AVR Upgrade advice needed....please.... - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 09-21-2012, 10:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Hey guys,

I'm looking to get a new AVR in the near future and I just wanted some advice. I don't know all the techno mumbo jumbo about AVR's, so I'm a newbie to this kind of stuff. I just bought my surround speakers, so my 5 speaker setup is finished. I plan to keep this 5 speaker setup for a while until I actually move into a bigger house and build a legit home theater room. The speakers I currently have are: polk cs20 center, 2 polk tsi 500 front left and right, and 2 polk tsi 200 surrounds. I may get another pair of the tsi 200s so I'll have a full 7 speaker set up before I think about upgrading the speakers because I honestly think they sound great and I'd rather put my money into a great AVR, subwoofers, and room treatments before I upgrade the speakers because I think they sound great.

All I want my new AVR to do is to have enough clean power to properly run all of my speakers and great sound and picture quality. I don't want my new AVR to struggle to power my speakers. I'm currently running an Onkyo 509, and I know it doesn't offer enough pure, clean power needed to power all of these speakers. All I use my AVR for is blu ray movies, netflix, xbox 360, and a little music, so I really don't need all the fancy things they come with nowadays, but I would REALLY like if it had a great calibration system, and one that can correctly calibrate 2 subwoofers, since I'm going to have 2 subwoofers in my system someday. I really am an Onkyo fan, but I am open to other suggestions.

I just want to know from you guys what AVR's I should be looking at to power my current setup properly, and slightly future proof obviously.

$2000 and below and everything in between....what AVR's would you guys suggest I look into?? Thanks in advance

Polk CS20