Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 184 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5491 of 11874 Old 05-08-2013, 05:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

ah, I see, thanks. Looking closer, I guess you're using two sets of rails, obviously, to support front and rear portion of each shelve. You most likely are using plywood side panels which the metal rail supports are fastened to?

I don't understand the problems/issues and challenges with DirectTV and running through AV8801? (guess I missed the previous posts)

Yes, two sets of rails. And yes to the plywood and two by fours to support the heavy weight.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5492 of 11874 Old 05-08-2013, 05:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I have been A/B testing for a couple hours now. I am using a Darblet the difference is neglible. And I have went back from video conversion Off to 1080p out of the 8801. Now here's the kicker... When I change pic modes from off to Standard that is where the "pop" and "detail" seem to kick back in. Sharpness is strong no matter what with the Darblet but without it and the 8801 with pic mode Off there is a slight loss in sharpness and detail. I never saw that before and admit since the Superbowl we have not watched DirecTV downstairs. We are right now watching the Bulls and Heat play. I am wondering if the last firmware update did something? I will play some more...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #5493 of 11874 Old 05-08-2013, 06:49 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
These are a couple of pics taken from my iphone 5. I am only trying to show the difference with Standard and Off pic modes from the 8801. Yes, screen shots are tough to make a case with anything and I only had a couple quick minutes between a commercial. Of course if I waited until the end of the third I could have had all night. Anyway the first pic is Standard and the second is Off...



Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #5494 of 11874 Old 05-08-2013, 06:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Actually I apologize. The differences are much more clearer (and cleaner) on my phone. eek.gif

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #5495 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 02:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The way I see it, on my setup, is that standard makes it brighter......

HTPC/Gaming Rig:
Silverstone CW02B, I7 3930K, 16GB, ASUS Rampage IV Formula
EVGA Signature Titan> 70 inch ELITE PRO-70X5FD
Auzen HDMI XFi> 7.2 via Marantz AV8801>Wyred4Sound, & Emotiva Amps>Paradigm 100'sV5, ADP590'sV5, 690v5, 20v5's, + Dual HSU-ULS15 Subs

Controlling: Two CX7000ES's via MyMovies
Geronimo.USMC is offline  
post #5496 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 05:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geronimo.USMC View Post

The way I see it, on my setup, is that standard makes it brighter......
G,

I'm seeing the same thing on the 65VT50. Standard picture mode contrast is slightly higher than off but comes closer to bypassing the 8801 all together. Bypassing the 8801 seems to give a different balance to the picture. I'll have to study this closer....preferably before ordering more cables. smile.gif

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #5497 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 05:35 AM
TL5
Advanced Member
 
TL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'll be setting up my 8801 this weekend - also bought a new Oppo BDP-103 player. What are the best video settings in the marantz to use with the Oppo? I'm confused regarding the Video Conversion and I/P scaler in the marantz - should they be disabled for use with the Oppo? I would like to use the OSD from the marantz - will disabling these not allow the OSD to work? . Are these settings per input or global?

THANKS for any help!!!
TL5 is offline  
post #5498 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

I like accurate picture and sound. There is plenty of POP in todays displays when in suitable environment.
I use the Mini and it works quite well, certainly better than DVDO edge I had.


- Rich

Agreed. A Lumagen should be a part of a serious theater. Being able to calibrate the display correctly, especially as, say, a bulb ages, is quite important.

And its not overpriced at all considering what it can do. A Lumagen plus Calman and a good Spectro meter can give you an almost hands off calibration to an objective standard.

Now, if you want to simply goose up the colors / mess with the image until it fits criteria that you enjoy, like over saturation, etc....no problem. Its just not accurate to what was intended.
hifiaudio2 is online now  
post #5499 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 09:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by TL5 View Post

I'll be setting up my 8801 this weekend - also bought a new Oppo BDP-103 player. What are the best video settings in the marantz to use with the Oppo? I'm confused regarding the Video Conversion and I/P scaler in the marantz - should they be disabled for use with the Oppo? I would like to use the OSD from the marantz - will disabling these not allow the OSD to work? . Are these settings per input or global?

THANKS for any help!!!

You have two HDMI output on your Oppo. You want to run the better of the two(usually HDMI 1) directly to your display. The other one goes to your Marantz.

This is intended to give you the cleanest picture signal possible.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #5500 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 10:09 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

You have two HDMI output on your Oppo. You want to run the better of the two(usually HDMI 1) directly to your display. The other one goes to your Marantz.

This is intended to give you the cleanest picture signal possible.

Perfect. I am not a fan of sending the Blu ray image through anything before it hits the display. No detours does make the best possible image. Unless you are using a Darblet set around 40 (displays may vary)...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #5501 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 10:10 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
S what's the verdict for others? Is anyone else's seeing slight image degradation going into the Marantz before their display?

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #5502 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 10:16 AM
TL5
Advanced Member
 
TL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
^^^^ Thanks. So the second HDMI cable from the Oppo to the marantz would carry just the audio?
TL5 is offline  
post #5503 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 10:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by TL5 View Post

^^^^ Thanks. So the second HDMI cable from the Oppo to the marantz would carry just the audio?

Yes, you woukd keep it on (the Oppo) split Audio and Video in its set up.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #5504 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 10:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by TL5 View Post

^^^^ Thanks. So the second HDMI cable from the Oppo to the marantz would carry just the audio?

Actually, what you do is set HDMI 1 on the Oppo to video only.

What you might want to play with is comparing your input from HDMI 1 to HDMI 2 that goes through the Marantz. Be sure that all picture settings on your display are the same.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #5505 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Actually, what you do is set HDMI 1 on the Oppo to video only.

What you might want to play with is comparing your input from HDMI 1 to HDMI 2 that goes through the Marantz. Be sure that all picture settings on your display are the same.

HDMI-1 uses the QDEO video processing chip and HDMI-2 MediaTek chip so they are not the same.
HDMI-1 is a bit softer so some users have found that HDMI-1 looks better with sharpness +1.

YMMV

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #5506 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 12:17 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I like sharpness +2 using HDMI 1 with the 103. smile.gif

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #5507 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 395
Some have noted a change in the sharpness settings on the Oppo's due to the official firmware release, as a test I bumped up from +1 to + 2 to see, but will have to test further to determine if this is indeed the case wink.gif

And keep in mind there is still video present when sending hdmi 2 to the 8801 for audio, when using the 103 or 105 in split av!
audiofan1 is offline  
post #5508 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 05:41 PM
Newbie
 
wcniedba's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New to forums so sorry if this is in wrong place!

There is a feature I am looking for and curious if the AV8801 has it. My condo is wired for Ethernet in all rooms. I would like to have pre-amp/processor/receiver that can send audio to other rooms via the Ethernet signal. I notice the AV8801 has Ethernet connections. I also notice that Marantz makes an item called Consolette that has Ethernet and I'm wondering if it could serve as a remote speaker in each room. I honestly don't care if the signals are different going to each room. My main goal is to the same music playing no matter where you go in the house.

I suppose I could simply connect Airport Expresses to the Ethernet in each room but then I'd just have to send my signals from a Mac/PC I'm guessing. I'd like to have whatever is going through my main receiver broadcast that signal throughout the house and utilize the existing Ethernet wiring in the house.

Thanks in advance for any insight and please let me know if I should move this post to another location!!!

Chris
wcniedba is offline  
post #5509 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 05:55 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,097
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
The ethernet jack is designed to be connected directly to a router or modem only.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5510 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 05:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Another update. I am concluding the image is definitely not as clean going through the 8801 at this time. I compared all of my previous recordings and the proof is in the pudding. I think either this past firmware or the one before it is the culprit. Either way I just re routed my DirecTV path. Crisp, clean back with my genie.

smile.gif

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #5511 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 07:42 PM
Newbie
 
sjoGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you run hdmi on all connections?
sjoGM is offline  
post #5512 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 08:05 PM
Senior Member
 
cofn42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 32
OK, so I am having a slight issue today after the Audyssey calibration.

When I listen to the default Music mode (Stereo) I lose 100% of the signal to my sub, and it routes all bass information to the mains.

This appears to be only happening in the 2 channel stereo mode.

The calibration has left my mains as Large and crossed at 40hz (which is fine by me as they are DT BP2000TL with 12" woofers)

Only thing I could do to combat this was to set them to small manually for stereo mode, or change the sub settings to LFE+Main.

Is something wrong here? Am I missing something?

Marantz AV8801 / Rotel 2x RMB-1095 / RMB-1090 / Yamaha P7000S / Velodyne SMS-1 / DTech BP2000TL / DTech C/L/R 3000 / 4x - DTech BPVX/P Surrounds / DTech SM55 Heights / DTech SM65 Wides / SVS PB13 Ultra / 2x Buttkicker LFE / PTAE-8000U / Globalcache, iRule & Insteon.

Coffin Family Theater Build
cofn42 is offline  
post #5513 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by cofn42 View Post

OK, so I am having a slight issue today after the Audyssey calibration.

When I listen to the default Music mode (Stereo) I lose 100% of the signal to my sub, and it routes all bass information to the mains.

This appears to be only happening in the 2 channel stereo mode.

The calibration has left my mains as Large and crossed at 40hz (which is fine by me as they are DT BP2000TL with 12" woofers)

Only thing I could do to combat this was to set them to small manually for stereo mode, or change the sub settings to LFE+Main.

Is something wrong here? Am I missing something?

stereo is just two channels. no channel for the sub. so you won't get sound to the sub from a stereo input unless you route bass from the left and right channels. While it's actually the receiver's logic, not Audyssey's (and they'd do it differently if they have control) it's common for folks to end up with a calibration that sets their left and right speakers as large, which is confusion-speak for "turn off bass management" so nothing goes to the sub unless you change (most here would say "correct") the settings to utilize the sub. Most would vote for setting speakers small and a crossover around 80 Hz, I think. At least I would.
JHAz is offline  
post #5514 of 11874 Old 05-09-2013, 11:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ohyeah32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Land of Enchantment
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Another update. I am concluding the image is definitely not as clean going through the 8801 at this time. I compared all of my previous recordings and the proof is in the pudding. I think either this past firmware or the one before it is the culprit. Either way I just re routed my DirecTV path. Crisp, clean back with my genie.

smile.gif

Thanks for taking the time to verify this. Perhaps Marantz should be made aware of this, and see about fixing it in a future firmware update.

So as it stands, the general consensus is to go directly to the display when at all possible.
ohyeah32 is online now  
post #5515 of 11874 Old 05-10-2013, 12:10 AM
Member
 
MaDBeN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Has anyone noticed any motion differences (fast action blur) with going direct to display or through the Marantz? I seem to be noticing it more now than when the Marantz was not in the system (could be a number of things as the room has undergone some changes recently) and am trying to trouble shoot the cause.

Thanks
MaDBeN is online now  
post #5516 of 11874 Old 05-10-2013, 03:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohyeah32 View Post

Thanks for taking the time to verify this. Perhaps Marantz should be made aware of this, and see about fixing it in a future firmware update.

So as it stands, the general consensus is to go directly to the display when at all possible.



I was content going through the 8801, but now I'm wondering if my picture could be better. Are their any lip sync issues if I go directly from source to display?
comfynumb is offline  
post #5517 of 11874 Old 05-10-2013, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,968
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by cofn42 View Post

OK, so I am having a slight issue today after the Audyssey calibration.

When I listen to the default Music mode (Stereo) I lose 100% of the signal to my sub, and it routes all bass information to the mains.

This appears to be only happening in the 2 channel stereo mode.

The calibration has left my mains as Large and crossed at 40hz (which is fine by me as they are DT BP2000TL with 12" woofers)

Only thing I could do to combat this was to set them to small manually for stereo mode, or change the sub settings to LFE+Main.

Is something wrong here? Am I missing something?

Both things you tried will work. Basically, when the mains are large, the system in stereo is assuming you don't need a sub, even thought this is 99% of the time not the case...You can leave them large if you want and set the LFE channel to LFE+Main and you will get bass from the subs too.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is online now  
post #5518 of 11874 Old 05-10-2013, 09:11 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I would say the best for now is to go directly to the display. I was having HDMI handshaking issues and just decided to use the COAX off my DirecTV genie for sound. I haven't used it in years! I was shocked how good the sound was though and quite frankly I like it. As for lip sync mine was off just a little but I used the 8801's adjust feature and corrected it quickly. All channels are spot on.

smile.gif

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #5519 of 11874 Old 05-10-2013, 10:38 PM
Troll
 
ufokillerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
so i missed quite a few pages, but does anyone know if logitech remotes work properly yet?
ufokillerz is online now  
post #5520 of 11874 Old 05-10-2013, 11:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ohyeah32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Land of Enchantment
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

I was content going through the 8801, but now I'm wondering if my picture could be better. Are their any lip sync issues if I go directly from source to display?

Do an A/B comparison and see what you think. For Blu-ray, I have to go through the AV8801, because if I go separate video and audio with my current TV, the sound will go out of sync. I know that the 8801 has an audio delay adjustment feature that should work great, but I haven't tried it for 2D Blu-ray playback.
ohyeah32 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off