The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 393 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11761 of 11776 Old 03-23-2015, 02:33 AM
Member
 
Philm63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
Do you have an android device?
iPhone only.

So is that a "...no, it won't work that way using the 4520's remote"? If so, I suppose I'll have to finally start looking into a universal remote.
Philm63 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11762 of 11776 Old 03-23-2015, 04:41 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,926
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 341 Post(s)
Liked: 294
^ Give DeRemote a try. That's what is usually recommended for iOS.
ggsantafe likes this.
gsr is offline  
post #11763 of 11776 Old 03-23-2015, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 1435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philm63 View Post
iPhone only.

So is that a "...no, it won't work that way using the 4520's remote"? If so, I suppose I'll have to finally start looking into a universal remote.
I haven't tried to program my Denon remote as I don't use it very much, I mainly use a Harmony and occasionally my android phone and I don't change sub level often enough to look into something like that since its fairly easy to access via setup in any case. I believe you should be able to program it for that with one of the programmable presets IIRC. @batpig probably can confirm or not better than most....
lovinthehd is offline  
post #11764 of 11776 Old 03-23-2015, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
jappleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stand by

Hi all lost my CD how do you turn off stand by, i do not want to see the red light that it tells me it is in stand by
jappleboy is offline  
post #11765 of 11776 Old 03-23-2015, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,195
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2154 Post(s)
Liked: 1162
Quote:
Originally Posted by jappleboy View Post
Hi all lost my CD how do you turn off stand by, i do not want to see the red light that it tells me it is in stand by
The red ring remains illuminated it you set the network option to "Always On". Change it to "Off in Standby" to turn the red ring off.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #11766 of 11776 Old 03-23-2015, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
jappleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 10
stand by

Sorry i guess i did not say it right, how do you kill all power when you turn it off.
jappleboy is offline  
post #11767 of 11776 Old 03-23-2015, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,195
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2154 Post(s)
Liked: 1162
Quote:
Originally Posted by jappleboy View Post
Sorry i guess i did not say it right, how do you kill all power when you turn it off.
Your question still is not clear. What do you think is still on when you turn the power off? Do you mean the other zones?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #11768 of 11776 Old 03-23-2015, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1717 Post(s)
Liked: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by jappleboy View Post
Sorry i guess i did not say it right, how do you kill all power when you turn it off.
The only way to truly power-off the AVR is to unplug it from the wall. Modern AVRs will all go into "standby" when you turn off the power (whether via the remote or power button on the unit itself). However, the power draw in standby is negligible and most folks don't worry too much over it...I know I don't.

AVR: Denon 4520ci, FL/R: Klipschorn, CC: Klipsch RC-64ii, SUR: Polk LS/FX x4, FH: Klipsch RB-51ii x2, SUB: PSA T-18 x2, DISP: Mitsubishi WD-73740, BluRay: PS3 & BDP-S5100, Remote: URC MX-700
--------------------------------------------------
Getting Started with REW
Audyssey 101
Audyssey FAQ
Alan P is online now  
post #11769 of 11776 Old 03-23-2015, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
^ Give DeRemote a try. That's what is usually recommended for iOS.
Will deremote do all 11 channel levels on the 4520? Will it allow me to switch between NEO:X, Audyssey DSX, etc?
Dreamliner is offline  
post #11770 of 11776 Old 03-23-2015, 03:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Will deremote do all 11 channel levels on the 4520? Will it allow me to switch between NEO:X, Audyssey DSX, etc?

It will certainly allow you to switch formats, i.e. Neo X, DSX, etc. I have 9 channels connected and it will adjust each channel level - I assume it will adjust 11 if thats what you have connected to the AVR.

ggsantafe is online now  
post #11771 of 11776 Old 03-23-2015, 05:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello all, I am new to this forum. Like a few others on here I had a $500 budget and was looking at a 2100. I ended up purchasing a refurbished 4520, which will be replacing a 2808. I hope I don't end up with someone else's problem. Has there been many problems with these units or the refurbs?
nxs450 is offline  
post #11772 of 11776 Old 03-23-2015, 05:19 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1286 Post(s)
Liked: 907
Quote:
Originally Posted by nxs450 View Post
Hello all, I am new to this forum. Like a few others on here I had a $500 budget and was looking at a 2100. I ended up purchasing a refurbished 4520, which will be replacing a 2808. I hope I don't end up with someone else's problem. Has there been many problems with these units or the refurbs?
I've had a 4520 refurb since last Summer and mine has been fine.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #11773 of 11776 Old 03-23-2015, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I've had a 4520 refurb since last Summer and mine has been fine.

Good to here! I hope I don't have any problems.
nxs450 is offline  
post #11774 of 11776 Old Today, 09:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
SherazNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Hi guys,
Can I use Denon 4520 as an amp considering it has 9 channels of amplification, rated at 150W/ch (8 ohms, 0.05% THD)?
thx
SherazNJ is online now  
post #11775 of 11776 Old Today, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,529
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1546 Post(s)
Liked: 1831
Quote:
Originally Posted by SherazNJ View Post
Hi guys,
Can I use Denon 4520 as an amp considering it has 9 channels of amplification, rated at 150W/ch (8 ohms, 0.05% THD)?
thx
You can -- although you'll only be able to use 7 of the 9 amps in this role since there are only 7.1 external analog inputs -- but it seems sort of a waste of resources.
batpig is online now  
post #11776 of 11776 Old Today, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by SherazNJ View Post
Hi guys,
Can I use Denon 4520 as an amp considering it has 9 channels of amplification, rated at 150W/ch (8 ohms, 0.05% THD)?
thx
FYI, it's 108.8 W/ch (8 ohms, 0.10% THD) with 7 channels driven
Per Sound and Vision magazine bench test results.
laserjock II is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread - 4520ci by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off