In the market for a new AVR - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 09-27-2012, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello! I'm relatively new to this forum, although I've been reading it for years. I'm also relatively new to the world of receivers (I've never owned one).

I'm in the market for a new AVR. The trouble I'm having is that there seems to be much more to consider than other components! Sure, I did my research for my TV (for example), but the choices seemed easier compared to AVRs.

In any case, I have in-ceiling speakers provided by my builder of my new home (Niles CM750 -- not sure if its the si, fx, ds, etc variant). I know these speakers aren't like the most awesome in the world (and I'm not going to replace them any time soon), but I'd like to still use them. I have a Polk Audio PSW111 subwoofer to complete the 5.1 set up (also builder provided, so probably borderline decent). I'm not going to live in this house forever, so I'd like to get an AVR that I can use in my next house (most likely with a more customized speaker/sub set up).

I know that the general advice is to get something that can accept your desired inputs and have the desired outputs and features. The issue is that I'd like to somewhat leave that fairly open and be somewhat future proof. I'm by no means an audiophile, but I do appreciate (there is a difference) good sound. Reliability and ease of use are important, although I'm the type of person that doesn't mind figuring things out on my own from time to time.