The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 440 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 819Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13171 of 13302 Old 01-23-2016, 06:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 87
The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
The Crown XLS Drivecore gen 2 amps have sort of a 12v trigger and quieter fans and are rca friendly fwiw....but they're still selling for relatively high prices compared to what you could recently get gen 1 amps. Sounds like a good deal on the Behringer, tho....
Well I gotta turn on the sub amp anyhow. At least if I have a LCR amp I won't forget.

There's a DIY floating around for a 12v trigger mod on the iNukes but I've been too chicken.
Dreamliner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13172 of 13302 Old 01-23-2016, 06:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 14,873
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3973 Post(s)
Liked: 3880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Well I gotta turn on the sub amp anyhow. At least if I have a LCR amp I won't forget.

There's a DIY floating around for a 12v trigger mod on the iNukes but I've been too chicken.
Just use a smart power strip with the avr as master perhaps? What I do...
lovinthehd is offline  
post #13173 of 13302 Old 01-23-2016, 06:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
Just use a smart power strip with the avr as master perhaps? What I do...
Tried. Makes my subs pop.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #13174 of 13302 Old 01-24-2016, 09:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
Could be you need more amp for a full complement of speakers running at reference levels, could be your speakers running out of gas, too. Not familiar with those speakers nor see much detail with a quick search. Are the front speakers noticeably better in only 2ch mode? Might be one way of testing if it's power or speaker....or even use your sub amp on the front pair and see if that gives you an idea.
I tried searching, are there blind volume-matched listening tests that compare an amp vs receiver? Its not going to be so easy to A/B compare with my NU6000 because of Speakon vs Banana Plugs...

My Speaker Specs:

VR3 (Right / Left)
Frequency Response: 41Hz-20kHz
Recommended Amplifier Power: 15-150 watts
Nominal Impedance: 8 ohms
Sensitivity [1 watt (2.83v) at 1m]: 93dB
Bass Unit: (2) 61⁄2" DCD™ (165mm) copolymer
Midrange: 41⁄2" (115mm) neodymium copolymer
Tweeter: 1" (25mm) VRH.O.™ anodized aluminum dome
Crossover Frequency: 400, 2800Hz
Dimensions (H x W x D): 38 x 9 x 111⁄2"
Weight:45 lbs (21kg)

VR12 (Center)
Frequency Response(±3dB): 58-20,000Hz
Recommended Amplifier Power: 15-250 watts
Nominal Impedance: 8ohms
Sensitivity: [1watt(2.83v)at1m]: 91dB
Bass Unit: Dual 6 1/2"(165mm) copolymer Midrange 41/2"(115mm) copolymer
Tweeter: 1"(25mm)anodized aluminum dome
Crossover Frequency: 500,3300Hz
Dimensions(HxWxD): 83/4x25x81/2"
Weight: 30lbs(14kg)
Dreamliner is offline  
post #13175 of 13302 Old 01-24-2016, 09:35 AM
Senior Member
 
hltr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Given that you can find these for under $1,000 used, would you folks still recommend the 4520CI or something newer and why? The multi zones and Ethernet hub would meet my needs nicely.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
hltr is offline  
post #13176 of 13302 Old 01-24-2016, 12:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 14,873
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3973 Post(s)
Liked: 3880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
I tried searching, are there blind volume-matched listening tests that compare an amp vs receiver? Its not going to be so easy to A/B compare with my NU6000 because of Speakon vs Banana Plugs...

My Speaker Specs:

VR3 (Right / Left)
Frequency Response: 41Hz-20kHz
Recommended Amplifier Power: 15-150 watts
Nominal Impedance: 8 ohms
Sensitivity [1 watt (2.83v) at 1m]: 93dB
Bass Unit: (2) 61⁄2" DCD™ (165mm) copolymer
Midrange: 41⁄2" (115mm) neodymium copolymer
Tweeter: 1" (25mm) VRH.O.™ anodized aluminum dome
Crossover Frequency: 400, 2800Hz
Dimensions (H x W x D): 38 x 9 x 111⁄2"
Weight:45 lbs (21kg)

VR12 (Center)
Frequency Response(±3dB): 58-20,000Hz
Recommended Amplifier Power: 15-250 watts
Nominal Impedance: 8ohms
Sensitivity: [1watt(2.83v)at1m]: 91dB
Bass Unit: Dual 6 1/2"(165mm) copolymer Midrange 41/2"(115mm) copolymer
Tweeter: 1"(25mm)anodized aluminum dome
Crossover Frequency: 500,3300Hz
Dimensions(HxWxD): 83/4x25x81/2"
Weight: 30lbs(14kg)
As far as I'm aware the amps in the avr have tested rather well. The various dbt tests done between various solid state amps (avr or external) within their limits afaik have shown that you can't distinguish them. I've not been had anything I'd consider an overt difference over my several avrs and power amps other than higher output capability. I buy amps accordingly, if you want to get into how such a SS amp "sounds" I'm not your guy as I'm of the opinion they're so similar as not to be worth worrying about in my system(s).

That said, your speakers are more sensitive than mine are (86.5 dB for mine, Sierra-1s across the front) and am using surrounds/rear surrounds (89 and 87 dB) on the avr as well and have no issues but I'm rarely trying more than -10 MV setting (depends on the soundtrack tho, some I do play at 0). I have used power amps (250-300w/ch) with these speakers but for my purposes there was no advantage to the power amp so they got put to use elsewhere.

A direct a/b level matched comparison with amp vs avr isn't easy to setup, but was thinking if you're hearing this brightness with your avr taxed by all speakers then try it with just your fronts on the avr vs your current power amp you could perhaps either run into the same brightness at higher levels...or not.

I know a lot of people claim power amps make their speakers sing and all that.....just not my experience over the years with such amps with various speakers....
lovinthehd is offline  
post #13177 of 13302 Old 01-24-2016, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,449
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 583 Post(s)
Liked: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by hltr View Post
Given that you can find these for under $1,000 used, would you folks still recommend the 4520CI or something newer and why? The multi zones and Ethernet hub would meet my needs nicely.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
It depends. If you're interested in Dolby Atmos, DTS:X, or Auro3D, you'd need to look elsewhere. Likewise, if you're interested in your receiver being able to pass HDCP 2.2-encoded 4K sources, the 4520CI isn't for you. However, if object-based audio and 4K isn't important, then the 4520CI is a great choice.
Schwa is offline  
post #13178 of 13302 Old 01-24-2016, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
hltr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post
It depends. If you're interested in Dolby Atmos, DTS:X, or Auro3D, you'd need to look elsewhere. Likewise, if you're interested in your receiver being able to pass HDCP 2.2-encoded 4K sources, the 4520CI isn't for you. However, if object-based audio and 4K isn't important, then the 4520CI is a great choice.

Thanks. Can it send different HDMI inputs to both outs simultaneously?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
hltr is offline  
post #13179 of 13302 Old 01-24-2016, 04:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
As far as I'm aware the amps in the avr have tested rather well. The various dbt tests done between various solid state amps (avr or external) within their limits afaik have shown that you can't distinguish them. I've not been had anything I'd consider an overt difference over my several avrs and power amps other than higher output capability. I buy amps accordingly, if you want to get into how such a SS amp "sounds" I'm not your guy as I'm of the opinion they're so similar as not to be worth worrying about in my system(s).

That said, your speakers are more sensitive than mine are (86.5 dB for mine, Sierra-1s across the front) and am using surrounds/rear surrounds (89 and 87 dB) on the avr as well and have no issues but I'm rarely trying more than -10 MV setting (depends on the soundtrack tho, some I do play at 0). I have used power amps (250-300w/ch) with these speakers but for my purposes there was no advantage to the power amp so they got put to use elsewhere.

A direct a/b level matched comparison with amp vs avr isn't easy to setup, but was thinking if you're hearing this brightness with your avr taxed by all speakers then try it with just your fronts on the avr vs your current power amp you could perhaps either run into the same brightness at higher levels...or not.

I know a lot of people claim power amps make their speakers sing and all that.....just not my experience over the years with such amps with various speakers....
Yeah, I've felt this way for a long time. I've always said "when comparing amplifiers with volume matched levels without distortion why would there be a difference?" To me, it feels like someone saying a Lamborghini at 60mph is a different speed than a Chevy at 60mph.

I'm just wondering if with 9 channels driven my 4520 is running out of gas. My out-of-pocket will be about $180 net (after selling current heights amp). For 90% of what I watch (at -20dB or less) I'm positive it will make zero difference.

The only question is the 10% of the time I'm over -10dB, will it make a difference and is that worth $180?
Dreamliner is offline  
post #13180 of 13302 Old 01-25-2016, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
bgoering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by hltr View Post
Thanks. Can it send different HDMI inputs to both outs simultaneously?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yes if you are talking about the main zone and zone 4. There are two HDMI outs in the main zone that will both reflect the same input.
bgoering is offline  
post #13181 of 13302 Old 01-25-2016, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
mrkalel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgoering View Post
Yes if you are talking about the main zone and zone 4. There are two HDMI outs in the main zone that will both reflect the same input.
Just quick... Does Zone 4 work as an independent output? (With sound?)

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
mrkalel is offline  
post #13182 of 13302 Old 01-25-2016, 01:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 14,873
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3973 Post(s)
Liked: 3880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Yeah, I've felt this way for a long time. I've always said "when comparing amplifiers with volume matched levels without distortion why would there be a difference?" To me, it feels like someone saying a Lamborghini at 60mph is a different speed than a Chevy at 60mph.

I'm just wondering if with 9 channels driven my 4520 is running out of gas. My out-of-pocket will be about $180 net (after selling current heights amp). For 90% of what I watch (at -20dB or less) I'm positive it will make zero difference.

The only question is the 10% of the time I'm over -10dB, will it make a difference and is that worth $180?
That's only $18 for each percent! I'd say....maybe.
lovinthehd is offline  
post #13183 of 13302 Old 01-25-2016, 02:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
That's only $18 for each percent! I'd say....maybe.
Lol. I just wonder if it will make any difference. I also decided that if I get it I'll use the 4th unused channel for a tactile transducer...i.e. Buttkicker.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #13184 of 13302 Old 01-25-2016, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
mrkalel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Lol. I just wonder if it will make any difference. I also decided that if I get it I'll use the 4th unused channel for a tactile transducer...i.e. Buttkicker.
Would you use the channel or the Sub out #2 ?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
mrkalel is offline  
post #13185 of 13302 Old 01-25-2016, 02:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkalel View Post
Would you use the channel or the Sub out #2 ?
I'd have to split one of my sub outs from the receiver....and maybe get one of those RCA inline 50hz low pass filters (receiver is XO'd @ 80Hz so I might be able to get away without it). I was just thinking up ideas for the 4th channel and thought of a buttkicker. I'm certainly not going to spend too much money for that if I do it.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #13186 of 13302 Old 01-25-2016, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
mrkalel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
I'd have to split one of my sub outs from the receiver....and maybe get one of those RCA inline 50hz low pass filters (receiver is XO'd @ 80Hz). I was just thinking up ideas for the 4th channel and thought of a buttkicker. I'm certainly not going to spend too much money for that if I do it.
What I did notice is when I had my Buttkicker on Sub 2… I got alot of pops which translated to random big bumps.
I disconnected.. And never really tested again...

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
mrkalel is offline  
post #13187 of 13302 Old 01-25-2016, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,710
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3156 Post(s)
Liked: 2982
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkalel View Post
Just quick... Does Zone 4 work as an independent output? (With sound?)
Zone 4 HDMI output is an independent, unprocessed matrix path.

Whatever HDMI input you select for that output, it will pass through as though it were passing through a simple switcher, i.e. audio+video will be untouched. It requires another HDMI sink (e.g. a 2nd room TV or receiver) to decode the HDMI signal and process it.
hltr and mrkalel like this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #13188 of 13302 Old 01-25-2016, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
mrkalel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Zone 4 HDMI output is an independent, unprocessed matrix path.

Whatever HDMI input you select for that output, it will pass through as though it were passing through a simple switcher, i.e. audio+video will be untouched. It requires another HDMI sink (e.g. a 2nd room TV or receiver) to decode the HDMI signal and process it.
You're the best.

(I also guess this is why my HDMI Monitor (no speakers) wasn't working.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
mrkalel is offline  
post #13189 of 13302 Old 02-02-2016, 07:32 AM
Senior Member
 
ril850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oxnard (So Cal)
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hey guys, I'm experiencing a problem with the network switch on my Denon 4520. My current set up is a cable modem from Verizon Fios to the Denon via enthernet. Port 1 is for the receiver, port 2 to Amazon Fire TV, port 3 to my Panasonic TV and port 4 was going to my Oppo 103D. My devices are Wi-Fi cable but I'd rather be hardwired when ever possible. I've tried switching cables and ports and believe it is port 4. I also notice no light when cable plugged in. Any ideas or anyone experience similiar issues. I'd like to avoide resetting the processor of the Denon unless anyone has any ideas.

Thanks in advance.

Life is what you make it.......
ril850 is offline  
post #13190 of 13302 Old 02-02-2016, 07:32 AM
Senior Member
 
ril850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oxnard (So Cal)
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hey guys, I'm experiencing a problem with the network switch on my Denon 4520. My current set up is a cable modem from Verizon Fios to the Denon via enthernet. Port 1 is for the receiver, port 2 to Amazon Fire TV, port 3 to my Panasonic TV and port 4 was going to my Oppo 103D. My devices are Wi-Fi cable but I'd rather be hardwired when ever possible. I've tried switching cables and ports and believe it is port 4. I also notice no light when cable plugged in. Any ideas or anyone experience similiar issues. I'd like to avoide resetting the processor of the Denon unless anyone has any ideas.

Thanks in advance.

Life is what you make it.......
ril850 is offline  
post #13191 of 13302 Old 02-02-2016, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by ril850 View Post
Hey guys, I'm experiencing a problem with the network switch on my Denon 4520. My current set up is a cable modem from Verizon Fios to the Denon via enthernet. Port 1 is for the receiver, port 2 to Amazon Fire TV, port 3 to my Panasonic TV and port 4 was going to my Oppo 103D. My devices are Wi-Fi cable but I'd rather be hardwired when ever possible. I've tried switching cables and ports and believe it is port 4. I also notice no light when cable plugged in. Any ideas or anyone experience similiar issues. I'd like to avoide resetting the processor of the Denon unless anyone has any ideas.

Thanks in advance.
Do you have it set to "always on"?
laserjock II is online now  
post #13192 of 13302 Old 02-02-2016, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
ril850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oxnard (So Cal)
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
Do you have it set to "always on"?
Yes and I do and I've tried the Oppo on the #3 port without making any setting changes on either device. I'm just trying to figure out if the port went bad on me.

Life is what you make it.......
ril850 is offline  
post #13193 of 13302 Old 02-02-2016, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
ril850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oxnard (So Cal)
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
Do you have it set to "always on"?
Yes and I do and I've tried the Oppo on the #3 port without making any setting changes on either device and its able to make a connection and get on the network. I'm just trying to figure out if the port on my 4520 went bad on me.

Life is what you make it.......
ril850 is offline  
post #13194 of 13302 Old 02-08-2016, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi all,

I've been scanning the pages with a couple of searches and still feel the need to ask directly:

I purchased this 4520CI new over a year ago when the new Atmos units came out and I had given up on the Yamahas which had been my "go to" for over 10 years. I was working crazy hours and just did a quickie set-up of the new Denon and let it be.
I now have some days off and wanted to start from scratch, any Ideas on the most efficient set-up methods and/or pitfalls to avoid?

-Mitsu 837 DLP
-Oppo BD-95
-Oppo DV-980H (for CD and MLS via USB)
-Harmony One Universal remote (not set up at all with these components yet, but want to)
-one somewhat ratty tripod for audio set-up
-Spears and Munsil Blu-ray and audio set up disk.

Paradigm Monitor v.1 and v.2 floor-standers in a 5.1 configuration with two small bookshelves as Height speakers. Room is 24' wide by 12' deep.

I have tried to download the IR codes from Denon, but the 2015 PDF is not opening, Adobe claims that it is missing data. Needed for Harmony set-up?

Regardless, If you have any quick pointers or can point me to the most helpful posts in coping with the manual, it'd be appreciated.

Mike


Last edited by Mkard; 02-08-2016 at 04:29 PM.
Mkard is offline  
post #13195 of 13302 Old 02-10-2016, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
bgoering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I believe Harmony has Denon codes in their database already, but not sure as I am using a URC remote with mine. That 2015 IR Codes is an Excel spreadsheet (.xls) not a PDF file.

I didn't do a whole lot with setup on mine, just followed along the walkthrough for initial setup and Audessey when I put mine in.
bgoering is offline  
post #13196 of 13302 Old 02-10-2016, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,710
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3156 Post(s)
Liked: 2982
Yes one of the features of harmony is the codes are already in the database.
batpig is offline  
post #13197 of 13302 Old 02-10-2016, 01:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 14,873
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3973 Post(s)
Liked: 3880
@Mkard While you don't need the codes for Harmony, if you'd like a copy I saved one when I got my 4520. PM me with your email addy and I'll send it to you.
lovinthehd is offline  
post #13198 of 13302 Old 02-10-2016, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Using 4520 with 4K TV

I'm curious if anyone has experience with passing a 4K signal through the 4520 to a 4k UHD TV via my DirecTV H44 box(4K compatible) I recently purchased a Vizio M-60 and in the Video Output Settings selected "4K" in the Resolution HDMI section. The TV displayed a 2160p picture, however I noticed that on fast moving scenes, especially noticeable during basketball games, there was a judder like effect when following the ball being passed, or certain movements made by the players. Adjusting the Vizio Judder & Motion Flow settings had little impact on the situation. When I adjusted the HDMI Resolution to 1080p, the problems largely disappeared.

Just wondering if other 4520 users have experienced any similar problems with Satellite content and what steps you took to alleviate the problem. Here are the rest of my Video Output Settings:
Video Mode: Auto
Video Conversion: On
i/p scaler: HDMI
Resolution: 1080p (4k for BluRay & Roku 3)
Progressive Mode: Auto
Aspect Ratio: 16:9

ggsantafe is offline  
post #13199 of 13302 Old 02-13-2016, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
JeffreyMercado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NewYork
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I would love to know if you buy atmos speaker add ons will the 4520 just use them as height speakers? Would it be a discreet channel?

So is there any word whether Denon will ever have a atmos update for the 4520 or should I just sell my 4520? Mine was purchased new less than a year ago and I don't think wifey will approve. Lol
JeffreyMercado is offline  
post #13200 of 13302 Old 02-13-2016, 04:29 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,656
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffreyMercado View Post
I would love to know if you buy atmos speaker add ons will the 4520 just use them as height speakers? Would it be a discreet channel?

So is there any word whether Denon will ever have a atmos update for the 4520 or should I just sell my 4520? Mine was purchased new less than a year ago and I don't think wifey will approve. Lol
There's no chance of older AVRs like the 4520 getting updates to add Atmos. No channels beyond the "standard" 7.1 channels will be discrete on the 4520. How the 4520 uses additional speakers depends on which outputs you connect them to. If you're thinking of using the Atmos module speakers that sit on top of existing speakers, those would probably be a really bad choice to use with a non-Atmos AVR.

Last edited by gsr; 02-13-2016 at 05:27 PM.
gsr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off