Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 247 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7381 of 11976 Old 08-04-2013, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1usedcomp View Post

I will be trying the 886 before selling the 8801 thats for sure , I agree 100% with your post . But I perfer the sound from the EE over the 105 or the W4S Dac 2 I also owned . Either way they all are great units .

Also I agree I didn't give the 105 enough time for break in , but that wasn't the main reason I got rid of it , I got rid of it because I wanted a stand alone Dac

I hear ya! sounds like the EE is just another great implementation of the ESS sabre chip and one I shall keep an eye on should I get a separate dac wink.gif
audiofan1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7382 of 11976 Old 08-04-2013, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 413
Redmere's all the way here as well for video wink.gif I just got another 10ft, I use them on every display in the house !
audiofan1 is offline  
post #7383 of 11976 Old 08-04-2013, 01:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdlynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

What length is your HDMI cable?

I Monoprice Redmere cables from 3 to 15 feet and all work perfectly.
They are very thin and put no force on your HDMI connections.

Highly recommended smile.gif

- Rich

I'm presently using two Redmere cables (from my Oppo and PS3), and, the HDMI cable that came with my Oppo BDP-103 from my 8801 to my projector.

It appears the sparklies are really only noticeable on SD DVD's.....

David Lynch Current Equipment: Marantz AV8801, Proceed HPA3, Parasound HCA-1206, Aerial Acoustics LR5's (LCR), Aerial Acoustics LR3's (sides), RBH in-walls (rears), Seaton Submersive, Marantz VP15s1, 106" Carada BW screen, Oppo BDP-103.
jdlynch is offline  
post #7384 of 11976 Old 08-04-2013, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
exm
AVS Special Member
 
exm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYY
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I've read people recommending non-Monoprices cables for longer distances. I am using a 40ft BJC cable to my projector without any issues...
exm is offline  
post #7385 of 11976 Old 08-04-2013, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
baranowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlynch View Post

My wife was watching a SD DVD today, and, the screen (especially noticeable with dark backgrounds) had "sparklies" all over it.

I'm running all video through the 8801 to utilize HDMI switching. I will probably try a direct HDMI to my projector to see if they go away, but, the HDMI switching feature is a big reason I changed from my Lexicon MC12B.

Does anyone know what might be causing the sparklies? Perhaps its an HDMI cable issue?

i get something similar with my projector on dvds or blue rays that are from older movies.

the black area has to be a fairly big part of the screen to get it.... never happens on newer blue ray movies.... I cannot imagine it is an hdmi issue as there is only an issue with older filmed movies. i think it is what it is.

Bill
baranowski is offline  
post #7386 of 11976 Old 08-04-2013, 07:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdlynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I turned the power off to my Oppo,, then, back on again. Voila!! The sparkles went away. The 8801 had absolutely nothing to do with my problem.

It appears it must have something to do with the sequence in which I powered on the equipment. From now on I will turn on the projector first then the Oppo.

David Lynch Current Equipment: Marantz AV8801, Proceed HPA3, Parasound HCA-1206, Aerial Acoustics LR5's (LCR), Aerial Acoustics LR3's (sides), RBH in-walls (rears), Seaton Submersive, Marantz VP15s1, 106" Carada BW screen, Oppo BDP-103.
jdlynch is offline  
post #7387 of 11976 Old 08-04-2013, 07:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlynch View Post

I turned the power off to my Oppo,, then, back on again. Voila!! The sparkles went away. The 8801 had absolutely nothing to do with my problem.

It appears it must have something to do with the sequence in which I powered on the equipment. From now on I will turn on the projector first then the Oppo.

The old HDMI handshake trick tongue.gif
You gotta love copy protection that screws up the customer while doing absolutely nothing protect content.

It is good near that you found a work around.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #7388 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 03:32 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,846
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 1405
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlynch View Post

I turned the power off to my Oppo,, then, back on again. Voila!! The sparkles went away. The 8801 had absolutely nothing to do with my problem.

It appears it must have something to do with the sequence in which I powered on the equipment. From now on I will turn on the projector first then the Oppo.



---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7389 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 05:39 AM
Member
 
Homebrew101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I (tried) to set-up my 8801 this weekend but had some problems running Audyssey. It put up an error message when it tried pinging my center channel speaker on the 1st test (MLP) that it was either missing or there was too much ambient noise. I made the room as quiet as possible and it wasn't bad other than the occasional traffic noise on our busy street. All windows were closed etc. After several tries it seemed to work and I did 8 positions.

BTW, when it pinged the center speaker on all 8 positions the volume of the pings was much louder on the that speaker than any other ones. It also informed that it was out of phase so it had to have registered that channel making it even odder that after Audyssey it claims there is no center channel speaker.

But after completing Audyssey I see that it set my Mains to Large, crossover at 100mz and NO CENTER speaker. I will re-run Audyssey some evening after the traffic dies down.

I am (trying) to set-up 5.1. My mains are Snell Type A, I have a Power Sound Audio XV15 sub, a Polk center speaker and B&W rear surrounds.
Homebrew101 is offline  
post #7390 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Why don't you change the polarity of the center as suggested?
jmschnur is offline  
post #7391 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 07:54 AM
Senior Member
 
erhurd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego County, southern California, USA, Planet Earth
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 37
+1

Edwin R. Hurd
AVS Forums Lurker-In-Training!

My Tight-space A/V Setup
erhurd is offline  
post #7392 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 08:01 AM
Member
 
Homebrew101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I did, without verifying it was the correct choice (PITA to get to the amp again) So if it was wrong in suggesting the polarity switch, would that cause this problem?
Homebrew101 is offline  
post #7393 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,219
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Sometimes audyssey hears a speaker that is out of polarity that might not actually be wired that way. Try putting your mic in a slightly different location and see if it still reads it wrong. You may be getting wall bounce from the rear or side walls that is causing things to screw up slightly. Also, Fwiw, you can switch the polarity at the speaker connections too ya know biggrin.gif No need to get the amp back out again.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #7394 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 08:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlynch View Post

I turned the power off to my Oppo,, then, back on again. Voila!! The sparkles went away. The 8801 had absolutely nothing to do with my problem.

It appears it must have something to do with the sequence in which I powered on the equipment. From now on I will turn on the projector first then the Oppo.

I've had some interesting display issues with my Oppo 95 going directly from the 95 to my display. Can't say it had anything to do with the 8801 since it wasn't even in the signal path. Fixable by switching to another input then back to the BD player input on the display. As others have said, probably a handshake issue.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #7395 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 08:15 AM
Member
 
Homebrew101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post

Sometimes audyssey hears a speaker that is out of polarity that might not actually be wired that way. Try putting your mic in a slightly different location and see if it still reads it wrong. You may be getting wall bounce from the rear or side walls that is causing things to screw up slightly. Also, Fwiw, you can switch the polarity at the speaker connections too ya know biggrin.gif No need to get the amp back out again.

I guess maybe I worded that poorly. I didn't verify that the polarity was wrong when Audyssey said it was I just hoped Audyssey was right and I switched the polarity at the speaker instead of moving the required furniture and Snell out of the way to confirm that the wires were crossed - does that make more sense?
Homebrew101 is offline  
post #7396 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Sure. If you can the audyssey done with the center , there are several blu rays that check the polarity. I use AIX. I think spears and Munsil ver 2 also has a audio calibration section that includes polarity.
jmschnur is offline  
post #7397 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 09:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homebrew101 View Post

I guess maybe I worded that poorly. I didn't verify that the polarity was wrong when Audyssey said it was I just hoped Audyssey was right and I switched the polarity at the speaker instead of moving the required furniture and Snell out of the way to confirm that the wires were crossed - does that make more sense?

Beast is right though. There are times that Audyssey will see speakers out of phase when something else is going on.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #7398 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
bwv1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I hope I haven't already posted this issue! I'm having an odd problem with my 8801/Oppo 105 combo. When I make any setting changes in either unit (turn Audyssey on/off, change the input on the Oppo to "HDMI in back" to watch Tivo, etc.), I get no sound from the 8801 unless I turn it off and back on. If I unplug the HDMI cables before making any changes, then the audio doesn't go away. (I'm using the Split A/V option, with the Oppo's HDMI 1 directly connected to my TV and HDMI 2 to the 8801.) Has anyone else experienced this? Any solutions?

DALI Epicon 2 front speakers; DALI Epicon Vokal center speaker; Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000 surrounds; SVS SB 13 Ultra subwoofer; Marantz AV 8801 pre/pro; Parasound Halo A51 power amp; Sony XA5400ES SACD player; Oppo BDP 105 SACD/Blu-ray player; Sennheiser HD 800 headphones; Woo Audio WA6 headphone amp.
bwv1080 is online now  
post #7399 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,219
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homebrew101 View Post

I guess maybe I worded that poorly. I didn't verify that the polarity was wrong when Audyssey said it was I just hoped Audyssey was right and I switched the polarity at the speaker instead of moving the required furniture and Snell out of the way to confirm that the wires were crossed - does that make more sense?

I used to have some JTR triple12's that the left channel would always come back saying it was not in phase, and even after double and triple checking the connections, I still consistently got this message. Once I received my acoustic panels, I treated the side walls near the left speaker and all of a sudden, I never received that message again!! Before I had the panels, the best way I found to fix the issue was to use more toe-in on the speakers to assist in less side wall reflection. repositioning your speaker and/or mic could potentially fix your situation completely, but you should definitely try and confirm that your wiring is in fact correct before attempting anything else smile.gif

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #7400 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 01:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwv1080 View Post

I hope I haven't already posted this issue! I'm having an odd problem with my 8801/Oppo 105 combo. When I make any setting changes in either unit (turn Audyssey on/off, change the input on the Oppo to "HDMI in back" to watch Tivo, etc.), I get no sound from the 8801 unless I turn it off and back on. If I unplug the HDMI cables before making any changes, then the audio doesn't go away. (I'm using the Split A/V option, with the Oppo's HDMI 1 directly connected to my TV and HDMI 2 to the 8801.) Has anyone else experienced this? Any solutions?

How is your Tivo hooked up?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #7401 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
bwv1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

How is your Tivo hooked up?

It's plugged into the Oppo's HDMI input on the back.

DALI Epicon 2 front speakers; DALI Epicon Vokal center speaker; Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000 surrounds; SVS SB 13 Ultra subwoofer; Marantz AV 8801 pre/pro; Parasound Halo A51 power amp; Sony XA5400ES SACD player; Oppo BDP 105 SACD/Blu-ray player; Sennheiser HD 800 headphones; Woo Audio WA6 headphone amp.
bwv1080 is online now  
post #7402 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Homebrew101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homebrew101 View Post

I (tried) to set-up my 8801 this weekend but had some problems running Audyssey. It put up an error message when it tried pinging my center channel speaker on the 1st test (MLP) that it was either missing or there was too much ambient noise. I made the room as quiet as possible and it wasn't bad other than the occasional traffic noise on our busy street. All windows were closed etc. After several tries it seemed to work and I did 8 positions.

BTW, when it pinged the center speaker on all 8 positions the volume of the pings was much louder on the that speaker than any other ones. It also informed that it was out of phase so it had to have registered that channel making it even odder that after Audyssey it claims there is no center channel speaker.

But after completing Audyssey I see that it set my Mains to Large, crossover at 100mz and NO CENTER speaker. I will re-run Audyssey some evening after the traffic dies down.

I am (trying) to set-up 5.1. My mains are Snell Type A, I have a Power Sound Audio XV15 sub, a Polk center speaker and B&W rear surrounds.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Beast is right though. There are times that Audyssey will see speakers out of phase when something else is going on.

What about Audyssey setting my mains as Large not Small and setting the crossover at 100? That can't also be linked to the phase error in the center channel can it?
Homebrew101 is offline  
post #7403 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Audyssey recommends manually setting them to small. And the crossover is probably in a pretty good place at 100. Like beast said I would toe them in a little more and/or treat your side walls. If you can't do treatments right now toe them in a little more and rerun Audyssey.
comfynumb is offline  
post #7404 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 04:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwv1080 View Post

It's plugged into the Oppo's HDMI input on the back.

You probably have a good reason for doing that.

Have you tried connecting the Tivo directly to the 8801 and see if the problem goes away.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #7405 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 04:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homebrew101 View Post


What about Audyssey setting my mains as Large not Small and setting the crossover at 100? That can't also be linked to the phase error in the center channel can it?

Tell us about what you're using amplifier wise. Any biwiring?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #7406 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 04:49 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,846
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 1405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homebrew101 View Post


What about Audyssey setting my mains as Large not Small and setting the crossover at 100? That can't also be linked to the phase error in the center channel can it?

Bears repeating again that Audyssey does not set the speaker LARGE/SMALL settings rather the 8801 does this when the speakers are able to receive a 50Hz or lower signal which is why when set to LARGE, Audyssey (the company) recommends changing them to SMALL as they cannot get the AVR mfr's to do this. With the test tone being much louder than the other speakers as well as the crossover set so high given it was set to LARGE, there is either an issue with the center channel or perhaps your speaker itself. Try swapping the center speaker with either the FL or FR speaker and rerun Audyssey again to see if the issue follows the speaker.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7407 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 05:11 PM
Senior Member
 
bwv1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

You probably have a good reason for doing that.

Have you tried connecting the Tivo directly to the 8801 and see if the problem goes away.

In order to take advantage of the Oppo's superior video processing. I used to connect it directly, but as I stated, switching to the Tivo input is just one of the operations that causes the Marantz to go silent!

DALI Epicon 2 front speakers; DALI Epicon Vokal center speaker; Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000 surrounds; SVS SB 13 Ultra subwoofer; Marantz AV 8801 pre/pro; Parasound Halo A51 power amp; Sony XA5400ES SACD player; Oppo BDP 105 SACD/Blu-ray player; Sennheiser HD 800 headphones; Woo Audio WA6 headphone amp.
bwv1080 is online now  
post #7408 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 06:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdlynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
When I used the auto-setup on my Lexicon MC12 I always followed with my ratshack meter to check/adjust the relative speaker levels.

Is there a need for checking the levels after the 8801 auto-setup? I wonder if the accuracy of the ratshack meter is as good as that provided with the Audyssey microphone.

David Lynch Current Equipment: Marantz AV8801, Proceed HPA3, Parasound HCA-1206, Aerial Acoustics LR5's (LCR), Aerial Acoustics LR3's (sides), RBH in-walls (rears), Seaton Submersive, Marantz VP15s1, 106" Carada BW screen, Oppo BDP-103.
jdlynch is offline  
post #7409 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I use a phonics meter to check . The settings are pretty good with Audyssey but I do tweak a bit.
jmschnur is offline  
post #7410 of 11976 Old 08-05-2013, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlynch View Post

When I used the auto-setup on my Lexicon MC12 I always followed with my ratshack meter to check/adjust the relative speaker levels.

Is there a need for checking the levels after the 8801 auto-setup? I wonder if the accuracy of the ratshack meter is as good as that provided with the Audyssey microphone.

The 8801 was scary accurate for all my speakers in both distance and levels except for one and that was the sub which was down 3 db! which of course I bump up or leave it be when using Dynamic EQ, I used my trusty ratshack as well smile.gif
audiofan1 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off