Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 313 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9361 of 11976 Old 11-30-2013, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

Off topic but I'm wondering if jriver manages HD downloads? Can you put all of your music purchases in there no matter where they are from? Also how is everyone connecting jriver to the 8801 AirPlay?

J River is a DLNA controller so you can push music to the AV8801.
Their iPad app is very nice for select from your indexed library.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9362 of 11976 Old 11-30-2013, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

J River is a DLNA controller so you can push music to the AV8801.
Their iPad app is very nice for select from your indexed library.

- Rich



I'm a little DLNA illiterate. Is your laptop DLNA compatible and jriver plays through your network?
comfynumb is offline  
post #9363 of 11976 Old 11-30-2013, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

I'm a little DLNA illiterate. Is your laptop DLNA compatible and jriver plays through your network?

Digital Living Network Alliance allows you to stream music across your network.
You load J River on a PC somewhere, Add to you main library the path to your music rips.
Then, it categorizes it and allows you to browse by genre, artist, album, etc. and play your music.

J River will find your AV8801 device as a renderer and push the music across the network wired or wireless.
There are android and iPad apps that can display your library to select and play music.
I use the iPad app but instead of using DLNA I use the USB DAC on the BDP-105 which acts like a sound card on the PC.

Once you get it working, it is a great way to find and play your collection.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #9364 of 11976 Old 11-30-2013, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Digital Living Network Alliance allows you to stream music across your network.
You load J River on a PC somewhere, Add to you main library the path to your music rips.
Then, it categorizes it and allows you to browse by genre, artist, album, etc. and play your music.

J River will find your AV8801 device as a renderer and push the music across the network wired or wireless.
There are android and iPad apps that can display your library to select and play music.
I use the iPad app but instead of using DLNA I use the USB DAC on the BDP-105 which acts like a sound card on the PC.

Once you get it working, it is a great way to find and play your collection.

- Rich



Thanks Rich, I really need to do this it sounds really convenient. Do you lose any SQ versus CD's? On my network now is my Netgear router that is DLNA compatible and my Panny panel.
comfynumb is offline  
post #9365 of 11976 Old 11-30-2013, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

Thanks Rich, I really need to do this it sounds really convenient. Do you lose any SQ versus CD's? On my network now is my Netgear router that is DLNA compatible and my Panny panel.

I don't believe anything other than a functioning networks is required.
Other than whatever processing occurs in the PC there should be no loss in quality.

- Rich
comfynumb likes this.

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #9366 of 11976 Old 11-30-2013, 07:40 PM
Member
 
Norcuron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I just picked up a WD Live Media Player and am very impressed so far. I copied a ton of movies and FLAC music. Everything playing flawless so far. I bought a 4 TB hd at Costco and it all connects to my 8801 via HDMI. What a neat product under a hundred bucks.

Marantz AV 8801 Processor
Sunfire Signature Amp 400x7
Oppo DV971H DVD Player
PS3
PS4
Klipsch RF-7
Klispch RS-7
Klipsch RC-7
Sharp Aquos 80; 3D Quattron
Power Sound Audio Triax Subwoofer
Norcuron is offline  
post #9367 of 11976 Old 11-30-2013, 09:12 PM
Newbie
 
gianni1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi mate. Thanks for your comments. My decision to go 8801, would be easier if the price were not Doyle the 7701, I hear what your saying. But how does the 7701 compare and the sr7008. I know I'd be missing out on the xlr inputs and full audyssey. Do i really need the xlr inputs on the amp, I'm totally new to xlr so don't know if i will heat the difference. My system will be all in one rack, so no long cable runs. I'm told music is best using analog, is that true? Are both these features worth the price jump? And if I went the receiver option, would the internal power be good enough for the surrounds? I'm thinking if I went 7701 or 7008, I could always upgrade my music with another preamp. Our is that stupid? Appreciate your thoughts, am I making a good choice using the parasound a23 x two for the surrounds, or is one of the marantz power amps a better choice. I'm sticking with the a31 for the front three channels Thou.



quote name="audiofan1" url="/t/1431914/marantz-av8801-preamp-processor-official-owners-thread/9360#post_24013355"]
I have a similar setup and would highly recommend the 8801 for your setup. I use an Oppo 105 and Parasound Halo A21 along with an Anthem MCA 30. My goal was the same as yours combine a 2/ch multich setup, to my surprise the addition of a separate 2/ch pre was nowhere near necessary with the 8801 and not by a long shot as it proved to get the job done in a stand alone maner, I run the 105 balanced and rca for 2/ch and the Hdmi from the Oppo is set to bitstream to the 8801 for all multi/ch (movies & sacd) to which along with Audyssey is simply extraordinary. As for the dac's being the same in the 8801 and Oppo 105 they are not, only the Oppo uses the ESS Sabre 9018, both are 32 bit and you'll find having both the only way to go!

There are many here with the 8801 /Oppo 105 or 95 or other models and some with Halo's as well ( and some with other great amps Emo's & Sunfire come to mind) besides myself and can't say enough about this combo as it truly represents the current STOTA !

8801 and call it a day wink.gif[/quote]
gianni1 is offline  
post #9368 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
mvision7m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sullivan County, New York
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hello again everyone.

So I have my 8801 up and running well. My sources are currently an OPPO BDP-95 which is connected with both HDMI and via the 7.1 analog outputs to the 8801 and an Apple TV connected with HDMI.

With the OPPO, I initially had it’s HDMI output setting set to bitstream and for whatever reason I got no audio using that output format. I switched the output setting to LPCM and the audio worked although I cannot figure out why bitstream didn’t work when the 8801 does supposedly accept that input format. If anyone knows a legitimate reason that bitstream won’t work please let me know.

After running Audyssey, the sound from my system (Paradigm Studio 100s V.4 fronts/CC690 center channel/Bose 201 rears/SVS SB13 Ultra sub and Emotiva XPA-2 + XPA-3 amps) is improved over what I was getting with the Yamaha RX-V3800 that the 8801 replaced. Although I have the 7.1 output connected to the 8801, I may only use those outputs for SACD/DVD-A CDs and (Stereo outs) CDs but will stick with HDMI for blu-rays and DVDs. The sound is more expansive, alive especially in the rear channels and pans across the front soundstage as well as front to rear are wonderful plus the bass is powerful but more controlled than before.

So, I’m happy overall with the sound so far but as dumb as it might sound, I’m still a little confused about the “movie” and “music” sound fields. The “pure” sound mode works as expected but the others seem less straight forward or understandable as to how to use them correctly and effectively. The Yamaha had movie sound fields that were bettered defined and explained, it was easier to know whether you were in a movie sound field such as “action/adventure”, “standard”, “drama” or “mono” or in a direct (straight)/pure mode and the same goes for music sound fields. The Yamaha had different venue names/types to identify the different music sound fields and each sounded markedly different. While attempting to use the “music” modes, the 8801 just seems to cycle between “virtual”, “stereo” and “multichannel stereo”.

I know it’s a matter of preference but do most of you have bass output set to just LFE or to LFE + Main?

Thanks.
mvision7m is offline  
post #9369 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 09:00 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,831
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
^^
1. In order to bitstream, on the Oppo, Secondary Audio Program must be turned OFF.
2. The MOVIE modes will emphasize the center channel where the majority of the dialogue is heard, while the MUSIC modes will emphasize the FL/FR speakers.
3. The default LFE setting is preferred to avoid "double bass" using the LFE+MAIN setting.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9370 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
mvision7m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sullivan County, New York
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
1. In order to bitstream, on the Oppo, Secondary Audio Program just be turned OFF.
2. The MOVIE modes will emphasize the center channel where the majority of the dialogue is heard, while the MUSIC modes will emphasize the FL/FR speakers.
3. The default LFE setting is preferred to avoid "double bass" using the LFE+MAIN setting.

Thanks for the info.
mvision7m is offline  
post #9371 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 11:11 AM
Newbie
 
Sleep1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all!!
I have a marantz 8801 for over 6 months and yesterday all my video output stopped working .

I tried all component, hdmi and composite outputs without sucess. I tried to reset , different cables, different tvs and projector and all i got its sound . My only problem is no video whenever i put.
I also did after the problem a firmware update and everything stood like before.

Anyone have any idea?
What kind of part could be malfunction with that symptoms ?

Thank you
Sleep1234 is offline  
post #9372 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvision7m View Post

Thanks for the info.



I failed to mention that and the same thing happened to me. So was that the problem?
comfynumb is offline  
post #9373 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleep1234 View Post

Hi all!!
I have a marantz 8801 for over 6 months and yesterday all my video output stopped working .

I tried all component, hdmi and composite outputs without sucess. I tried to reset , different cables, different tvs and projector and all i got its sound . My only problem is no video whenever i put.
I also did after the problem a firmware update and everything stood like before.

Anyone have any idea?
What kind of part could be malfunction with that symptoms ?

Thank you

Possibly a bad video processor board? I'd try a factory reset and see if that works.

David Vaughn

Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer

Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)

Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #9374 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 12:26 PM
Newbie
 
Sleep1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can i do the factory reset? Its the same as push game and sleep while turn on?
If yes ive already did...

How much is a video processor board?
Sleep1234 is offline  
post #9375 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 12:35 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,831
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
^^
Try unplugging the 8801 for about 10 minutes. Then when powering back on press/hold the MOVIE and MUSIC buttons for at least 4-5 seconds.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9376 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 01:00 PM
Newbie
 
Sleep1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried either and nothing changed, still no video.
Sleep1234 is offline  
post #9377 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
mvision7m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sullivan County, New York
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

I failed to mention that and the same thing happened to me. So was that the problem?

I can't be sure yet. I haven't had an opportunity to test it completely, as far as I knew I always had secondary audio off either way. I thought it possibly had something to do with DTS Master Audio output by the OPPO or input to the 8801. I'll have to try different discs/formats later or tomorrow when I get a chance. Thanks again.
mvision7m is offline  
post #9378 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 01:46 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,831
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleep1234 View Post

I tried either and nothing changed, still no video.

That's unfortunate then to be sure. frown.gif Was there a recent thunderstorm in your area as that could very well cause this issue?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9379 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
Sleep1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes!!! We have one here
My biggest problem is that im living now at Brazil and i dont think Marantz dealers here will change my 8801. It only has 8 months.
Tomorrow ill try to call marantz here and at Us and see what can be done.
Thank you so much for your attention.
I really think that only a rma can be done at this point.
But i need to know what should be done for that.
Do you know if its too complex to change a video processor? Expensive?
Maybe ill send to USA ....
Sleep1234 is offline  
post #9380 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 02:46 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,831
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
It's not likely the video processor, rather more likely the HDMI board which can go for $400 USD to replace.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9381 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 03:10 PM
Newbie
 
Sleep1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even when the composite and component output isn't working is the hdmi board?
Sleep1234 is offline  
post #9382 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 03:57 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,831
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Unless you were also testing with component/composite video "inputs", there is no HDMI --> analog conversion.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9383 of 11976 Old 12-01-2013, 07:19 PM
Newbie
 
Sleep1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I know that hdmi input is working cause i can listen to music but no OSD or any image.

 

When i connect only component output, without any hdmi device or component doenst work either.

 

Lets see what i can do with my local dealer tomorrow.

Sleep1234 is offline  
post #9384 of 11976 Old 12-03-2013, 05:21 PM
Member
 
spentmuch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: MI
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22

Ahh...What a sense of accomplishment!  I just sawed like a guy having his last wank and cut out a nice 4 X 4 square in the side of my cabinet. Now mounted is a an exhaust fan that moves 52 cfm and is inaudible from where one would sit. The amplifiers run at least 10 degrees cooler and now there's so much more air in the upper treble region. ;)

spentmuch is offline  
post #9385 of 11976 Old 12-04-2013, 02:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by spentmuch View Post

Ahh...What a sense of accomplishment!  I just sawed like a guy having his last wank and cut out a nice 4 X 4 square in the side of my cabinet. Now mounted is a an exhaust fan that moves 52 cfm and is inaudible from where one would sit. The amplifiers run at least 10 degrees cooler and now there's so much more air in the upper treble region. wink.gif



Nice job! My dedicated fans will be here today so no more ugly fans for me wink.gif
comfynumb is offline  
post #9386 of 11976 Old 12-04-2013, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 407
If anyone is looking for a good low speed fan for a reasonable price this is it, and the AC cord has an on and off switch. I put 4 self stick rubber pads on the bottom and it's drawing air up out of the 8801. I also Velcro'd one to the side of my Sunfire amp biggrin.gif
Looks like I bought the last 3 of them but I'm sure they'll restock them.


http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B009OWVUJ0/ref=redir_mdp_mobile?ref_=cm_sw_su_dp



comfynumb is offline  
post #9387 of 11976 Old 12-04-2013, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
g_bartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: cleveland, oh
Posts: 3,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 55
My 8801 is on the top of an open reck, inside a small dedicated closet. I keep the door cracked open and a tower fan on when the system is on use. I bought one of those small fans like the one mentioned above. Is it better to have it blowing down into the 8801 or drawing the hot air out?

g_bartman is offline  
post #9388 of 11976 Old 12-04-2013, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by g_bartman View Post

My 8801 is on the top of an open reck, inside a small dedicated closet. I keep the door cracked open and a tower fan on when the system is on use. I bought one of those small fans like the one mentioned above. Is it better to have it blowing down into the 8801 or drawing the hot air out?



Your probably all right as is. Since I changed racks mines been cooler but thought it still was a little warm. From what I understand it's better if you draw air out of the pre or amp not let it blow into it. That's the rumor anyway smile.gif
comfynumb is offline  
post #9389 of 11976 Old 12-04-2013, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I use a Coolerguys fan and blow air out of my built-in unit. I also installed two above my amp. Just moving the air a few inches above the units makes a HUGE difference (over 20 degrees lower).


David Vaughn

Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer

Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)

Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #9390 of 11976 Old 12-04-2013, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
mikepinkerton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just bought my 8801 a week or so ago, and noticed that when I use AirPlay, the video signal on the TV flashes the lower half of the screen green regularly. None of my video sources have ever done this, it's specific to the video signal for the AirPlay functionality in the 8801. Does anyone else see this?

I'm using HDMI, only zone 1.

-mike
mikepinkerton is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off