Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 176 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5251 of 11872 Old 04-26-2013, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin C Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 3,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jam88 View Post

The AV8801 has at least one HDMI handshaking issue that I've experienced that seems to be caused by the EDID negotiation. See my post recounting my experience although I don't think my workaround would be desirable in your situation even if it were to work.

I think that in your situation, you would be better served with a USB based firmware update. Please read this post by jdsmoothie on how you can obtain the firmware file and USB update procedure from him. Best of luck.

I wonder of that's what I'm seeing. But in my case, even with no source hooked up, I can't get anything from the 8801 to my plasma. I did try hooking up the BDP-95 to the 8801, and still no joy. But the 95 worked fine through the 7005. (But I send 1080i from the 95 too!)

Yeah, I'll try the USB update. Thanks. (Yeah, was waiting on the Outlaw, oh well ... wink.gif )

My dealer also suggested "borrowing" a cheap display (or PC monitor with an HDMI input) and trying that just to make sure the 8801's HDMI out worked at all.)

If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ... Something old and something new :-)

Kevin C Brown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5252 of 11872 Old 04-26-2013, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stewy04 View Post

How do you do that?eek.gif
I did not know that was even possible!
Any pdf can be saved to iBooks using the arrow ithingy.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #5253 of 11872 Old 04-26-2013, 11:17 AM
Senior Member
 
jam88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin C Brown View Post

I wonder of that's what I'm seeing. But in my case, even with no source hooked up, I can't get anything from the 8801 to my plasma. I did try hooking up the BDP-95 to the 8801, and still no joy. But the 95 worked fine through the 7005. (But I send 1080i from the 95 too!)

Yeah, I'll try the USB update. Thanks. (Yeah, was waiting on the Outlaw, oh well ... wink.gif )

My dealer also suggested "borrowing" a cheap display (or PC monitor with an HDMI input) and trying that just to make sure the 8801's HDMI out worked at all.)

I thought of that and forgot to mention that you hook up a PC monitor through HDMI to test it. You may want to open a support ticket with Marantz.
jam88 is offline  
post #5254 of 11872 Old 04-26-2013, 11:49 AM
Newbie
 
massprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
8801and oppo 105 problems!
I have a Mac connected to oppo 105 via USB Dac and then oppo connected to B&K reference 70. Using same connection sequence to 8801, I am not getting any subwoofer output. I disabled audessey and used direct on assigned input setting with no success. I also don't want to use airplay, since reproduction on AirPlay sucks. Any suggestions to make subwoofer work
massprince is offline  
post #5255 of 11872 Old 04-26-2013, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
massprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oppo was connected to B&K via XLR cable and also using same connection to marantz
massprince is offline  
post #5256 of 11872 Old 04-26-2013, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin C Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 3,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jam88 View Post

I thought of that and forgot to mention that you hook up a PC monitor through HDMI to test it. You may want to open a support ticket with Marantz.

I emailed Marantz this morning with the particulars. Will be interesting to see what they say. I also have another possible solution if I can't ever fix the 8801's HDMI output to my plasma. From the player:

a) HDMI 1 to the display for video
b) HDMI 2 to the 8801 for audio

I'm checking in the BDP-95 thread if this is doable. (I.e., are both outputs active at the same time?)

Still would need a monitor to set the 8801 up, but I could get something cheap/small for that and just use it when I need it.

If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ... Something old and something new :-)

Kevin C Brown is offline  
post #5257 of 11872 Old 04-26-2013, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
AlxG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin C Brown View Post

I wonder of that's what I'm seeing. But in my case, even with no source hooked up, I can't get anything from the 8801 to my plasma. I did try hooking up the BDP-95 to the 8801, and still no joy. But the 95 worked fine through the 7005. (But I send 1080i from the 95 too!)

Yeah, I'll try the USB update. Thanks. (Yeah, was waiting on the Outlaw, oh well ... wink.gif )

My dealer also suggested "borrowing" a cheap display (or PC monitor with an HDMI input) and trying that just to make sure the 8801's HDMI out worked at all.)

Kevin,

Not sure if you can feed AV8801 > Panasonic TV via composit cable to help you setup the AV8801 video configuration. Perhaps the HDMI signal path has not been configured yet.

- Alex
AlxG is offline  
post #5258 of 11872 Old 04-26-2013, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin C Brown View Post

I emailed Marantz this morning with the particulars. Will be interesting to see what they say. I also have another possible solution if I can't ever fix the 8801's HDMI output to my plasma. From the player:

a) HDMI 1 to the display for video
b) HDMI 2 to the 8801 for audio

I'm checking in the BDP-95 thread if this is doable. (I.e., are both outputs active at the same time?)

Still would need a monitor to set the 8801 up, but I could get something cheap/small for that and just use it when I need it.

Yes both outputs are active ! I use this configuration with the 105 and 8801 (hdmi 1 to Tv and hdmi 2 to the 8801). And you don't need a monitor for the 8801's setup , just use the flip down panel as it displays all the 8801's functions, I even use it for Audyssey setup so as to not have any unnecessary noise from my display.
audiofan1 is offline  
post #5259 of 11872 Old 04-26-2013, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin C Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 3,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlxG View Post

Kevin,

Not sure if you can feed AV8801 > Panasonic TV via composite cable to help you setup the AV8801 video configuration. Perhaps the HDMI signal path has not been configured yet.

Dang, I didn't even think it had one of those, but you're right. The 8801 does have a yellow RCA monitor output. So at least in that case, if I can't solve the HDMI problem, I wouldn't need to buy an additional little display to use HDMI when I wanted to do set up stuff.

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post

Yes both outputs are active ! I use this configuration with the 105 and 8801 (hdmi 1 to Tv and hdmi 2 to the 8801). And you don't need a monitor for the 8801's setup , just use the flip down panel as it displays all the 8801's functions, I even use it for Audyssey setup so as to not have any unnecessary noise from my display.

Theoretically, I know I could use the front panel display smile.gif, but I think it would be easier to use that display after I've already become familiar with the regular display output.

The good thing is, if I can't get the problem addressed, this isn't necessarily a show stopper either. Luckily, I don't need the video processing/switching capability the 8801 has.

If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ... Something old and something new :-)

Kevin C Brown is offline  
post #5260 of 11872 Old 04-26-2013, 07:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Mad Norseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Land of 10,000 Taxes!
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Sorry if this question has been asked before, but David Vaughn said in his wonderful Home Theater Magaine review on the Marantz AV8801:
"The video processing can be bypassed by source, so if you want the 1080p/24 signal from your Blu-ray player to be unprocessed but your cable/satellite to be scaled to 1080p, you can customize this in the setup menu".

That's exactly what I want to do - set up the Blu-ray source input to 'pass through' unscathed, while the CBL/Sat source is upconverted from 1080i to 1080p before it reaches my Panny - because I suspect the Marantz will do a better job of that upconversion(?).
But for the life of me, I just can't see how to set it up that way by reading (and re-reading, and re-reading...) the manual, or even just playing around in the menu!
It appears (to me) that its a 'global' setting that does not allow individual selection of how each source's input is treated...but David indicates otherwise.

I'm sure I'm missing something, so where can I find the correct instructions in the manual, or can someone here relate those steps to me please?
Thanks in advance!

The Insane Pink Care Bear's Home Theater Set Up:

Marantz AV 8801 Processor, Emotiva XPR-5 Amplifier, Panasonic 65" ST30 Plasma, Yamaha BD-S2900 Blu-ray, Yamaha CDC-697 CD Player, Yamaha TT-500U Turntable, w/Signet TK5e, JBL ES100 Fronts, JBL LC2 Center, JBL ES30 Surrounds & 2 JBL ES250P Subwoofers
Mad Norseman is offline  
post #5261 of 11872 Old 04-26-2013, 10:20 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,988
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 1315
You can set the "i/p Scaler" setting (p. 129 OM) to OFF.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5262 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 02:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ohyeah32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Land of Enchantment
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm starting to warm up to the 8801 a bit more now. Last night I watched the 3D Blu-ray of Jurassic Park, and the 7.1 DTS-HD MA sounded phenomenal! The sounds were all around the room, and while very dynamic, the sound was easy on the ears.smile.gif

The immersive sound, combined with a gorgeous picture, made for a very impressive and memorable viewing and listening experience.

The more I am using the 8801 the more I'm enjoying it.
ohyeah32 is online now  
post #5263 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 05:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohyeah32 View Post

I'm starting to warm up to the 8801 a bit more now. Last night I watched the 3D Blu-ray of Jurassic Park, and the 7.1 DTS-HD MA sounded phenomenal! The sounds were all around the room, and while very dynamic, the sound was easy on the ears.smile.gif

The immersive sound, combined with a gorgeous picture, made for a very impressive and memorable viewing and listening experience.

The more I am using the 8801 the more I'm enjoying it.



You sound like I did when I first set my 8801 up and I think it's because I was used to the sound of my old pre/pro. Your right about the 8801 for movies it really makes them enjoyable and I haven't watched this many movies in a long time smile.gif glad to hesr your enjoying it.
comfynumb is offline  
post #5264 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Are the xlr and RCA outputs both live? I will want to use three or four different amps to implement 9.2 or 11.2. Two are XLR and the other two are RCA.

Both subs are XLR .
jmschnur is offline  
post #5265 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 07:13 AM
Newbie
 
krellcoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin C Brown View Post

I wonder of that's what I'm seeing. But in my case, even with no source hooked up, I can't get anything from the 8801 to my plasma. I did try hooking up the BDP-95 to the 8801, and still no joy. But the 95 worked fine through the 7005. (But I send 1080i from the 95 too!)

Yeah, I'll try the USB update. Thanks. (Yeah, was waiting on the Outlaw, oh well ... wink.gif )

My dealer also suggested "borrowing" a cheap display (or PC monitor with an HDMI input) and trying that just to make sure the 8801's HDMI out worked at all.)

I've had issue getting video from the Oppo 95 to 8801 but after trying 3 different HDMI cables, I found one that works (hdmi 1.4). It seems like the 8801 is very finicky on the type of hdmi cable connecting to it.
krellcoda is offline  
post #5266 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 407
That's strange because I have 3 different HDMI cables going in and out of the 8801, including a $10 one I bought from Wallyworld and haven't had any connectivity or quality issues.
comfynumb is offline  
post #5267 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 08:01 AM
Member
 
satfam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I use Monoprice cables and haven't had any problems.
satfam is offline  
post #5268 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Norseman View Post

Sorry if this question has been asked before, but David Vaughn said in his wonderful Home Theater Magaine review on the Marantz AV8801:
"The video processing can be bypassed by source, so if you want the 1080p/24 signal from your Blu-ray player to be unprocessed but your cable/satellite to be scaled to 1080p, you can customize this in the setup menu".

That's exactly what I want to do - set up the Blu-ray source input to 'pass through' unscathed, while the CBL/Sat source is upconverted from 1080i to 1080p before it reaches my Panny - because I suspect the Marantz will do a better job of that upconversion(?).
But for the life of me, I just can't see how to set it up that way by reading (and re-reading, and re-reading...) the manual, or even just playing around in the menu!
It appears (to me) that its a 'global' setting that does not allow individual selection of how each source's input is treated...but David indicates otherwise.

I'm sure I'm missing something, so where can I find the correct instructions in the manual, or can someone here relate those steps to me please?
Thanks in advance!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

You can set the "i/p Scaler" setting (p. 129 OM) to OFF.

Yep.

David Vaughn

Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer

Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)

Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #5269 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Mad Norseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Land of 10,000 Taxes!
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post


Yep.

Page 129 reads under ipscaler:
i/p Scaler:
Convert the input source resolution to the resolution set.
CBL/SAT - (set to "On"?)
Blu-ray - (set to "Off"?)
(Leave all others at the default setting?)

Analog : Use i/p scaler function for analog video signal:
Analog & HDMI : Use i/p scaler function for analog and HDMI video signal, (select THIS one?).
HDMI : Use i/p scaler function for HDMI video signal, (Or select THIS one?).
Off : Do not use i/p scaler function.
• “Analog & HDMI” can be set for input sources for which an HDMI input
connector is assigned.
• Which items can be set depend on the input source assigned to each
input connector.

I'm sure I just missed something the first time, but I'll try it again tonight...thanks so much for everyone's quick reply!
(I'll report back on my sucess, or failure! wink.gif)

The Insane Pink Care Bear's Home Theater Set Up:

Marantz AV 8801 Processor, Emotiva XPR-5 Amplifier, Panasonic 65" ST30 Plasma, Yamaha BD-S2900 Blu-ray, Yamaha CDC-697 CD Player, Yamaha TT-500U Turntable, w/Signet TK5e, JBL ES100 Fronts, JBL LC2 Center, JBL ES30 Surrounds & 2 JBL ES250P Subwoofers
Mad Norseman is offline  
post #5270 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
AlxG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by krellcoda View Post

I've had issue getting video from the Oppo 95 to 8801 but after trying 3 different HDMI cables, I found one that works (hdmi 1.4). It seems like the 8801 is very finicky on the type of hdmi cable connecting to it.

What HDMI are you using right now?

It would be nice or get a running list of reasonably priced HDMI cables.

- Alex
AlxG is offline  
post #5271 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 01:55 PM
Member
 
orangeblast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

When it comes to the Oppo 103 acting as an external video processor, by using it's HDMI inputs, how would it compare to the video processing on the Marantz 8801 pre/pro? I like the idea of the Oppo doing some video processing, but if the Martanz 8801 has equal or superior video processing, then I may just go with the Sony S790 instead.

Thoughts?
orangeblast is offline  
post #5272 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin C Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 3,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I'm also using Monoprice HDMI cables. Ok, got one these yesterday for testing:

http://t.staples.com/skava/static/product.html?type=StaplesProduct&input=%7B%22url%22%3A%5B%22http%3A%2F%2Fwww.staples.com%2FLenovo-LI2321s-23-inch-Wide-LED-Monitor%2Fproduct_140303%3Ft%3Dyes%22%5D%7D&t=yes

But it doesn't work either ... But the AV7005 does. So my dealer does think it has a bad HDMI output.

I got the f/w from jdsmoothie (thanks! smile.gif ). But I can't get it to update. I can see the 8801 access the flashndrive, but never goes into the update procedure. Just the firmwares folder on the drive. Weird. So I still plan to try the composite output, and maybe try to update the f/w that way just to try.

My dealer is truly being very awesome about this whole thing. He has another unit ready to be sent to me on Mon.

If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ... Something old and something new :-)

Kevin C Brown is offline  
post #5273 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I think I'm liking my purchase of this unit even more. Seeing too many issues with the other camp.
nezff is offline  
post #5274 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 10:12 PM
Senior Member
 
AlxG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Installed Mogami 2549 XLR and 2930 Y-splitter cables and at first found them too revealing with thin midrange and lacking dynamics. Once I ran the AV8801 setup and specified XLR output paths, the magic has returned plus lots of top end clarity and air. One thing I've noticed is a relay click when I selected XLR instead of RCA signal path.

- Alex
AlxG is offline  
post #5275 of 11872 Old 04-27-2013, 10:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlxG View Post

found them too revealing with thin midrange and lacking dynamics
compared to a brand of XLR interconnects use previously on the AV8801?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #5276 of 11872 Old 04-28-2013, 12:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
mookie b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlxG View Post

Installed Mogami 2549 XLR and 2930 Y-splitter cables and at first found them too revealing with thin midrange and lacking dynamics. Once I ran the AV8801 setup and specified XLR output paths, the magic has returned plus lots of top end clarity and air. One thing I've noticed is a relay click when I selected XLR instead of RCA signal path.

I never did this....specified xlr in the setup menu. It just worked. Does going through the setup menu do anything? I also heard the relay clicks....

mookie b is offline  
post #5277 of 11872 Old 04-28-2013, 04:04 AM
Newbie
 
dreyfusfabrini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings to all of you!

I currently own a Marantz AV7005 with an Anthem MCA50. I'm considering the possibility of selling the AV7005 in order to buy the AV8801 (and I'll certainly do it!). Do you think it's worthy selling the Anthem MCA50 as well, and get the Marantz amp, the MM8077?

I have 5 speakers, Monitor Audio GS60 as front, GSLCR in the center and GSFX as surrounds.

Thanks in advance!!!! smile.gif

Regards,

Dreyfus
dreyfusfabrini is offline  
post #5278 of 11872 Old 04-28-2013, 04:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreyfusfabrini View Post

Greetings to all of you!

I currently own a Marantz AV7005 with an Anthem MCA50. I'm considering the possibility of selling the AV7005 in order to buy the AV8801 (and I'll certainly do it!). Do you think it's worthy selling the Anthem MCA50 as well, and get the Marantz amp, the MM8077?

I have 5 speakers, Monitor Audio GS60 as front, GSLCR in the center and GSFX as surrounds.

Thanks in advance!!!! smile.gif

Regards,

Dreyfus



Hi, personally I would never give up your Anthem amp, it has more power than the Marantz 8077 and by all accounts a great amp. Why don't you just add a 2 channel amp if you want more speakers?
dreyfusfabrini likes this.
comfynumb is offline  
post #5279 of 11872 Old 04-28-2013, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
avman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreyfusfabrini View Post

Greetings to all of you!

I currently own a Marantz AV7005 with an Anthem MCA50. I'm considering the possibility of selling the AV7005 in order to buy the AV8801 (and I'll certainly do it!). Do you think it's worthy selling the Anthem MCA50 as well, and get the Marantz amp, the MM8077?

Thanks in advance!!!! smile.gif

Regards,

Dreyfus

If you think the Marantz looks nicer and that's important to you then it is worth it otherwise no, you will end up with a little bit less power and money for no other reasons.
dreyfusfabrini likes this.
avman09 is offline  
post #5280 of 11872 Old 04-28-2013, 06:42 AM
Senior Member
 
jrhooper1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreyfusfabrini View Post

Greetings to all of you!

I currently own a Marantz AV7005 with an Anthem MCA50. I'm considering the possibility of selling the AV7005 in order to buy the AV8801 (and I'll certainly do it!). Do you think it's worthy selling the Anthem MCA50 as well, and get the Marantz amp, the MM8077?

I have 5 speakers, Monitor Audio GS60 as front, GSLCR in the center and GSFX as surrounds.

Thanks in advance!!!! smile.gif

Regards,

Dreyfus

Don't do it !! The Anthem amp is a better amp .
dreyfusfabrini likes this.
jrhooper1963 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off