The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 367 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2015, 03:38 PM
Member
 
RFGuy_KCCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyyyrawb View Post
Thanks to both batpig and NorthSky. This advice reinforces my gut to go with the 4520. I feel pretty good focusing on upgrading the receiver and speakers now, and waiting to upgrade the TV and other components when the 4K standards are more solid. The price of the 4520 now is awesome, and it seems like it would last me for at least a year or two when I'll likely be ready to upgrade and/or move it to another room.
I predict you will be very happy with your choice.

Samsung PN60F8500 PDP / Denon AVR-4520ci / OPPO BDP-103D
DTV HR24-100 / Apple TV (gen3) / Roku Stick / HTPC / Panamax M5400-PM
Rythmik FV15HP's (2) / Klipsch RF-82 ii (L&R) / RC-62 ii (C) / RB-51 ii (FH) / RS-52 ii (SS) / RB-41 ii (SB)
RFGuy_KCCO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2015, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sourbeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 23
JMHO, again, no one needs to add a fan with this machine. It runs really cool, relatively speaking, even when run hard.
ril850 and cchunter like this.

TV - Panasonic 58PZ700U plasma
L/R - Ascend Sierra Towers with RAAL Tweets in piano black
C - Ascend Sierra Horizon with RAAL Tweet in piano black
Surr - Polk Fxi-A6
Sub - SVS PC-13 Ultra
AVR - Denon 4520-CI
Blu-ray - OPPO 103
Comcast Set Top Box
sourbeef is offline  
Old 01-16-2015, 06:26 AM
Member
 
TV addict#2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
this is gonna be my next avr to replace my 1992 model Kenwood,are the latest units pretty much trouble free now

1.AsusXonarD2X...Kenwood8540...CarverTFM55x....... .901Bose
2.nVidiaHDmi...DENON AVR-4520CI...EMPTeKR55Tix4... R56Ci...SVSUltra/2...Toshiba55WX800U
TV addict#2 is offline  
Old 01-16-2015, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2064 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
OK, so last night watched Star Trek (1st JJ Abrams version) and was totally underwhelmed by the audio....I figured something had to be going on so I checked some settings.

Why in the world does my new 4520 default to "Dynamic Compression AUTO" and "Loudness Management ON" with Dolby True-HD (and DD/DD+) signals???

After I turned that crap off, it sounded great!


Seriously, these options should not be enabled by default.

Loudness Management
On : Outputs using the settings made in “Dynamic Compression” and “Dialogue normalization” are enabled.
Off : “Dynamic Compression” settings and “Dialogue normalization” are disabled, and the signals on the disk are output as is.

Dynamic Compression - Compress dynamic range (difference between loud and soft sounds).
Auto : Automatic dynamic range compression on/off control according to source.
Low / Medium / High : These set the compression level.
Off : Dynamic range compression always off.
Alan P is offline  
Old 01-16-2015, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,921
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1823 Post(s)
Liked: 2010
Yeah you really have to be carful with all the possible settings. I always like to take a run through all the submenus in the Audio section just to make sure everything is how I want it. And remember many of those settings are input and/or signal specific. To make things more complicated there are often audio settings on the source side which can impact what you are hearing.

This is also one reason why it's difficult to make fair comparisons between different receivers. Each one will handle this stuff a bit different so it's tough to get everything apples to apples.
batpig is online now  
Old 01-16-2015, 10:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 23,268
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 1012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
OK, so last night watched Star Trek (1st JJ Abrams version) and was totally underwhelmed by the audio....I figured something had to be going on so I checked some settings.

Why in the world does my new 4520 default to "Dynamic Compression AUTO" and "Loudness Management ON" with Dolby True-HD (and DD/DD+) signals???

After I turned that crap off, it sounded great!


Seriously, these options should not be enabled by default.

Loudness Management
On : Outputs using the settings made in “Dynamic Compression” and “Dialogue normalization” are enabled.
Off : “Dynamic Compression” settings and “Dialogue normalization” are disabled, and the signals on the disk are output as is.

Dynamic Compression - Compress dynamic range (difference between loud and soft sounds).
Auto : Automatic dynamic range compression on/off control according to source.
Low / Medium / High : These set the compression level.
Off : Dynamic range compression always off.
They seem to typically default to enabled. Those ere some of the first things I make sure are off when I setup a new receiver.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 01-16-2015, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing, cycling or kayaking ) - Sacramento CA area
Posts: 6,855
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
OK, so last night watched Star Trek (1st JJ Abrams version) and was totally underwhelmed by the audio....I figured something had to be going on so I checked some settings.

Why in the world does my new 4520 default to "Dynamic Compression AUTO" and "Loudness Management ON" with Dolby True-HD (and DD/DD+) signals???

After I turned that crap off, it sounded great!


Seriously, these options should not be enabled by default.

Loudness Management
On : Outputs using the settings made in “Dynamic Compression” and “Dialogue normalization” are enabled.
Off : “Dynamic Compression” settings and “Dialogue normalization” are disabled, and the signals on the disk are output as is.

Dynamic Compression - Compress dynamic range (difference between loud and soft sounds).
Auto : Automatic dynamic range compression on/off control according to source.
Low / Medium / High : These set the compression level.
Off : Dynamic range compression always off.

I agree that it is irritating they default to on with a new unit ( at least mine was that way ). Batpig's advice is good. In fact, I need to check sources other than Blu Ray tonight just to make sure they are set the way I want them !!

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Call me on my direct line - 585-671-2972, 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday
Email me at craig@avscience.com http://shop.avscience.com/
Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SIM2, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, and many more!
Craig Peer is offline  
Old 01-16-2015, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1686 Post(s)
Liked: 2199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
OK, so last night watched Star Trek (1st JJ Abrams version) and was totally underwhelmed by the audio....I figured something had to be going on so I checked some settings.

Why in the world does my new 4520 default to "Dynamic Compression AUTO" and "Loudness Management ON" with Dolby True-HD (and DD/DD+) signals???

After I turned that crap off, it sounded great!


Seriously, these options should not be enabled by default.

Loudness Management
On : Outputs using the settings made in “Dynamic Compression” and “Dialogue normalization” are enabled.
Off : “Dynamic Compression” settings and “Dialogue normalization” are disabled, and the signals on the disk are output as is.

Dynamic Compression - Compress dynamic range (difference between loud and soft sounds).
Auto : Automatic dynamic range compression on/off control according to source.
Low / Medium / High : These set the compression level.
Off : Dynamic range compression always off.
I remember watching Super8 the first time and commenting in Ralph Potts' review thread and saying I thought the audio was less than overwhelming and he came up with this response:

"This is a Dolby TrueHD soundtrack which automatically sets the Onkyo's Night Listening Mode to "Auto". You have to manually set it to off once the track begins playing. Do that and watch some of these scenes over and see what you think"

Sure enough, it was so and I have found myself checking on others and finding it on again. Denon doesn't do that?
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 01-16-2015, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2064 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
^^^

That's just ridiculous...why do AVR manufacturers assume those soundtracks need compression?? I just don't get it.

Anyways....no, after I turn those 2 options off they seem to stay off. I tested with multiple sources and multiple movies.
Alan P is offline  
Old 01-16-2015, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1686 Post(s)
Liked: 2199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
^^^

That's just ridiculous...why do AVR manufacturers assume those soundtracks need compression?? I just don't get it.

Anyways....no, after I turn those 2 options off they seem to stay off. I tested with multiple sources and multiple movies.
Why does Microsoft think we need the appearance of a clock and the idiotic charm thing in 8.1 whenever you mouse over to the right side of the screen? I wonder if it was even intentional and I don't think it happens on every TrueHD soundtrack but I've never really checked.....but guess if I get a working 4520 I won't have to worry about it any more....
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 01-16-2015, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2064 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
Why does Microsoft think we need the appearance of a clock and the idiotic charm thing in 8.1 whenever you mouse over to the right side of the screen? I wonder if it was even intentional and I don't think it happens on every TrueHD soundtrack but I've never really checked.....but guess if I get a working 4520 I won't have to worry about it any more....
You can turn that off.
Alan P is offline  
Old 01-16-2015, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1686 Post(s)
Liked: 2199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
You can turn that off.
Completely off? I haven't found how to do that, got it to where it doesn't appear as frequently....
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 01-16-2015, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2064 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Don't really remember how I did it, but I just found this link and I think this is how I did it.

http://www.tomshardware.com/faq/id-2...e-windows.html
Alan P is offline  
Old 01-16-2015, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1686 Post(s)
Liked: 2199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Don't really remember how I did it, but I just found this link and I think this is how I did it.

http://www.tomshardware.com/faq/id-2...e-windows.html
Yes, turned those off a long time ago but I can still get the charms to appear with the touchpad cursor in motions on the right side, when I've come up from the bottom (where I often put the cursor so its out of the way). Not nearly as annoying as the out-of-the-box settings. The thinking by HP/Microsoft on implementation of a touchscreen on a laptop was just pitifully poor IMO. I'm just too old to see any benefit to making such an "automatic" feature I suppose, maybe I should have more ADHD or something...would much prefer a more rigorous routine on how to setup/personalize the actions of the computer in the first place rather than have some twit decide what they like as an unexplained starting point.
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 01-16-2015, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,921
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1823 Post(s)
Liked: 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
That's just ridiculous...why do AVR manufacturers assume those soundtracks need compression?? I just don't get it.
I think you have to remember that most users are consuming their media with the audio provided by TV speakers or, at best, a soundbar or a dinky HTIB package. For these people, dynamic range compression is really a necessity. It's really a "lowest common denominator" thing.... folks who have setups that are capable of comfortable, intelligible playback with full dynamic range are pretty rare.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 01-16-2015, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1686 Post(s)
Liked: 2199
FWIW the carrier picked up the non functioning 4520 yesterday and today A4L prepared the shipping tag on the exchange unit, even though ETA of the defunct unit at A4L is 1/22. So far so good...
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 01-16-2015, 04:19 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 23,268
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 1012
I have been very pleased with the responsiveness from A4L. I got my refurb 4520 and extended warranty from them. Then I lost my receipt(I purchased the 4520 from A4L through ebay) and they responded quickly with a copy of the receipt after I emailed them.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 01-16-2015, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2064 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
I think you have to remember that most users are consuming their media with the audio provided by TV speakers or, at best, a soundbar or a dinky HTIB package. For these people, dynamic range compression is really a necessity. It's really a "lowest common denominator" thing.... folks who have setups that are capable of comfortable, intelligible playback with full dynamic range are pretty rare.
I agree...but this is on a 4520ci!
Matt2026 likes this.
Alan P is offline  
Old 01-18-2015, 07:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: The very wet, humid, muggy South !!
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I have a phono issue. Not sure what the possible cause is as have replaced my stylus at same time as receiver.

Running an ancient Pioneer PL570 turntable with a Shure V15 Type IV with a brand new Jico SAS replacement stylus - moving magnet cartridge. Neither the turntable or cartridge has seen any use for about 15 years. So plugged it into the phono input of my 4520 and found virtually no bass. Had to turn the bass output up all the way to +12 to get any.

I don't have another cartridge to try nor do I have an external phono preamp.
Any thoughts to which item would be the cause of this problem? I purchased the cartridge new in the 70s and it doesn't have a lot of usage.

Only thing I can try is tearing my system apart and using my Pioneer VSX-49TX. Only issue is that I never used the phono input on it so not sure it will accomplish anything.
Thanks for any tips. Pete

Last edited by PeterK; 01-18-2015 at 07:18 AM.
PeterK is offline  
Old 01-18-2015, 07:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: The very wet, humid, muggy South !!
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Duplicate post. Sorry
PeterK is offline  
Old 01-18-2015, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1686 Post(s)
Liked: 2199
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
I have a phono issue. Not sure what the possible cause is as have replaced my stylus at same time as receiver.

Running an ancient Pioneer PL570 turntable with a Shure V15 Type IV with a brand new Jico SAS replacement stylus - moving magnet cartridge. Neither the turntable or cartridge has seen any use for about 15 years. So plugged it into the phono input of my 4520 and found virtually no bass. Had to turn the bass output up all the way to +12 to get any.

I don't have another cartridge to try nor do I have an external phono preamp.
Any thoughts to which item would be the cause of this problem? I purchased the cartridge new in the 70s and it doesn't have a lot of usage.

Only thing I can try is tearing my system apart and using my Pioneer VSX-49TX. Only issue is that I never used the phono input on it so not sure it will accomplish anything.
Thanks for any tips. Pete
Perhaps just selective memory?

At least I've put a cartridge away for a long time with no ill effects. Seems to point at the non-Shure replacement stylus. It played fine when you put it away last and only difference is the stylus?
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 01-18-2015, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: The very wet, humid, muggy South !!
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Yea I was questioning memory Myself!
There is NO bass unless I turn up the subwoofer output. Even at maximum of +12 it is still very low. Makes me question the phono input as to me sounds like it is not doing the RIAA correction possibly. Hard to believe the new stylus could be the culprit. Guess I will just have to dig out my other receiver and temporarily try that. If that works I will probably look for a decent phono preamp.
PeterK is offline  
Old 01-18-2015, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1686 Post(s)
Liked: 2199
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Yea I was questioning memory Myself!
There is NO bass unless I turn up the subwoofer output. Even at maximum of +12 it is still very low. Makes me question the phono input as to me sounds like it is not doing the RIAA correction possibly. Hard to believe the new stylus could be the culprit. Guess I will just have to dig out my other receiver and temporarily try that. If that works I will probably look for a decent phono preamp.
I have a 4520 on the way and plan to use the phono input. I do have a stand alone phono preamp also. Will post if any difficulties. Googled Jico so seems they do have some chops on the replacement stylus. You could plug into another input that has no RIAA curve and see if they sound different?
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 01-18-2015, 09:25 PM
Member
 
Walternate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have a Denon DP-47F TT with a Denon 110 MC cartridge hooked up to my 4520's phono inputs. Sounds great. Lots of bass with very nice detail. And that's with a MC cartridge. It's a high output MC for sure but much lower than a MM. At one time I had my Technics 1600 MKII turntable on the 4520 with the same cartridge and it lacked bass as well. Very detailed but lacking bass. So I think, in my case, it may be TT dependent.

I now have the Technics TT hooked up to a vintage Pioneer SX-1080 receiver and it sounds pretty good. However I have a Shure M97 MM cartridge on it now. I do have an extra Denon 110 cartridge so maybe I'll try it with that cartridge and see how it sounds to compare.

I would think that any decent MM cartridge, which your V15 is more than decent, much better than my M97, should sound very good on the 4520 as well. I suppose it could be something wonky on your 4520's phono inputs but I would be more inclined to think it's something in your PL570. I mean, if it's been sitting around for 15 years you might be having corrosion issues with your TT's RCA connectors/ cables or the tonearm wires? Or even the contacts on the headshell?
Walternate is offline  
Old 01-19-2015, 05:49 PM
Member
 
sonofsoren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have been having an issue with my 4520 and it has been just since I upgraded my tv to a Samsung UN75HU8550. Every couple of weeks when I turn on my system, I get no picture and sound out of the 4520. I have to do a soft reset by unplugging the 4520 for 2 minutes or so and it always corrects the problem. Is this because the new Samsung is an UHD TV with hdmi 2.0 jacks? Does it have to do something with the EDID between the 4520 and the Samsung? I plan to upgrade to the Denon X7200 sometime this spring/summer. Will that new piece solve my problem? Should I just go ahead and upgrade now?
sonofsoren is offline  
Old 01-21-2015, 12:20 PM
Member
 
travis-g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have the same problem but it's intermittent. Please help.
travis-g is online now  
Old 01-21-2015, 04:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ril850 View Post
Well I figured it out, the FLAC files do play, I just had to scroll down. For some reason I get files that start ._01 Track Name and it won't play, but if I scroll down on the folder I get the 01 Track Name and then plays fine. See pic below.
Here's the kicker though, when I tried playing files on my Oppo 103, the files take forever to load and I don't get artwork or that much track info like before. I know I should ask in Oppo 103 thread, but I just thought I mention it here.
Not sure you you ever resolved this issue. I am having the same trouble but think it might be related to using a Mac. There are hidden files on my USB that the spotlight feature of OS X makes automatically. I am wondering if these are the files that are showing up. Revealing hidden files on my mac did not reveal the ._01 files. I was wondering if you are using a mac, or if you have plugged the USB into a Mac. Hoping to resolve this issue as scrolling to the bottom of there list is annoying.
Dale T. J. Sandberg is offline  
Old 01-21-2015, 04:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 23,268
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 1012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonofsoren View Post
I have been having an issue with my 4520 and it has been just since I upgraded my tv to a Samsung UN75HU8550. Every couple of weeks when I turn on my system, I get no picture and sound out of the 4520. I have to do a soft reset by unplugging the 4520 for 2 minutes or so and it always corrects the problem. Is this because the new Samsung is an UHD TV with hdmi 2.0 jacks? Does it have to do something with the EDID between the 4520 and the Samsung? I plan to upgrade to the Denon X7200 sometime this spring/summer. Will that new piece solve my problem? Should I just go ahead and upgrade now?
Did you try going to another input on the 4520 and then go back to the input you want to watch? I've had to do this on occasion with all HDMI receivers I've used over the last ten years. It doesn't happen often but when it does I just go to an empty input and then back to the one with content and everything is fine.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 01-21-2015, 05:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East, dts:x Films: Under the Skin, 3D, Birdman, X_Machina, The Zero Theorem, Interstellar
Posts: 11,656
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4902 Post(s)
Liked: 2026
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
I remember watching Super 8 the first time and commenting in Ralph Potts' review thread and saying I thought the audio was less than overwhelming and he came up with this response:

"This is a Dolby TrueHD soundtrack which automatically sets the Onkyo's Night Listening Mode to "Auto". You have to manually set it to off once the track begins playing. Do that and watch some of these scenes over and see what you think".

Sure enough, it was so and I have found myself checking on others and finding it on again. Denon doesn't do that?
Very very important piece of info.

'Super 8' on Blu, with the "Late Night Mode" manually selected to Off (because indeed it automatically defaults to Auto, very unfortunately), is a gem to behold. ...Acting wise (from the young actors), and from the audio's perspective (awesome LFE/Bass, and surround sound effects). And I bet it must also sound awesome with DSU engaged. ...Or with Audyssey DSX.
...Excellent flick all around.

__________

By the way, there are few more Blu-ray movies with a Dolby TrueHD audio soundtrack that automatically engage the receiver's (pre/pro) Late Night Audio Mode to Auto (embedded in the discs themselves). /// 'Iron Man' is another one.
And you have to always manually select Off, or you going to have dynamic compression with those flicks. ...You just have to remember.
* Check in your Denon 4520, and see where it is set @ after you start playing one of those BD titles.
But for sure it does it with a bunch of Onkyo/Integra receivers and pre/pros. ...Very very unfortunate.

And if Denon/Marantz receivers aren't automatically triggered by those discs (Late Night Listening Audio Mode set to "Auto" from its "Off" selection),
then big bonus point for Denon/Marantz, and big point deduction for Onkyo/Integra.

Last edited by NorthSky; 01-21-2015 at 05:33 PM. Reason: Btw
NorthSky is offline  
Old 01-21-2015, 07:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 30,148
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1982 Post(s)
Liked: 1360
Need a little help here....
I am going to hook-up my Emotiva MPS-1 Amp and use the 4520 as a pre.


The manual isn't helping me out too much.
Which settings inside the Denon do I need to change?

Only girly-men push The Red Button.
oink is offline  
 

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off