Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 157 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4681 of 11842 Old 04-03-2013, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ohyeah32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Land of Enchantment
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Sadly no as D+M removed that feature from the remotes beginning with last year's models. frown.gif

Will a remote from the previous model allow this, and more importantly, will it work with this unit?
ohyeah32 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4682 of 11842 Old 04-03-2013, 10:03 PM
Member
 
stoneycreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Santee, CA
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no unfortunately.

Many have never felt the need to adjust the channel levels on the fly; I used to do it using the web browser for a variety of different reasons. I have it on my Denon 4311 and do miss it on the AV 8801. I'm sorta getting used to not having it but it was a nice feature to have. (I'm not interested in adjusting with test "noise")

Can anybody tell me why did D&M pull this feature from their products?
stoneycreek is offline  
post #4683 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 01:24 AM
Member
 
RickyDeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 29
The topic above is interesting! Why indeed did they pull that excellent feature? Makes no sense.

Being able to easily adjust speaker channel levels on-the-fly AND have those individually saved per source or soundmode (called "Personal Memory Plus") was an excellent feature of all D&M's of the past. Removing that was a big mistake, IMO. But it seems those downloadable apps can do the trick.

RickyDeg

 

| PRIMARE SP33 (processor/DAC)

| PRIMARE A30.7 (multichannel amp)

KEN KREISEL Q125 / DXD-12012 (5.1 speaker system)

SAMSUNG LE-52B755 (tv)

OPPO BDP-103D (blu-ray transport)

NAIM UNITISERVE (HDD music server)

ISOTEK AQUARIUS (mainsfilter)

RickyDeg is offline  
post #4684 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 03:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Yes at least the deremote for ithings (thanks Rich) controls nearly everything, including the channel levels and Audyssey. The app is especially nice for iPad. As far as pulling the feature from the 8801 remote, it could be any number of reasons. But I agree the stock remote could have been much better. My nearly 8 year old pre/pro that I traded in for the Marantz had a better remote. In hindsight it would not have been a deal breaker for me, I'm very happy with my choice wink.gif
comfynumb is offline  
post #4685 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 04:40 AM
Member
 
vcampa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone help me out, Last Thursday I received my 8801 and hooked everything up but for some reason the Marantz does not see my Oppo bdp-83 and I am unable to connect any video or audio. I have read previous post where there was a similar issues but nothing on the fix., I unplugged and plugged everything back in with no luck. I have contacted Marantz via email twice and have not received a reply I have also contacted oppo and they did not reply back.

Any help or guidance would be appreciated Thanks
vcampa is offline  
post #4686 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 05:56 AM
Newbie
 
RSable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Suburban Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone purchased the set: AV8801 and MM8077?

Kal’s review in Stereophile indicated that he didn’t miss his Bryston amp and while lacking in some areas, the MM8077 is a well matched amp for the AV8801. Therefore, as a newbie to pre/pro, do you think it’s a good first step to buy the set at the special discounted price or purchase a better amp with the AV8801 at a higher cost?

My speakers are presently Klipsch reference series 3 with an efficiency greater than 92 at 8 ohms and my present AVR is a Denon 3802, 110WPC rated. Also, I’m in a 5.1 setup hoping to expand to 7.1.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated…Thanks.

Rich
RSable is offline  
post #4687 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 06:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSable View Post

Has anyone purchased the set: AV8801 and MM8077?

Kal’s review in Stereophile indicated that he didn’t miss his Bryston amp and while lacking in some areas, the MM8077 is a well matched amp for the AV8801. Therefore, as a newbie to pre/pro, do you think it’s a good first step to buy the set at the special discounted price or purchase a better amp with the AV8801 at a higher cost?

My speakers are presently Klipsch reference series 3 with an efficiency greater than 92 at 8 ohms and my present AVR is a Denon 3802, 110WPC rated. Also, I’m in a 5.1 setup hoping to expand to 7.1.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated…Thanks.

Buy the set and a better amplifier, then sell the MM8077 as new in box never opened.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #4688 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by vcampa View Post

Can someone help me out, Last Thursday I received my 8801 and hooked everything up but for some reason the Marantz does not see my Oppo bdp-83 and I am unable to connect any video or audio. I have read previous post where there was a similar issues but nothing on the fix., I unplugged and plugged everything back in with no luck. I have contacted Marantz via email twice and have not received a reply I have also contacted oppo and they did not reply back.

Any help or guidance would be appreciated Thanks

That should not be a problem.
I would call Marantz tech support.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #4689 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 206
I just submitted this as an upgrade requset to Marantz:

I have recently upgraded my amp to an ATI 3005 300 WPC that is connected to my Revel Speakers.
It has a peak indicator and I found that I can play at -3 for most content without clipping.
At -5 DB, I appear to be safe from clipping.

The 10 DB increments are too large that represents at least 4 times the power.

My Onkyo Preamp let you just pick a number betwen 59 and 99.
Most other PreaPlease have a finer scale for the maximum volume setting.


- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #4690 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by vcampa View Post

Can someone help me out, Last Thursday I received my 8801 and hooked everything up but for some reason the Marantz does not see my Oppo bdp-83 and I am unable to connect any video or audio. I have read previous post where there was a similar issues but nothing on the fix., I unplugged and plugged everything back in with no luck. I have contacted Marantz via email twice and have not received a reply I have also contacted oppo and they did not reply back.

Any help or guidance would be appreciated Thanks

Are you saying any other source device works on any 8801 HDMI input without issue, and the Oppo does not work on any 8801 HDMI input? Short of a cable issue, it sounds more like the Oppo if that's the case.
thrang is offline  
post #4691 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 07:54 AM
TL5
Advanced Member
 
TL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'd like to use a shorter AC cable for when I install my 8801....anything special I have to look for? Does anyone know the type of cable it is, as far as the IEC number?
TL5 is offline  
post #4692 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 08:32 AM
Member
 
vcampa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you
vcampa is offline  
post #4693 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,520
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by TL5 View Post

I'd like to use a shorter AC cable for when I install my 8801....anything special I have to look for? Does anyone know the type of cable it is, as far as the IEC number?

IEC c13

I use this with mine as I have a vertical power strip for my rack:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10228&cs_id=1022801&p_id=5282&seq=1&format=2


Unless you are a believer that expensive power cables make an audible difference over correctly made, adequate gauge "cheap" cables... these will perform perfectly for you.

You can always write "Nordost" on your cable with a Sharpie and get all of the performance those cables offer smile.gif.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #4694 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

I just submitted this as an upgrade requset to Marantz:

I have recently upgraded my amp to an ATI 3005 300 WPC that is connected to my Revel Speakers.
It has a peak indicator and I found that I can play at -3 for most content without clipping.
At -5 DB, I appear to be safe from clipping.

The 10 DB increments are too large that represents at least 4 times the power.

My Onkyo Preamp let you just pick a number betwen 59 and 99.
Most other PreaPlease have a finer scale for the maximum volume setting.


- Rich

Not sure I'm following? -3 to -5 is 2 db. Which is less than double the power. A 10db difference is perceived as twice as loud and requires 10 times the power i.e. from 20 watts to 200watts.

Are you saying that the 8801 only allows you to adjust volume in 10db increments? That can't be right confused.gif

I just received my ATI 2007 a couple of days ago. They are heavy beasts! So glad they have a clipping indicator. Amps always clip sooner that you'd expect.
steve71 is offline  
post #4695 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 10:31 AM
TL5
Advanced Member
 
TL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
^^^ thanks.....It doesn't matter the marantz is 2 prong & the monoprice cord 3 prong?
TL5 is offline  
post #4696 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSable View Post

Has anyone purchased the set: AV8801 and MM8077?

Kal’s review in Stereophile indicated that he didn’t miss his Bryston amp and while lacking in some areas, the MM8077 is a well matched amp for the AV8801. Therefore, as a newbie to pre/pro, do you think it’s a good first step to buy the set at the special discounted price or purchase a better amp with the AV8801 at a higher cost?

My speakers are presently Klipsch reference series 3 with an efficiency greater than 92 at 8 ohms and my present AVR is a Denon 3802, 110WPC rated. Also, I’m in a 5.1 setup hoping to expand to 7.1.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated…Thanks.

I'm very much in the camp that all good amps, used withing their capabilities will sound much more alike than different.

You've got lots of options since the 8801 has both single ended (-10dbu) and balanced outputs (+4dbu). One approached would be pro amps if you want lots of power. They have fans in them, which you can mod, but they are not for everyone. ATI and Outlaw (same amps both made in the USA by ATI as far as I can tell) are very nice amps for their price. The ATI's have a 7 year transferable warranty. Emotiva might also be worth a look.
steve71 is offline  
post #4697 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,520
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I don't believe so... just an unused ground plug I believe. I am sure there is someone more knowledgeable than I that can respond to that, though. I am sure you can find a similar cord with no ground. Just get a good gauge and it shouldn't cost much.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #4698 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 11:01 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by TL5 View Post

^^^ thanks.....It doesn't matter the marantz is 2 prong & the monoprice cord 3 prong?

does not matter

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is online now  
post #4699 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
GerryWaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSable View Post

Has anyone purchased the set: AV8801 and MM8077?

Kal’s review in Stereophile indicated that he didn’t miss his Bryston amp and while lacking in some areas, the MM8077 is a well matched amp for the AV8801. Therefore, as a newbie to pre/pro, do you think it’s a good first step to buy the set at the special discounted price or purchase a better amp with the AV8801 at a higher cost?

My speakers are presently Klipsch reference series 3 with an efficiency greater than 92 at 8 ohms and my present AVR is a Denon 3802, 110WPC rated. Also, I’m in a 5.1 setup hoping to expand to 7.1.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated…Thanks.

I did. I got a real great deal buying both. It was my first set. I'm enjoying it immensely. It was a good first step for me to get my toes wet with separates. I wanted quality and something I could live with for awhile and not pay a fortune for as there are other "toys" I "need" to get this year.

I'm not interested right now in trying to get every possible last bit of "good oomph" out of my AV8801 and getting the "perfect combination." I plead guilty to being more the get good gear and then spend some serious time to "set it and forget it" when it comes to audio and video.

Down the road I may replace the amp--or maybe not. Of course if I hear someone's AV8801 with a better amp, that may change my mind. So. before that happens, ignorance is bliss and I'll try to avoid that happening. smile.gif

The local firm that I bought the set from, and whose opinion I trust, graded the AV8801 a solid "A." The MM8807, they give it a B or B+. So I knew what I was getting into. No regrets.
GerryWaz is offline  
post #4700 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve71 View Post

Not sure I'm following? -3 to -5 is 2 db. Which is less than double the power. A 10db difference is perceived as twice as loud and requires 10 times the power i.e. from 20 watts to 200watts.

Are you saying that the 8801 only allows you to adjust volume in 10db increments? That can't be right confused.gif

I just received my ATI 2007 a couple of days ago. They are heavy beasts! So glad they have a clipping indicator. Amps always clip sooner that you'd expect.

The Maximum volume setting is in 10 DB increments.
So if you are using the positive scale you can select 80, 70, 60... as the max volume.
Those choices are too large.

Congrats on your ATI 2007.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #4701 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

The Maximum volume setting is in 10 DB increments.
So if you are using the positive scale you can select 80, 70, 60... as the max volume.
Those choices are too large.

Congrats on your ATI 2007.

- Rich

Thanks!

OK, so the 8801 has a limiter function, but only in 10db increments. I guess that should be a simple software fix they 'could' address in the next firmware update. Maybe if we all email them with the same complaint smile.gif

That would be a very handy feature since I have little kids. If something went wrong I fear my over the top system could cause permanent hearing loss in the blink of an eye. My HT chair needs one of those big red kill switches they have on heavy machinery biggrin.gif
steve71 is offline  
post #4702 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve71 View Post

Thanks!

OK, so the 8801 has a limiter function, but only in 10db increments. I guess that should be a simple software fix they 'could' address in the next firmware update. Maybe if we all email them with the same complaint smile.gif

That would be a very handy feature since I have little kids. If something went wrong I fear my over the top system could cause permanent hearing loss in the blink of an eye. My HT chair needs one of those big red kill switches they have on heavy machinery biggrin.gif

Please do, the more requests the better.
Unless they stored the value as number of 10 DBs it should be trivial. Mostly documentation.

I have kids too but there are other reasons as well, even for adults.
Like the no sound when on the wrong input, then the volume goes up and then the proper input is engaged.

I even had a runaway when the remote button got stuck. I threw that one out tongue.gif

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #4703 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 226
I have a question just for my own knowledge about the 8801.

In looking at the 8801 Denon 4520 manuals, I noticed a setup feature for 2 ch speaker & sub bass mgmt that's shown in the 4520 manual that's not in the 8801's. I was wondering if someone can confirm it's really not there in the 8801.

this is from the 4520 manual:

LEAD Technologies Inc. V1.01

are these 2 ch BM settings in the 8801?

Steve
ss9001 is online now  
post #4704 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,520
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Are you meaning the LFE or LFE + main setting? Yeah those are in the 8801.

So is the ability to set the main speakers to small and set the crossover.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #4705 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 01:47 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,781
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Quote:
Originally Posted by vcampa View Post

Can someone help me out, Last Thursday I received my 8801 and hooked everything up but for some reason the Marantz does not see my Oppo bdp-83 and I am unable to connect any video or audio. I have read previous post where there was a similar issues but nothing on the fix., I unplugged and plugged everything back in with no luck. I have contacted Marantz via email twice and have not received a reply I have also contacted oppo and they did not reply back.

Any help or guidance would be appreciated Thanks

Try setting the "Deep Color Output" to OFF.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4706 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 01:53 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,781
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post

I have a question just for my own knowledge about the 8801.

In looking at the 8801 Denon 4520 manuals, I noticed a setup feature for 2 ch speaker & sub bass mgmt that's shown in the 4520 manual that's not in the 8801's. I was wondering if someone can confirm it's really not there in the 8801.

this is from the 4520 manual:

are these 2 ch BM settings in the 8801?

No, rather only a feature of Denon AVRs.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4707 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 01:59 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,781
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

The Maximum volume setting is in 10 DB increments.
So if you are using the positive scale you can select 80, 70, 60... as the max volume.
Those choices are too large.

Congrats on your ATI 2007.

- Rich

How so? The intent is likely to cover the most common range one would set so as not to blow their speakers with the choice of those 3 settings which has been the case for at least the past 5 years if not longer on all D+M models.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4708 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

How so? The intent is likely to cover the most common range one would set so as not to blow their speakers with the choice of those 3 settings which has been the case for at least the past 5 years if not longer on all D+M models.

SImple. 10 DB represents is a huge power change at high levels since each 3 DB doubles the power.
So, 10 DB doubles the power 3 times.

For example, you are playing music at 10 watts average and 100 watt peaks, then 10 DB more now requires 80 average and 800 watt peaks.
This is why other manufactures provde much greater flexibility.

D&M never did that before does not make it the optimal choice wink.gif

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #4709 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 03:34 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,781
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
As I said, the setting hasn't changed on all D&M models for the past 5 years.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4710 of 11842 Old 04-04-2013, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

As I said, the setting hasn't changed on all D&M models for the past 5 years.

That's nice. As I said, this is less than optimal and not up to their competition.

Do you agree that the power requirements more than double 3 times in 10 DB?

Do not think it is not a good idea to have more resolution?

It is a trivial feature to implement. It takes more work to document.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off