Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 250 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7471 of 12127 Old 08-07-2013, 10:56 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Gentlemen,

Can you please help? I have a SMS-1 and plan to buy the av8801. I also have a f113 sub and plan to have two in the future.

With the 8801 ability to calibrate two subs via audyssey separately. Is it a positive to use and run the SMS-1 to calibrate my sub(s) further after audyssey set up? My concern is it still will calibrate the sub(s) as one unit. Which could be a negative effect on the audyssey calibration. I also have the ARO which is the jl calibration software.
ShockFett is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7472 of 12127 Old 08-07-2013, 11:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woof Woof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I use my f113 for movies alone and just leave Audyssey to calibrate the sub alone.
Woof Woof is offline  
post #7473 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 03:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezrangel View Post

I am having serious handshake problems between the 8801 and my oppo 95. Most of time, i get no audio until i unplug and replug the hdmi cable or turn off and on the marantz.
I read someone was having the same problem a few months ago, I wonder if it was solved... maybe a FW update?!

It might be a setup problem.

With the Oppo 95, you want to connect HDMI 1 directly from the Oppo 95 to your display.
Connect HDMI 2 to the Marantz.
On the Oppo, turn off audio on HDMI 1. That'll send a cleaner signal out HDMI 1 to the display.
Also, turn off deep color on HDMI 1.

There is also a question of turn on sequence...that is, what is turned on first. Basically, you want to turn on the Oppo last.

Let us know if this works.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #7474 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 03:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post

Gentlemen,

Can you please help? I have a SMS-1 and plan to buy the av8801. I also have a f113 sub and plan to have two in the future.

With the 8801 ability to calibrate two subs via audyssey separately. Is it a positive to use and run the SMS-1 to calibrate my sub(s) further after audyssey set up? My concern is it still will calibrate the sub(s) as one unit. Which could be a negative effect on the audyssey calibration. I also have the ARO which is the jl calibration software.

I also have an SMS-1 which has been collecting dust since hooking up the 8801.

Without running REW or Omnimic, I just felt that subwoofer (a Submersive HP) sound good enough that I didn't bother additional calibration of the sub. This version of Audyssey seems to do a good "enough" job of subwoofer calibration. I only bumped up the level by 3 dbs.

Whatever you do, keep in mind that the SMS-1 has additional latency (processing time) and if you run Audyssey with it in the circuit, then you need to leave it in the circuit. If you take it out, be sure to rerun Audyssey.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #7475 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 05:13 AM
Senior Member
 
ezrangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

It might be a setup problem.

With the Oppo 95, you want to connect HDMI 1 directly from the Oppo 95 to your display.
Connect HDMI 2 to the Marantz.
On the Oppo, turn off audio on HDMI 1. That'll send a cleaner signal out HDMI 1 to the display.
Also, turn off deep color on HDMI 1.

There is also a question of turn on sequence...that is, what is turned on first. Basically, you want to turn on the Oppo last.

Let us know if this works.
tks, Jim.
I´ll try that as soon as i get home.

Sorry for bad english...
ezrangel is offline  
post #7476 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

It might be a setup problem.

With the Oppo 95, you want to connect HDMI 1 directly from the Oppo 95 to your display.
Connect HDMI 2 to the Marantz.
On the Oppo, turn off audio on HDMI 1. That'll send a cleaner signal out HDMI 1 to the display.
Also, turn off deep color on HDMI 1.

There is also a question of turn on sequence...that is, what is turned on first. Basically, you want to turn on the Oppo last.

Let us know if this works.



Jim, I ran one HDMI from my Oppo 93 to the Marantz. If I go the with two HDMI's, might there be a handshake issue every time? Do you have to turn on your gear on in a certain order every time?
comfynumb is offline  
post #7477 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 07:03 AM
The Truth Hz
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,429
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 462 Post(s)
Liked: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post

Gentlemen,

Can you please help? I have a SMS-1 and plan to buy the av8801. I also have a f113 sub and plan to have two in the future.

With the 8801 ability to calibrate two subs via audyssey separately. Is it a positive to use and run the SMS-1 to calibrate my sub(s) further after audyssey set up? My concern is it still will calibrate the sub(s) as one unit. Which could be a negative effect on the audyssey calibration. I also have the ARO which is the jl calibration software.

It is perfectly fine to do it that way. The suggestions you have already gotten are excellent and follow them as well. I have found the further EQ after audyssey works well as long as it is AFTER audyssey. If you just eq to dead flat response then it would be ok either way, but most folks like a bit of a "House curve" down low and if you plan to do that, you need to apply your filters after audyssey as it will negate what you do if you applied that curve before-hand in Audyssey's hope to flatten your response back out.

The only rub I have is the same one you do, unless the subs are planned to be co-located, or equidistant on left and right from the MLP, eqing them separate with audyssey and then as one with the sms-1 would cause issues. Either let audyssey EQ them as one, as well as the sms-1, or eq each one separately.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

beastaudio is online now  
post #7478 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 08:54 AM
Member
 
Homebrew101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 30
some one asked about "turn on sequence" and I was wondering about that albeit regarding my amps and the AV8801. I have always turned my pre-amp on before powering up my amps but since the 8801 is just in standby mode and not completely powered off as I understand it, is it necessary to take the 8801 off of standby before powering up my amps?
Homebrew101 is offline  
post #7479 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 09:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
KevinH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homebrew101 View Post

some one asked about "turn on sequence" and I was wondering about that albeit regarding my amps and the AV8801. I have always turned my pre-amp on before powering up my amps but since the 8801 is just in standby mode and not completely powered off as I understand it, is it necessary to take the 8801 off of standby before powering up my amps?

I've had zero handshake issues or audio drops with my 8801 and Oppo 105. I have HDMI 1 going straight to projector and HDMI 2 to the 8801 for processing. My 5-channel amp is triggered by my 8801. I usually power on my projector first, then the 8801...which then triggers on the amp, then the 105, then manually turn on my subs.

-Kevin

Epson 5020UB 1080p 3LCD projector

Screen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge 1.4 110" 16:9

Marantz AV8801 pre/pro

Wyred4Sound 5-channel amp

Oppo BDP-105

Darbee Darblet

JTR 3TX LCRs

JTR Single8 HT-LP surrounds

twin JTR Orbit Shifter LF subwoofers

GIK Acoustic room treatments

KevinH is offline  
post #7480 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
nucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: scotland
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 25
That's me set up my marantz AV-8801 with the Audyssey pro kit, well what can I say it sounds incredible. I didn't think it would make that much of a difference boy was I wrong totally amazing.

AV Denon POA-T2-T3 power amps, Oppo-103D , PS4, HD JVC DLA-X3 projector, Subs 2 (DIY) fi ht15 subs inuke dsp 6000. Speakers Dali Helicon 400 C200 phantom ikon in wall & 4 phantom kompas 6m in ceiling, Mark grant cables.
nucky is online now  
post #7481 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by nucky View Post

That's me set up my marantz AV-8801 with the Audyssey pro kit, well what can I say it sounds incredible. I didn't think it would make that much of a difference boy was I wrong totally amazing.



Glad to heat that!
comfynumb is offline  
post #7482 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinH View Post

I've had zero handshake issues or audio drops with my 8801 and Oppo 105. I have HDMI 1 going straight to projector and HDMI 2 to the 8801 for processing. My 5-channel amp is triggered by my 8801. I usually power on my projector first, then the 8801...which then triggers on the amp, then the 105, then manually turn on my subs.

+1, 8801/105 and zero handshake issues , the 8801 in my case triggers my Anthem MCA 30 and Halo A21 and my sub is on auto turn on and kicks on at around -31 db on the volume .
audiofan1 is online now  
post #7483 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by nucky View Post

That's me set up my marantz AV-8801 with the Audyssey pro kit, well what can I say it sounds incredible. I didn't think it would make that much of a difference boy was I wrong totally amazing.

Finally got it nucky ! I'm saving this as a treat when i've played around a little more with a few aftermarket cables , isolation platforms and rear wall diffusion ( GIK qrd) but good to hear it gets better wink.gif
audiofan1 is online now  
post #7484 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 02:13 PM
Member
 
Homebrew101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinH View Post

I've had zero handshake issues or audio drops with my 8801 and Oppo 105. I have HDMI 1 going straight to projector and HDMI 2 to the 8801 for processing. My 5-channel amp is triggered by my 8801. I usually power on my projector first, then the 8801...which then triggers on the amp, then the 105, then manually turn on my subs.

Thanks but I'm not asking because of HDMI handshake issues rather the possibility of blowing a amp's fuse if turned on before the 8801. Can anyone comment on this current/power situation?

Is standby mode safe for high power amp turn-ons?
Homebrew101 is offline  
post #7485 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin C Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 3,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

With the Oppo 95, you want to connect HDMI 1 directly from the Oppo 95 to your display.
Connect HDMI 2 to the Marantz.
On the Oppo, turn off audio on HDMI 1. That'll send a cleaner signal out HDMI 1 to the display.
Also, turn off deep color on HDMI 1.

This is exactly how I do it with the BDP-95, the 8801, and my plasma. No handshake issues here. smile.gif

If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Kevin C Brown is offline  
post #7486 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 02:15 PM
Member
 
Homebrew101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 30
and I'm not referring to long walks on the beach cool.gif
Homebrew101 is offline  
post #7487 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 02:18 PM
The Truth Hz
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,429
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 462 Post(s)
Liked: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homebrew101 View Post

Thanks but I'm not asking because of HDMI handshake issues rather the possibility of blowing a amp's fuse if turned on before the 8801. Can anyone comment on this current/power situation?

Is standby mode safe for high power amp turn-ons?

You should be just fine. The turn on voltage of the 8801 is contained in the power supply and the 12v trigger, you should have any kind of surge going through the RCA or XLR's upon turn on. If you do then some much more serious issues are happening.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

beastaudio is online now  
post #7488 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
ezrangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post

+1, 8801/105 and zero handshake issues , the 8801 in my case triggers my Anthem MCA 30 and Halo A21 and my sub is on auto turn on and kicks on at around -31 db on the volume .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin C Brown View Post

This is exactly how I do it with the BDP-95, the 8801, and my plasma. No handshake issues here. smile.gif

I did the same thing: HDMI 1 to the projector (video only) and hdmi 2 to the 8801.
It seems to solve the problem.
Thanks again.

Sorry for bad english...
ezrangel is offline  
post #7489 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 04:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
craig john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 10,292
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 311
Without going back through the entire thread, do we know the crossover LPF and HPF slopes? Since this is not a THX certified pre/pro, (which would dictate 2nd/4th slopes), it would be nice to know if the slopes will work with speakers designed for THX-type crossovers. I am strongly considering replacing my Integra 80.2 with an 8801. However, I want to be sure the Bass Management will work as well with the Marantz as it does with my THX-certified Integra. TIA!

Craig

Lombardi said it:
Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

craig john is offline  
post #7490 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Went from 80.2 to 8801. Do not know the specs of the Marantz xover, but the sound is BETTER.
jmschnur is offline  
post #7491 of 12127 Old 08-08-2013, 10:40 PM
Senior Member
 
WilsonL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmschnur View Post

Lots of good suggestions; Also be sure to update to the latest firmware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post

Welcome to the club smile.gif did you go through the initial setup ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DHF View Post

Give us a little more to work with here. For example - on the Directv receiver - what does your monitor tell you it is displaying? What does the Dtv receiver say it is outputting. Finally on the 8801 - go into the menu and check what the Marantz is getting for a signal and putting out. Be specific - 1080i 60 hz, 1080 P 24 hz?

Also let us know what your video settings are on the Marantz. I have had 3 different Directv receivers hook up without a hitch - and I have 2 monitors - one is tiny (50" diagonal) and only does 720/1080 I. The other one is manly - 108" and takes on all comers - up to 1080P. The Marantz can tell which monitor is on and wont feed it a signal that it cant take.

Flickering on the WDTV box could be crappy HDMI connection - or possibly 24/60Hz.

HDMI cables can be a problem - not to say that's it - but do swap cables to see if there is one behaving badly.

Thanks guys!
I tried looking into the menu, where do you findout what the signal source info is on the marantz?
I just update to the latest firmware on the WD, Marantz, and Sony, and everything is working., YAY!!

Did not have enough time to check the DirectV yet, hope it works.

This is one great sounding AV unit!!!
WilsonL is offline  
post #7492 of 12127 Old 08-09-2013, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
ezrangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
With the handshake problem solved, I could appreciate the sound of the Marantz.
Coming from a Onkyo 805 receierv, I can say that it´s a huge upgrade, the definition and separation of channels is amazing, without loosing the ambience.
The new Audyssey is great, it did a real nice job on equalization, but it got wrong some distances and levels. Question: if I manually change these parameters (distance and level) , will I loose the whole Audyssey setup and equalization?
Also, I didnt get the point for using Audyssey flat... can anyone clear that for me?
Tks.

Sorry for bad english...
ezrangel is offline  
post #7493 of 12127 Old 08-09-2013, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
GerryWaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still enjoying the AV8801. smile.gif Best purchase this year.

One benefit from the last update for us was that auto-shutoff started working with that firmware upgrade. Didn't work before then.

Anyway, when we watch cable TV, we have an issue with just one channel--BBC America. The wife loves Doctor Who and we just started watching Broadchurch.

Our setup is 7.1 and the sound balance, after numerous runs with Audyssey is great with everything--except BBC America. It seems certain shows have the rear channels mixed too loud. Drives the wife bonkers since we sit closer to the rears than the fronts. Only BBC America shows do that to her. I usually end up switching to stereo to please here.

Anyone else experience something like that? If so, how do you handle it with the AV8801?

Thanks!
GerryWaz is offline  
post #7494 of 12127 Old 08-09-2013, 08:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Gerry

I doubt it has anything to do with the 8801. It's just processing what it gets.

I'd do the same thing that you're doing meaning put it on stereo.

If BBC America shows up on your PBS affiliate, you might want to see if an OTA antenna resolves the problem.

Also check to see if you have a group for your location here on AVS forum and see what their experiences are.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #7495 of 12127 Old 08-09-2013, 08:33 AM
The Truth Hz
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,429
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 462 Post(s)
Liked: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by craig john View Post

Without going back through the entire thread, do we know the crossover LPF and HPF slopes? Since this is not a THX certified pre/pro, (which would dictate 2nd/4th slopes), it would be nice to know if the slopes will work with speakers designed for THX-type crossovers. I am strongly considering replacing my Integra 80.2 with an 8801. However, I want to be sure the Bass Management will work as well with the Marantz as it does with my THX-certified Integra. TIA!

Craig

You will be fine here. The THX certification is really only something that Onkyo likes (and pays) to put on their receivers. The added features are cool, but in many cases not desirable. The 2nd and 4th slopes are the same layout so you will be in good shape.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

beastaudio is online now  
post #7496 of 12127 Old 08-09-2013, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezrangel View Post

With the handshake problem solved, I could appreciate the sound of the Marantz.
Coming from a Onkyo 805 receierv, I can say that it´s a huge upgrade, the definition and separation of channels is amazing, without loosing the ambience.
The new Audyssey is great, it did a real nice job on equalization, but it got wrong some distances and levels. Question: if I manually change these parameters (distance and level) , will I loose the whole Audyssey setup and equalization?
Also, I didnt get the point for using Audyssey flat... can anyone clear that for me?
Tks.

Manually changing distance or levels won't affect Audyssey's calibration of frequency response.


However remember that the distances and level settings are determined by what Audyssey actually measured in your room. Subwoofers in particular usually have a significant delay in the sound they produce because of their electronics. This delay produces the same result as if the speaker were more distant from the listening position.

If you haven't already done so, please take the time to read the Audyssey 101 and FAQ at http://www.avsforum.com/t/795421/official-audyssey-thread-faq-in-post-1/51750#post_21782993
Those pages describe this effect and other details which the 8801's manual omits.

Audyssey flat often is more appropriate for music. The other setting is primarily intended for movies. Its high-frequency roll-off compensates for the high-frequency enhancement provided in the sound track which is needed in commercial movie theaters.
erhurd likes this.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #7497 of 12127 Old 08-09-2013, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
What is the use of the proxy server in the net work menu?
jmschnur is offline  
post #7498 of 12127 Old 08-09-2013, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
bwv1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I want to get more use from my subwoofer in my multi-channel system. Most of my SACDs are 5.0, and obviously, none of my RBCDs will send any signal to it. So, I thought I'd plug my woofer into the Zone Two outputs on my 8801, but I don't get any signal (I also tried Zone 3 to no avail). Everything looks OK via the setup menu, so I don't know why I don't get any signal. Suggestions?

DALI Epicon 2 front speakers; DALI Epicon Vokal center speaker; Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000 surrounds; SVS SB 13 Ultra subwoofer; Marantz AV 8801 pre/pro; Parasound Halo A51 power amp; Sony XA5400ES SACD player; Oppo BDP 105 SACD/Blu-ray player; Sennheiser HD 800 headphones; Woo Audio WA6 headphone amp.
bwv1080 is offline  
post #7499 of 12127 Old 08-09-2013, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
chatanika's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
set your speakers to small which will send bass to the sub.
chatanika is offline  
post #7500 of 12127 Old 08-09-2013, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwv1080 View Post

I want to get more use from my subwoofer in my multi-channel system. Most of my SACDs are 5.0, and obviously, none of my RBCDs will send any signal to it. So, I thought I'd plug my woofer into the Zone Two outputs on my 8801, but I don't get any signal (I also tried Zone 3 to no avail). Everything looks OK via the setup menu, so I don't know why I don't get any signal. Suggestions?

Here are a couple of things to try!

1. for multi/ch sacd use Audyssey Dynamic EQ and use 5 from reference or 0 as this will restore a lot of lost bass on 5.0 sacd, you may or may not like it , I do on some recordings

2. for cd use the LFE+main setting in the manual speaker settings
audiofan1 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off