Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 399 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11941 of 12120 Old 08-20-2014, 10:57 AM
Newbie
 
neverwouldof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just bought AV 8801 and MM8077 Amp. Question is how can I Bi-amp my Von Schweikert VR4-Jr Front speakers?

I thought I would plug in to the SL and SR outputs on amp and change settings in the processor, don't see an option.

Keith
neverwouldof is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11942 of 12120 Old 08-20-2014, 10:57 AM
Newbie
 
neverwouldof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just bought AV 8801 and MM8077 Amp. Question is how can I Bi-amp my Von Schweikert VR4-Jr Front speakers?

I thought I would plug in to the SL and SR outputs on amp and change settings in the processor, don't see an option.

Keith
neverwouldof is offline  
post #11943 of 12120 Old 08-20-2014, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
AlxG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I also have VR-4Jr's and AV8801, unfortunately there is no option to set it up in the bi-amp mode.

Just use the RCA y-cable to drive 2 amps from a single Right or Left output. This setup sounds the best when driving Gemstone amp.

I wasn't getting good results with XLR y-cable setup, perhaps due to strange input impedance loading of my amps.

The Jr's sound much better when bi-amped.

- Alex
AlxG is offline  
post #11944 of 12120 Old 08-20-2014, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
AlxG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I forgot to mention, be carefully with your amp when bi-amping the lower section of your VR-4Jr. Your amp may not like driving 2.3 ohms load across the bass section.

- Alex
AlxG is offline  
post #11945 of 12120 Old 08-20-2014, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
neverwouldof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Could you explain that further? Lovely I spent the money to get XLR cables across the board.... So if I use RCA Y's to the amps channels 1&2 of 7 , the higher and lower section of speakers are different ohm loads?

Should I sell the amp and get some Parasound A21's, I really can't believe you can't bi-amp a $3000 AV Receiver
neverwouldof is offline  
post #11946 of 12120 Old 08-20-2014, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 385
The AV8801 is not a receiver: it's a preamp/processor. Since it doesn't include internal amps, it doesn't need to include internal biamp features that receivers have to include. Whether or not you bi-amp is determined by how you connect it to the external amps that you have to add to it anyhow.

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #11947 of 12120 Old 08-20-2014, 10:06 PM
Senior Member
 
AlxG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by neverwouldof View Post
Could you explain that further? Lovely I spent the money to get XLR cables across the board.... So if I use RCA Y's to the amps channels 1&2 of 7 , the higher and lower section of speakers are different ohm loads?

Should I sell the amp and get some Parasound A21's, I really can't believe you can't bi-amp a $3000 AV Receiver
Yo got it, you can use either XLR or RCA y-splitter to route AV8801 left output and feed channel 1&2 of your amp, then route right output and feed channel 3&4 of your amp. Try both configurations to determine which one sounds best to you. In my case, I wasn't able to find an XLR y-splitter that sounded to to me. So I ended-up not-bi-amping my speakers (just bi-wiring) because my amp sounds the best through the XLR path.

Based on my measurements, the impedance of mids/highs VR-4Jr enclosure varies from 4 to 8 ohms across various frequency ranges.
The bass enclosure varies from 2.3 ohms from 60 to 120Hz and closer to 3~4 ohms at other frequencies.

I'm not sure if the Parasound amp can drive 2.3ohms loads for a long period of time at very loud levels without frying it. It will get HOT.

My amp is a Simaudio Aurora replica, so it easily drives my speakers via XLR or RCA when bi-amped.

- Alex

Last edited by AlxG; 08-20-2014 at 10:14 PM.
AlxG is offline  
post #11948 of 12120 Old 08-21-2014, 06:49 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
I have mine which is about a month old if anyone is looking.
MARANTZ AV 8801 like new

Sticker is still on it!
Upgrading to the 8803 Joe?

_________________________

Frank

Franin is online now  
post #11949 of 12120 Old 08-21-2014, 07:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Possibly eventually. First is the 7009 and Onkyo 3030 Reviews.

For my latest Reviews and stuff Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Follow me: @joerodhometheat
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
joerod is offline  
post #11950 of 12120 Old 08-21-2014, 07:17 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
Possibly eventually. First is the 7009 and Onkyo 3030 Reviews.
If I remember correctly you also have a Mcintosh ?
Franin is online now  
post #11951 of 12120 Old 08-21-2014, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 6,928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
Upgrading to the 8803 Joe?
So we're skipping right over the 8802? I'll wait for the 8809.

Growing Older But Not Up
Waboman is online now  
post #11952 of 12120 Old 08-21-2014, 09:35 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
So we're skipping right over the 8802? I'll wait for the 8809.
Lol good pick up
Franin is online now  
post #11953 of 12120 Old 08-21-2014, 09:45 PM
Member
 
admranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
So we're skipping right over the 8802? I'll wait for the 8809.
The 8901 will be so much better.

Marantz 8801 Arcam P1000 Oppo 95 SystemDek IIX turntable B&W LCR6 (front 3) B&W in ceiling surround speakers Velodyne SPL-10 Subs (2) Sony xbr65x850a
admranger is offline  
post #11954 of 12120 Old 08-22-2014, 05:26 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by admranger View Post
The 8901 will be so much better.
I'm looking forward to that one. That has hdmi 9.0B.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is online now  
post #11955 of 12120 Old 08-22-2014, 05:42 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,439
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 1502
Yup ... and 16k video as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11956 of 12120 Old 08-22-2014, 06:40 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yup ... and 16k video as well.
Im there

_________________________

Frank

Franin is online now  
post #11957 of 12120 Old 08-23-2014, 12:42 PM
Newbie
 
bdp2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I recently bought the AV8801, but I am having a strange issue. The subwoofer is not active on certain inputs and I can't figure out why. Specifically, and most importantly, it's not active when using the two channel balanced inputs. When that input is selected, all of the subwoofer settings are grayed out and inaccessible. How do I make the sub active for all inputs? Thanks.
bdp2008 is offline  
post #11958 of 12120 Old 08-23-2014, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Dig through the setup menu...there's an option in there somewhere, but I don't remember where. I had the exact same issue a while back. I turned it off accidentally using D-remote.

David Vaughn

Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer

Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)

Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #11959 of 12120 Old 08-23-2014, 02:33 PM
Member
 
Chopsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Arse End of the World: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrnambool
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdp2008 View Post
I recently bought the AV8801, but I am having a strange issue. The subwoofer is not active on certain inputs and I can't figure out why. Specifically, and most importantly, it's not active when using the two channel balanced inputs. When that input is selected, all of the subwoofer settings are grayed out and inaccessible. How do I make the sub active for all inputs? Thanks.
Try pressing and holding the Music Mode on the remote, then select Stereo.

It sounds as though One of the Direct Modes has been selected on that (and other) input(s) which by design can't include the LFE channel if it's not there (ie in stereo media).
Chopsus is offline  
post #11960 of 12120 Old 08-23-2014, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
dlynch34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Has anyone experienced an issue with their Marantz that it doesn't seem to output video? I get sound but no video. I have changed outputs from main 1 to main 2. Nothing. I bypassed the receiver then I get video...Anyone have any suggestions?
dlynch34 is online now  
post #11961 of 12120 Old 08-23-2014, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
 
JaremyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 27
At a fairly close price point, would you take an AV8801 or an AV7702?

Consider that you may not end up running Atmos for a good long while and that a new unit is needed eventually anyway for HDCP 2.2.
JaremyP is offline  
post #11962 of 12120 Old 08-23-2014, 08:05 PM
Member
 
Chopsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Arse End of the World: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrnambool
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlynch34 View Post
Has anyone experienced an issue with their Marantz that it doesn't seem to output video? I get sound but no video. I have changed outputs from main 1 to main 2. Nothing. I bypassed the receiver then I get video...Anyone have any suggestions?


Try

Settings>Video>HDMI Setup>Video Output

Either set it to the connected display (as per the back panel) or set it to dual and it should output to either when turned on.

If you are swapping cables while on you may have confused it, or worse, blown the HDMI card as the voltage in the cable itself is known to short on hot plugging - so be careful and switch it all off when fiddling.

Last edited by Chopsus; 08-23-2014 at 08:06 PM. Reason: include OP quote
Chopsus is offline  
post #11963 of 12120 Old 08-24-2014, 04:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaremyP View Post
At a fairly close price point, would you take an AV8801 or an AV7702?

Consider that you may not end up running Atmos for a good long while and that a new unit is needed eventually anyway for HDCP 2.2.
I'd get the 7702 because it includes Audyssey MultEQ XT32. The 7701 has only Audyssey MultEQ XT. XT32 provides substantially better room EQ than XT does.

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #11964 of 12120 Old 08-24-2014, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
dlynch34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
still no go on video on my unit... it seems to have lost all video including the menu osd. Wondering since I have had it over a year if Marantz will address it or not... Does anyone know of any hard reset I can do? I left it unplugged all night with no success.
dlynch34 is online now  
post #11965 of 12120 Old 08-24-2014, 07:10 AM
Member
 
Chopsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Arse End of the World: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrnambool
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlynch34 View Post
still no go on video on my unit... it seems to have lost all video including the menu osd. Wondering since I have had it over a year if Marantz will address it or not... Does anyone know of any hard reset I can do? I left it unplugged all night with no success.
It sounds like the HDMI board is fried ... Marantz have. Two year warranty (worldwide I think) so it should be covered.

I hope this is not another Onkyo/Integra HDMI like debarkle, as I just bought an 8801 to replace an Integra 80.3 with a shot HDMI board.
Chopsus is offline  
post #11966 of 12120 Old 08-24-2014, 07:32 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,439
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 1502
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlynch34 View Post
still no go on video on my unit... it seems to have lost all video including the menu osd. Wondering since I have had it over a year if Marantz will address it or not... Does anyone know of any hard reset I can do? I left it unplugged all night with no success.
First try powering off and disconnecting ALL devices for at least 10 minutes. Then reconnect and power on the TV, wait 4-5 seconds, power on the 8801, wait 4-5 seconds, power on the source device. Sometimes it just takes a bit longer for a secure HDMI handshake. If no joy, then you can do a microprocessor reset (p. 186 Owner's manual) and if still no joy, the 8801 has a 3 year warranty if purchased from an authorized dealer so call Marantz tomorrow.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11967 of 12120 Old 08-24-2014, 10:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
bobpaule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: US
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
AV8801 in da house. Former PR-SC5509 owner.

Smaller, OMG 1/3 the depth of the Onkyo.

Looks good, such a beautiful sight to see it and the UD9004 in the rack.

Setup a breeze, only moment of doubt came when I was looking to assign the 7.1 analog inputs, it would have been nice to have it on the Inputs weegee board. Kudos to Marantz for that one single page, what a breeze. Finding a decent printable diagram of the rear to mark my inputs for Harmony programming a whole another story.

All speakers LARGE, no LFE, no EQ/Audyssey. Treated room with fiberglass panel to insulate a small ship and Paradigm S8 and matched 7.1.

The sound stage albeit filtered at the front by the CP700 in proc. bypass mode is wide and detailed, YES detail like never before, I had listened to Quadrophrenia BD-A at least 3 times this past 2 weeks, let me reassure you that the difference is clear, and comes in the most subtle details, some surprising, such as the musicians breathing at times. Can't comment on stereo as I have a balanced stage bypassing the processor entirely.

The biggest surprise was when I went downstairs for my AM workout, the only time I listen to compressed music in my home, put on the Roku M2000, but now there is a whole new level of quality differentiation among the 8-10 stations I saved as top quality, resulting in no workout but comparative listening (NSTEMI later?), Traxx.fm Dance/Trance the ultimate winner. The night before Mr. Nobody on Netflix sounded very detailed, picture obviously good in bypass mode on a PS3/HC5/110" setup.

Very satisfied to say the least.
audiofan1 likes this.

My system:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by bobpaule; 08-24-2014 at 11:12 AM.
bobpaule is offline  
post #11968 of 12120 Old 08-25-2014, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
dlynch34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
anyone else have to deal with Marantz for service? So far no luck with their tech support or service center. One tells me to talk to the other etc... this is very frustrating. The service center is telling me if I have had it for over a year it is not under warranty...ugh...
dlynch34 is online now  
post #11969 of 12120 Old 08-25-2014, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 385
You might try contacting whoever you bought it from to get the correct problem reporting procedures. As JD mentioned above, the 8801 has a 3 year warranty if you bought it from an authorized reseller.

FWIW, the one time I reported a problem with one of my pieces of Marantz equipment (not an 8801), I described the problem in an email that I sent to the address in the manual, and they told me to ship it to the repair center. That email from them was all that was needed to get it fixed. I had purchased it from a local brick-and-mortar store, though, and they took care of the shipping for me, offering a loaner while it was out. That's one of the reasons I do business with them, although their prices are not the lowest.

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #11970 of 12120 Old 08-26-2014, 01:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,439
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 1502
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlynch34 View Post
anyone else have to deal with Marantz for service? So far no luck with their tech support or service center. One tells me to talk to the other etc... this is very frustrating. The service center is telling me if I have had it for over a year it is not under warranty...ugh...
If you purchased a "refurbished" unit then yes, there is only a 1 year warranty; however, if purchased with a credit card, many card issuers will add an extra year and if that is the case, you can likely get it repaired via the credit card issuer.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off