The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread - Page 458 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 879Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13711 of 13736 Old 09-03-2017, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Ok, Now What...


Yesterday I tried plugging that 4520 in a few times, never getting past a red flashing light. Like I said, never even getting to reset it. (just sitting on dining room table) no cables, nothing plugged in. This morning, just to see. Looks like the thing works again. Now grant it, nothing plugged in. And after spending about 2 hrs hooking that old sony 7.1 up, just so I didn't have to only have tv speakers. But haven't reprogramed the harmony remote yet....


I'd hate to hook this 4520 back up into the cabinet. For nothing. Just to go out again. I don't believe it got hot or anything. I have cooling fans, I never play it loud. So I never push it very hard. Unless my wife's not home. Actually my ceiling is coming loose, so I had to stop that.........


Any ideas or suggestions before I stick it back in and hook everything back up.


I do have plans for the 4300. looks like it will do everything I need it to...Just cant afford it right now.
harrybnbad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13712 of 13736 Old 09-03-2017, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I guess the x4400h would make more sense, no upgrade needed.....Wow, this is real nice...
harrybnbad is offline  
post #13713 of 13736 Old 09-03-2017, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Ok, i'm not trying to be a pain here or anything.


I've got the unit sitting on the dining table. Its plugged in and on. Nothing else plugged in. Looks good. However, should the eternal fans be on. Because they are not. But I did just turn in on, it cant be hot yet. I'm going to leave it on for a while just to see what happens...


Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
harrybnbad is offline  
 
post #13714 of 13736 Old 09-03-2017, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 21
well its been on for about 30 minutes, still no fans, but not that hot. I even put a book across the top to help hold in heat. But no fans. This kinda concerns me....Might just be the problem
harrybnbad is offline  
post #13715 of 13736 Old 09-03-2017, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,286
Mentioned: 377 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15047 Post(s)
Liked: 7262
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrybnbad View Post
well its been on for about 30 minutes, still no fans, but not that hot. I even put a book across the top to help hold in heat. But no fans. This kinda concerns me....Might just be the problem
The fans will likely never turn on as the internal temp must reach 158F.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13716 of 13736 Old 09-03-2017, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 21
that make sense, seeing it was only warm to the touch, never hot. I'm going to hook it back up and just leave it on top of the cabinet for a day or two, if no more glitches, then I can just push it back in from the back.


thanks again....
harrybnbad is offline  
post #13717 of 13736 Old 09-04-2017, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
AV_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrybnbad View Post
that make sense, seeing it was only warm to the touch, never hot. I'm going to hook it back up and just leave it on top of the cabinet for a day or two, if no more glitches, then I can just push it back in from the back.


thanks again....
Sorry I was not able to supply this information earlier - it may help with the shutdowns...............
Start on 01 - and work through the sheets - it can be a bit confusing at first, but follow carefully and it will work - I've used this sequence myself.

Hope it helps, regards, Mike.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Protection 01.jpg (136.3 KB, 34 views)
File Type: jpg Protection 02.jpg (127.3 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg Protection 03.jpg (83.5 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg Protection 04.jpg (72.9 KB, 18 views)
AV_mike is offline  
post #13718 of 13736 Old 09-05-2017, 09:26 AM
Senior Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I just don't get it.


Hooked everything up yesterday. Turned it on and off several times. Even left the house, turned it back on. Got up this morning, to run the AUDYSSEY SOUND CALIBRATION. The crazy thing never came on. It when through the startup cycle, to main zone on, but then it clicks off, back to that red light flashing again.


Any body know if its worth trying to get fixed. I live in the Tampa Bay area of Florida. Or even if its something I can sell for parts.


Looks like I need to start saving my pennies up for the Denon AVRX4300H. Looks like this would at least get me into Atmos.


I never got to check into the protection info AV Mike sent me.
harrybnbad is offline  
post #13719 of 13736 Old 09-05-2017, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
AV_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrybnbad View Post
I just don't get it.


Hooked everything up yesterday. Turned it on and off several times. Even left the house, turned it back on. Got up this morning, to run the AUDYSSEY SOUND CALIBRATION. The crazy thing never came on. It when through the startup cycle, to main zone on, but then it clicks off, back to that red light flashing again.


Any body know if its worth trying to get fixed. I live in the Tampa Bay area of Florida. Or even if its something I can sell for parts.


Looks like I need to start saving my pennies up for the Denon AVRX4300H. Looks like this would at least get me into Atmos.


I never got to check into the protection info AV Mike sent me.
Sorry to hear that it's failing again.

With nothing to lose....................I would open her up and start checking any & all connectors that I could get to - actually unplug and re-plug each one. If any look out of place - try the switch on once re-seated.
It goes without saying that you must be careful when applying power with the case off - NO FINGERS INSIDE while trying it.
Best of luck, regards, Mike.
AV_mike is offline  
post #13720 of 13736 Old 09-07-2017, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 21
and it works again today


it has a mind of its own
harrybnbad is offline  
post #13721 of 13736 Old 09-08-2017, 01:18 AM
Senior Member
 
AV_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrybnbad View Post
and it works again today


it has a mind of its own
While it's "working".........try going through the Protection Log, it may shed some light on the underlying cause - it may still end up being terminal, but at the moment what you need is more information.
Good luck, regards, Mike.
AV_mike is offline  
post #13722 of 13736 Old 09-08-2017, 01:58 PM
Member
 
xhattan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just how good is the amp section of the 4520?

Last edited by xhattan; 09-08-2017 at 02:24 PM.
xhattan is offline  
post #13723 of 13736 Old 09-08-2017, 03:45 PM
Senior Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Wow, its working 2 days in a row. Maybe I can look into the protection log that Mike was talking about.
harrybnbad is offline  
post #13724 of 13736 Old 09-08-2017, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Hey Mike. AV Mike


Ok, I finally got to look at the protection logs info.


And YES, very confusing.


So far the only thing I can see so far is this one with the protection time....
It says


DC 17 ASO 0


Next time the unit starts shutting down again I see I need to pay attention to how fast the red light is flashing. I see on the 3rd page you sent me...( warning indication by the power led ) lists different flashing indications for various problems....


And have yet to open it up.
harrybnbad is offline  
post #13725 of 13736 Old 09-08-2017, 04:36 PM
Senior Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 21
That was short lived...


Back to the red flashing light.


Looks like (1) ASO/DC PROTECTION: Flashes at intervals of 0.25 seconds lit, and same off...


Sounds like something to do with that DC 17
harrybnbad is offline  
post #13726 of 13736 Old 09-09-2017, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
AV_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrybnbad View Post
That was short lived...


Back to the red flashing light.


Looks like (1) ASO/DC PROTECTION: Flashes at intervals of 0.25 seconds lit, and same off...


Sounds like something to do with that DC 17
DC 17 means that the AVR has gone into Protection Shutdown mode 17 times - because of abnormal DC current in one or more of the power amplifier stages.
There are nine separate amplifier boards in the 4520, looking from the front panel - there are four on the right-hand side, and five on the left-hand side.
Each group of amplifiers have two multi-way connectors providing signals, control lines, and power. The upper two sets of cables are the pre-amp signals.
If the pre-amp outputs are NOT connected fully to the amplifier inputs - an excess DC current will flow in the affected channel, triggering the shutdown.
Checking the multi-way cables on each side of the unit may identify the issue.
These two pictures show the cables concerned - with my own custom made cables connected to top connectors in each case.
You may be able to see the connectors without taking the lid off - if you shine a torch through the air vents that run along the unit sides.
Edit : Just added another Service Manual picture.

Remotely, this is the best I can offer - hope it might help, regards, Mike
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Right 4-amps.jpg (632.0 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg Left 5-amps.jpg (866.2 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg Internal PCBs.JPG (127.6 KB, 21 views)

Last edited by AV_mike; 09-09-2017 at 08:02 AM. Reason: Adding another picture
AV_mike is offline  
post #13727 of 13736 Old 09-14-2017, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
harrybnbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Hey Mike,


Thanks for all the info. I've been busy with the hurricane clean up. What a mess, but very lucky.


I try to open it up tomorrow see if I can find anything.
harrybnbad is offline  
post #13728 of 13736 Old 09-15-2017, 12:40 AM
Senior Member
 
AV_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrybnbad View Post
Hey Mike,


Thanks for all the info. I've been busy with the hurricane clean up. What a mess, but very lucky.


I try to open it up tomorrow see if I can find anything.
Glad to hear that you are okay, many others have not been so lucky.
Once you are able to relax, and have some spare time - then I hope the information might prove to be useful.
Regards, Mike (bit windy in the U.K. today !!!!!)
AV_mike is offline  
post #13729 of 13736 Old 09-18-2017, 03:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_mike View Post
DC 17 means that the AVR has gone into Protection Shutdown mode 17 times - because of abnormal DC current in one or more of the power amplifier stages.
There are nine separate amplifier boards in the 4520, looking from the front panel - there are four on the right-hand side, and five on the left-hand side.
Each group of amplifiers have two multi-way connectors providing signals, control lines, and power. The upper two sets of cables are the pre-amp signals.
If the pre-amp outputs are NOT connected fully to the amplifier inputs - an excess DC current will flow in the affected channel, triggering the shutdown.
Checking the multi-way cables on each side of the unit may identify the issue.
These two pictures show the cables concerned - with my own custom made cables connected to top connectors in each case.
You may be able to see the connectors without taking the lid off - if you shine a torch through the air vents that run along the unit sides.
Edit : Just added another Service Manual picture.

Remotely, this is the best I can offer - hope it might help, regards, Mike
Just wanted to add my 2c worth of experience with amplifier DC faults.
1. DC faults could burn your expensive speakers if not caught early enough by the AVR's protection circuitry.
2. Causes of DC at the amplifier outputs could be:
a) DC at the input being amplified. May not be the cause with the 4520 because its amplifiers are not DC-coupled to the inputs.
b) Faulty input stage circuitry that feeds DC to the rest of the amplifiers (due to dirt and moisture, or terminally ill semiconductors due to heat). Probable cause of intermittent (17) failures.
c) Burnt up power transistor EMITTER RESISTORS. These can burn if not robust enough. This could be the cause of 4520's DC fault. The resistor/s may not completely fail in one go because of the protection circuit.

Regardless of the cause/s I would not put back the unit in the cabinet until the issue is posoitvely resolved.
Fruit is offline  
post #13730 of 13736 Old 09-19-2017, 08:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Well -- I have enjoyed my 4520 for three years now, and today the unit's HDMI out seems to have failed. I get no video and intermittent audio. It happened tonight when I changed sources from my DirecTV DVR (everything was fine - no issues) to my RasPlex. The video never came up with the RasPlex - like it never handshaked -- projector did show a handshake). Tried other sources thinking it was a RasPlex issue -- other sources has same issue. I took the AVR out of the signal chain and connected the DVR and my XBONE directly to my projector (Sony 500ES) video came right up. So I have narrowed the issue to the 4520. I also tried switching to Monitor 2 -- no help.

After checking all video settings were correct (which I have the AVR do zero video processing -- just passing the existing signal) -- I did a deep reset. But no help.

Any thoughts? I will call Denon Customer Service tomorrow and beg for warranty mercy (I bought the unit on 9/4/14 -- so I am literally like two weeks past the 3 year warranty date). Hopefully they help a loyal customer out (I am still rocking a 12-year old Denon in my family room).

Thanks!

Last edited by Skrill; Yesterday at 03:55 AM.
Skrill is online now  
post #13731 of 13736 Old Yesterday, 02:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,286
Mentioned: 377 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15047 Post(s)
Liked: 7262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skrill View Post
Well -- I have enjoyed my 4520 for three years now, and today the unit's HDMI out seems to have failed. I get no video and intermittent audio. It happened tonight when I changed sources from my DirecTV DVR (everything was fine - no issues) to my RasPlex. The video never came up with the RasPlex - like it never handshaked -- projector did show a handshake). Tried other sources thinking it was a RasPlex issue -- other sources has same issue. I took the AVR out of the signal chain and connected the DVR and my XBONE directly to my projector (Sony 500ES) video came right up. So I have narrowed the issue to the 4520. I also tried switching to Monitor 2 -- no help.

After checking all video settings were correct (which I have the AVR do zero video processing -- just passing the existing signal) -- I did a deep reset. But no help.

Any thoughts? I will call Denon Customer Service tomorrow and beg for warranty mercy (I bought the unit on 9/4/14 -- so I am literally like two weeks past the 3 year warranty date). Hopefully they help a local customer out (I am still rocking a 12-year old Denon in my family room).

Thanks!
Try powering off and unplugging the power cord from both the AVR and PJ for 10 minutes. Also unplug the HDMI cable connecting them. Connect all cables. Then do a few resets in a row. What is the length of the HDMI cable to the PJ? Try adding an HDMI extender if > 20'. Do you have a small TV you can use as a test using a shorter HDMI cable? Otherwise, if you decide on warranty repair, Denon should take care of you, but if not, and if you purchased with a credit card, the card is likely to extend the warranty a 4th year so check with your card issuer to confirm.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13732 of 13736 Old Yesterday, 05:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Skrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Try powering off and unplugging the power cord from both the AVR and PJ for 10 minutes. Also unplug the HDMI cable connecting them. Connect all cables. Then do a few resets in a row. What is the length of the HDMI cable to the PJ? Try adding an HDMI extender if > 20'. Do you have a small TV you can use as a test using a shorter HDMI cable? Otherwise, if you decide on warranty repair, Denon should take care of you, but if not, and if you purchased with a credit card, the card is likely to extend the warranty a 4th year so check with your card issuer to confirm.
JD -- Thank you.

I followed your instructions re unplugging everything then doing reset a few times (I did it three). It worked - sort of. My HDMI out is back and all of the inputs appear to work save one (Aux 1). That input appears to be dead. I tried different sources and cables -- and known good sources and cables in other inputs would not handshake with the 4520 if I plugged it into Aux 1.

Sadly -- I need every HDMI input and then some (I currently use a switcher since I have more sources -- think HD-DVD and legacy gaming systems -- than the AVR has inputs). So losing an input is not ideal. Since I am at the very end of my warranty -- do you suggest submitting a claim to Denon? I use this unit almost everyday (it powers my theater -- and without it -- the theater is down). I would hate to lose my theater for a month waiting for repairs. Does Denon ever just swap out for refurb unit? I did buy this unit new from a authorized dealer (Best Buy).

Thanks!

CT
Skrill is online now  
post #13733 of 13736 Old Yesterday, 06:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,286
Mentioned: 377 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15047 Post(s)
Liked: 7262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skrill View Post
JD -- Thank you.

I followed your instructions re unplugging everything then doing reset a few times (I did it three). It worked - sort of. My HDMI out is back and all of the inputs appear to work save one (Aux 1). That input appears to be dead. I tried different sources and cables -- and known good sources and cables in other inputs would not handshake with the 4520 if I plugged it into Aux 1.

Sadly -- I need every HDMI input and then some (I currently use a switcher since I have more sources -- think HD-DVD and legacy gaming systems -- than the AVR has inputs). So losing an input is not ideal. Since I am at the very end of my warranty -- do you suggest submitting a claim to Denon? I use this unit almost everyday (it powers my theater -- and without it -- the theater is down). I would hate to lose my theater for a month waiting for repairs. Does Denon ever just swap out for refurb unit? I did buy this unit new from a authorized dealer (Best Buy).

Thanks!

CT
In some cases, Denon will issue a refurbished unit in exchange for one going in for warranty repair. Alternatively, they may also consider upgrading you to a refurbished X7200WA for a small upgrade fee (???). I would contact Denon and ask about both options.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13734 of 13736 Old Yesterday, 07:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Skrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
In some cases, Denon will issue a refurbished unit in exchange for one going in for warranty repair. Alternatively, they may also consider upgrading you to a refurbished X7200WA for a small upgrade fee (???). I would contact Denon and ask about both options.

Thanks -- I will give them a call. I am more disturbed that the HDMI board appeared to fritz out last night -- and concerned that it will do it again later (when I am well outside of warranty scope).

Curious ... if they offered, would the 6300H (or 6400H) be preferable to the 7200WA? I am really interested to see what the Audyssey App can do -- and if it can render the subwoofer correction through my SMS-1 necessary. I understand the 7200 has 32-bit processing and maybe a nicer amp section (but I use an outboard 7-channel amp anyway).

UPDATE: I called and opened a claim (nice guy name Anthony). I alerted him to the fact that I bought the unit just a little over 3 years ago. He said that I would need to send it into Panurgy for service (no refurb or swap options). So I told him that I just wanted it noted that this unit seems to be exhibiting signs of HDMI board failure and note the date. I told him that I would like to give it a month or so to see if the reset solved the HDMI out issue, and if yes -- just keep the unit. But if it comes back - I would hope they would cover it under warranty. He understood -- noted the issue in my file, and told me to open an SRA with Panurgy if the issue comes up again.

I sure hope it does not.

UPDATE 2: It appears that I misspoke when I said Aux 1 was an issue. User error -- I had confused Aux 1 (which is on the front) with Aux 2. So everything seems to be functioning -- but I definitely lost HDMI output last night. But we will see what happens.

Last edited by Skrill; Yesterday at 09:44 AM.
Skrill is online now  
post #13735 of 13736 Old Yesterday, 10:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Odd input lock-up

Greetings to all.

I did a couple of searches on the thread and didn't find any thing like this, so:

Tried to watch a movie from Blu-ray player (Oppo, thank you very much!) and the AVR just would not remain on BD input. It kept defaulting to HDMI 5 (ROKU Device) and just would not accept the Oppo for more than about 4 or 5 seconds. Really frustrating, as I haven't had a ROKU on this AVR for a couple of months.

I tried other input selects, even Tuner, and the damn AVR just defaulted back to the non-existent HDMI 5 ROKU. There is nothing, nada, and Zilch plugged into HDMI 5. Grrrr!!

I did the usual power up, power down for all devices (in different orders), re-loading software, and un-plugging unit for a power down of about 15 min. No joy. Finally got to watch our movie by changing input for non-existent ROKU to HDMI 6, not HDMI 5. Well s&!+, it worked...

Is there any information on this type of weirdness on the thread? Has anyone an explanation or more elegant solution for this issue?

BTW, movie was "Wonder Woman". Worth the effort. Well done movie. Very enjoyable for us.

Regards,

Mkard

Mkard is offline  
post #13736 of 13736 Old Today, 04:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,286
Mentioned: 377 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15047 Post(s)
Liked: 7262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkard View Post
Greetings to all.

I did a couple of searches on the thread and didn't find any thing like this, so:

Tried to watch a movie from Blu-ray player (Oppo, thank you very much!) and the AVR just would not remain on BD input. It kept defaulting to HDMI 5 (ROKU Device) and just would not accept the Oppo for more than about 4 or 5 seconds. Really frustrating, as I haven't had a ROKU on this AVR for a couple of months.

I tried other input selects, even Tuner, and the damn AVR just defaulted back to the non-existent HDMI 5 ROKU. There is nothing, nada, and Zilch plugged into HDMI 5. Grrrr!!

I did the usual power up, power down for all devices (in different orders), re-loading software, and un-plugging unit for a power down of about 15 min. No joy. Finally got to watch our movie by changing input for non-existent ROKU to HDMI 6, not HDMI 5. Well s&!+, it worked...

Is there any information on this type of weirdness on the thread? Has anyone an explanation or more elegant solution for this issue?

BTW, movie was "Wonder Woman". Worth the effort. Well done movie. Very enjoyable for us.

Regards,

Mkard

If doing a microprocessor reset as noted in post 3 of this thread doesn't resolve the issue, then repair or replace would be the next option.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off