Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 397 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11881 of 12938 Old 08-01-2014, 08:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,676
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4794 Post(s)
Liked: 2501
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post
Mine doesn't close at all (after I kicked it by accident).
Uh yeh .. that tends to happen to most folks when it gets kicked.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11882 of 12938 Old 08-01-2014, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
usxplong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Thanks to all.
That means mine is broken.
usxplong is offline  
post #11883 of 12938 Old 08-01-2014, 10:55 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 24,012
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 957
^^^

I always wondered if the door could be removed....without kicking or damaging it

please take the high road in every post
If you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
Beware: Copy Protection Flags are coming
markrubin is offline  
post #11884 of 12938 Old 08-01-2014, 12:17 PM
Ace of Bass
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 9,501
Mentioned: 105 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1876 Post(s)
Liked: 1469
I would likely remove the door myself if it in fact could be done and replaced without problem.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)
 
HT seats for sale!
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/211-ac...seat-rows.html
Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread
beastaudio is offline  
post #11885 of 12938 Old 08-01-2014, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 9,287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1890 Post(s)
Liked: 3530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post
Mine doesn't close at all (after I kicked it by accident).
You went all Captain Kirk on that evil 8801.

Spoiler!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
Same here
Snug as a bug in a rug.
audiofan1 likes this.

__________________________________________________

Take life with a grain of salt... a slice of lime, and a shot of tequila
Waboman is online now  
post #11886 of 12938 Old 08-02-2014, 07:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,750
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
You went all Captain Kirk on that evil 8801.
No evil intent. The Marantz was on the floor by the side of my equipment rack while I was evaluating another processor and, one evening, in the dark, I approached the rack to do something. I accidentally kicked the drop-down door and it has never been the same. My own fault.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #11887 of 12938 Old 08-03-2014, 02:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
bobpaule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: US
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balbolito View Post
Does anyone think that Atmos can be played on the AV8801? like will Marantz release a firmware update?

Thanks
With this?
http://www.dolby.com/us/en/professio...cts/cp850.html
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	product-cp850-front-resized.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	72.6 KB
ID:	195137   Click image for larger version

Name:	product-cp850-back-resized.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	106.4 KB
ID:	195145  
bobpaule is offline  
post #11888 of 12938 Old 08-03-2014, 02:57 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,676
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4794 Post(s)
Liked: 2501
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
I would likely remove the door myself if it in fact could be done and replaced without problem.
Surely possible as it's available as a replacement part for about $30.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11889 of 12938 Old 08-03-2014, 02:59 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,676
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4794 Post(s)
Liked: 2501
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobpaule View Post
No way of directing the height audio or using Audyssey.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11890 of 12938 Old 08-04-2014, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
doublewing11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Timber Country!
Posts: 5,076
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 614
Weighing my options here........


What is the current fair market value of a year old Marantz 8801?

Seriously thinking of moving to 8802 or later versions due to Atmos. Majority of my equipment has been purchased via AVS.
doublewing11 is offline  
post #11891 of 12938 Old 08-04-2014, 01:05 PM
Member
 
pwong888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I heard a friend in Hong Kong have a inside news that Marantz is planning to write a software update for the 8801 to enable dolby atmos, since dolby atmos 7.1.4 is very similar to the neo:x 11.1, the different is only on the placement of the speaker.
Wish it is true.
pwong888 is offline  
post #11892 of 12938 Old 08-04-2014, 01:23 PM
Member
 
admranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I'm getting back into vinyl and am happy with the phone stage in the 8801.

I was wondering if there was a way to output to my computer to move the vinyl to the digital realm. I can always buy a NAD PP3i digital phone preamp to convert it to digital but I'm hoping there's a way to do that with the 8801.

Thanks!

Marantz 8801 Arcam P1000 Oppo 95 SystemDek IIX turntable ATC SCM 19 V2's (L&R) B&W LCR6 (center) B&W in ceiling surround speakers Velodyne SPL-10 Subs (2) Sony xbr65x850a
admranger is offline  
post #11893 of 12938 Old 08-04-2014, 02:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 23,216
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4848 Post(s)
Liked: 3540
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwong888 View Post
I heard a friend in Hong Kong have a inside news that Marantz is planning to write a software update for the 8801 to enable dolby atmos, since dolby atmos 7.1.4 is very similar to the neo:x 11.1, the different is only on the placement of the speaker.
Wish it is true.
I doubt it. To make it FW upgradeable, it would have to already have the Atmos chip inside it, and it has been around too long for that IMO.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #11894 of 12938 Old 08-04-2014, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 9,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
I doubt it. To make it FW upgradeable, it would have to already have the Atmos chip inside it, and it has been around too long for that IMO.
I also doubt it, but because it has insufficient DSP power.
Even if it were doable, these companies want to sell you a new processor.


- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 + A21 + A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
For Sale: Revel Salons and Revel Studios (together or separately)

Last edited by RichB; 08-04-2014 at 05:17 PM.
RichB is online now  
post #11895 of 12938 Old 08-04-2014, 05:10 PM
Member
 
pwong888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You don't have to doubt it, atmos is only a software not hardware, I just want to let people know the news I heard, maybe they write a new software to let customer pick either atmos or neo:x or they charge some money to put up some new hardware like what Denon do before.
Time will prove.
pwong888 is offline  
post #11896 of 12938 Old 08-04-2014, 05:46 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,676
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4794 Post(s)
Liked: 2501
^^
The 8801 only has 3 DSPs and to run Atmos+Audyssey requires 4 DSPs, not to mention, the goal is to sell "new" Atmos units (ie. 8802).

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11897 of 12938 Old 08-04-2014, 07:50 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 18,743
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 984 Post(s)
Liked: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwong888 View Post
You don't have to doubt it, atmos is only a software not hardware, I just want to let people know the news I heard, maybe they write a new software to let customer pick either atmos or neo:x or they charge some money to put up some new hardware like what Denon do before.
Time will prove.
If it was a hardware upgrade ( which it would ) wouldn't waste my time. Last time I did a hardware upgrade on my Denon AVP A1HD they messed it up bad. Never again!!
Franin is offline  
post #11898 of 12938 Old 08-04-2014, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 9,287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1890 Post(s)
Liked: 3530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
If it was a hardware upgrade ( which it would ) wouldn't waste my time. Last time I did a hardware upgrade on my Denon AVP A1HD they messed it up bad. Never again!!
+1

__________________________________________________

Take life with a grain of salt... a slice of lime, and a shot of tequila
Waboman is online now  
post #11899 of 12938 Old 08-05-2014, 05:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 23,216
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4848 Post(s)
Liked: 3540
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwong888 View Post
You don't have to doubt it, atmos is only a software not hardware, I just want to let people know the news I heard, maybe they write a new software to let customer pick either atmos or neo:x or they charge some money to put up some new hardware like what Denon do before.
Time will prove.
That is not correct. Atmos-enabled AVRs require a specific chip inside them. No chip = no Atmos.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #11900 of 12938 Old 08-08-2014, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
Posts: 4,928
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1241 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
That is not correct. Atmos-enabled AVRs require a specific chip inside them. No chip = no Atmos.
as was stated earlier

the idea is to get you back to buy another unit...the 8802

meanwhile this change in technology devalues the heck out of your current less than 2 year old 8801


Warren
g_bartman likes this.

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Pioneer SC77 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #11901 of 12938 Old 08-08-2014, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 9,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
That is not correct. Atmos-enabled AVRs require a specific chip inside them. No chip = no Atmos.
We don't need to go caveman on this, it's semantics.
You must have a DSP with sufficient processing power with the Atmos proprietary algorithms/firmware.

There are rumored enhancements that may be supplied in future versions of Atmos. If the DSP has sufficient capacity, then they can be upgraded without a new "specific chip"


That said, there is literally no chance the 8801 will get an Atmos upgrade. That is what eBay is for.


- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 + A21 + A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
For Sale: Revel Salons and Revel Studios (together or separately)
RichB is online now  
post #11902 of 12938 Old 08-08-2014, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter
exm
AVS Special Member
 
exm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYY
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 64
It's tempting to consider an upgrade but we should first have confirmation the 8802 sounds as good as the 8801!
exm is offline  
post #11903 of 12938 Old 08-08-2014, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
usxplong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
That is not correct. Atmos-enabled AVRs require a specific chip inside them. No chip = no Atmos.
I don't think if this is true. Based on Dolby Atmos whitepaper any existing BD player can play the Atmos sound tracks.
If that is the case then why wouldn't a processor be able to play the Atmos soundtrack with FW update.
Or at least the BD player can send PCM (instead of Bitstream) to the processor and the processor then play it nicely.
usxplong is offline  
post #11904 of 12938 Old 08-08-2014, 11:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 23,216
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4848 Post(s)
Liked: 3540
Quote:
Originally Posted by usxplong View Post
I don't think if this is true. Based on Dolby Atmos whitepaper any existing BD player can play the Atmos sound tracks.
If that is the case then why wouldn't a processor be able to play the Atmos soundtrack with FW update.
Or at least the BD player can send PCM (instead of Bitstream) to the processor and the processor then play it nicely.
Any BD player that conforms to the BD spec can play an Atmos bluray bitstream. Atmos processors cannot be firmware updated unless they have been designed to be so, like some of the recently introduced Onkyo models. The reason is that they do not have the appropriate hardware in them.

The BD player cannot send Atmos as PCM. It can only send Atmos as bitstream for decoding in the Atmos-enabled AVR, with the suitable hardware and FW inside it.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #11905 of 12938 Old 08-08-2014, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
dlynch34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Audyssey or not for movies...that is the question. I like how precise my speakers sound with Audyssey enabled on my 8801 but I miss the punch my bass had without it. Has anyone decided what way they have chosen or is there a happy medium to achieve bliss...sigh...
dlynch34 is offline  
post #11906 of 12938 Old 08-08-2014, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,977
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlynch34 View Post
Audyssey or not for movies...that is the question. I like how precise my speakers sound with Audyssey enabled on my 8801 but I miss the punch my bass had without it. Has anyone decided what way they have chosen or is there a happy medium to achieve bliss...sigh...
You mean Audyssey neutered your bass? That's how Audyssey reference curve sounds like.
Skylinestar is online now  
post #11907 of 12938 Old 08-09-2014, 12:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,676
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4794 Post(s)
Liked: 2501
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlynch34 View Post
Audyssey or not for movies...that is the question. I like how precise my speakers sound with Audyssey enabled on my 8801 but I miss the punch my bass had without it. Has anyone decided what way they have chosen or is there a happy medium to achieve bliss...sigh...
Most Audyssey owners generally prefer increasing sub volume at least 3-5db after running Audyssey.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11908 of 12938 Old 08-09-2014, 05:20 AM
Senior Member
 
dlynch34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Most Audyssey owners generally prefer increasing sub volume at least 3-5db after running Audyssey.
I have tried to do that but it doesn't seem to keep the new settings
dlynch34 is offline  
post #11909 of 12938 Old 08-09-2014, 05:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 23,216
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4848 Post(s)
Liked: 3540
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlynch34 View Post
I have tried to do that but it doesn't seem to keep the new settings
Where did you change the settings to increase the bass level? Some units have an 'on the fly' change option whose settings are not retained after shut off. If you change them in the speaker config menu then they will stick. Try adding 3dB at first to see how you like it.

More info in the FAQ:

f)5. Since I ran Audyssey everything sounds great - but where has my bass gone?
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #11910 of 12938 Old 08-09-2014, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
dlynch34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
Where did you change the settings to increase the bass level? Some units have an 'on the fly' change option whose settings are not retained after shut off. If you change them in the speaker config menu then they will stick. Try adding 3dB at first to see how you like it.

More info in the FAQ:

f)5. Since I ran Audyssey everything sounds great - but where has my bass gone?


thanks for the tip..I will look in the speaker setup section and give that a go...
dlynch34 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off