The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 433 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 833Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2015, 05:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,890
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3272 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmhvball View Post
I made my rear usb port the active one, so it can power some fans I havr.

Is there a way to make it power on and power off when I turn the AVR on and off?
The issue is that the USB and network functions are linked (same board I think) so if Network Standby IP Control is turned on (allowing you to wake the receiver from standby with AirPlay, network browser, etc) it means the USB port will always be active too.
kmhvball likes this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-21-2015, 06:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 15,610
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4270 Post(s)
Liked: 4203
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmhvball View Post
I made my rear usb port the active one, so it can power some fans I havr.

Is there a way to make it power on and power off when I turn the AVR on and off?
It will do that on its own with the basic standby mode, as long as you don't have the Network or HDMI controls enabled; that's how mine runs.
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 04:07 AM
Member
 
ultramic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I turn off the subwoofer via the settings >> audio menu, I assume it will disable the bass management and speaker setting (mine is set to small) and send the full signal to the mains ? Cheers.
ultramic is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 04:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
kmhvball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mason, Ohio
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
The issue is that the USB and network functions are linked (same board I think) so if Network Standby IP Control is turned on (allowing you to wake the receiver from standby with AirPlay, network browser, etc) it means the USB port will always be active too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
It will do that on its own with the basic standby mode, as long as you don't have the Network or HDMI controls enabled; that's how mine runs.
Thanks for the info! I currently have the Network functionality on full time, although, not sure I need to - so, I'll think more about it.
kmhvball is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8,102
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3914 Post(s)
Liked: 2629
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultramic View Post
If I turn off the subwoofer via the settings >> audio menu, I assume it will disable the bass management and speaker setting (mine is set to small) and send the full signal to the mains ? Cheers.
I think if you turn it off in the Audio menu, bass management is still active. If you turn it off in the Speakers menu, bass management is then disabled.
Alan P is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8,102
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3914 Post(s)
Liked: 2629
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
You can't turn the sub off in the audio menu, you can only change its output level.
Hmmm...you're probably right Jerry, but I could have sworn I've seen a Subwoofer YES/NO or ON/OFF in the Audio menu.
Alan P is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,890
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3272 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Hmmm...you're probably right Jerry, but I could have sworn I've seen a Subwoofer YES/NO or ON/OFF in the Audio menu.
You guys are thinking of two different things.

Jerry is talking about the SW Level adjust.

You are thinking of the sub parameter that's available when you are in the Stereo surround mode.
batpig is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8,102
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3914 Post(s)
Liked: 2629
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
That option is normally grayed out. Here is the user guide description. The OP did not specify he was using Direct or Pure Direct, so I guess the answer is "it depends".

Yup, that was it...I knew I saw it somewhere in there.
Alan P is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,890
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3272 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I am talking about the section I posted from the user's guide.
Not when I was typing my message

I was replying to this, "You can't turn the sub off in the audio menu, you can only change its output level."

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 02:11 PM
Member
 
ultramic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
That option is normally grayed out. Here is the user guide description. The OP did not specify he was using Direct or Pure Direct, so I guess the answer is "it depends".

Sorry for the confusion. Yes I meant turning off the subwoofer when in 2 channel stereo mode - so the consenus that it does switch off bass management and the full signal is sent to the mains regardless of the speaker setting menu (ie small vs large) ?

I agree that with my hdmi connections, the subwoofer option is greyed out and you can only adjust the level.

Thanks again.
ultramic is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,890
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3272 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Jerry -- a slight correction but I think you are misreading the footnote to imply that SW On/Off setting is ONLY available in Direct/Pure Direct mode.

It is actually also available in Stereo surround mode. The footnote is saying that the setting is available when the Direct/Pure Direct surround mode is selected AND the LFE+MAIN setting is enabled (which makes because if LFE+MAIN is not enabled then there is no SW in Direct modes). Not that it is exclusively availabe in Direct/Pure Direct modes.

So the question AIUI is, IF you are using Stereo surround mode, with mains set to small, and you use this setting to turn the SW off, will the mains revert to full range or will they retain the Xover setting and the content intended for the SW is just lost?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 04:41 PM
Member
 
ultramic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
So the question AIUI is, IF you are using Stereo surround mode, with mains set to small, and you use this setting to turn the SW off, will the mains revert to full range or will they retain the Xover setting and the content intended for the SW is just lost?
That's absolutely correct. I am not listening in pure direct or direct mode - I am in stereo mode. The reason why I want to experiment with switching the sub off is because I still want audyssey engaged (ie music sounds better to me in stereo with audyssey vs direct/pure direct).

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

Last edited by ultramic; 10-22-2015 at 04:45 PM.
ultramic is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,890
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3272 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultramic View Post
That's absolutely correct. I am not listening in pure direct or direct mode - I am in stereo mode. The reason why I want to experiment with switching the sub off is because I still want audyssey engaged (ie music sounds better to me in stereo with audyssey vs direct/pure direct).

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
It should be fairly easy to test by temporarily setting an extremely high crossover (e.g. 250Hz) and then toggling the sub on/off with bass heavy music.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 04:51 PM
Member
 
ultramic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
If you are in 2-channel stereo mode and the mains are set to small, then the sub is receiving the low frequency signals.
That's exactly my question - by switching the subwoofer off under this scenario is the crossover still active and the sub frequencies are "lost" or the unit is smart enough to send the full signal to the mains ?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
ultramic is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 05:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 15,610
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4270 Post(s)
Liked: 4203
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultramic View Post
That's exactly my question - by switching the subwoofer off under this scenario is the crossover still active and the sub frequencies are "lost" or the unit is smart enough to send the full signal to the mains ?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
So you think the avr creates content for the sub channel from 2.0 source material, then when you turn the sub off it still would be actively using the crossover? Hmm, never would occur to me they would set it up that way. I just tried some music in stereo mode with good bass content and with sub on and off the bass is pretty obviously still there in the L/R when off.
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,890
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3272 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
So you think the avr creates content for the sub channel from 2.0 source material, then when you turn the sub off it still would be actively using the crossover? Hmm, never would occur to me they would set it up that way. I just tried some music in stereo mode with good bass content and with sub on and off the bass is pretty obviously still there in the L/R when off.
Again, just to be clear, we are specifically talking ONLY about the "Subwoofer On/Off" setting in the Audio/Surround Parameter menu that appears only when in 2ch listening modes (Stereo, and Direct/Pure Direct when LFE+MAIN is set). Not going into Speaker Config and setting the SW off completely, which will reset the mains to "large" automatically.

I'm only speculating because I've not tested to know exactly how it behaves.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 05:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 15,610
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4270 Post(s)
Liked: 4203
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Again, just to be clear, we are specifically talking ONLY about the "Subwoofer On/Off" setting in the Audio/Surround Parameter menu that appears only when in 2ch listening modes (Stereo, and Direct/Pure Direct when LFE+MAIN is set). Not going into Speaker Config and setting the SW off completely, which will reset the mains to "large" automatically.

I'm only speculating because I've not tested to know exactly how it behaves.
I just tested stereo and using the remote to flip on/off the subwoofer from the audio menu, not the direct/pure modes altho I did compare to those briefly (but not with LFE+Main....have never had any interest in that setting).
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,890
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3272 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Again, just to be clear, we are specifically talking ONLY about the "Subwoofer On/Off" setting in the Audio/Surround Parameter menu that appears only when in 2ch listening modes (Stereo, and Direct/Pure Direct when LFE+MAIN is set). Not going into Speaker Config and setting the SW off completely, which will reset the mains to "large" automatically.

I'm only speculating because I've not tested to know exactly how it behaves.
I just tested stereo and using the remote to flip on/off the subwoofer from the audio menu, not the direct/pure modes altho I did compare to those briefly (but not with LFE+Main....have never had any interest in that setting).
And the results were....... ?
batpig is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 08:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 15,610
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4270 Post(s)
Liked: 4203
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
And the results were....... ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
So you think the avr creates content for the sub channel from 2.0 source material, then when you turn the sub off it still would be actively using the crossover? Hmm, never would occur to me they would set it up that way. I just tried some music in stereo mode with good bass content and with sub on and off the bass is pretty obviously still there in the L/R when off.
Or were you looking for something else?
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 08:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,890
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3272 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Sorry yeah I temporarily forgot the context of your prior post.

What crossover are you using? Did you try raising it to 250Hz when testing just to be sure?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 08:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 15,610
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4270 Post(s)
Liked: 4203
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Sorry yeah I temporarily forgot the context of your prior post.

What crossover are you using? Did you try raising it to 250Hz when testing just to be sure?
Didn't raise to 250 crossover, currently at 110. Will try that later after the movie.....
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 10:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 15,610
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4270 Post(s)
Liked: 4203
@batpig Yes same results with crossover at 250, clearly the LR are getting a full signal with the sub off. Tested with a few different Marcus Miller cuts as well as a 40hz test tone to be sure
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 10:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 15,610
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4270 Post(s)
Liked: 4203
@batpig Yes same results with crossover at 250, clearly the LR are getting a full signal with the sub off in stereo mode. Tested with a few different Marcus Miller cuts as well as a 40hz test tone to be sure
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 10-22-2015, 11:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,890
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3272 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Well that settles it then thanks!
batpig is online now  
Old 10-24-2015, 04:05 AM
Senior Member
 
knoxtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am running out of inputs and will purchase the new Apple TV soon. I have a Sony HD player on MEDIA now and since it doesn't need video, I'm wondering if I can switch it to PHONO and then use MEDIA for the Apple. I can't find in the manual if phono is different than for instance CD with the MM cartridge. I'm guessing it is different and I can't use it.
knoxtn is offline  
Old 10-24-2015, 07:23 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by knoxtn View Post
I am running out of inputs and will purchase the new Apple TV soon. I have a Sony HD player on MEDIA now and since it doesn't need video, I'm wondering if I can switch it to PHONO and then use MEDIA for the Apple. I can't find in the manual if phono is different than for instance CD with the MM cartridge. I'm guessing it is different and I can't use it.
The phono input can only be used for a turntable with a high output (typically MM) cartridge, and possibly for some MC cartridges (but most will have output levels that are too low). What is a "Sony HD player"? Depending on just exactly what it is, there might be options that could work.
gsr is online now  
Old 10-24-2015, 08:43 AM
Home Theater Lover!
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 9,452
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2442 Post(s)
Liked: 2213
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
I wish I had more "we like it loud" friends sometimes just so I can share my freedom on the volume level Hopefully you're tweaking, not tweeking.....

After doing a bunch of setting tweaks, inspired by some of the Cedia audio demos, I decided to break out the Radio Shack SPL meter. With the new Mad Max Blu Ray sound track, and the 4520 set at 75, I'm getting 80db with 110db+ peaks. No wonder my wife says it's loud ! With 11 channels of Martin Logan speakers and twin SVS cylinder subs, this is one great sounding room shaking sound track ! Got my " we like it loud " friends coming over tomorrow...................
lovinthehd and Matt2026 like this.

AV Science, Inc. Direct (585) 671-2972 craig@avscience.com www.avscience.com Like us on Facebook

Home theater equipment sales and advice. Call to see the JVC RS600 in Northern California

My theater pics - http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2386514
Craig Peer is offline  
Old 10-24-2015, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 6,975
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 1890
That was a great movie, Rythmiks kicked me in the chest a few times.
Craig Peer likes this.
gadgtfreek is offline  
Old 10-25-2015, 07:55 AM
Senior Member
 
knoxtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Inputs

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
The phono input can only be used for a turntable with a high output (typically MM) cartridge, and possibly for some MC cartridges (but most will have output levels that are too low). What is a "Sony HD player"? Depending on just exactly what it is, there might be options that could work.
The Sony is a high def player and is only analog output. I thought I was out of inputs--but just realized I'm not using DVD. So I'm OK afterall. The reason I was curious about phono is the Denon manual says if you have a MC cartridge, then you need a phono amp....which can be used w/ any audio input. An MM doesn't need it

Last edited by knoxtn; 10-25-2015 at 07:59 AM.
knoxtn is offline  
Old 10-25-2015, 08:07 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by knoxtn View Post
The Sony is a high def player and is only analog output. I thought I was out of inputs--but just realized I'm not using DVD. So I'm OK afterall. The reason I was curious about phono is the Denon manual says if you have a MC cartridge, then you need a phono amp....which can be used w/ any audio input. An MM doesn't need it
MC cartridges usually have even lower output than MM cartridges do, so those would need an additional preamp stage to be used on the phono input.
gsr is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off