The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 384 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

AustinJerry's Avatar AustinJerry
01:28 PM Liked: 1108
post #11491 of 11513
Yesterday | Posts: 8,943
Joined: Jan 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by TorTorden View Post
audyssey set my lcr's as full range, the sides with crossover at 80.

After a while i have set the bass managenet to mains+lfe, primarily and boosting the subs with about 3-4db.
Center adjusted to small, all crossovers now at 80.

The added bonus of this is for stereo content (music, tv etc) I honestly don't prefer using subs with this setting I can get full range from the mains and leave the subs off in audio settings, but for surround sound I get the meatier bass line with just the amount of punch I want
I understand where you are coming from. I miss the capability that I had on my 4311. I could have a completely different configuration for Stereo vs. Multi-Channel. It is convenient to be able to have different settings at the touch of a button. Unfortunately, Denon removed this capability from newer models starting with the 4520 generation.
cmryan821's Avatar cmryan821
07:08 AM Liked: 17
post #11492 of 11513
Today | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Sep 2008
Fellas, I'm looking for some help. I just purchased a 4520 and I put hooked it up yesterday afternoon. It's a very nice avr and functionally everything works well with one exception. When I was watching netflix last night (on my ps3), everything I tried had split second audio dropouts every 5-10 seconds or so.

The reason I'm posting in this thread is because the denon is the only thing I've changed recently and I've never had this problem. I did not have this problem on discs or usb playback. I performed a firmware update on the denon last night and checked netflix this morning but the problem persists. Have any users reported something like this?
rlb's Avatar rlb
07:22 AM Liked: 258
post #11493 of 11513
Today | Posts: 3,678
Joined: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
Fellas, I'm looking for some help. I just purchased a 4520 and I put hooked it up yesterday afternoon. It's a very nice avr and functionally everything works well with one exception. When I was watching netflix last night (on my ps3), everything I tried had split second audio dropouts every 5-10 seconds or so.

The reason I'm posting in this thread is because the denon is the only thing I've changed recently and I've never had this problem. I did not have this problem on discs or usb playback. I performed a firmware update on the denon last night and checked netflix this morning but the problem persists. Have any users reported something like this?

I haven't had the problem. But, if I had the issue, I would:
1) Try another cable from PS3 to 4520; 2)HDMI direct from PS3 to display. If you have the same dropouts, it's obviously your ps3 or internet. If you don't have the dropouts; 3) try another HDMI input on the 4520.
cmryan821's Avatar cmryan821
08:48 AM Liked: 17
post #11494 of 11513
Today | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
I haven't had the problem. But, if I had the issue, I would:
1) Try another cable from PS3 to 4520; 2)HDMI direct from PS3 to display. If you have the same dropouts, it's obviously your ps3 or internet. If you don't have the dropouts; 3) try another HDMI input on the 4520.
Thank you. I'll give those a try today.
audio4life's Avatar audio4life
10:37 AM Liked: 189
post #11495 of 11513
Today | Posts: 702
Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
Fellas, I'm looking for some help. I just purchased a 4520 and I put hooked it up yesterday afternoon. It's a very nice avr and functionally everything works well with one exception. When I was watching netflix last night (on my ps3), everything I tried had split second audio dropouts every 5-10 seconds or so.

The reason I'm posting in this thread is because the denon is the only thing I've changed recently and I've never had this problem. I did not have this problem on discs or usb playback. I performed a firmware update on the denon last night and checked netflix this morning but the problem persists. Have any users reported something like this?
I'm wondering what kind of output the Sony is passing, is it bitstream or something else? Is the Denon or Sony doing the audio processing?
cmryan821's Avatar cmryan821
10:59 AM Liked: 17
post #11496 of 11513
Today | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio4life View Post
I'm wondering what kind of output the Sony is passing, is it bitstream or something else? Is the Denon or Sony doing the audio processing?
Last I checked, the ps3 sends everything out as pcm. You don't have a choice with that. After all, it's gonna be 7 years old this year. Jeez lol. I'm getting old.
lovinthehd's Avatar lovinthehd
12:18 PM Liked: 1330
post #11497 of 11513
Today | Posts: 8,270
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
Last I checked, the ps3 sends everything out as pcm. You don't have a choice with that. After all, it's gonna be 7 years old this year. Jeez lol. I'm getting old.
,
That would depend on whether you have a slim PS3 or not to an extent. My PS3 has no Netflix audio issues when I had a functional 4520 (and will again), but I can use mine either way as bitstream or lpcm.
cmryan821's Avatar cmryan821
01:18 PM Liked: 17
post #11498 of 11513
Today | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
,
That would depend on whether you have a slim PS3 or not to an extent. My PS3 has no Netflix audio issues when I had a functional 4520 (and will again), but I can use mine either way as bitstream or lpcm.
Good point. I always forget about that since mine is one of the original fat versions.
lovinthehd's Avatar lovinthehd
01:20 PM Liked: 1330
post #11499 of 11513
Today | Posts: 8,270
Joined: Dec 2007
Have you tried a simple soft reset of the ps3 and the avr? Can clear up stuff sometimes....
cmryan821's Avatar cmryan821
01:22 PM Liked: 17
post #11500 of 11513
Today | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
I haven't had the problem. But, if I had the issue, I would:
1) Try another cable from PS3 to 4520; 2)HDMI direct from PS3 to display. If you have the same dropouts, it's obviously your ps3 or internet. If you don't have the dropouts; 3) try another HDMI input on the 4520.
Solved it. I just moved over to hdmi input 4(was on 3) and no more audio dropouts. I moved it back to 3 just to double, and the dropouts still persisted on input 3. Thank you very much rlb.

Is this something that should be covered by warranty?
lovinthehd's Avatar lovinthehd
01:40 PM Liked: 1330
post #11501 of 11513
Today | Posts: 8,270
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
Solved it. I just moved over to hdmi input 4(was on 3) and no more audio dropouts. I moved it back to 3 just to double, and the dropouts still persisted on input 3. Thank you very much rlb.

Is this something that should be covered by warranty?
You should try at least the soft reset or the full reset before you get that far along....but if it persists I would be asking for repair/replacement. Can you try another source on hdmi 3 to see if it is specific to the ps3 source?
floatingkiwi's Avatar floatingkiwi
02:35 PM Liked: 10
post #11502 of 11513
Today | Posts: 22
Joined: Nov 2006
Hi all


Having a zone problem. I have speakers connected to zone 3 and the zone is set up to amplify in the receiver setup, but when I follow the instructions to "press zone select" on the remote RC-1165, that does nothing and the indicator on the remote remains on "M" and doesn't change to Z2 or Z3 Z4 etc. Does the remote have some setup to tell it that other zones are there?
floatingkiwi's Avatar floatingkiwi
02:36 PM Liked: 10
post #11503 of 11513
Today | Posts: 22
Joined: Nov 2006
OK well that was quick - go into RC setup and turn all zones on! Not sure why that was off.
cmryan821's Avatar cmryan821
02:52 PM Liked: 17
post #11504 of 11513
Today | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
You should try at least the soft reset or the full reset before you get that far along....but if it persists I would be asking for repair/replacement. Can you try another source on hdmi 3 to see if it is specific to the ps3 source?
I tried to play my other 2 sources (oppo 103 and directv dvr) and I had no audio problems. I even played the exact episodes on my oppo that were giving my ps3 trouble. Put the ps3 back on hdmi3 and tied netflix again. Same problem, but the ps3 does not have any audio trouble when playing from a usb source or its internal hd. So, I'm stumped. I know how to do a hard reset, but how is a soft reset performed?
lovinthehd's Avatar lovinthehd
03:01 PM Liked: 1330
post #11505 of 11513
Today | Posts: 8,270
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
I tried to play my other 2 sources (oppo 103 and directv dvr) and I had no audio problems. I even played the exact episodes on my oppo that were giving my ps3 trouble. Put the ps3 back on hdmi3 and tied netflix again. Same problem, but the ps3 does not have any audio trouble when playing from a usb source or its internal hd. So, I'm stumped. I know how to do a hard reset, but how is a soft reset performed?
Soft reset is unplugging the avr and ps3 for a while....could be some weird hdmi handshake issue, too.....know anyone with another ps3, particularly a slim ps3?
cmryan821's Avatar cmryan821
05:00 PM Liked: 17
post #11506 of 11513
Today | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
Soft reset is unplugging the avr and ps3 for a while....could be some weird hdmi handshake issue, too.....know anyone with another ps3, particularly a slim ps3?
Well, still no luck. The frequent (albeit split second) audio dropouts persist while viewing netflix on my ps3 on hdmi 3. Unfortunately, none of my friends have ps3 slims and only 1 has an older ps3 like mine.

Truthfully, this is a pretty minor problem. I'll just move my ps3 to another input. I'll check periodically to ensure nothing gets worse.

Thank you for your help guys.
MGNdad's Avatar MGNdad
05:16 PM Liked: 10
post #11507 of 11513
Today | Posts: 42
Joined: Jan 2010
So ... I had to send in my 4520 as HDMI went bad. I decided to use Geek Squad (yes, I got extended warranty for $100) instead of Denon as I did not have to foot shipping to Panurgy. After three weeks GS called & said they still have not received part and that if they couldn't get in "soon" they would request a new one. We both agreed ot would not be a refurbished one but if there are no new ones available, what then? Any way to haggle with BB for the 5200 as that is the replacement model ? Or are they just going to give me my $800 for clearance stock ? Thanks for any advice.
ggsantafe's Avatar ggsantafe
06:44 PM Liked: 90
post #11508 of 11513
Today | Posts: 778
Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGNdad View Post
So ... I had to send in my 4520 as HDMI went bad. I decided to use Geek Squad (yes, I got extended warranty for $100) instead of Denon as I did not have to foot shipping to Panurgy. After three weeks GS called & said they still have not received part and that if they couldn't get in "soon" they would request a new one. We both agreed ot would not be a refurbished one but if there are no new ones available, what then? Any way to haggle with BB for the 5200 as that is the replacement model ? Or are they just going to give me my $800 for clearance stock ? Thanks for any advice.
I suggest you carefully read your BB extended warranty and determine what you are entitled to with regards to repair & replacement. If you are not satisfied with the BB solution you may want to pursue the Denon warranty. I had a situation where I sent in my 4311 for repair and when Denon couldn't provide the necessary HDMI board, they sent me a refurb 4520. In your case, it wouldn't hurt to request the 5200, if the 4520 repair stalls. I would also suggest an aggressive follow up policy. Keep calling BB and establish your own time frame for resolution so this doesn't drag on interminably.
jewelybean
07:37 PM Liked: 0
post #11509 of 11513
Today | Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2015
Question: just bought the receiver with the Adorama deal. The video wouldn't work with our TV. Figuring maybe it was too old and a handshake issue, we bought a new one. Now it's very come and go. It works with network (pandora, etc) but not cable, etc. the Hdmi cables have been replaced, everything is up to date. Anyone have similar and a way to fix it? Or should I try Denon?
lovinthehd's Avatar lovinthehd
08:03 PM Liked: 1330
post #11510 of 11513
Today | Posts: 8,270
Joined: Dec 2007
Can you be a bit more specific about the sources and connections of all the gear? What are the sources and your display, i.e. in terms of specific makes and models?

ps How did you initially setup the 4520?
AustinJerry's Avatar AustinJerry
08:16 PM Liked: 1108
post #11511 of 11513
Today | Posts: 8,943
Joined: Jan 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by jewelybean View Post
Question: just bought the receiver with the Adorama deal. The video wouldn't work with our TV. Figuring maybe it was too old and a handshake issue, we bought a new one. Now it's very come and go. It works with network (pandora, etc) but not cable, etc. the Hdmi cables have been replaced, everything is up to date. Anyone have similar and a way to fix it? Or should I try Denon?
Yes, you need to provide more specific information. "Video won't work with our TV" just doesn't tell us much. It could be as simple as a wrong setting. I would start out with these settings in the Video menu:

- HDMI setup/Video Output-Monitor 1 (connect the TV to HDMI1)
- HDMI pass thru and HDMI Control off
- Output Settings/Video Mode-Auto
- Video conversion on
- I/P scaler off
- Resolution auto
- Progressive mode Auto

These are pretty generic settings and should work with just about any TV.
kd-
08:41 PM Liked: 0
post #11512 of 11513
Today | Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2015
Hello All,


My AVR-4520ci began having some audio issues today and I am hoping the group can help shed some light on it for me.


Here is a video I took if it is helpful:

**Since this is my first forum post, it would not let me post a link but on YouTube it is available under username klausflouride1 video name "Denon 4520ci Sound Issue."

There is no sound when set to AT&T Uverse, Blu-ray, Internet Radio, Spotify, and Apple TV but I do get audio when playing CDs (not shown in video). CDs (Marantz SA-11S3) play just fine in Zone 1 and Zone 3 so I don’t think it is an issue with my amp (Parasound A-31). Please notice in the video that when set to UVerse the speaker lights flash on and off. I tried updating the firmware and have reseated the HDMI cable to the UVerse box. When I turn the volume up when set to UVerse, Blu-ray, Apple TV, and Internet Radio/Spotify there is a fairly rapid thumping sound coming from my speakers. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. If I should take it in to the local authorized Denon service center please let me know. Seems like every source connected via HDMI is not playing sound (although the Oppo BDP-105 only passes video over HDMI - audio is passed via the discreet 7.1 audio outputs into the Denon).

Thanks in advance,

Kevin
bgoering's Avatar bgoering
08:50 PM Liked: 25
post #11513 of 11513
Today | Posts: 268
Joined: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGNdad View Post
So ... I had to send in my 4520 as HDMI went bad. I decided to use Geek Squad (yes, I got extended warranty for $100) instead of Denon as I did not have to foot shipping to Panurgy. After three weeks GS called & said they still have not received part and that if they couldn't get in "soon" they would request a new one. We both agreed ot would not be a refurbished one but if there are no new ones available, what then? Any way to haggle with BB for the 5200 as that is the replacement model ? Or are they just going to give me my $800 for clearance stock ? Thanks for any advice.
4520 was the "flagship" model so I would suggest that the X7200 (2014 flagship model) would be the direct replacement. If you are going to haggle - haggle big!
Tags: Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver

Gear in this thread - 4520ci by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3