It will be funny/tragic if all of these have been lossy 2Ch stereo artificially expanded to 9 channels. At least it offers the possibility that the performance can get even better from this point!!!

WHATTHEDILEO
Some people LOVE MUSIC.
Some people LOVE the SOUND of music.
If you don't know the difference, then you LIKE MUSIC.
My lazily meandering Theater Room quest
WHATTHEDILEO is offline  
post #10182 of 10195 Old Today, 05:04 AM
Senior Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
No thanks, IMO, it aint needed.

And IMO, your statement brings to light stupid decisions by companies (Audyssey/Denon). When I run Audyssey, they enable dyn eq by default, yet it is flawed in it's enabled setting. Real swift!

I watch HDTV (Directv) around -12.0 to -8.0, and it sounds great. No need for any features like Dyn EQ for me. I never sit around and watch at "low" volumes.
Well it is a feature to use if needed.
I do my tv viewing mostly at mv - 20 to -30 so considerably lower.
TorTorden is online now  
post #10183 of 10195 Old Today, 05:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,913
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 324
I don't disagree, I just don't "need" it. To me, it is the effect of hitting the "loudness" button on a pioneer head unit.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #10184 of 10195 Old Today, 06:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,716
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1434
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I don't disagree, I just don't "need" it. To me, it is the effect of hitting the "loudness" button on a pioneer head unit.
That pretty much exactly what it is. The "loudness" button exists for the same reason (boosting bass at lower volumes) but DEQ is just a more sophisticated, modern version. As I noted above, since you are effectively listening at reference level you don't need any compensation.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #10185 of 10195 Old Today, 06:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,716
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1434
Quote:
Originally Posted by WHATTHEDILEO View Post
Thanks for the comments! Sorry - I should have been more descriptive in my original post:
  • PS3 Slimmest (latest generation) outputting audio via HDMI-only (no multi-output via optical, etc, which I know limits the surround output capabilities).
  • 4520CI outputting in Main zone only, 9.1 surround via DTS Neo-X, Front LH/Ctr/RH are line-level output to external amp - Emotiva XPA-3.

Per the feedback, I will read up on how I might be unwittingly down-mixing the audio coming out of the PS3. I will note that the PS3 automatically turns my plasma on via CEC, prior to me turning on the 4520 (HDMI-Through). Perhaps the initial handshake causes the crippling of the audio. I will try turning the 4520 on FIRST next time.

I just set up the system last week, and started watching blurays daily since Sunday. It will be funny/tragic if all of these have been lossy 2Ch stereo artificially expanded to 9 channels. At least it offers the possibility that the performance can get even better from this point!!!
The initial handshake could very well be the culprit. If the PS3 is establishing the handshake with the TV it could be resetting itself to stereo output.
rlb likes this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #10186 of 10195 Old Today, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Reefdvr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: La Ciotat, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 475
I have a question. I am sharing my oppo 103 for 2 channel music or say music CD's. I finally have hooked up a 7 speaker system vs my 5.2 previously and when I am putting in a CD for 2 channel music the rear surrounds are coming on? I cannot seem to get them off. They are not even showing on the front panel of the AVR as even been on. How can I shut them off? I mean is there a way to set up the AVR to share the Bluray player for music CD's ?

Last edited by Reefdvr27; Today at 09:14 AM.
Reefdvr27 is online now  
post #10187 of 10195 Old Today, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,716
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1434
I don't know what you mean by "sharing" but it sounds like you have the wrong amp assignment. Are you by chance using one of the "2ch" amp assign modes?
batpig is online now  
post #10188 of 10195 Old Today, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Reefdvr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: La Ciotat, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
I don't know what you mean by "sharing" but it sounds like you have the wrong amp assignment. Are you by chance using one of the "2ch" amp assign modes?
I am not sure. I have to look. I have not had time to really get to it yet. What I mean by sharing was two different settings so I don't have to fiddle with set up each time I switch over to a movie. I am sure you cannot. I have my iPod channel tailored to my liking. I am probably just going to look for a nice dedicated CD player as I a have gotten back into music again. Audyssey is off and I am using Graphic EQ, but I have noticed I cannot get out of Graphic EQ and turn Audy back on? What gives with that.?

Last edited by Reefdvr27; Today at 09:16 AM.
Reefdvr27 is online now  
post #10189 of 10195 Old Today, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,560
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 759 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefdvr27 View Post
I have a question. I am sharing my oppo 103 for 2 channel music or say music CD's. I finally have hooked up a 7 speaker system vs my 5.2 previously and when I am putting in a CD for 2 channel music the rear surrounds are coming on? I cannot seem to get them off. They are not even showing on the front panel of the AVR as even been on. How can I shut them off? I mean is there a way to set up the AVR to share the Bluray player for music CD's ?
This has been discussed a number of times. If you are using Pro Logic with your two-channel source, the 4520 outputs PLIIx, I.e. The rear surrounds are engaged. There is no easy way to turn off the rear surrounds other than going into the Speaker Configuration menu and de-selecting the rear surround speakers. Not an ideal solution. Older Denon AVR's had a remote control option to toggle rear surrounds, but it is missing on the 4520.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #10190 of 10195 Old Today, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Reefdvr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: La Ciotat, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
This has been discussed a number of times. If you are using Pro Logic with your two-channel source, the 4520 outputs PLIIx, I.e. The rear surrounds are engaged. There is no easy way to turn off the rear surrounds other than going into the Speaker Configuration menu and de-selecting the rear surround speakers. Not an ideal solution. Older Denon AVR's had a remote control option to toggle rear surrounds, but it is missing on the 4520.
Nope, I am an idiot. I had my amp assign all screwed up. I don't know what happened. I will paste my post that I put in the JTR thread below.

LOL, I am an idiot. I don't know how I did it but my surrounds were all screwed up. I know I set them up right, but something must have moved on me unknowingly. I had my rears set to fronts, I had thought that the rears were sounding a bit funny with movies. As I said I have always had a 5.2 set up, so I thought they just sounded different. Glad that is over. I also screwed it up again and set them to surrounds and that put the rears into pre out and the sides in preamp. took me a minute in amp assign to realize they have to be set to surround rear, as I had just had them in surround. Talk about a duh? LOL. I usually set it and forget it, I have not fooled around in the 4520 for along time.

Last edited by Reefdvr27; Today at 11:03 AM.
Reefdvr27 is online now  
post #10191 of 10195 Old Today, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,560
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 759 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefdvr27 View Post
Nope, I am an idiot. I had my amp assign all screwed up. I don't know what happened. I will past my post that I put in the JTR thread below.

LOL, I am an idiot. I don't know how I did it but my surrounds were all screwed up. I know I set them up right, but something must have moved on me unknowingly. I had my rears set to fronts, I had thought that the rears were sounding a bit funny with movies. As I said I have always had a 5.2 set up, so I thought they just sounded different. Glad that is over. I also screwed it up again and set them to surrounds and that put the rears into pre out and the sides in preamp. took me a minute in amp assign to release they have to set the amp for surround rear. Talk about a duh? LOL. I usually set it and forget it, I have not fooled around in the 4520 for along time.
Well, that certainly is clear now.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #10192 of 10195 Old Today, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefdvr27 View Post
Nope, I am an idiot. I had my amp assign all screwed up. I don't know what happened. I will paste my post that I put in the JTR thread below.

LOL, I am an idiot. I don't know how I did it but my surrounds were all screwed up. I know I set them up right, but something must have moved on me unknowingly. I had my rears set to fronts, I had thought that the rears were sounding a bit funny with movies. As I said I have always had a 5.2 set up, so I thought they just sounded different. Glad that is over. I also screwed it up again and set them to surrounds and that put the rears into pre out and the sides in preamp. took me a minute in amp assign to realize they have to be set to surround rear, as I had just had them in surround. Talk about a duh? LOL. I usually set it and forget it, I have not fooled around in the 4520 for along time.
I once spent a week or two with my left front speaker hooked into my right amp output and vice versa...
TorTorden is online now  
post #10193 of 10195 Old Today, 12:30 PM
Member
 
jappleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audio delay

Anyone using the audio delay on the 4520 and will it work.I have Directv and a Samsung 8550 tv the lips and speech not in sync.
jappleboy is offline  
post #10194 of 10195 Old Today, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Glenn Baumann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jappleboy View Post
Anyone using the audio delay on the 4520 and will it work.I have Directv and a Samsung 8550 tv the lips and speech not in sync.

Try it and let us know if it works for you!

Go to HDMI Setup Menu and turn on "Auto Lip Sync"


...Glenn

Last edited by Glenn Baumann; Today at 12:58 PM.
Glenn Baumann is offline  
post #10195 of 10195 Old Today, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,913
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by jappleboy View Post
Anyone using the audio delay on the 4520 and will it work.I have Directv and a Samsung 8550 tv the lips and speech not in sync.

Ive used lip sync on with every Denon Ive owned, only time I have run into issues is when the display has some sort of frame interpolation activated.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off