Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 121 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3601 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

I'm going to have to try them, your about the third person that said they sounded better. Is it a warmer sound or more dynamic?

It is warmer when using Pure Direct and disabling all video processing, including setting Video Mode to Game.
But, the big difference I find in Pure Direct is in the sound stage and overhang. I guess they made that mode for a reason smile.gif

I have no need for processing in the Marantz since the Oppo can do all the audio processing I need on the 7.1 inputs and it does a great job on video.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3602 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 424
While there is a difference indeed between feeding the 8801 hdmi/xlr or using the 7.1 inputs I cant say one indeed sounds better but shall we say presents the music different, After getting Audyssey dialed in to satifaction with mains set to 80hz and using Dynamic EQ the sound is indeed compelling vs. using the xlr from the 105 ( full range) which has what what can be called a "fuller" or "warmer" sound, but the 8801 + Audyssey for 2ch can have a pristine detailed deeper sound stage with even tighter bass definition ( not thin sounding at all) because of the use of the sub, both configuration have there merits and detractors of course but both sound extremely good and out shines the other depending on material. now using the 8801 hdmi with no Audyssey still retains a toe tapping midrange and drive and pace which again depending on material can hold its own against the 7.1( for stereo) or the xlr inputs. But hands down with multi ch sacd the hdmi 8801 + Audyssey is a beast!

I'll say it again, its nice to have options wink.gif
audiofan1 is offline  
post #3603 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 01:21 PM
Member
 
dahlgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DHF View Post

I abandoned Harmony and all IR for that matter. Went to iRule and am controlling through the home network. Individual speaker up downs are available, as well as some limited feedback from the Marantz.
A bit of a learning curve - but the whole iRule project has gotten a very high WAF from she who must be obeyed.

I have an iPhone, do you recommend an iPad?
dahlgren is offline  
post #3604 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 01:27 PM
Member
 
dahlgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post

I also abandoned IR control when I realized my plasma and CCFL LCD displays caused major IR interference and compromised IR control: an IR repeater made things worse

but it is a lot of work to set up and keep it working

What did you replace it with?
dahlgren is offline  
post #3605 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post

While there is a difference indeed between feeding the 8801 hdmi/xlr or using the 7.1 inputs I cant say one indeed sounds better but shall we say presents the music different, After getting Audyssey dialed in to satifaction with mains set to 80hz and using Dynamic EQ the sound is indeed compelling vs. using the xlr from the 105 ( full range) which has what what can be called a "fuller" or "warmer" sound, but the 8801 + Audyssey for 2ch can have a pristine detailed deeper sound stage with even tighter bass definition ( not thin sounding at all) because of the use of the sub, both configuration have there merits and detractors of course but both sound extremely good and out shines the other depending on material. now using the 8801 hdmi with no Audyssey still retains a toe tapping midrange and drive and pace which again depending on material can hold its own against the 7.1( for stereo) or the xlr inputs. But hands down with multi ch sacd the hdmi 8801 + Audyssey is a beast!

I'll say it again, its nice to have options wink.gif

Sounds good to me.

Now that I fixed some issues, and installed the Outlaw 7500 I love the sound.
I may try direct from the Oppo to the Amp, but Oppo recommends that the input impedance for directly connecting an amp to the 105 be 47k ohms.


- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #3606 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Sounds good to me.

Now that I fixed some issues, and installed the Outlaw 7500 I love the sound.
I may try direct from the Oppo to the Amp, but Oppo recommends that the input impedance for directly connecting an amp to the 105 be 47k ohms.


- Rich

Glad to hear that smile.gif
audiofan1 is offline  
post #3607 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 03:07 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahlgren View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post

I also abandoned IR control when I realized my plasma and CCFL LCD displays caused major IR interference and compromised IR control: an IR repeater made things worse

but it is a lot of work to set up and keep it working

What did you replace it with?

an RTI system with touch pads and remotes

my second choice would be iRule: excellent program

my opinion only...
markrubin is online now  
post #3608 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 03:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahlgren View Post

I have an iPhone, do you recommend an iPad?

Mini ipad would be good size.

For my latest Reviews and stuff Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Follow me: @joerodhometheat
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
joerod is offline  
post #3609 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 03:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
mookie b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Mini ipad would be good size.

I've been using an iPad mini with Roomie Remote. It does all the major stuff on the Marantz....but definitely not all inclusive. Missing STATUS as mentioned earlier I think, the Harmony was able to use an older Marantz code for that.

mookie b is offline  
post #3610 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 04:05 PM
Member
 
pwz414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I turned my processor on today when I got home and it's not passing video or audio. I tried both monitor outputs. I checked the cable too. It's good. Any ideas? The front display is working properly, so I'm guessing I have menu access.
pwz414 is offline  
post #3611 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 242
See if you can access the menu system using the LCD display make sure the HDMI output is set.
Try another cable.
If you have an HDMI computer monitor then try hooking it up.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #3612 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 04:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwz414 View Post

I turned my processor on today when I got home and it's not passing video or audio. I tried both monitor outputs. I checked the cable too. It's good. Any ideas? The front display is working properly, so I'm guessing I have menu access.
First put it in standby, then unplug it. Wait 2-5 seconds, then plug it back in & turn it on &try again. IF IT DOESN'T WORK, it should though, try again. Lastly, fixed or not, call marantz & report your loss of HDMI signal. Exactly the same problems. I get these random loss of video. Either from standby or switching inputs on two different units. Please call & let them know. The more people report, they can fix it.

HTPC/Gaming Rig:
Silverstone CW02B, I7 3930K, 16GB, ASUS Rampage IV Formula
EVGA Signature Titan> 70 inch ELITE PRO-70X5FD
Auzen HDMI XFi> 7.2 via Marantz AV8801>Wyred4Sound, & Emotiva Amps>Paradigm 100'sV5, ADP590'sV5, 690v5, 20v5's, + Dual HSU-ULS15 Subs

Controlling: Two CX7000ES's via MyMovies
Geronimo.USMC is online now  
post #3613 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 07:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Its whether or not I can hear the difference.

I cannot hear the difference in sending the status code to display information in the large LCD window while playing a source in Pure Direct Mode.
Not when it turns on, not when it turns off.
This is something you can try.
Perhaps there is a difference but not one I can detect.


I can hear the difference in Pure Direct mode turning Lip-Sync: Off, Video Mode: Game, Video Processing: Off.

Many cannot hear any difference between Pure Direct and Direct.
I hear one and prefer Pure Direct.


- Rich

At the risk of being redundant, the point was whether or not there is a command to do what you wanted (turn on the display in Pure Direct), not whether or not you can or believe you can hear a difference in any of that.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #3614 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoaru99 View Post

At the risk of being redundant, the point was whether or not there is a command to do what you wanted (turn on the display in Pure Direct), not whether or not you can or believe you can hear a difference in any of that

Actually, I was looking for a command to turn the circle display on while in Pure Direct mode so I could see the volume.
I couldn't find one and I programmed a bunch into my Pronto.
Plenty turned on the rectangle display.
In order to do this, I programmed volume up/down sequence.

The other point was illumination of these displays has no audible effect on the sound quality.

I really have no idea what point your point is.
Are you asking a question?

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #3615 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 08:57 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,532
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 399
I did not see this review posted, so I thought I would post it. http://www.hometheater.com/content/marantz-av8801-surround-processor-amp-mm8077-amplifier All of our customers have been very happy with this unit. I guess that explains the glowing review. smile.gif
Scott-C likes this.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Brands we sell: 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon & many more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #3616 of 12089 Old 03-05-2013, 09:18 PM
Just add water and stir
 
zuluwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Who is using more than one zone? I would like to connect a 2nd room with dedicated system for 2.0 playback. Anyone doing the same? What connection did you use? I only see analog as my choice. I would have preferred to send it spdif, toslink or coax.

|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 |
zuluwalker is offline  
post #3617 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 03:30 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,347
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 1490
Correct. D&M dropped the optical audio out beginning with the 2011 models. You do have the Zone 4 (HDMI) available to another AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3618 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 06:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dr_Mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post

I did not see this review posted, so I thought I would post it. http://www.hometheater.com/content/marantz-av8801-surround-processor-amp-mm8077-amplifier All of our customers have been very happy with this unit. I guess that explains the glowing review. smile.gif

I have to agree, I love my 8801. I was on the hometheater forums and asked about the MM8077 amp. I was refered to a $300 stereo crown amp instead of the 8077. I think I will keep my order for the 8077 instead. Should be here soon.

Life is enjoyable with good quality
Dr_Mark is offline  
post #3619 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Mark View Post

I have to agree, I love my 8801. I was on the hometheater forums and asked about the MM8077 amp. I was refered to a $300 stereo crown amp instead of the 8077. I think I will keep my order for the 8077 instead. Should be here soon.

I have an Outlaw 7500 paired with the AV8801 and it sounds fantastic.
It is more powerful, no fans, and a great deal.
A little tougher on your back though wink.gif

You might want to stay tuned for Mark's review.
I think he had the 8807 for a time.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #3620 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 07:16 AM
The Truth Hz
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,356
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 422 Post(s)
Liked: 688
If the crown was a drivecore, I will attest to it's capability. I have one now for my L/R and the thing is dead silent. They are pretty solid performers for sure, but alas, they are only 2 channel so you need several to get your whole system going. This is my second one I've owned and I see possibly more in my future for sure smile.gif

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

beastaudio is online now  
post #3621 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dr_Mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I am using 3 amps now for an 11.1 system and am looking forward to reducing my amps to 2. I would prefer to not need 5. If that was the care I would just go with 11 mono-blocks.... not going to happen.smile.gif

Life is enjoyable with good quality
Dr_Mark is offline  
post #3622 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 10:20 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Mark View Post

I am using 3 amps now for an 11.1 system and am looking forward to reducing my amps to 2. I would prefer to not need 5. If that was the care I would just go with 11 mono-blocks.... not going to happen.smile.gif

LOL

I tried monoblocks several years ago and had significant hum issues

My Outlaw is on the truck for delivery today: I am resting up getting ready to do some heavy lifting smile.gif
markrubin is online now  
post #3623 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 10:51 AM
DHF
Senior Member
 
DHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahlgren View Post

I have an iPhone, do you recommend an iPad?

iPad definitely has more "real estate" than the iPhone. I ahve no experience with Roomie - but on iRule - you can set up both an iPad and an iPhone. I am guessing a mini would be the same as the iPad...only smaller tongue.gif

iRule is really very customizable - and] if you have done any object oriented programming its pretty easy to pick up. I gotta give a hand to their user support - i get fast answers off their website - very very good support.

Attached are images from iPhone and iPad



DHF is offline  
post #3624 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 11:08 AM
Troll
 
ufokillerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post

LOL

I tried monoblocks several years ago and had significant hum issues

My Outlaw is on the truck for delivery today: I am resting up getting ready to do some heavy lifting smile.gif

wouldn't the humming issue be a problem with ground?

i've run many monoblocks at once, and never had a problem.
ufokillerz is offline  
post #3625 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by DHF View Post

iPad definitely has more "real estate" than the iPhone. I ahve no experience with Roomie - but on iRule - you can set up both an iPad and an iPhone. I am guessing a mini would be the same as the iPad...only smaller tongue.gif

iRule is really very customizable - and] if you have done any object oriented programming its pretty easy to pick up. I gotta give a hand to their user support - i get fast answers off their website - very very good support.

Attached are images from iPhone and iPad






Hi, this is an app for iPhone/iPad?
comfynumb is offline  
post #3626 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 11:28 AM
The Truth Hz
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,356
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 422 Post(s)
Liked: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by ufokillerz View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post

LOL

I tried monoblocks several years ago and had significant hum issues

My Outlaw is on the truck for delivery today: I am resting up getting ready to do some heavy lifting smile.gif

wouldn't the humming issue be a problem with ground?

i've run many monoblocks at once, and never had a problem.

More than likely, the hum situation is still there, but the amps being used now are plugged in differently, or have lower gain, so the buzz/hum isn't as significant. I had pretty bad humm issues as well, but just looked at different ways to plug my amps in and all is well now smile.gif

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

beastaudio is online now  
post #3627 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
discodol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wilton Manors, FL, USA
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by discodol View Post

Unfortunately this did not work for me.

Spent an hour on the phone with Comcast Paid Support, they set a static ip for the 8801 and opened ports on the router with no joy. Marantz Support says they do not have the capability to connect down to the 8801 so the only option at this point is to have the unit serviced. So back to my dealer it goes.

I hope the rest of the folks who cannot connect have better luck!

My dealer Sound Advice brought out a new AV8001 and it would not connect either. So they took the new unit next door and on my neighbor's network it had no trouble connecting and downloading the updated firmware which means my network is the issue.

I spent several hours on the phone with Comcast's fee based support group who really know their stuff. Unfortunately after connecting to my network and applying all their tricks and tweaks the Marantz unit would still not connect through my Comcast Arris TG852G Telephony/Modem/Wireless Router. The fix was to purchase my own wireless router and then have the Arris put in bridge mode so I could use my Lynksys EA6500. After having the Comcast Modem put in bridge mode I ran the Lynksys install software and within 10 minutes all my network devices including the AV8801 were connecting flawlessly with solid fast signals.

So the moral of the story is if you have a Comcast Telephony Wireless Modem Router combo don't waste you time if your Marantz won't connect on its own. Get your own router, put the Comcast piece in bridge mode and connect with ease.

David Ferebee
discodol is offline  
post #3628 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by discodol View Post

My dealer Sound Advice brought out a new AV8001 and it would not connect either. So they took the new unit next door and on my neighbor's network it had no trouble connecting and downloading the updated firmware which means my network is the issue.

I spent several hours on the phone with Comcast's fee based support group who really know their stuff. Unfortunately after connecting to my network and applying all their tricks and tweaks the Marantz unit would still not connect through my Comcast Arris TG852G Telephony/Modem/Wireless Router. The fix was to purchase my own wireless router and then have the Arris put in bridge mode so I could use my Lynksys EA6500. After having the Comcast Modem put in bridge mode I ran the Lynksys install software and within 10 minutes all my network devices including the AV8801 were connecting flawlessly with solid fast signals.

So the moral of the story is if you have a Comcast Telephony Wireless Modem Router combo don't waste you time if your Marantz won't connect on its own. Get your own router, put the Comcast piece in bridge mode and connect with ease.


Not sure if this helps. I have Comcast also, but I only use their modem and my own Netgear wifi router. I just upgraded routers to the newer WNDR4500 with good results.
comfynumb is offline  
post #3629 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 11:55 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 358


the Outlaw 7500 is in the house and temporally hooked up and working: I will give it some time to break in

this beast has all the weight up front behind the front panel: you can see two huge toroids from the top

speaker terminals are heavy duty

I am listening to it and already performed my 'stress test' which is operating at high volume with a known source (OPPO 105/ Dire Straits Brothers In Arms SACD via 7.1 analog) connected through Furman IT Reference 15i

so far so good...

I bought a Middle Atlantic RSH custom rack mount for it if I decide to keep it
markrubin is online now  
post #3630 of 12089 Old 03-06-2013, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 242
^^

W'ell try not to disturb you.
The Outlaw looks much better in person than it does on the web site.
It is big, black, and beefy smile.gif

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off