The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 408 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12211 of 12229 Old 05-02-2015, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by doognam View Post
That would be around 44 Celsius.

Can you put your ears close to the avr to determine whether or not the internal fans are running?

The avr may be cool because its internal fans operate prematurely. Fans operating at just 44 Celsius indicate a loose contact in the same board-to-board connector that's been the source of loose contacts that have caused a myriad of other symptoms.
With a 6 to 8 ohm speakers load a 4520CI doesn't get very hot for 5.0 setup typically. You assuming because the AVR is not getting hot that the fans are kicking in, never encountered that situation.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12212 of 12229 Old 05-02-2015, 05:52 PM
Member
 
maxxzinno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi my question is about Denon 4th Link on the 4311 and Denon HD Link on newer Blu-Ray players.

I know HD Link is not backwards compatible but would it be possible to connect a RJ-45 to Coax Balun converter to get it to work..

Has anyone tried this ?


Any help appreciated.
Thanx.
maxxzinno is offline  
post #12213 of 12229 Old 05-02-2015, 06:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAV View Post
With a 6 to 8 ohm speakers load a 4520CI doesn't get very hot for 5.0 setup typically. You assuming because the AVR is not getting hot that the fans are kicking in, never encountered that situation.

I would not assume anything of that sort so I asked and if I may ask again for whoever is concerned to find out, one way or another, whether the fans are actually running.

Fact is, the internal fans should not activate until around 70 Celsius or 184 Fahrenheit (if my conversion is correct), unless there is a loose contact or short in the thermal sensing circuitry.

Last edited by doognam; 05-02-2015 at 06:47 PM. Reason: add "circuitry" to remove ambiguity
doognam is offline  
post #12214 of 12229 Old 05-02-2015, 10:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 42
It's always fun to see these heat posts come up every few pages. I have all my equipment in a rack with about a 1" air gap on the top of the 4520, I have four 140mm fans in the back of the rack pulling air through; every component (including the 4520) is cool to the touch.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #12215 of 12229 Old Yesterday, 07:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
It's always fun to see these heat posts come up every few pages. I have all my equipment in a rack with about a 1" air gap on the top of the 4520, I have four 140mm fans in the back of the rack pulling air through; every component (including the 4520) is cool to the touch.
Are they "triggered" or how are they implemented?
laserjock II is offline  
post #12216 of 12229 Old Yesterday, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Zen Traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,542
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 372 Post(s)
Liked: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Not Dallas, but Pyramid Audio in Austin is a highly-regarded authorized Denon repair facility. I had a board replaced in my 4520 by Pyramid, and they did a great job with a reasonably quick turn-around (about a week).

http://www.pyramid-audio.com/
My experience with them wasn't as good when I sent them my AVR-4802R--After 2 to 3 months of unresolved complaining I contacted Denon HQ in New Jersey and they rectified the situation to my satisfaction, but I wasn't happy with the journey....

Of course and as quoted above--YMMV.
Zen Traveler is online now  
post #12217 of 12229 Old Yesterday, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 42
The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
Are they "triggered" or how are they implemented?
I was trying to find a way to get a "triggered outlet" controlled by my receiver but I couldn't find anything economical.

I ended up buying one of those smart strips that turns on power to a strip based on control device. Cheapest here: http://mobile.walmart.com/ip/CyberPo...ector/14968093

Whenever my receiver is on the fans automatically turn on, when my receiver turns off the fans automatically turn off too. It's awesome.

I bought four 140mm computer fans and zip tied them together so I have one big square, I bought a power brick power adapter that has a computer Molex plug on the one end to connect the fans to and is plugged into the power strip.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #12218 of 12229 Old Yesterday, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
In the Direct or Pure modes using an analog stereo input, is there any crossover processing done? Are all the outputs full range including the sub woofer outputs? What about if you are bi-amping? Is the full signal range sent to the R/L mains and the R/L Wide outputs that are normally connected to the tweeter in a Bi-Amp mode?
Bullitt5094 is online now  
post #12219 of 12229 Old Today, 09:18 AM
Newbie
 
Toddpritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
So I'm having a pretty frustrating issue. Currently when I have my roku stick hooked up to the 4520ci it outputs video and sound fine when it's on the menu screens, but when I try to watch a streaming show (netflix, amazon, HBO GO) the sound comes through but the video completely cuts out, I don't even get the Denon on screen display and I have to unplug the roku to even get the picture back on the roku menu screen after that. When I'm on the menu screen the sound is pcm stereo, but every streaming feed I've tried so far has had either dolby digital 2.0, 5.1, or plus, all have done the same thing when the sound changes from 2ch pcm to dolby. I've tried both monitor outs, 1 and 2, I've tried turning off the different monitor outs, I've tried different HDMI inputs on both the denon and my tv and so far they all do the same thing. My tv is a Mitsubishi 73833. The weird thing is when the tv was hooked up the previous day to my old Sony 42" LCD from like 2007 it worked perfectly fine even when sent a dolby digital soundtrack. The only difference was while the roku was sending a digital soundtrack I only had two speakers hooked up to the Denon. When I moved it to the room with the Mitsubishi I hooked it up in a 7.1 setup with the 5 main channels being run by a separate 5 channel amp (the denon amps were only handling the wides.) I don't know if it's the TV, if it's because there are more channels active or if I'm missing a setting somewhere, but I'm really worried because this was a refurb unit and I REALLY don't want to send this thing back. Has anyone else experienced this or have any idea how to fix this? Thanks
Toddpritch is online now  
post #12220 of 12229 Old Today, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,683
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1664 Post(s)
Liked: 1912
I think it's a weird HDMI handshake issue. I have a similar problem with my Roku 2XS. Never had an issue with my older Denons but when I swapped to a new X5200W all of a sudden the screen would go crazy (horizontal flickering) whenever I tried to play videos. I eventually traced the problem to the same thing you noticed -- it only happened with 5.1 DD/DD+ streams. If I set the Roku to 2ch stereo output it never happens.

Not much solace here as I haven't found a solution. I've tried everything (different HDMI ports on the receiver, different HDMI cables etc) and it always happens. Every time I get a firmware update on the receiver or the Roku I check again just in case, but it hasn't fixed itself yet

I'm probably just going to try a different Roku model and cross my fingers that it works correctly.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #12221 of 12229 Old Today, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
I think it's a weird HDMI handshake issue. I have a similar problem with my Roku 2XS. Never had an issue with my older Denons but when I swapped to a new X5200W all of a sudden the screen would go crazy (horizontal flickering) whenever I tried to play videos. I eventually traced the problem to the same thing you noticed -- it only happened with 5.1 DD/DD+ streams. If I set the Roku to 2ch stereo output it never happens.

Not much solace here as I haven't found a solution. I've tried everything (different HDMI ports on the receiver, different HDMI cables etc) and it always happens. Every time I get a firmware update on the receiver or the Roku I check again just in case, but it hasn't fixed itself yet

I'm probably just going to try a different Roku model and cross my fingers that it works correctly.
I'm running the Roku 3 with the 4520 without any problems - have you tried playing in the audio settings menu experimenting with setting to Auto, DD+,etc. Might also try posting here: http://forums.roku.com/

ggsantafe is offline  
post #12222 of 12229 Old Today, 12:47 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,805
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1404 Post(s)
Liked: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by doognam View Post
That would be around 44 Celsius.

Can you put your ears close to the avr to determine whether or not the internal fans are running?

The avr may be cool because its internal fans operate prematurely. Fans operating at just 44 Celsius indicate a loose contact in the same board-to-board connector that's been the source of loose contacts that have caused a myriad of other symptoms.
I've never noticed the internal fans on. I have one, whisper quiet, fan on top. I think it's a 120mm fan. I have it in the middle, closer to the back. I'm running a 9.1 setup with Front Heights.
ellisr63 likes this.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #12223 of 12229 Old Today, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I've never noticed the internal fans on. I have one, whisper quiet, fan on top. I think it's a 120mm fan. I have it in the middle, closer to the back. I'm running a 9.1 setup with Front Heights.
I have never noticed any fans on mine either.

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, (3) MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs,  PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 DTS-10 subs, Panasonic AE8000, SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Darbee Darcet, Yamaha P7000s, (2) Yamaha P2500s, & (3) Topping 25wpch T chip amps.
The Ellis Family Go Big or go Home HT
ellisr63 is online now  
post #12224 of 12229 Old Today, 12:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,805
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1404 Post(s)
Liked: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
I was trying to find a way to get a "triggered outlet" controlled by my receiver but I couldn't find anything economical.

I ended up buying one of those smart strips that turns on power to a strip based on control device. Cheapest here: http://mobile.walmart.com/ip/CyberPo...ector/14968093

Whenever my receiver is on the fans automatically turn on, when my receiver turns off the fans automatically turn off too. It's awesome.

I bought four 140mm computer fans and zip tied them together so I have one big square, I bought a power brick power adapter that has a computer Molex plug on the one end to connect the fans to and is plugged into the power strip.
I was going to do that with mine. Until I remembered that the APC UPS my 4520 is connected to has that feature. So the UPS turns the outlet on/off that the fan is plugged into, when the 4520 turns on and off.
Matt2026 likes this.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #12225 of 12229 Old Today, 12:51 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,805
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1404 Post(s)
Liked: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
I was trying to find a way to get a "triggered outlet" controlled by my receiver but I couldn't find anything economical.

I ended up buying one of those smart strips that turns on power to a strip based on control device. Cheapest here: http://mobile.walmart.com/ip/CyberPo...ector/14968093

Whenever my receiver is on the fans automatically turn on, when my receiver turns off the fans automatically turn off too. It's awesome.

I bought four 140mm computer fans and zip tied them together so I have one big square, I bought a power brick power adapter that has a computer Molex plug on the one end to connect the fans to and is plugged into the power strip.
I initially was going to buy one of those smart power strips since they have worked well with my three unRAID setups.. Until I remembered that the APC UPS my 4520 is connected to has that feature. So the UPS turns the outlet on/off that the fan is plugged into, when the 4520 turns on and off.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #12226 of 12229 Old Today, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I've never noticed the internal fans on. I have one, whisper quiet, fan on top. I think it's a 120mm fan. I have it in the middle, closer to the back. I'm running a 9.1 setup with Front Heights.
The receiver's internal fans are also whisper quiet so it would take some effort to determine whether or not they are running. Like, perhaps, turning OFF everything else except the avr and putting an ear or an spl meter very close to the unit. It is also possible, if the top of the unit is exposed, to see part of the fans and blades thru all the electronics when they are off. You might not be able to recognise the fan blades when they are running.

It is not bad for the fans to activate prematurely. In fact, it could help prolong the life of the avr. On the other hand, it could make some feel uncomfortable knowing that parts of the unit may "not be behaving as designed".

Last edited by doognam; Today at 02:05 PM. Reason: remove excess blanks
doognam is offline  
post #12227 of 12229 Old Today, 02:12 PM
Newbie
 
Toddpritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Yeah I was thinking it was a handshake issue, but it's so strange that the roku in the denon would work on my 42" tv and the roku will work fine plugged directly into the mitsubishi tv, but the roku plugged into the denon and then out to the mits tv won't work. ARGhhhh, super frustrating especially considering MOST of my tv watching right now is on the roku. I'll try the roku 3 (it's in a different room) and see if that does the same thing, the HDMI is the only one I've tried. I just couldn't imagine I'd be the only one with this issue or that tv would be the only one.
Toddpritch is online now  
post #12228 of 12229 Old Today, 02:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,805
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1404 Post(s)
Liked: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by doognam View Post
The receiver's internal fans are also whisper quiet so it would take some effort to determine whether or not they are running. Like, perhaps, turning OFF everything else except the avr and putting an ear or an spl meter very close to the unit. It is also possible, if the top of the unit is exposed, to see part of the fans and blades thru all the electronics when they are off. You might not be able to recognise the fan blades when they are running.

It is not bad for the fans to activate prematurely. In fact, it could help prolong the life of the avr. On the other hand, it could make some feel uncomfortable knowing that parts of the unit may "not be behaving as designed".
Whne I first got the receiver, and before I put the fan on top, i checked for the internal fans running and didn't notice them on. But that was last year.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #12229 of 12229 Old Today, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,683
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1664 Post(s)
Liked: 1912
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggsantafe View Post
I'm running the Roku 3 with the 4520 without any problems - have you tried playing in the audio settings menu experimenting with setting to Auto, DD+,etc. Might also try posting here: http://forums.roku.com/
Yeah I've played with almost every audio related setting on the Roku. I eventually gave up -- when I want "critical" viewing (as critical as you can get from streaming services) I also have Netflix, Vudu, Amazon Prime apps on my Sony BDP which can bitstream the DD+ no problem. If I'm just watching House Hunters with the wife or Octonauts with the kids I can handle 2.0 PCM with DSU upmix

I'm about to move into a new house in a few weeks at which point I'll have a semi-dedicated room upstairs and casual viewing downstairs in the living room. I'll probably end up getting a newer Roku for the dedicated room and use the older 2XS downstairs where I probably won't have a full surround setup.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread - 4520ci by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off