The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 454 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 865Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #13591 of 13616 Unread 03-22-2017, 05:02 AM
Member
 
donnyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
How many 4k sources do you plan on using?

The HD Fury Integral would be a less costly option.

https://www.hdfury.com/shop/splitter...60-444-600mhz/
Looks interesting, and thanks for the info. I only have two sources at this time, but may need room to grow.
donnyb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13592 of 13616 Unread 03-22-2017, 05:27 AM
Member
 
turrmoil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello fellow 4520 owners...
I have a situation where when I connect my Denon to the TV I see the Denon logo and everything seems fine including sound playback.
When I play music using airplay I see the art label on the TV.
However when I connect my Roku or Apple TV it says "no signal". I even tried connecting that using a Ethernet hdmi extender thinking I may have a lengthy hdmi cable.
I've tried connecting both of these devices on multiple inputs but same result.

When I connect the Roku or Apple TV to my Marantz 5008 they show up fine on the tv with the same HDMI cable. So I'm kind of leaning towards that the hdmi board may be bad.

But if the hdmi board would be bad should I expect to see the Denon logo and airplay stream screen? Or even for that matter the setup menu etc?

I have tried the factory reset pressing menu and back buttons technique multiple times.

Any help is truly appreciated.

Thanks all.
turrmoil is offline  
post #13593 of 13616 Unread 03-22-2017, 05:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,737
Mentioned: 301 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13007 Post(s)
Liked: 6006
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrmoil View Post
Hello fellow 4520 owners...
I have a situation where when I connect my Denon to the TV I see the Denon logo and everything seems fine including sound playback.
When I play music using airplay I see the art label on the TV.
However when I connect my Roku or Apple TV it says "no signal". I even tried connecting that using a Ethernet hdmi extender thinking I may have a lengthy hdmi cable.
I've tried connecting both of these devices on multiple inputs but same result.

When I connect the Roku or Apple TV to my Marantz 5008 they show up fine on the tv with the same HDMI cable. So I'm kind of leaning towards that the hdmi board may be bad.

But if the hdmi board would be bad should I expect to see the Denon logo and airplay stream screen? Or even for that matter the setup menu etc?

I have tried the factory reset pressing menu and back buttons technique multiple times.

Any help is truly appreciated.

Thanks all.
Have you tried every HDMI input on the AVR? What about other sources?
jdsmoothie is online now  
 
post #13594 of 13616 Unread 03-22-2017, 05:28 PM
Member
 
turrmoil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrmoil View Post
Hello fellow 4520 owners...
I have a situation where when I connect my Denon to the TV I see the Denon logo and everything seems fine including sound playback.
When I play music using airplay I see the art label on the TV.
However when I connect my Roku or Apple TV it says "no signal". I even tried connecting that using a Ethernet hdmi extender thinking I may have a lengthy hdmi cable.
I've tried connecting both of these devices on multiple inputs but same result.

When I connect the Roku or Apple TV to my Marantz 5008 they show up fine on the tv with the same HDMI cable. So I'm kind of leaning towards that the hdmi board may be bad.

But if the hdmi board would be bad should I expect to see the Denon logo and airplay stream screen? Or even for that matter the setup menu etc?

I have tried the factory reset pressing menu and back buttons technique multiple times.

Any help is truly appreciated.

Thanks all.
Have you tried every HDMI input on the AVR? What about other sources?
Yes... when there is nothing connected to the input I see the Denon text on my TV.
As soon as I connect my Roku or Apple TV it goes to no signal!!!
turrmoil is offline  
post #13595 of 13616 Unread 03-23-2017, 12:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,737
Mentioned: 301 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13007 Post(s)
Liked: 6006
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrmoil View Post
Yes... when there is nothing connected to the input I see the Denon text on my TV.
As soon as I connect my Roku or Apple TV it goes to no signal!!!
Try first doing a soft reset by simply powering off the unit and unplugging the power cable to the AVR and TV for 10 minutes. If still no joy, do a microprocessor reset as described in post 3 of this thread.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 03-23-2017 at 12:21 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13596 of 13616 Unread 03-23-2017, 06:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RobLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida Suncoast
Posts: 2,450
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Something nagging me in the back of my mind says this is a sync problem, like the input is/inputs are set to a specific resolution that the ATV & Roku can't match. If you plug these devices directly into your TV, what type of signal info is shown?
RobLee is offline  
post #13597 of 13616 Unread 03-29-2017, 02:42 PM
Member
 
josserman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrmoil View Post
Hello fellow 4520 owners...
I have a situation where when I connect my Denon to the TV I see the Denon logo and everything seems fine including sound playback.
When I play music using airplay I see the art label on the TV.
However when I connect my Roku or Apple TV it says "no signal". I even tried connecting that using a Ethernet hdmi extender thinking I may have a lengthy hdmi cable.
I've tried connecting both of these devices on multiple inputs but same result.

When I connect the Roku or Apple TV to my Marantz 5008 they show up fine on the tv with the same HDMI cable. So I'm kind of leaning towards that the hdmi board may be bad.

But if the hdmi board would be bad should I expect to see the Denon logo and airplay stream screen? Or even for that matter the setup menu etc?

I have tried the factory reset pressing menu and back buttons technique multiple times.

Any help is truly appreciated.

Thanks all.
Yes, all the time, it's so frustrating since my AVR is in my basement and TV is upstairs! I spoke with one of the main HDMI engineers at Denon (have an inside connection), and he had me do basic stuff like changing cables, reseting it.... no luck still happens
josserman is offline  
post #13598 of 13616 Unread 03-29-2017, 02:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrmoil View Post
Hello fellow 4520 owners...
I have a situation where when I connect my Denon to the TV I see the Denon logo and everything seems fine including sound playback.
When I play music using airplay I see the art label on the TV.
However when I connect my Roku or Apple TV it says "no signal". I even tried connecting that using a Ethernet hdmi extender thinking I may have a lengthy hdmi cable.
I've tried connecting both of these devices on multiple inputs but same result.

When I connect the Roku or Apple TV to my Marantz 5008 they show up fine on the tv with the same HDMI cable. So I'm kind of leaning towards that the hdmi board may be bad.

But if the hdmi board would be bad should I expect to see the Denon logo and airplay stream screen? Or even for that matter the setup menu etc?

I have tried the factory reset pressing menu and back buttons technique multiple times.

Any help is truly appreciated.

Thanks all.
does this happen with all HDMI sources or just those two? Does it happen on the front input too?
Wflagg is offline  
post #13599 of 13616 Unread 04-13-2017, 03:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys, a fast question.

This Denon avr-4520 or the new avr-x6200 to use them only with the ARC HDMI tv out audio?




thank you so much.
Mo Ai is offline  
post #13600 of 13616 Unread 04-13-2017, 03:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,737
Mentioned: 301 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13007 Post(s)
Liked: 6006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mo Ai View Post
Hi guys, a fast question.

This Denon avr-4520 or the new avr-x6200 to use them only with the ARC HDMI tv out audio?




thank you so much.
The 4520CI as it's a former "flagship" model unless you also want to experience Atmos/DTS:X (or simulate the ARC audio to 4 height speakers), then the X6200W.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13601 of 13616 Unread 04-13-2017, 04:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The 4520CI as it's a former "flagship" model unless you also want to experience Atmos/DTS:X (or simulate the ARC audio to 4 height speakers), then the X6200W.
I have just a 5.1 sistem... so?
Mo Ai is offline  
post #13602 of 13616 Unread 04-13-2017, 05:02 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,737
Mentioned: 301 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13007 Post(s)
Liked: 6006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo ai View Post
i have just a 5.1 sistem... So?
4520ci
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13603 of 13616 Unread 04-13-2017, 05:30 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 9,091
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1127 Post(s)
Liked: 1101
^ Shouldn't 4K / HDCP 2.2 support be a consideration here given that 4K passthrough support on the 4520CI is limited? I realize that many 4K devices, especially UHD players have 2 HDMI outputs, but not everything will. If I were buying a "new" AVR right now, I wouldn't want to go with something that's going to (partially) cripple me functionality wise.
gsr is offline  
post #13604 of 13616 Unread 04-13-2017, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,030
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 1118
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
^ Shouldn't 4K / HDCP 2.2 support be a consideration here given that 4K passthrough support on the 4520CI is limited? I realize that many 4K devices, especially UHD players have 2 HDMI outputs, but not everything will. If I were buying a "new" AVR right now, I wouldn't want to go with something that's going to (partially) cripple me functionality wise.
No, as the OP stated he only wanted to use the receiver with ARC audio. If so, then it wouldn't matter whether the receiver could pass 4K60 or handle HDCP 2.2 encryption.
Schwa is online now  
post #13605 of 13616 Unread 04-13-2017, 03:21 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 9,091
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1127 Post(s)
Liked: 1101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post
No, as the OP stated he only wanted to use the receiver with ARC audio. If so, then it wouldn't matter whether the receiver could pass 4K60 or handle HDCP 2.2 encryption.
It won't matter until he buys a UHD source that the 4520 can't handle tomorrow...
gsr is offline  
post #13606 of 13616 Unread 04-13-2017, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,030
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 1118
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
It won't matter until he buys a UHD source that the 4520 can't handle tomorrow...
Just to play devil's advocate...

I assume that since he's only using ARC he must be using his TV to switch video sources. If so, then it won't ever matter whether his receiver can handle 4K/HDCP 2.2, even if he gets a UHD BD player!.
Schwa is online now  
post #13607 of 13616 Unread 04-13-2017, 05:17 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 9,091
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1127 Post(s)
Liked: 1101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post
Just to play devil's advocate...

I assume that since he's only using ARC he must be using his TV to switch video sources. If so, then it won't ever matter whether his receiver can handle 4K/HDCP 2.2, even if he gets a UHD BD player!.
If so, then he's limiting the quality of the audio. In any event, IMHO it's important to be aware of the limitations just so he's aware of them so there aren't any surprises down the road. If he really doesn't care about 4K / HDCP2 combos the 4520 can't handle, then the 4520 should be a fine choice.
Schwa likes this.
gsr is offline  
post #13608 of 13616 Unread 04-15-2017, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 5,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 745
The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread

Arghhh , had to full hard reset my 4520CI, it's been a few years.
I use a 3ch Emotiva for front RCL.

Discrete 11.2 can only assign pre outs as R L, yet there is a signal going to the C preout as my Emotiva amp does power it still as connected


Or use full custom assignment, which is what I desire to do (and did in my memory)


In the discrete 11.2 then is the center amp still open for current, so possible current going to other amps not available? Or, even though "on" if no signal to it then of course no current lost, so the 4520 can does use full capacity to the remaining amps as demanded by input signal?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mtbdudex is online now  
post #13609 of 13616 Unread 04-15-2017, 10:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,737
Mentioned: 301 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13007 Post(s)
Liked: 6006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
Arghhh , had to full hard reset my 4520CI, it's been a few years.
I use a 3ch Emotiva for front RCL.

Discrete 11.2 can only assign pre outs as R L, yet there is a signal going to the C preout .....
The Pre-Out setting under AMP ASSIGN simply assigns the 2CH that will be externally powered to expand the AVR from 9CH --> 11CH. All pre-outs themselves are always hot (ie. you can use the AVR as a pre/pro if you desire even without using the Amp Assign = Pre-Amp).
mtbdudex likes this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13610 of 13616 Unread 04-15-2017, 10:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 5,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The Pre-Out setting under AMP ASSIGN simply assigns the 2CH that will be externally powered to expand the AVR from 9CH --> 11CH. All pre-outs themselves are always hot (ie. you can use the AVR as a pre/pro if you desire even without using the Amp Assign = Pre-Amp).


So practically there is no difference for my situation then, got it. Thx for quick reply as you usually do.
We lost power 3 weeks ago for 8 hours and the AVR kept everything, however 2 days ago it flickered twice and that scrambled my AVR.

Both times AVR off, and fed thru my Panamax 5300.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mtbdudex is online now  
post #13611 of 13616 Unread 04-15-2017, 12:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,737
Mentioned: 301 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13007 Post(s)
Liked: 6006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
So practically there is no difference for my situation then, got it. Thx for quick reply as you usually do.
We lost power 3 weeks ago for 8 hours and the AVR kept everything, however 2 days ago it flickered twice and that scrambled my AVR.

Both times AVR off, and fed thru my Panamax 5300.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Normally ... all settings should be retained for about 1-2 weeks if power is lost. This may not necessarily hold true for a brown out of quick power outage.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13612 of 13616 Unread 04-16-2017, 09:03 AM
Member
 
youra6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So only about 100 hours of use from A4L, my unit won't even power on for 20 seconds before it trips protection mode. This is with nothing but the power cord connected.

Tried using different power cord and outlets and the issue still persists. I believe the issue is either the power amp or power supply. Since its OOW, should I just take it to a reputable AV repair store or dish out the dough and take it to a authorized Demon repair center?

Hope it won't be too expensive...

Last edited by youra6; 04-16-2017 at 09:55 AM.
youra6 is offline  
post #13613 of 13616 Unread Yesterday, 06:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 5,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 745
Did anyone else get an firmware update notice?
This showed up just tonight .... I'll look to see what my current firmware is




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mtbdudex is online now  
post #13614 of 13616 Unread Today, 01:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,737
Mentioned: 301 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13007 Post(s)
Liked: 6006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
Did anyone else get an firmware update notice?
This showed up just tonight .... I'll look to see what my current firmware is


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If you already installed the Pandora fix update from last December, then most likely the same update the newer models have been receiving recently:

Allows continued use of Spotify Connect after Spotify Connect Servers are updated

Last edited by jdsmoothie; Today at 04:46 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13615 of 13616 Unread Today, 01:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,737
Mentioned: 301 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13007 Post(s)
Liked: 6006
Quote:
Originally Posted by youra6 View Post
So only about 100 hours of use from A4L, my unit won't even power on for 20 seconds before it trips protection mode. This is with nothing but the power cord connected.

Tried using different power cord and outlets and the issue still persists. I believe the issue is either the power amp or power supply. Since its OOW, should I just take it to a reputable AV repair store or dish out the dough and take it to a authorized Demon repair center?

Hope it won't be too expensive...
Depends on whether or not you want to take advantage of any of the following features on the newer models: 4k/HDCP 2.2/HDMI 2.0a(HDR); Atmos/DTS:X/Auro 3D, HEOS built-in module, digital audio to Zones 2/3, and Zone 2 HDMI output.

If you do decide to go the repair route, please post back with the repair costs. Thanks.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13616 of 13616 Unread Today, 03:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Chris Albert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
Did anyone else get an firmware update notice?
This showed up just tonight .... I'll look to see what my current firmware is


Looking up my 4520 on the Denon site for firmware updates it said this:

[AVR-4520CI] (12/12/2016)

North American Version Only - December 2016 Release
Release Date: December 12 2016
Chris Albert is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off