Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 355 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10621 of 12093 Old 02-19-2014, 06:41 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,359
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
^^
Not for two HDMI sources, no. However, you already have this capability when the non-HDMI audio source is assigned to the same source name as the HDMI video source, change the INPUT MODE setting for that source to "Digital" or "Analog". Or when using an audio source, you can also use the Video Select (p. 136 OM)feature to select a component video source.


---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10622 of 12093 Old 02-19-2014, 07:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
darthray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cold lake Alberta Canada
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Need help here!

I want to try the flat Audyssey set-up since my room is fairly small (12x18) and lots of accoutic threatment.

Did lots of search under "Home theater EQ/Dynamic EQ".
But keek coming with nothing to know what they do, The instruction manual on the CD does not give any results since I am a computer Idiot!!! rolleyes.gif

I am pretty sure they both should be set to Off, but it would be nice to know what they do.

Any help would be greatly appreciate or throw me in the right direction.

Ray

Birthdays are good for you
The more you have
The longer you live
darthray is offline  
post #10623 of 12093 Old 02-19-2014, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthray View Post

Need help here!

I want to try the flat Audyssey set-up since my room is fairly small (12x18) and lots of accoutic threatment.

Did lots of search under "Home theater EQ/Dynamic EQ".
But keek coming with nothing to know what they do, The instruction manual on the CD does not give any results since I am a computer Idiot!!! rolleyes.gif

I am pretty sure they both should be set to Off, but it would be nice to know what they do.

Any help would be greatly appreciate or throw me in the right direction.

Ray

Think of Home Theater EQ as a way of taming overly bright sounding movies or multi/ch music by decreasing the high frequencies by a few db, this feature was similar to those in THX certified gear.

As for Dynamic EQ its best to think of it as a bass and surround channel boost when not listening at reference level, this may be liked as well because of the boost to the bass alone but then again it may not, there are also different settings called Reference Level Offset or RLO for DEQ 0,5,19 and 15 each Lessing the effect from the reference playback level of 0 on the volume. I recommend you check the Audyssey FAQ for more info smile.gif
darthray likes this.
audiofan1 is online now  
post #10624 of 12093 Old 02-19-2014, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The Feb 20 firmware update to resolve the Netflix DD+ issue was released today and also includes a bunch of other fixes as well to include the Dialogue Enhancer not "sticking" in the menu discussed in this thread in the recent past. Check post #1 in the next day or so for the changelog information.

Thanks jdsmoothie wink.gif I just finished the open brain surgery eek.gif it took all of 56 min (longest one so far for me) for the update and so far all is well:cool:. I wasn't having problems with my particular Netflix on the Oppo 105 and no Dialogue Enhancer problems either , I'll check the changelog for the rest and big shout out again to Marantz for prompt continued support on a largely trouble free Pre/Pro smile.gif
admranger and comfynumb like this.
audiofan1 is online now  
post #10625 of 12093 Old 02-19-2014, 11:14 PM
Member
 
retate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The Feb 20 firmware update to resolve the Netflix DD+ issue was released today and also includes a bunch of other fixes as well to include the Dialogue Enhancer not "sticking" in the menu discussed in this thread in the recent past. Check post #1 in the next day or so for the changelog information.

The estimated time to update for my AV8801 was 56 minutes, and that estimate was close to the actual time. The update completed with no problems noted so far.

Bob
retate is online now  
post #10626 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 04:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Thanks for the update info JD!
comfynumb is offline  
post #10627 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 408
I did the update and it took approximately 60 minutes. It went very smoothly and no problems for me.
comfynumb is offline  
post #10628 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
exm
AVS Special Member
 
exm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYY
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Page 1 updated with the firmware information. Thanks again jdsmoothie.
comfynumb likes this.
exm is offline  
post #10629 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 07:59 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post

Gotta get the blu. The DTS-HD MA 7.1 soundtrack will have you grinning from ear-to-ear. FYI, this being Lionsgate the rental version is crippled with lossy DD 5.1.

Well I'm glad I bought my copy, Wabo should be here by tomorrow or Sat

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #10630 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 6,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

Well I'm glad I bought my copy, Wabo should be here by tomorrow or Sat

That's good to hear, Franin. Looking forward to your thoughts on it.

Growing Older But Not Up
Waboman is online now  
post #10631 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 09:45 AM
Newbie
 
crowy1939's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Would using xlr cables give me more volume than rca. Anyone have any Idea if the 8801 is a good match for a Rotel RMB 1095-5 amp
crowy1939 is offline  
post #10632 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 10:03 AM
Member
 
silverdream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any info available for a Marantz pre-pro with Hdmi 2.0? Not that I need Hdmi 2.0 now but having it would make it a bit more future-proof (if something like that exists in the audiophile world biggrin.gif).

silverdream is offline  
post #10633 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by crowy1939 View Post

Would using xlr cables give me more volume than rca. Anyone have any Idea if the 8801 is a good match for a Rotel RMB 1095-5 amp



Probably no more volume than with RCA's but maybe less interference and signal loss depending how far you run them.

I don't remember anyone using a Rotel amp but maybe someone will respond.
comfynumb is offline  
post #10634 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by silverdream View Post

Is there any info available for a Marantz pre-pro with Hdmi 2.0? Not that I need Hdmi 2.0 now but having it would make it a bit more future-proof (if something like that exists in the audiophile world biggrin.gif).



No word yet.
comfynumb is offline  
post #10635 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by crowy1939 View Post

Would using xlr cables give me more volume than rca. Anyone have any Idea if the 8801 is a good match for a Rotel RMB 1095-5 amp



Probably no more volume than with RCA's but maybe less interference and signal loss depending how far you run them.

I don't remember anyone using a Rotel amp but maybe someone will respond.

If you already have the amps, it wouldn't be all that expensive to try. XLR cables aren't very expensive.

Remember that after recalibrating, the same setting of the master volume control will provide exactly the same sound level at your primary listening position no matter how much gain is available. However, using balanced XLR connections does usually result in an effective doubling of the voltage of the signals between a pre/pro and an amp when compared to the signals provided by unbalanced (RCA) connections. This usually results in a much lower trim level setting in the pre/pro after recalibrating. Sometimes this can result in it pegging the trims at -12dB, especially if you have highly sensitive speakers. This has been reported when people use high-gain Emotive amps with Klipsch speakers, for example.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #10636 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 03:04 PM
Member
 
silverdream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

No word yet.

Is it wise to invest in a av8801 now? or should I hold off?

silverdream is offline  
post #10637 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by silverdream View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by comfynumb View Post

No word yet.

Is it wise to invest in a av8801 now? or should I hold off?

Get what you want when you can afford it. If you always wait for the next best thing, you'll never get anything. The earliest a replacement might be available would be in October, assuming there is one. You could consider the difference in price between what you pay for an 8801 now and what you get for reselling it or trading it in as "rental" for the period you have it.

Don't forget to call an authorized dealer to get the best price. They aren't allowed to publicly advertise anything other than list price, but normally sell them at much lower prices.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #10638 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
comfynumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 4,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Other than HDMI 2.0 I'm not so sure there will be much to gain sound quality wise. In hindsight and knowing the 8801 is a great piece, I'd jump at the deals that are going to be out there in the coming months.
comfynumb is offline  
post #10639 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 03:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdlynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I just purchased a pair of aerial acoustics LR3 speakers for my surround speakers. These are complementing my Aerial LR5's being used for L/C/R. I am looking forward to listening to some hi-Rez multichannel music from my Oppo BDP103; now that I have matching speakers all around me.

What is the best configuration in the setup menus for optimal sound quality?

When I had my Lexicon MC12 I let the Oppo do the decoding, and, chose analog bypass on my Lexicon (using the 5.1 analog inputs).

David Lynch Current Equipment: Marantz AV8801, Proceed HPA3, Parasound HCA-1206, Aerial Acoustics LR5's (LCR), Aerial Acoustics LR3's (sides), RBH in-walls (rears), Seaton Submersive, Marantz VP15s1, 106" Carada BW screen, Oppo BDP-103.
jdlynch is offline  
post #10640 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlynch View Post

I just purchased a pair of aerial acoustics LR3 speakers for my surround speakers. These are complementing my Aerial LR5's being used for L/C/R. I am looking forward to listening to some hi-Rez multichannel music from my Oppo BDP103; now that I have matching speakers all around me.

What is the best configuration in the setup menus for optimal sound quality?

When I had my Lexicon MC12 I let the Oppo do the decoding, and, chose analog bypass on my Lexicon (using the 5.1 analog inputs).
In general, especially for movies, Audyssey XT32, as provided in the 8801, can make significant improvements in the quality of the sound you hear. In order to use Audyssey, the 8801 has to be fed either a digital signal via HDMI or S/PDIF, or a stereo analog signal. No digital processing, including Audyssey, can be applied to the pre/pro's 7.1 multichannel analog inputs, so if you use the multichannel inputs, you'll have to use the same speaker settings in your Oppo as you used for the Lexicon. However, blindly applying Audyssey as described in the 8801's manual usually won't produce optimal results. The instructions there are woefully inadequate. For details, please refer to the Audyssey 101/FAQ at http://www.parts-express.com/in-line-xlr-attenuator-pad-10db--240-412

The 8801 does include both "Direct" and "Pure Direct" options to disable processing of its digital and stereo inputs. You shouldn't hesitate to try the various options to find out which works best for your listening environment.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #10641 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I'd be shocked if Marantz replaced the 8801 within the next 24 months given their past history.

David Vaughn

Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer

Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)

Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #10642 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
avman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The Feb 20 firmware update to resolve the Netflix DD+ issue was released today and also includes a bunch of other fixes as well to include the Dialogue Enhancer not "sticking" in the menu discussed in this thread in the recent past. Check post #1 in the next day or so for the changelog information.

Netflix Canada does seem to have some issue with DD+ in that sometimes the show says it is DD+ but it would be received as Stereo only. It's kind of hit and miss. I always assume that is a Netflix issue, so is it actually a known issue with the 8801? If I remember right, it was like that too when I had the AV7005. I hope this is the issue you are referring because in that case it will be fixed in less than an hour as updating is in progress now.
avman09 is offline  
post #10643 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 06:28 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,359
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
^^
Different issue. The Netflix issue that the firmware resolves involves distorted audio through the center channel and is an issue with most every (if not all) D&M models going back to at least 2007.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10644 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 06:39 PM
Member
 
ccfunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While listening in two channel mode with Audyssey on, treble is sort of extreme while playing certain CD's. On these disc the is a lisp at the tail end of certain words. In pure audio mode it is better but the sound stage collapses. Will re running room correction improve this? I guess I could totally bypass Audyssey and use the graphic eq mode and tailor the sound to my desire but I like the soundstage imaging the Audyssey gives me. Also tried, Audyssey enabled (Dolby EQ OFF and utilized Tone controls which I cut treble. Still Audyssey sounds better with Dolby EQ ON (more audio punch.
With the 7701 the treble wasn't so extreme.

Thanks

ccfunk is offline  
post #10645 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 07:24 PM
Senior Member
 
avman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Different issue. The Netflix issue that the firmware resolves involves distorted audio through the center channel and is an issue with most every (if not all) D&M models going back to at least 2007.

Thanks, so Netflix Canada does not seem to have the same issues.
avman09 is offline  
post #10646 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 07:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
darthray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cold lake Alberta Canada
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by darthray View Post

Need help here!

I want to try the flat Audyssey set-up since my room is fairly small (12x18) and lots of accoutic threatment.

Did lots of search under "Home theater EQ/Dynamic EQ".
But keek coming with nothing to know what they do, The instruction manual on the CD does not give any results since I am a computer Idiot!!! rolleyes.gif

I am pretty sure they both should be set to Off, but it would be nice to know what they do.

Any help would be greatly appreciate or throw me in the right direction.

Ray

Think of Home Theater EQ as a way of taming overly bright sounding movies or multi/ch music by decreasing the high frequencies by a few db, this feature was similar to those in THX certified gear.

As for Dynamic EQ its best to think of it as a bass and surround channel boost when not listening at reference level, this may be liked as well because of the boost to the bass alone but then again it may not, there are also different settings called Reference Level Offset or RLO for DEQ 0,5,19 and 15 each Lessing the effect from the reference playback level of 0 on the volume. I recommend you check the Audyssey FAQ for more info smile.gif

Thanks audiofan1

You have save me hours of search time!

I can read a manual on paper (fold a page and come back to it) too bad Marantz did not include one, those cd that jump from one page to another just confuse me).
So the way I read;
Home Theater EQ set to Off as it would defeit the purpuse of Flat too increase your High as the FAQ due to my small room and acoutictly treated room ([12x18] I do read them, but could not find the answer smile.gif ).

Quote
The Audyssey Flat/Music target curve has no roll-off. This curve should be used for movies if you are seated in the near field, if your room has a lot of high frequency absorption due to acoustic treatments, if your room is very small or highly treated or if you are using THX Re-EQ (which introduces its own roll-off).
End-quote

But I will try Dynamic EQ, On and Off to see what is my preference (I do like Bass to some extend, Right now, 1 db above reference).

Thanks again, you have no idea, how much I appreciated this!

Ray

Birthdays are good for you
The more you have
The longer you live
darthray is offline  
post #10647 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 07:45 PM
Member
 
JDOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Not for two HDMI sources, no. However, you already have this capability when the non-HDMI audio source is assigned to the same source name as the HDMI video source, change the INPUT MODE setting for that source to "Digital" or "Analog". Or when using an audio source, you can also use the Video Select (p. 136 OM)feature to select a component video source.
 

Thanks kindly for the response.  Can't bring myself to use component video in a system that cost so much  :-)

 

Selecting digital audio-in via the menu is a workaround. Would just like to be able to do this same thing via a single click.  Hmm, is there any way to program my harmony remote to do this?

JDOz is offline  
post #10648 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Is the Audyssey calibration (pro or normal) retained after the new update?
jmschnur is offline  
post #10649 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 09:23 PM
Member
 
admranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccfunk View Post

While listening in two channel mode with Audyssey on, treble is sort of extreme while playing certain CD's. On these disc the is a lisp at the tail end of certain words. In pure audio mode it is better but the sound stage collapses. Will re running room correction improve this? I guess I could totally bypass Audyssey and use the graphic eq mode and tailor the sound to my desire but I like the soundstage imaging the Audyssey gives me. Also tried, Audyssey enabled (Dolby EQ OFF and utilized Tone controls which I cut treble. Still Audyssey sounds better with Dolby EQ ON (more audio punch.
With the 7701 the treble wasn't so extreme.

Thanks

What you are describing sounds like sibilance to me. A definition of sibilance

This is usually caused by a poor microphone selection by the recording engineer (reference: any Al Stewart album). Audyssey might be causing you to hear more treble b/c your room has been dampening out those high frequencies. Don't be afraid to try different microphone positions to get the sound just right in the primary listening position. It doesn't take that long to do the setup after you shoo everyone out of the house and shut off the HVAC system, close the curtains, set the recliner up like you usually sit in it, etc. rolleyes.gif

I'm not sure if you can trim those frequencies down a bit and still have Audyssey running, but I know there are those here in the forum who DO KNOW what's possible to do and hope they can chime in.

Which recording are you hearing this on? Curious to see if anyone here has it and hears the same thing.

One of my pet peeves w/Audyssey's implementation in the 8801 is that we can't "see" what it's doing. I had an Alpine DSP unit in one of my vehicles with Audyssey in it. I could save multiple setups in my computer and see the time domain as well as frequency responses pre and post processing by Audyssey. It was very, very instructional on what was really going on in the vehicle, sound wise. I wish Marantz had implemented a way for us to "see" the before/after info somehow.

Marantz 8801 Arcam P1000 Oppo 95 SystemDek IIX turntable B&W LCR6 (front 3) B&W in ceiling surround speakers Velodyne SPL-10 Subs (2) Sony xbr65x850a
admranger is offline  
post #10650 of 12093 Old 02-20-2014, 09:41 PM
Member
 
JDOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccfunk View Post

While listening in two channel mode with Audyssey on, treble is sort of extreme while playing certain CD's. On these disc the is a lisp at the tail end of certain words. In pure audio mode it is better but the sound stage collapses. Will re running room correction improve this? I guess I could totally bypass Audyssey and use the graphic eq mode and tailor the sound to my desire but I like the soundstage imaging the Audyssey gives me. Also tried, Audyssey enabled (Dolby EQ OFF and utilized Tone controls which I cut treble. Still Audyssey sounds better with Dolby EQ ON (more audio punch.
With the 7701 the treble wasn't so extreme.

Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by admranger View Post


What you are describing sounds like sibilance to me. A definition of sibilance

This is usually caused by a poor microphone selection by the recording engineer (reference: any Al Stewart album). Audyssey might be causing you to hear more treble b/c your room has been dampening out those high frequencies. Don't be afraid to try different microphone positions to get the sound just right in the primary listening position. It doesn't take that long to do the setup after you shoo everyone out of the house and shut off the HVAC system, close the curtains, set the recliner up like you usually sit in it, etc. rolleyes.gif

I'm not sure if you can trim those frequencies down a bit and still have Audyssey running, but I know there are those here in the forum who DO KNOW what's possible to do and hope they can chime in.

Which recording are you hearing this on? Curious to see if anyone here has it and hears the same thing.

One of my pet peeves w/Audyssey's implementation in the 8801 is that we can't "see" what it's doing. I had an Alpine DSP unit in one of my vehicles with Audyssey in it. I could save multiple setups in my computer and see the time domain as well as frequency responses pre and post processing by Audyssey. It was very, very instructional on what was really going on in the vehicle, sound wise. I wish Marantz had implemented a way for us to "see" the before/after info somehow.

Try switching your CD player between upsampling and no upsampling.  Also try different types of cables; e.g. HDMI vs. coaxial.

 

"Sibilance" now added to my vocabulary...cheers :-)  Sounded like a very extreme version of what I've been hearing in recent cable type & upsampling tests.

JDOz is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off