Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 351 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10501 of 12267 Old 02-12-2014, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Deremote is kinda buggy on the 8801 and it doesnt grey out the features that are not specific to the 8801. It also wont work at all if you happen to have a control4 system controller connected to your unit (at least in my setup).

The basic marantz app remote is fairly configurable and works fairly well but does rely on the onscreen menu a lot more. It works fine for me despite having the control4 controller connected to my marantz 8801.

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10502 of 12267 Old 02-12-2014, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
No it's not, I've been using it for around 9 months on the 8801. As with many network based apps within istuff, usually all you have to do is close it in your quick menu and reopen it. Once you get to know the app it functions nearly flawless wink.gif


No trim level adjustments in the Marantz app is a deal breaker for me. I understand if you like it and like most things AV it's subjective.
comfynumb is offline  
post #10503 of 12267 Old 02-12-2014, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

No it's not, I've been using it for around 9 months on the 8801. As with many network based apps within istuff, usually all you have to do is close it in your quick menu and reopen it. Once you get to know the app it functions nearly flawless wink.gif


No trim level adjustments in the Marantz app is a deal breaker for me. I understand if you like it and like most things AV it's subjective.

Im fairly happy with the dialogue enhancement so i dont have to adust trim for center. Bass is not something i feel the need to regularly boost either. Without the need for trim controls, the marantz remote is decent.

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
post #10504 of 12267 Old 02-12-2014, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazar View Post

Im fairly happy with the dialogue enhancement so i dont have to adust trim for center. Bass is not something i feel the need to regularly boost either. Without the need for trim controls, the marantz remote is decent.



Cool smile.gif
comfynumb is offline  
post #10505 of 12267 Old 02-12-2014, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Hard to tell from the vid but the 8801's phono stage is darn good IMO.

This is the stereo mode in 2.2 and I hope you all like the blues boogie style biggrin.gif



http://youtu.be/usQ6fEVLvCQ
Webmonkey likes this.
comfynumb is offline  
post #10506 of 12267 Old 02-12-2014, 03:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

Hard to tell from the vid but the 8801's phono stage is darn good IMO.

This is the stereo mode in 2.2 and I hope you all like the blues boogie style biggrin.gif



http://youtu.be/usQ6fEVLvCQ

Do you really need the fan on it in an open rack???
Webmonkey is offline  
post #10507 of 12267 Old 02-12-2014, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webmonkey View Post

Do you really need the fan on it in an open rack???



Hi, IMO yes, I like to crank it on occasion and she gets pretty warm. There's also one Velcro'd to the Sunfire amp on the right side vent pulling warm air out. I've found without it the amp gets hot back by the switch on the rear panel when it's in for a long time. It's 8 + years old and sounds great so why change up now smile.gif
Mad Norseman likes this.
comfynumb is offline  
post #10508 of 12267 Old 02-12-2014, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
blueblooded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I connect through cable connection it will loose HDMI quality as I am getting HD channels, isn't it? Airplay used only for music no video. For video I have NAS server 20tb which has digitized copies of my movies even my music videos and songs are there. So I am using DS Video application to play movies on Samsung TV and sound from Monitor Audio, same for music there is an app DS audio listening music I prefer DS Audio then airplay. Kind of set up is good but want full advantage of my system.
Nobody knows about limit in Marantz Amp output, why it is switching off?
blueblooded is offline  
post #10509 of 12267 Old 02-12-2014, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
matthewa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueblooded View Post

If I connect through cable connection it will loose HDMI quality as I am getting HD channels, isn't it? Airplay used only for music no video. For video I have NAS server 20tb which has digitized copies of my movies even my music videos and songs are there. So I am using DS Video application to play movies on Samsung TV and sound from Monitor Audio, same for music there is an app DS audio listening music I prefer DS Audio then airplay. Kind of set up is good but want full advantage of my system.
Nobody knows about limit in Marantz Amp output, why it is switching off?
A processor like 8801 is all about video and audio switching so you won't loose HD quality going through it from a cable box. I don't know why it's going into protection, unless your amps / cables are creating some sort of voltage issue or feedback?
blueblooded likes this.
matthewa is offline  
post #10510 of 12267 Old 02-13-2014, 05:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 7,421
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 618 Post(s)
Liked: 466
An amplifier going into protection mode usually means that there is a short between speaker connections. Double check both of the ends of all of the speaker cables. Make sure there is no thin, almost invisible, wire touching from one to the adjacent connector. Less capable amps often go into protection mode when trying to drive 4 Ohm speakers at high sound levels. This should not be the case with a Marantz amplifier.

Another cause of going into protection mode is overheating due to lack of air flow. There must be several inches of clearance on both sides and the top. Otherwise you must provide an external fan.

Less likely would be a failure in the amplifier itself.
blueblooded likes this.

Selden

Marantz SR7009/7.1.4/FH+TM/DefTech PM1000/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #10511 of 12267 Old 02-13-2014, 05:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,387
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 762 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post

An amplifier going into protection mode usually means that there is a short between speaker connections. Double check both of the ends of all of the speaker cables. Make sure there is no thin, almost invisible, wire touching from one to the adjacent connector. Less capable amps often go into protection mode when trying to drive 4 Ohm speakers at high sound levels. This should not be the case with a Marantz amplifier.

Another cause of going into protection mode is overheating due to lack of air flow. There must be several inches of clearance on both sides and the top. Otherwise you must provide an external fan.

Less likely would be a failure in the amplifier itself.

+1. Good list of common reasons for amps to go into protect mode.

There also is a failure mode of loudspeakers, namely voice coil rubbing that may cause their impedance to become exceptionally low and cause the amp to go into protect mode unexpectedly
blueblooded likes this.
arnyk is offline  
post #10512 of 12267 Old 02-13-2014, 07:23 AM
Member
 
gertjand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ok ok... it's seems to wake up. At first I was a little disappointed by sound quality (mainly while listening stereo): soundstage, depth, all a bit flat (Learned not to say byte wink.gif. No playing kings of leon with airplay from Macmini it's getting a lot better I must say after some "burn in" time. People have the same experience?

Kings of Leon: Closer (Presets Remix): paint is coming from the walls...pretty dynamic smile.gif
audiofan1 likes this.
gertjand is offline  
post #10513 of 12267 Old 02-13-2014, 08:21 AM
Member
 
gertjand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

There are a gazillion jazz stations online and any kind of rock you'd like. I enjoy the challenge of finding the right quality station I'm looking for and currently have 30 high quality stations stored. Some have more adds than others which reminds me I just upped the bounty on "Flo" from progressive to $5,000 biggrin.gif

Still a kind of a Noob here. What's "Flo"? I Hope it doesn't mean I have to go to the hardware store smile.gif
gertjand is offline  
post #10514 of 12267 Old 02-13-2014, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by gertjand View Post



Still a kind of a Noob here. What's "Flo"? I Hope it doesn't mean I have to go to the hardware store smile.gif

Noob - this is Flo

erhurd likes this.

Reggie
Family Room:70" Sharp Elite/Marantz AV8801/MM8077/GoldenEar:Triton Ones (superseding Triton 2s), SuperCenter XL center channel, and SuperSat 60surrounds/Oppo BDP-105/Directv Genie/ HP Notebook
Basement: 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000/Marantz AV8003/Marantz MM8003/PSB Stratus Gold Front,Center,Left, Surrounds
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #10515 of 12267 Old 02-13-2014, 04:27 PM
Newbie
 
blueblooded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys thanks a lot for replies and comments, to clarify, i am using bi-wire(2X2) cable from Chord for center, FR and FL , 2 pair connected together from one side for amplifier output speaker side is individual 4 connection 2 red 2 black. so as per "specialist"(dealer) I have removed jumpers from black and red connection(golden plate) using banana plug but not soldered. Speaker indeed 4 Ohm, that is my real concern as it stated Amplifier for 6-8 Ohm speakers. Also read in forum that it shouldn't be the issue as Marantz amplifier even though rated for 6 Ohm it works with 4 Ohm speakers. Regarding ventilation: it is open rack, has 10 cm distance from each side of the wall. I am also suspecting or wires or speakers, is there anyway to check speaker for above problem(voice coil rubbing)?
It is only happens when volume level on 81. My dealer telling me it is because amplifier protecting speakers, I can understand it but it is the system which he recommended.
One more question for Gurus: He told me for Sub(Velodyne 15 in) I need RCA split-ter and from there 2 separate sub (rca) cable going to sub connection, as I have limited space (3.3 m width of the wall near tv) I put sub on the right wall near sofa, then did Audissey calibration of speakers using mic and tripod, so I dont get sub sound during playing movie or music, even I can see sub output is on the screen of 8801. Is it could be because of location of sub? or again connection problem? Audissey was calibrating sub as well as I could here voice from sub.
I am attaching pictures, no good quality as we gonna change our house (maybe), set up was only for checking system, as I am planning for custom build table(will be placed in center near TV) where I will put Blu Ray player, PS3, Amp and PreAmp, printer, Nas Server, hub , ADSL bridge, sat box) As I read 60 cm should be enough distance for FR speaker from sidewall. right? Minimum distance from back wall should be 30 cm.
Once I finish this setup will placed nice pictures( next step: projector and screen-right now hunting for info, my budget 3000-5000 USD).

blueblooded is offline  
post #10516 of 12267 Old 02-13-2014, 08:21 PM
Member
 
Masterkale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gertjand View Post

Ok ok... it's seems to wake up. At first I was a little disappointed by sound quality (mainly while listening stereo): soundstage, depth, all a bit flat (Learned not to say byte wink.gif. No playing kings of leon with airplay from Macmini it's getting a lot better I must say after some "burn in" time. People have the same experience?

Kings of Leon: Closer (Presets Remix): paint is coming from the walls...pretty dynamic smile.gif

The audyssey makes the sound more flatter than the direct mode.

I know the Av8801 is ok in stereo but it can be much better,
Masterkale is offline  
post #10517 of 12267 Old 02-13-2014, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SeattleHTGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Puget Sound, WA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterkale View Post

The audyssey makes the sound more flatter than the direct mode.

I know the Av8801 is ok in stereo but it can be much better,

What does this mean? Much better is about as subjective as to point to the extreme. Audyssey attempts to correct for speakers, room, etc... "Much Better" is just two words stuck together.... No disrespect but not very helpful or AV "Science" based. Also how on earth does a full solid state device "burn in"? Do the wires get looser, moister, more velvety? Does the wire reduce its tannin content? Weird stuff being posted..... me thinks.
beastaudio likes this.
SeattleHTGuy is offline  
post #10518 of 12267 Old 02-13-2014, 11:58 PM
Member
 
Masterkale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The best is to listnen to the av8801 and a tuned av8801 or bryston sp3 without audyssey. Everybody wants depth 3d soundstage in their sound but the audyssey makes it 2d and looses dynamics.
Masterkale is offline  
post #10519 of 12267 Old 02-14-2014, 12:48 AM
Senior Member
 
matthewa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Have
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterkale View Post

The best is to listnen to the av8801 and a tuned av8801 or bryston sp3 without audyssey. Everybody wants depth 3d soundstage in their sound but the audyssey makes it 2d and looses dynamics.
Have you done your cinemike upgrade yet? How are you finding it?
matthewa is offline  
post #10520 of 12267 Old 02-14-2014, 12:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterkale View Post

The best is to listnen to the av8801 and a tuned av8801 or bryston sp3 without audyssey. Everybody wants depth 3d soundstage in their sound but the audyssey makes it 2d and looses dynamics.

I'm sitting here listening to Bruckners 7th Paavo jarvi & hr -Sinfonieorchester sacd with Audyssey engaged and talk about 3d depth , placement of instruments and possibly one of the best playback of brass recorded. How ? the 8801 , a proper Audyssey setup and simple know how of system setup. And as for dynamics , oh boy that a 8801 strong suit and when the Orchestra goes full tilt I'm convinced by sheer scale wink.gif
Ralph Potts and nucky like this.
audiofan1 is offline  
post #10521 of 12267 Old 02-14-2014, 02:27 AM
Member
 
gertjand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeattleHTGuy View Post

What does this mean? Much better is about as subjective as to point to the extreme. Audyssey attempts to correct for speakers, room, etc... "Much Better" is just two words stuck together.... No disrespect but not very helpful or AV "Science" based. Also how on earth does a full solid state device "burn in"? Do the wires get looser, moister, more velvety? Does the wire reduce its tannin content? Weird stuff being posted..... me thinks.
Weird stuff indeed. I don't know. Did read the term (burn in). What I noticed that it start to sound better after some play time (40 hours) or so. Could be my imagination as well. So my question was, did other people notice this as well or is my cognitive dissonance mechanism playing with me:)
gertjand is offline  
post #10522 of 12267 Old 02-14-2014, 02:39 AM
Senior Member
 
matthewa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Audiofan1 do you have a thread about how you have setup your room to achieve what your hearing
matthewa is offline  
post #10523 of 12267 Old 02-14-2014, 06:33 AM
Member
 
JDOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gertjand View Post


Weird stuff indeed. I don't know. Did read the term (burn in). What I noticed that it start to sound better after some play time (40 hours) or so. Could be my imagination as well. So my question was, did other people notice this as well or is my cognitive dissonance mechanism playing with me:)

Yes, I noticed a difference. Not a small difference. Indeed it would be entirely accurate for me to say that it sounded "much better" after burn in.  ;-)

Yes, "burn in" is a common term and is well documented. My view is that I've experienced the effect often with new AV equipment.

As an actual scientist and whilst acknowledging that the term "AV science" is somewhat of an oxymoron, I'd suggest that given some companies go to the trouble and expense of burning in their AV products before sale in order to reduce returns from unhappy customers, you should probably consider burn in as quite likely to be a phenomenon that occurs within the equipment.

An alternative explanation is that our ears adapt to a new type of sound. This seems entirely plausible as a partial or total explanation for the experience. Either way, since the equipment you listen to in your own home is only new for a short period, I think the outcome is the same.

Enjoy your new found sound :-)

JDOz is offline  
post #10524 of 12267 Old 02-14-2014, 06:59 AM
Member
 
Masterkale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewa View Post

Have
Have you done your cinemike upgrade yet? How are you finding it?

No not yet. But heard the cinemike avp and av7005. I send mine 8 of march so half of march i will let you know
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post

I'm sitting here listening to Bruckners 7th Paavo jarvi & hr -Sinfonieorchester sacd with Audyssey engaged and talk about 3d depth , placement of instruments and possibly one of the best playback of brass recorded. How ? the 8801 , a proper Audyssey setup and simple know how of system setup. And as for dynamics , oh boy that a 8801 strong suit and when the Orchestra goes full tilt I'm convinced by sheer scale wink.gif

How many experience you got with listing?

I have heard many high end setups. Like kef blades, focal grande utopia, marten miles getz django, isophons cassianos.

I have installed serveral audyssey pro calibrations at peoples home, so i am not quite a noob in installing calibrating.
Masterkale is offline  
post #10525 of 12267 Old 02-14-2014, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeattleHTGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Puget Sound, WA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Burn in is often discussed and associated with speakers. Speakers have movement, it is an analogue processing device. Burn in is rarely associated with a Pre-Amp unless a listener "feels", "senses", or whatever a change in sound over a period of time. Almost never can any of the subjective changes be quantified, measured, or be consistly (oh heck, ever) proven in testing. Words like "more 3dish", and others aren't really quantifiable and the science of somehow a DAC processing signal in the digital domain over a period of time differently is illogical.

I just don't see how you can have Burn In with a solid state and mostly digital processing piece of equipment. This explains my "science" statement. My 8801 sounds just as good today as it did the day I received it. I have though, altered a number of the 8801's sound processing and enhancement features over time. I particularly fond of the Dislogue Enhancement feature set for TV, DSX W+H for TV, and DTS Neo:x for most Blu Ray movies.
Dave Vaughn likes this.
SeattleHTGuy is offline  
post #10526 of 12267 Old 02-14-2014, 11:02 AM
Member
 
Hifi4Hobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeattleHTGuy View Post

Burn in is often discussed and associated with speakers. Speakers have movement, it is an analogue processing device. Burn in is rarely associated with a Pre-Amp unless a listener "feels", "senses", or whatever a change in sound over a period of time. Almost never can any of the subjective changes be quantified, measured, or be consistly (oh heck, ever) proven in testing. Words like "more 3dish", and others aren't really quantifiable and the science of somehow a DAC processing signal in the digital domain over a period of time differently is illogical.

I just don't see how you can have Burn In with a solid state and mostly digital processing piece of equipment. This explains my "science" statement. My 8801 sounds just as good today as it did the day I received it. I have though, altered a number of the 8801's sound processing and enhancement features over time. I particularly fond of the Dislogue Enhancement feature set for TV, DSX W+H for TV, and DTS Neo:x for most Blu Ray movies.

Surprising I was asking myself this question many times..does burn in matters? I though believed a cable has burn in period. Even the iec connectors too and that prompted me to believed an unit the complexity of a state of the art processor like 8801 has many cables and connectors within which can contribute to the burn in effect one is getting. It can be argued in a way that our ears are adapting to the way it sounds. Just my 2 cents.
Hifi4Hobby is offline  
post #10527 of 12267 Old 02-14-2014, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
erhurd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego County, southern California, USA, Planet Earth
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeattleHTGuy View Post

Burn in is often discussed and associated with speakers. Speakers have movement, it is an analogue processing device. Burn in is rarely associated with a Pre-Amp unless a listener "feels", "senses", or whatever a change in sound over a period of time. Almost never can any of the subjective changes be quantified, measured, or be consistly (oh heck, ever) proven in testing. Words like "more 3dish", and others aren't really quantifiable and the science of somehow a DAC processing signal in the digital domain over a period of time differently is illogical.

I just don't see how you can have Burn In with a solid state and mostly digital processing piece of equipment. This explains my "science" statement. My 8801 sounds just as good today as it did the day I received it. I have though, altered a number of the 8801's sound processing and enhancement features over time. I particularly fond of the Dislogue Enhancement feature set for TV, DSX W+H for TV, and DTS Neo:x for most Blu Ray movies.

It has been my understanding the term "break-in" is associated with speakers while "burn-in" was applied to the tube amplifiers of old…

Edwin R. Hurd
AVS Forums Lurker-In-Training!

My Tight-space A/V Setup
erhurd is offline  
post #10528 of 12267 Old 02-14-2014, 01:30 PM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 8,067
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 871 Post(s)
Liked: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDOz View Post

Yes, I noticed a difference. Not a small difference. Indeed it would be entirely accurate for me to say that it sounded "much better" after burn in.  ;-)
Yes, "burn in" is a common term and is well documented. My view is that I've experienced the effect often with new AV equipment.
As an actual scientist and whilst acknowledging that the term "AV science" is somewhat of an oxymoron, I'd suggest that given some companies go to the trouble and expense of burning in their AV products before sale in order to reduce returns from unhappy customers, you should probably consider burn in as quite likely to be a phenomenon that occurs within the equipment.
An alternative explanation is that our ears adapt to a new type of sound. This seems entirely plausible as a partial or total explanation for the experience. Either way, since the equipment you listen to in your own home is only new for a short period, I think the outcome is the same.
Enjoy your new found sound :-)

The only thing that is "Burning In" is your ears changing to the new response.
erhurd likes this.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #10529 of 12267 Old 02-14-2014, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SeattleHTGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Puget Sound, WA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 43
My bad. Break in usually speakers. Burn in was originally applied to tubes but has morphed to the esoteric crowd.
SeattleHTGuy is offline  
post #10530 of 12267 Old 02-14-2014, 01:45 PM
Member
 
DrMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 23
This is really starting to get on my nerves. In the past I had bookshelf speakers and my rear right would distort at low fequencies so I ended up purchasing new floor speakers for the rears and have been playing them at fullband like my fronts. While watching tron at -10db the rear right woofer bottomed out and made the loud firecracker pop noise. I changed the vs to 40 and 60 and no issues what so ever. Why is the marantz sending the strong bass response only to that speaker? Here is my layout. Any help would be great!

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60
Marantz AV8801 pre-pro / MM8077 amp
Martin Logan Motion 50XT Center
Martin Logan Motion 60XT Fronts/40 Rears
REL R-528 SE (2)
Oppo BDP-103D/Playstation 4/Furman ELITE-20 PF i
DrMichael is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off