The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 451 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 857Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13501 of 13516 Old 12-03-2016, 05:17 AM
Member
 
pndiku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct. Although some of the 2012 models (to include the 4520CI) can upspcale to 4k, they will not pass a 4k/HDCP 2.2 signal from a new 4k UHD BDP.
Would you say the 4520 has better up scaling than the average 4k TV?

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
pndiku is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13502 of 13516 Old 12-03-2016, 05:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,762
Mentioned: 226 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11182 Post(s)
Liked: 5148
Quote:
Originally Posted by pndiku View Post
Would you say the 4520 has better up scaling than the average 4k TV?

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
Not likely, no, but best if other 4520CI owner's chime in with their experience as it would depend on the capability of upscaling by the TV.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13503 of 13516 Old 12-03-2016, 08:05 PM
Member
 
wowzors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry if this is a stupid question.

What would be the best way for me to keep my 4520 but still get DTSHD audio from my 4k systems (ps4 pro, Xbox 1, blu ray player and such) and my TV.

I don't want to get a new receiver because if I do I am not glong to go flagship and I feel like the audio quality will be less on a cheaper new 4k hdcp 2.2 receiver.
wowzors is offline  
post #13504 of 13516 Old 12-04-2016, 03:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,762
Mentioned: 226 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11182 Post(s)
Liked: 5148
Quote:
Originally Posted by wowzors View Post
Sorry if this is a stupid question.

What would be the best way for me to keep my 4520 but still get DTSHD audio from my 4k systems (ps4 pro, Xbox 1, blu ray player and such) and my TV.

I don't want to get a new receiver because if I do I am not glong to go flagship and I feel like the audio quality will be less on a cheaper new 4k hdcp 2.2 receiver.
Either pass the video directly to the TV with audio only to the AVR or purchase an HD Fury Integral.

https://www.hdfury.com/shop/splitter...60-444-600mhz/
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13505 of 13516 Old 12-04-2016, 10:15 AM
Member
 
wowzors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Either pass the video directly to the TV with audio only to the AVR or purchase an HD Fury Integral.

https://www.hdfury.com/shop/splitter...60-444-600mhz/
How would I send audio only from a ps4 pro? There is only one hdmi and as far as I know I can plug that into the TV and use the TV ARC for audio but it will top out at 5.1 dts, no lossy.

Last edited by wowzors; 12-04-2016 at 10:32 AM.
wowzors is offline  
post #13506 of 13516 Old 12-04-2016, 01:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,762
Mentioned: 226 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11182 Post(s)
Liked: 5148
Quote:
Originally Posted by wowzors View Post
How would I send audio only from a ps4 pro? There is only one hdmi and as far as I know I can plug that into the TV and use the TV ARC for audio but it will top out at 5.1 dts, no lossy.
DD/DTS 5.1 is lossy.

Without using a dual HDMI BDP, you wouldn't be able to pass the "lossless" audio.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13507 of 13516 Old Yesterday, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8,835
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4360 Post(s)
Liked: 3039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
So, I just got a new 4K TV the other day, and come to find out that the 4520 upscales to 4K...who knew??

Seems to do a good job of it as well. As far as I can tell, it's a definite improvement having it on with BRs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pndiku View Post
Would you say the 4520 has better up scaling than the average 4k TV?

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
After some more testing, I've found I can't really tell a difference between on/off on my Vizio E series.
pndiku likes this.
Alan P is offline  
post #13508 of 13516 Old Yesterday, 09:02 AM
Member
 
pndiku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
After some more testing, I've found I can't really tell a difference between on/off on my Vizio E series.
Thanks Alan
pndiku is offline  
post #13509 of 13516 Old Yesterday, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8,835
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4360 Post(s)
Liked: 3039
So, I've been running with Audyssey off and using the GEQ lately...I'm liking how it sounds.

But, I've run into an issue that jdsmoothie may have an answer to; it seems that when I switch surround modes (from say, True HD to True HD + PLIIz) the 4520 turns Audyssey back on. This is quite annoying.

Is there any way to stop the AVR from turning Audyssey back on and leave it on GEQ??

Just as I'm typing this I had a thought...maybe I need to set every surround mode to use GEQ and then the AVR would remember the setting...? Is that maybe the answer?
Alan P is offline  
post #13510 of 13516 Old Yesterday, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 28,217
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3498 Post(s)
Liked: 3325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
So, I've been running with Audyssey off and using the GEQ lately...I'm liking how it sounds.

But, I've run into an issue that jdsmoothie may have an answer to; it seems that when I switch surround modes (from say, True HD to True HD + PLIIz) the 4520 turns Audyssey back on. This is quite annoying.

Is there any way to stop the AVR from turning Audyssey back on and leave it on GEQ??

Just as I'm typing this I had a thought...maybe I need to set every surround mode to use GEQ and then the AVR would remember the setting...? Is that maybe the answer?
The Audyssey settings should be linked to a specific input, not surround mode. Are you maybe using Quick Selects?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #13511 of 13516 Old Yesterday, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8,835
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4360 Post(s)
Liked: 3039
Thanks batpig!

Nope, not using any Quick Selects.

However, I change surround modes by holding down the Audio button and then cycling through all the available modes. So, to get from PLIIz to Stereo for instance, I have to go through all the other surround modes to get there. Is that what is causing my issues?? Maybe I should be using Quick Selects (never have used them)....?
Alan P is offline  
post #13512 of 13516 Old Yesterday, 12:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,762
Mentioned: 226 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11182 Post(s)
Liked: 5148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Thanks batpig!

Nope, not using any Quick Selects.

However, I change surround modes by holding down the Audio button and then cycling through all the available modes. So, to get from PLIIz to Stereo for instance, I have to go through all the other surround modes to get there. Is that what is causing my issues?? Maybe I should be using Quick Selects (never have used them)....?
Would help .. yes.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13513 of 13516 Old Yesterday, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 28,217
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3498 Post(s)
Liked: 3325
That's still not normal behavior though IMO. I change surround modes all the time and it doesn't affect the Audyssey settings.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #13514 of 13516 Old Yesterday, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8,835
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4360 Post(s)
Liked: 3039
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Would help .. yes.
OK then, I'll set those up tonight.

Any tips for a first time user of Quick Selects? I'll have to pull up the manual.....
Alan P is offline  
post #13515 of 13516 Old Yesterday, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8,835
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4360 Post(s)
Liked: 3039
OK, probably a stupid question but I've looked at both pages of the manual that refer to Quick Selects. Can these be accessed through the remote or only the front panel??
Alan P is offline  
post #13516 of 13516 Old Today, 12:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,762
Mentioned: 226 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11182 Post(s)
Liked: 5148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
OK, probably a stupid question but I've looked at both pages of the manual that refer to Quick Selects. Can these be accessed through the remote or only the front panel??
On just about every remote before and after the year the 4520CI was released, the Quick Selects are on the remote. For some reason, that year, they chose to remove them, so only on the front panel.

AFAIK, you should however, be able to program them into a Harmony remote.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off