The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 384 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11491 of 11505 Old Yesterday, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 8,937
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1953 Post(s)
Liked: 1108
Quote:
Originally Posted by TorTorden View Post
audyssey set my lcr's as full range, the sides with crossover at 80.

After a while i have set the bass managenet to mains+lfe, primarily and boosting the subs with about 3-4db.
Center adjusted to small, all crossovers now at 80.

The added bonus of this is for stereo content (music, tv etc) I honestly don't prefer using subs with this setting I can get full range from the mains and leave the subs off in audio settings, but for surround sound I get the meatier bass line with just the amount of punch I want
I understand where you are coming from. I miss the capability that I had on my 4311. I could have a completely different configuration for Stereo vs. Multi-Channel. It is convenient to be able to have different settings at the touch of a button. Unfortunately, Denon removed this capability from newer models starting with the 4520 generation.
AustinJerry is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11492 of 11505 Old Today, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Fellas, I'm looking for some help. I just purchased a 4520 and I put hooked it up yesterday afternoon. It's a very nice avr and functionally everything works well with one exception. When I was watching netflix last night (on my ps3), everything I tried had split second audio dropouts every 5-10 seconds or so.

The reason I'm posting in this thread is because the denon is the only thing I've changed recently and I've never had this problem. I did not have this problem on discs or usb playback. I performed a firmware update on the denon last night and checked netflix this morning but the problem persists. Have any users reported something like this?
cmryan821 is online now  
post #11493 of 11505 Old Today, 07:22 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
Fellas, I'm looking for some help. I just purchased a 4520 and I put hooked it up yesterday afternoon. It's a very nice avr and functionally everything works well with one exception. When I was watching netflix last night (on my ps3), everything I tried had split second audio dropouts every 5-10 seconds or so.

The reason I'm posting in this thread is because the denon is the only thing I've changed recently and I've never had this problem. I did not have this problem on discs or usb playback. I performed a firmware update on the denon last night and checked netflix this morning but the problem persists. Have any users reported something like this?

I haven't had the problem. But, if I had the issue, I would:
1) Try another cable from PS3 to 4520; 2)HDMI direct from PS3 to display. If you have the same dropouts, it's obviously your ps3 or internet. If you don't have the dropouts; 3) try another HDMI input on the 4520.
rlb is online now  
post #11494 of 11505 Old Today, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
I haven't had the problem. But, if I had the issue, I would:
1) Try another cable from PS3 to 4520; 2)HDMI direct from PS3 to display. If you have the same dropouts, it's obviously your ps3 or internet. If you don't have the dropouts; 3) try another HDMI input on the 4520.
Thank you. I'll give those a try today.
cmryan821 is online now  
post #11495 of 11505 Old Today, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
Fellas, I'm looking for some help. I just purchased a 4520 and I put hooked it up yesterday afternoon. It's a very nice avr and functionally everything works well with one exception. When I was watching netflix last night (on my ps3), everything I tried had split second audio dropouts every 5-10 seconds or so.

The reason I'm posting in this thread is because the denon is the only thing I've changed recently and I've never had this problem. I did not have this problem on discs or usb playback. I performed a firmware update on the denon last night and checked netflix this morning but the problem persists. Have any users reported something like this?
I'm wondering what kind of output the Sony is passing, is it bitstream or something else? Is the Denon or Sony doing the audio processing?
audio4life is online now  
post #11496 of 11505 Old Today, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio4life View Post
I'm wondering what kind of output the Sony is passing, is it bitstream or something else? Is the Denon or Sony doing the audio processing?
Last I checked, the ps3 sends everything out as pcm. You don't have a choice with that. After all, it's gonna be 7 years old this year. Jeez lol. I'm getting old.
cmryan821 is online now  
post #11497 of 11505 Old Today, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 8,265
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 936 Post(s)
Liked: 1330
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
Last I checked, the ps3 sends everything out as pcm. You don't have a choice with that. After all, it's gonna be 7 years old this year. Jeez lol. I'm getting old.
,
That would depend on whether you have a slim PS3 or not to an extent. My PS3 has no Netflix audio issues when I had a functional 4520 (and will again), but I can use mine either way as bitstream or lpcm.
lovinthehd is online now  
post #11498 of 11505 Old Today, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
,
That would depend on whether you have a slim PS3 or not to an extent. My PS3 has no Netflix audio issues when I had a functional 4520 (and will again), but I can use mine either way as bitstream or lpcm.
Good point. I always forget about that since mine is one of the original fat versions.
cmryan821 is online now  
post #11499 of 11505 Old Today, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 8,265
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 936 Post(s)
Liked: 1330
Have you tried a simple soft reset of the ps3 and the avr? Can clear up stuff sometimes....
lovinthehd is online now  
post #11500 of 11505 Old Today, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
I haven't had the problem. But, if I had the issue, I would:
1) Try another cable from PS3 to 4520; 2)HDMI direct from PS3 to display. If you have the same dropouts, it's obviously your ps3 or internet. If you don't have the dropouts; 3) try another HDMI input on the 4520.
Solved it. I just moved over to hdmi input 4(was on 3) and no more audio dropouts. I moved it back to 3 just to double, and the dropouts still persisted on input 3. Thank you very much rlb.

Is this something that should be covered by warranty?
cmryan821 is online now  
post #11501 of 11505 Old Today, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 8,265
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 936 Post(s)
Liked: 1330
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
Solved it. I just moved over to hdmi input 4(was on 3) and no more audio dropouts. I moved it back to 3 just to double, and the dropouts still persisted on input 3. Thank you very much rlb.

Is this something that should be covered by warranty?
You should try at least the soft reset or the full reset before you get that far along....but if it persists I would be asking for repair/replacement. Can you try another source on hdmi 3 to see if it is specific to the ps3 source?
lovinthehd is online now  
post #11502 of 11505 Unread Today, 02:35 PM
Member
 
floatingkiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all


Having a zone problem. I have speakers connected to zone 3 and the zone is set up to amplify in the receiver setup, but when I follow the instructions to "press zone select" on the remote RC-1165, that does nothing and the indicator on the remote remains on "M" and doesn't change to Z2 or Z3 Z4 etc. Does the remote have some setup to tell it that other zones are there?
floatingkiwi is online now  
post #11503 of 11505 Unread Today, 02:36 PM
Member
 
floatingkiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK well that was quick - go into RC setup and turn all zones on! Not sure why that was off.
floatingkiwi is online now  
post #11504 of 11505 Unread Today, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
You should try at least the soft reset or the full reset before you get that far along....but if it persists I would be asking for repair/replacement. Can you try another source on hdmi 3 to see if it is specific to the ps3 source?
I tried to play my other 2 sources (oppo 103 and directv dvr) and I had no audio problems. I even played the exact episodes on my oppo that were giving my ps3 trouble. Put the ps3 back on hdmi3 and tied netflix again. Same problem, but the ps3 does not have any audio trouble when playing from a usb source or its internal hd. So, I'm stumped. I know how to do a hard reset, but how is a soft reset performed?
cmryan821 is online now  
post #11505 of 11505 Unread Today, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 8,265
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 936 Post(s)
Liked: 1330
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
I tried to play my other 2 sources (oppo 103 and directv dvr) and I had no audio problems. I even played the exact episodes on my oppo that were giving my ps3 trouble. Put the ps3 back on hdmi3 and tied netflix again. Same problem, but the ps3 does not have any audio trouble when playing from a usb source or its internal hd. So, I'm stumped. I know how to do a hard reset, but how is a soft reset performed?
Soft reset is unplugging the avr and ps3 for a while....could be some weird hdmi handshake issue, too.....know anyone with another ps3, particularly a slim ps3?
lovinthehd is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread - 4520ci by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off