Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 373 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11161 of 11848 Old 04-01-2014, 10:06 PM
Just add water and stir
 
zuluwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post

LoL on the clever disguise ! and I was lucky to get the last Pioneer made that no flip was needed tongue.gif the only part that haunts me about it , is when I watch movies I once had on LD replaced now on DVD & Blu and when it was time to flip, I find myself still remembering the exact points it would stop , its nuts and I think I need to under go treatment biggrin.gif

I guess I better get Frozen in the collection as I've heard good things and a new grand baby around justifies the purchase indeed wink.gif

Congrats on the Grandbaby!!! smile.gif
audiofan1 likes this.
zuluwalker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11162 of 11848 Old 04-01-2014, 10:06 PM
Member
 
admranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I hate to suggest this, but Audiofan1, have you tried just using the 105 as a pseudo pre/pro? If you don't have a lot of sources, it's apparently an excellent option. Just curious on the sound vs. the 8801...

Marantz 8801
Arcam P1000
Oppo 95
B&W LCR6 (front 3)
B&W in ceiling surround speakers
Velodyne SPL-10 Subs (2)
Sony xbr65x850a
admranger is offline  
post #11163 of 11848 Old 04-02-2014, 12:01 AM
Newbie
 
Zakblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by admranger View Post

I hate to suggest this, but Audiofan1, have you tried just using the 105 as a pseudo pre/pro? If you don't have a lot of sources, it's apparently an excellent option. Just curious on the sound vs. the 8801...


I used to do this with my Oppo 105 straight into monoblocks using the volume control (very carefully) on the 105. I found that it was lacking in midrange warmth and depth of soundstage. It felt a bit thin and edgy too. I much prefer the sound of the 8801.

Zakblue is offline  
post #11164 of 11848 Old 04-02-2014, 12:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by admranger View Post

I hate to suggest this, but Audiofan1, have you tried just using the 105 as a pseudo pre/pro? If you don't have a lot of sources, it's apparently an excellent option. Just curious on the sound vs. the 8801...

I did a comparison some where in the beginning of this thread and loved the Oppo direct to my Halo A21 via XLR , the comparisons where stereo but in the end I found the 8801 a stellar preamp for my 2/ch listening using the Oppo XLR's and assigned to the CD input using the Pure Direct mode. As for all things multi/ch including sacd & movies with Audyssey engaged, its the 8801 hands down for me wink.gif

Between the two I got all my bases covered smile.gif
audiofan1 is online now  
post #11165 of 11848 Old 04-02-2014, 12:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by zuluwalker View Post

Congrats on the Grandbaby!!! smile.gif

Thank you kind Sir!

Looks like I need me some virtual cigars to pass out biggrin.gif the kids great man I'm loving every minute of it !
audiofan1 is online now  
post #11166 of 11848 Old 04-02-2014, 03:40 PM
Member
 
Gunner969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
If I change my left and right speakers to full range and set them to large, will the lfe go to the LR and the subs? I ask because I had an anthem avr that would not send the lfe to any speakers if a sub was present.
Gunner969 is offline  
post #11167 of 11848 Old 04-02-2014, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Mad Norseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Land of 10,000 Taxes!
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunner969 View Post

If I change my left and right speakers to full range and set them to large, will the lfe go to the LR and the subs? I ask because I had an anthem avr that would not send the lfe to any speakers if a sub was present.
The LFE (from Blu-ray discs for example) is indeed a discrete channel, and will only be sent to your subwoofer - unless you don't have a subwoofer in the system, then it would be distributed to your L&R channels.
Setting your L&R speakers to "Large/Full Range" will only prevent lower signals that were intended for those channels to be sent to the subwoofer...

The Insane Pink Care Bear's Home Theater Set Up:

Marantz AV 8801 Processor, Emotiva XPR-5 Amplifier, Panasonic 65" ST30 Plasma, Yamaha BD-S2900 Blu-ray, Yamaha CDC-697 CD Player, Yamaha TT-500U Turntable, w/Signet TK5e, JBL ES100 Fronts, JBL LC2 Center, JBL ES30 Surrounds & 2 JBL ES250P Subwoofers
Mad Norseman is offline  
post #11168 of 11848 Old 04-02-2014, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Norseman View Post

The LFE (from Blu-ray discs for example) is indeed a discrete channel, and will only be sent to your subwoofer - unless you don't have a subwoofer in the system, then it would be distributed to your L&R channels.
Setting your L&R speakers to "Large/Full Range" will only prevent lower signals that were intended for those channels to be sent to the subwoofer...

I am not sure if LFE is ever sent to your the FL/FR speakers. I know that Gene at Audioholics has been lobbing for this feature. At one time, I wanted to do it as well when the kids were little to avoid excessive vibration.

I'll have to try it sometime.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #11169 of 11848 Old 04-02-2014, 04:59 PM
Member
 
Gunner969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
So, what you are saying is that without a sub, there will never be LFE sound from the system, correct?
Gunner969 is offline  
post #11170 of 11848 Old 04-02-2014, 05:45 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

I am not sure if LFE is ever sent to your the FL/FR speakers. I know that Gene at Audioholics has been lobbing for this feature. At one time, I wanted to do it as well when the kids were little to avoid excessive vibration.

I'll have to try it sometime.

- Rich

Without a dedicated sub, it is.
CruelInventions likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11171 of 11848 Old 04-02-2014, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
 
BVLDARI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Without a dedicated sub, it is.

No way you lose the LFE w/o the sub - i just can't believe this. They should be routing the info to the full range fronts...

BVLDARI is offline  
post #11172 of 11848 Old 04-02-2014, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Mad Norseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Land of 10,000 Taxes!
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

I am not sure if LFE is ever sent to your the FL/FR speakers. I know that Gene at Audioholics has been lobbing for this feature. At one time, I wanted to do it as well when the kids were little to avoid excessive vibration.

I'll have to try it sometime.

- Rich
On page 140 of the AV8801's manual it reads (in part) for speaker settings:
• LFE+Main : The low range signal of all channels is added to the LFE
signal output from the subwoofer.

Not quite what I remembered,...guess it doesn't work the other way around when a subwoofer is present...
BUT - if one doesn't have a subwoofer in the system, the LFE channel signals will be sent to the front L&R speakers if set to "Large".

The Insane Pink Care Bear's Home Theater Set Up:

Marantz AV 8801 Processor, Emotiva XPR-5 Amplifier, Panasonic 65" ST30 Plasma, Yamaha BD-S2900 Blu-ray, Yamaha CDC-697 CD Player, Yamaha TT-500U Turntable, w/Signet TK5e, JBL ES100 Fronts, JBL LC2 Center, JBL ES30 Surrounds & 2 JBL ES250P Subwoofers
Mad Norseman is offline  
post #11173 of 11848 Old 04-02-2014, 07:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Without a dedicated sub, it is.

Have you tried it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Norseman View Post

On page 140 of the AV8801's manual it reads (in part) for speaker settings:
• LFE+Main : The low range signal of all channels is added to the LFE
signal output from the subwoofer.

Not quite what I remembered,...guess it doesn't work the other way around when a subwoofer is present...
BUT - if one doesn't have a subwoofer in the system, the LFE channel signals will be sent to the front L&R speakers if set to "Large".

There are not many mains that can handle LFE and mixing it in requires attenuation at some level.
I have not tried it but I think it would be an unwelcome side effect for some.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #11174 of 11848 Old 04-02-2014, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Still not finding a way of answering my two questions above, but I've managed to do something odd - I've turned off Video processing on most of my inputs, meaning that when I go into setup I don't have the image behind the options (makes sense).

However, on one input (Blu-ray), I no longer get volume/info indications except on the front of the unit. Under options for OSD they're all on, this seemed to correspond (weirdly) with when I ran Audyssey. Did I hit some random button that disables this for the one input?

Meanwhile, still looking for a way to display the incoming signal's audio format, and (far less important) to see if there's a way to make "auto" work a bit better to switch between analogue/digital.

Cheers

sharkshark is offline  
post #11175 of 11848 Old 04-02-2014, 09:58 PM
Member
 
admranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post

I did a comparison some where in the beginning of this thread and loved the Oppo direct to my Halo A21 via XLR , the comparisons where stereo but in the end I found the 8801 a stellar preamp for my 2/ch listening using the Oppo XLR's and assigned to the CD input using the Pure Direct mode. As for all things multi/ch including sacd & movies with Audyssey engaged, its the 8801 hands down for me wink.gif

Between the two I got all my bases covered smile.gif

Good to hear, I was doubting my decision! smile.gif

I too use XLRs from my Oppo 95 and then use pure direct. My L&R speakers are, unfortunately, limited on the low end (<45hz), but I still get a reasonable soundstage and I like it better with the Oppo Sabre DACs. However, given my "listening" room, audyssey provides the electronic room treatment I need and handles the two, non-optimally placed subs rather nicely for theater use, blu-ray audio, etc. All in all I'm quite happy with the 8801.
audiofan1 likes this.

Marantz 8801
Arcam P1000
Oppo 95
B&W LCR6 (front 3)
B&W in ceiling surround speakers
Velodyne SPL-10 Subs (2)
Sony xbr65x850a
admranger is offline  
post #11176 of 11848 Old 04-03-2014, 12:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by admranger View Post

Good to hear, I was doubting my decision! smile.gif

I too use XLRs from my Oppo 95 and then use pure direct. My L&R speakers are, unfortunately, limited on the low end (<45hz), but I still get a reasonable soundstage and I like it better with the Oppo Sabre DACs. However, given my "listening" room, audyssey provides the electronic room treatment I need and handles the two, non-optimally placed subs rather nicely for theater use, blu-ray audio, etc. All in all I'm quite happy with the 8801.

I do like the 8801 for 2/ch and subs as well crossed at 40 or 60 hz can be thrilling and not to admit after about my 4th go with Audyssey it can be nice as well. I just love having such great options around smile.gif
audiofan1 is online now  
post #11177 of 11848 Old 04-03-2014, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
BVLDARI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
So is the lowest crossover point 40HZ? And then 60? Nothing in between?

BVLDARI is offline  
post #11178 of 11848 Old 04-03-2014, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by BVLDARI View Post

So is the lowest crossover point 40HZ? And then 60? Nothing in between?

Yep! the lowest is 40 hz and nothing in between, I do wish it had 5hz increments as that would be superb , its something I think they could do with an update but as it stands my sub blends well with my mains and with Audysesey and a few room treatments, I really can't complain.
audiofan1 is online now  
post #11179 of 11848 Old 04-03-2014, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Mad Norseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Land of 10,000 Taxes!
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post

Yep! the lowest is 40 hz and nothing in between, I do wish it had 5hz increments as that would be superb , its something I think they could do with an update but as it stands my sub blends well with my mains and with Audysesey and a few room treatments, I really can't complain.
Okay then *I'll* complain about that! tongue.gif
I really do think that a 'flagship' processor (like the AV8801) really should have speaker crossover increments in no less than 10Hz stops, 20Hz really it too coarse of an adjustment IMO...
audiofan1 likes this.

The Insane Pink Care Bear's Home Theater Set Up:

Marantz AV 8801 Processor, Emotiva XPR-5 Amplifier, Panasonic 65" ST30 Plasma, Yamaha BD-S2900 Blu-ray, Yamaha CDC-697 CD Player, Yamaha TT-500U Turntable, w/Signet TK5e, JBL ES100 Fronts, JBL LC2 Center, JBL ES30 Surrounds & 2 JBL ES250P Subwoofers
Mad Norseman is offline  
post #11180 of 11848 Old 04-03-2014, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
BVLDARI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Norseman View Post

Okay then *I'll* complain about that! tongue.gif
I really do think that a 'flagship' processor (like the AV8801) really should have speaker crossover increments in no less than 10Hz stops, 20Hz really it too coarse of an adjustment IMO...

Agreed and it should go below 40 hrz to at least 35 or 30...


On a side note, can you stream audio to the AV from your phone or something similar: e.g. I am watching a youtube video, can I listen or watch it through the AV8801?

BVLDARI is offline  
post #11181 of 11848 Old 04-03-2014, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AndyN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by BVLDARI View Post

Agreed and it should go below 40 hrz to at least 35 or 30...


On a side note, can you stream audio to the AV from your phone or something similar: e.g. I am watching a youtube video, can I listen or watch it through the AV8801?
Not sure for other phones but it has AirPlay and works nicely for me with the iPhone.
AndyN is online now  
post #11182 of 11848 Old 04-03-2014, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
BVLDARI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyN View Post

Not sure for other phones but it has AirPlay and works nicely for me with the iPhone.

Cool. I know this is a dumb question but I don't use apple stuff - what can you stream over airplay?

BVLDARI is offline  
post #11183 of 11848 Old 04-03-2014, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AndyN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by BVLDARI View Post

Cool. I know this is a dumb question but I don't use apple stuff - what can you stream over airplay?

iTunes music, spotify, and any (at least the ones I tried) audio from videos that you can play on your tablet/iphone.

I love it. Easy to change music and control volume while I'm keeping the wife happy by doing dishes.
AndyN is online now  
post #11184 of 11848 Old 04-04-2014, 03:58 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Quote:
Originally Posted by BVLDARI View Post

Cool. I know this is a dumb question but I don't use apple stuff - what can you stream over airplay?

If you want to add video, you'll need to add an Apple TV and stream to the Apple TV instead as Apple has not licensed video streaming to any AVR mfr to date.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11185 of 11848 Old 04-04-2014, 04:28 AM
Member
 
Gunner969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
So, there was some contradictory info above. If there is no sub, does the LFE get routed to the mains?
Gunner969 is offline  
post #11186 of 11848 Old 04-04-2014, 05:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CruelInventions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago-ish
Posts: 4,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Yes. The issue then is how capable your mains are in conveying that LFE information. If you are running a pair of speakers which don't have much capability down low, then you'll be losing some of that deep bass as a result. But the bottom line is that the LFE will be routed and available to your mains.

Mourning the disappearance of the -ly suffix. Words being cut-off before they've had a chance to fully form, left incomplete, with their shoelaces untied and their zippers undone. If I quote your post (or post in your thread) without comment, please check your zipper.
CruelInventions is offline  
post #11187 of 11848 Old 04-04-2014, 06:11 AM
Member
 
Gunner969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruelInventions View Post

Yes. The issue then is how capable your mains are in conveying that LFE information. If you are running a pair of speakers which don't have much capability down low, then you'll be losing some of that deep bass as a result. But the bottom line is that the LFE will be routed and available to your mains.

Thanks. I understand about needing full range mains to properly handle LFE.

If there is a sub present, then no LFE goes to the mains. If I want lfe to also go to the mains when set to large in addition to the subs, then I need an external mixer or dsp, correct?
Gunner969 is offline  
post #11188 of 11848 Old 04-04-2014, 06:52 AM
Senior Member
 
BVLDARI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

If you want to add video, you'll need to add an Apple TV and stream to the Apple TV instead as Apple has not licensed video streaming to any AVR mfr to date.

Thank you. Do you know if one can do "airplay" with an Android phone via DLNA or something?

BVLDARI is offline  
post #11189 of 11848 Old 04-04-2014, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Yes, and if you use Itunes for your music, you can tap into it using the Retune app on the android platform. It is actually really sweet and can still do ratings for songs, vol. control etc. Has a pretty slick widget too biggrin.gif

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #11190 of 11848 Old 04-04-2014, 09:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,388
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunner969 View Post


Thanks. I understand about needing full range mains to properly handle LFE.

If there is a sub present, then no LFE goes to the mains. If I want lfe to also go to the mains when set to large in addition to the subs, then I need an external mixer or dsp, correct?

Nope.  There is yet another setting for that.  LFE+Mains or BassPlus or some
Never mind.


Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off