Urgent: Denon 3312 VS Pioneer SC55 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 09-19-2012, 08:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The SC55 is actually a Futureshop rebrand Pioneer SC1526K

Sorry for posting this as urgent especially sinse I am a newbie to this forum. I bought a Denon 3312 from Futureshop, I upgraded from a Pioneer VSX919ah-k, quite a huge upgrade.

I will get straight to the point, I have another 20 days or so to decide if I want to keep the denon or swap it for another receiver. The futureshop I deal with has one Pioneer SC1526 left and they are switching to this years models so they want to get rid of it. I paid 899 for the Denon and they are asking 1099 for the Pioneer receiver. They did/do not have either receiver set up to demo. In your guys/gals humble opinion would the pioneer be an upgrade? Would it be worth the extra $200.00? I am lookign for a little more power to my mains and the extra 2 channels would be nice for a second zone. By the way, I did find my old pioneer a little bright with my polk speakers, I am sure that the SC would be better though??

Okay so the long story if you care to read:

I really do like the denon, but the pioneer has a few features I would like that the denon does not have. The Pioneer has 9 channels running at 140 watts a piece instead of the Denon 7 running at 125 a piece (I picked up the pioneer and it has a good few pounds on the denon even though they are class D amps). The pioneer is also quite a bit nicer looking (Wife factor, must keep her happy).