The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 341 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10201 of 10219 Old Yesterday, 07:27 AM
Member
 
jappleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Auto lip sync

Were do you find auto lip sync, i can only find auto delay. I have moved auto delay to 53ms it is working better. But i still like to try auto lip sync.
jappleboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10202 of 10219 Old Yesterday, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,568
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by jappleboy View Post
Were do you find auto lip sync, i can only find auto delay. I have moved auto delay to 53ms it is working better. But i still like to try auto lip sync.
Lip sync and delay are different names for the same thing.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #10203 of 10219 Old Yesterday, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,733
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 1444
Actually Jerry- I think he's referring to the Auto Lip Sync setting found in Video/ HDMI settings.
batpig is online now  
post #10204 of 10219 Old Yesterday, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,568
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 793
AustinJerry is offline  
post #10205 of 10219 Old Yesterday, 10:09 AM
Member
 
jappleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Auto

Hay, guys thank you both, Auto lip sync was set to on so i tried auto delay looks like it is working better lip are closer to the speech. Did have to set it to 53ms. Should have kept my 5308cl.
jappleboy is offline  
post #10206 of 10219 Old Yesterday, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quick question.

On the x4000 I just returned would have more GUI info when the info button was pushed. Is this not possible with the 4520ci?


Like this.
bluer101 is online now  
post #10207 of 10219 Old Yesterday, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,733
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 1444
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluer101 View Post
Quick question.

On the x4000 I just returned would have more GUI info when the info button was pushed. Is this not possible with the 4520ci?


Like this.
No. The expanded Info button graphic was a new feature added on the X/S series models that came out the year after the 4520.
batpig is online now  
post #10208 of 10219 Old Yesterday, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,932
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Yepp, all you get is the source and audio types, no channels in/channels out on 4520.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #10209 of 10219 Old Yesterday, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Thanks guys.

The other thing I can't figure out is how to watch 1 source and listen to another.
bluer101 is online now  
post #10210 of 10219 Old Yesterday, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sourbeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by TorTorden View Post
Well it is a feature to use if needed.
I do my tv viewing mostly at mv - 20 to -30 so considerably lower.
Ya, I do most of my regular tv viewing around -25 to -30. I don't bother with the dynamic sound control though....I only move to around -8 to -12 for movies and such. I would never want to watch regular TV at those levels...the variability of the sound levels especially with the commercials would be grating to say the least even though the commercials are by law supposed to be level with the rest of the programming nowadays, that is if they want to be compliant.

TV - Panasonic 58PZ700U plasma
L/R - Ascend Sierra Towers with RAAL Tweets in piano black
C - Ascend Sierra Horizon with RAAL Tweet in piano black
Surr - Polk Fxi-A6
Sub - SVS PC-13 Ultra
AVR - Denon 4520-CI
Blu-ray - OPPO 103
Comcast Set Top Box
sourbeef is offline  
post #10211 of 10219 Old Yesterday, 07:03 PM
Member
 
JohnnieTheBull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AVR/TV/DIRECTV Issue!!!

PLEASE HELP!!!


This morning I went to turn on my equipment with my DIRECTV remote as I usually do with the ON button NOT the PWR button, this usually turns on my Genie, Sony XBR65X900a and DENON AVR-4520CI. I have lost this functionality. I now have to physically move the switch on my DIRECTV remote to AV1 in order to turn the receiver and to control the volume. Before this I was able to control the volume on the receiver without the switch having to be on the AV1 position, and if I wanted to shut the receiver off the remote would automatically switch over and control the TV volume. Also when I would play a movie via my USB on the TV the receiver would auto switch to TV audio, I have also lost this capability. If anyone could be of assistance it would be greatly appreciated.


Thank you,
John
JohnnieTheBull is offline  
post #10212 of 10219 Old Yesterday, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Sounds like the remote went haywire. You can try reprogramming, or call service and request a new remote.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #10213 of 10219 Old Yesterday, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 55
If one wants AUTO Lip Sync to work, do you have to have delay set to ZERO?


If delay is set to a number, say 75 ms , does Auto Lip Sync still work?
RapalloAV is online now  
post #10214 of 10219 Old Today, 12:40 AM
Member
 
Dave_A_Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by sourbeef View Post
Ya, I do most of my regular tv viewing around -25 to -30. I don't bother with the dynamic sound control though....I only move to around -8 to -12 for movies and such. I would never want to watch regular TV at those levels...the variability of the sound levels especially with the commercials would be grating to say the least even though the commercials are by law supposed to be level with the rest of the programming nowadays, that is if they want to be compliant.

I seem to recall reading that commercials usually do adhere to the max volume requirements but they punch everything up to a much higher average volume. So the voice of the housewife who is contemplating having an affair with some cleaning product is as loud as an explosion in the show you are watching. Observing the behavior of the VU meters on my external amp seems to bear this out.
Dave_A_Anderson is online now  
post #10215 of 10219 Old Today, 09:50 AM
Member
 
bgoering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnieTheBull View Post
PLEASE HELP!!!


This morning I went to turn on my equipment with my DIRECTV remote as I usually do with the ON button NOT the PWR button, this usually turns on my Genie, Sony XBR65X900a and DENON AVR-4520CI. I have lost this functionality. I now have to physically move the switch on my DIRECTV remote to AV1 in order to turn the receiver and to control the volume. Before this I was able to control the volume on the receiver without the switch having to be on the AV1 position, and if I wanted to shut the receiver off the remote would automatically switch over and control the TV volume. Also when I would play a movie via my USB on the TV the receiver would auto switch to TV audio, I have also lost this capability. If anyone could be of assistance it would be greatly appreciated.


Thank you,
John
I don't think the DirecTV remote can do all three directly. Perhaps you had HDMI CEC enabled at one point where the TV would turn the AVR on/off?
bgoering is offline  
post #10216 of 10219 Old Today, 11:55 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnieTheBull View Post
PLEASE HELP!!!


This morning I went to turn on my equipment with my DIRECTV remote as I usually do with the ON button NOT the PWR button, this usually turns on my Genie, Sony XBR65X900a and DENON AVR-4520CI. I have lost this functionality. I now have to physically move the switch on my DIRECTV remote to AV1 in order to turn the receiver and to control the volume. Before this I was able to control the volume on the receiver without the switch having to be on the AV1 position, and if I wanted to shut the receiver off the remote would automatically switch over and control the TV volume. Also when I would play a movie via my USB on the TV the receiver would auto switch to TV audio, I have also lost this capability. If anyone could be of assistance it would be greatly appreciated.


Thank you,
John

To me it sounds as if your DTV remote is set to control both the DTV receiver and your TV (like my equipment in the den). Plus, you had enabled CEC/HDMI control between the TV and the receiver. Therefore when the DTV remote turned on the receiver and tv, the TV hdmi control turned on the Denon. My Samsung and 4520 in the family room are setup with HDMI control so that turning on the TV automatically turns on the Denon. Additionally, pass through is on so that turning on the DTV receiver also turns on the TV (with it's speakers); but not the Denon.


Bottom line: Sounds as if CEC/HDMI control is no longer working. I would turn it off on both TV and Denon, then turn off the sets. Then turn on the sets and turn on HDMI control on both. Then turn off both sets. Finally, it hopefully will be back to normal when you turn everything on again.
rlb is offline  
post #10217 of 10219 Old Today, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Well I got her all hooked up and running everything (sound wise) stock, no calibration. It sounds pretty good so far. It's nice to have the hdmi switching to use my tv or pj. I'm running 5.2 right now to compare apples to apples from my older denon. Then I'm adding wides and surround back or heights.

Also I need a better HD radio antenna, got any recommendations? Here are some pictures.



cchunter likes this.
bluer101 is online now  
post #10218 of 10219 Old Today, 03:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,683
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 767 Post(s)
Liked: 758
WoW ! I finally got around to mounting my Axiom Front Height speakers on the wall. Previously they were on a shelf around a foot above the FL/FR speakers. Now they are close to four feet above the FL/FR speakers. I performed the calibration again and the front soundstage has really opened up from when the front height speakers were lower. I only wish I could have aimed the speakers better but the Axiom mounting brackets were more limiting than I realized. So they aren't in the ideal placement but they still have improved the soundstage by a wide margin.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #10219 of 10219 Old Today, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
WoW ! I finally got around to mounting my Axiom Front Height speakers on the wall. Previously they were on a shelf around a foot above the FL/FR speakers. Now they are close to four feet above the FL/FR speakers. I performed the calibration again and the front soundstage has really opened up from when the front height speakers were lower. I only wish I could have aimed the speakers better but the Axiom mounting brackets were more limiting than I realized. So they aren't in the ideal placement but they still have improved the soundstage by a wide margin.
Do you have widths too or just heights. My room right now would allow both or force a single surround back.
bluer101 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread - 4520ci by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off