Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 401 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12001 of 12606 Old 08-31-2014, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiguy3 View Post
I you listen to the podcast of Leo Laporte Show for yesterday - Saturday 30 August he has Scott Wilkinson on (at the 45min mark on) and he talks about how Audyssey limits sound to 44khz - that one should turn off Audyssey if listening to music.

http://twit.tv/show/the-tech-guy/1113


I would go as far as saying it can sound spectacular with music even with limitation! multi/ch sacd with Auydyssey engaged is something special as far as 2/ch (with sub) it can even sound good as well. For movies its a no brainier and I believe the sampling rate is limited to 48khz not 44khz .
audiofan1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12002 of 12606 Old 08-31-2014, 03:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,604
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiguy3 View Post
I you listen to the podcast of Leo Laporte Show for yesterday - Saturday 30 August he has Scott Wilkinson on (at the 45min mark on) and he talks about how Audyssey limits sound to 44khz - that one should turn off Audyssey if listening to music.

http://twit.tv/show/the-tech-guy/1113


I strongly disagree. In the majority of rooms, room correction will make a greater improvement in the overall sound than will incremental differences in sampling frequency.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #12003 of 12606 Old 08-31-2014, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 8,354
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3466 Post(s)
Liked: 1193
I 100% agree with Kal.

* And yes; 48, not 44kHz.
NorthSky is online now  
post #12004 of 12606 Old 08-31-2014, 04:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balthazar2k4 View Post
I know others besides myself have experienced the dreaded no audio, only video via HDMI. I have only had the unit for a couple weeks and for the life of me I can't put my finger on the exact cause. When I use my AppleTV I never have the issue, but with my Oppo it is quite frequent. Seems to happen when I go from the menu of the disc which may be a 2.0 DD track to the movie itself which is in the DTS-HD. What's weird is that this doesn't happen every time. Has there been any progress on solving this problem or at least a reason as to why it happens? It is rather frustrating that I have not had this problem with my CX-A5000 or, well, any other processor I have owned for that matter.
I have the same gear (pre/pro & projector) except my Oppo is the 103. (In fact, I originally had the Yamaha and quickly traded it in for the Marantz, so we may have been separated at birth.)

I am starting to suspect the Oppo as the "no audio" culprit. If I switch the Oppo from bitstream to LPCM, I always get sound. Switch back to bitstream, no sound. Any ideas how we'd determine the true culprit? Factory reset of the Oppo didn't help, I think tonight I'll try resetting the Marantz.
bweissman is online now  
post #12005 of 12606 Old 08-31-2014, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
I have the same gear (pre/pro & projector) except my Oppo is the 103. (In fact, I originally had the Yamaha and quickly traded it in for the Marantz, so we may have been separated at birth.)

I am starting to suspect the Oppo as the "no audio" culprit. If I switch the Oppo from bitstream to LPCM, I always get sound. Switch back to bitstream, no sound. Any ideas how we'd determine the true culprit? Factory reset of the Oppo didn't help, I think tonight I'll try resetting the Marantz.
Yeah, it is an extremely frustrating problem to have given the cost of the equipment. So you're saying this is an Oppo/Marantz only problem? That's even more infuriating. I have considered the LPCM route as well, but I really don't want to have to go that direction. Let me know if you have any luck.

The Cave: Sony VPL-VW600ES, 110" Elite Fixed, Oppo BDP-103D, HTPC w/PlexHT , Marantz SR-7009, 3 x Emotiva XPA-1 Gen2 , 4 x Emotiva XPA-1L, MartinLogan Motion 60XT, MartinLogan Motion 50XT, 4 x MartinLogan MotionFX, 2 x Rythmik FV15HP, 4 x Gallo Nucleus Micro (Atmos Height)
Balthazar2k4 is offline  
post #12006 of 12606 Old 08-31-2014, 11:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balthazar2k4 View Post
Yeah, it is an extremely frustrating problem to have given the cost of the equipment. So you're saying this is an Oppo/Marantz only problem? That's even more infuriating. I have considered the LPCM route as well, but I really don't want to have to go that direction. Let me know if you have any luck.
Resetting the 8801's microprocessor fixed the problem. I am again getting audio from my Oppo via bitstream. Time will tell whether it stays fixed.

Using LPCM really isn't a problem, I just like to see the 8801 display what it's decoding.

Give it a try when you have time to re-do Audyssey and other setup items.
bweissman is online now  
post #12007 of 12606 Old 09-01-2014, 06:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
Resetting the 8801's microprocessor fixed the problem. I am again getting audio from my Oppo via bitstream. Time will tell whether it stays fixed.

Using LPCM really isn't a problem, I just like to see the 8801 display what it's decoding.

Give it a try when you have time to re-do Audyssey and other setup items.
Hard to believe the solution may be that simple. Like you, I like to see what the processor is decoding and that's why it ultimately matters to me. Before I reset mine I'll wait a bit and see what results you get.

The Cave: Sony VPL-VW600ES, 110" Elite Fixed, Oppo BDP-103D, HTPC w/PlexHT , Marantz SR-7009, 3 x Emotiva XPA-1 Gen2 , 4 x Emotiva XPA-1L, MartinLogan Motion 60XT, MartinLogan Motion 50XT, 4 x MartinLogan MotionFX, 2 x Rythmik FV15HP, 4 x Gallo Nucleus Micro (Atmos Height)
Balthazar2k4 is offline  
post #12008 of 12606 Old 09-01-2014, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 8,399
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1153 Post(s)
Liked: 637
Don't forget that

a) You can do a "soft reset" by unplugging the unit from the wall for 10 minutes. This often fixes some problems.

b) You can save the pre/pro's Audyssey and other settings to a computer by using its Web interface save/load links. You then can restore them after doing a full reset. Be patient: each direction takes about 10 minutes. See the owner's manual's (overly brief) description on page 107.

Selden

Marantz SR7009+MM9000/Atmos 7.1.4 (FH+TM:DefTech PM1000)/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is online now  
post #12009 of 12606 Old 09-01-2014, 12:01 PM
Member
 
danielb6752's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Add me to the list of people whose AV8801 has given up the ghost. It seems like all audio "processing" has failed.

I can get the analog PHONO input to play audio when the amp is in Direct or Pure Direct, but not in "Stereo" mode. It's not outputting any audio using HDMI sources, or even in the speaker level setup screen - just some popping sounds every two seconds or so.

Argh!
danielb6752 is offline  
post #12010 of 12606 Old 09-02-2014, 07:22 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Hi there does anyone know what the output voltage for the Marantz Av8801 is on XLR? And would a Crown XLS1500 Drivecore would be able to suit it?
Franin is online now  
post #12011 of 12606 Old 09-02-2014, 01:49 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
bobpaule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: US
Posts: 1,414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Doesn't surprise me that a CSR would not be able to track a serial number to a particular dealer to confirm if they are authorized or not. Easy enough to just check Marantz's website if there is any doubt as to whether your dealer is authorized. Although in some cases, smaller unauthorized dealers may have their own warranty, so definitely worth contacting them.
Don't forget this website that allows phone number verifications, not only for dealers but also distributors (sh!):

http://www.authorizedreseller.marantz.com/
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh, and the Marantz proprietary internet radio is great, it must be emulating the iTunes or Shoutcast/Icecast databases, cuz there are stations galore, even from my obscure hometown back in the old country. SQ is variable, takes about 20-30 stations before you find one that sounds right, this is what great equipment does with mediocre streams.

I am now setting up a Winegard HD-6010 HD Radio antenna over the Dish mast (long gone), as the Yagis in my attic while good for 100 mile HDTV have their amps restrict the FM band.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lastly input switching is quirky at startup so I am adding 500ms delays between power-up and input selection on my Harmony.

Last edited by bobpaule; 09-02-2014 at 02:02 PM.
bobpaule is offline  
post #12012 of 12606 Old 09-04-2014, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
ezrangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I am not home right now and need to know... Are the USB ports of the 8801 always on? Or just when the processor is on too?
Thanks for the assistance!

Sorry for bad english...
ezrangel is offline  
post #12013 of 12606 Old 09-05-2014, 10:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
Resetting the 8801's microprocessor fixed the problem. I am again getting audio from my Oppo via bitstream. Time will tell whether it stays fixed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balthazar2k4 View Post
Hard to believe the solution may be that simple. Like you, I like to see what the processor is decoding and that's why it ultimately matters to me. Before I reset mine I'll wait a bit and see what results you get.
After a couple of days, the problem of decoding bitstream reappeared. This time, simply switching the 8801 to a different active input (my always-on DVR) and back to the Oppo restored bitstream audio. So it must be a failure to perform the HDMI handshake. Next simple thing to try: a different HDMI cable.
audiofan1 likes this.
bweissman is online now  
post #12014 of 12606 Old 09-05-2014, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
After a couple of days, the problem of decoding bitstream reappeared. This time, simply switching the 8801 to a different active input (my always-on DVR) and back to the Oppo restored bitstream audio. So it must be a failure to perform the HDMI handshake. Next simple thing to try: a different HDMI cable.
Guess I'm glad I held off. And the saga continues...

The Cave: Sony VPL-VW600ES, 110" Elite Fixed, Oppo BDP-103D, HTPC w/PlexHT , Marantz SR-7009, 3 x Emotiva XPA-1 Gen2 , 4 x Emotiva XPA-1L, MartinLogan Motion 60XT, MartinLogan Motion 50XT, 4 x MartinLogan MotionFX, 2 x Rythmik FV15HP, 4 x Gallo Nucleus Micro (Atmos Height)
Balthazar2k4 is offline  
post #12015 of 12606 Old 09-06-2014, 05:32 AM
Member
 
crankbearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well only after 9 month of no issues with my Marantz 8801 and 8807 combo I have noticed over the last couple weeks it seems I have had to turn the volume up a little louder in the evenings, a little more each night. I was watching some TV Thursday night and all of the sudden the amp went into protection mode. I turned off both units right away and then proceeded to remove a speaker at a time to see if I had a dead or shorted voice coil in one of my in-wall speakers no luck then I tested all of my balanced cables and same results and it is flashing both the power led and the protect lights which says CALL FOR SERVICE in the manual. Awesome.... first Marantz product I have owned not very impressed. Great sound quality but for a limited time is not my idea of a great investment.
crankbearing is offline  
post #12016 of 12606 Old 09-06-2014, 07:33 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Hi there
Anyone using a Yamaha MX-A5000 Power Amp with the Marantz 8801?

_________________________

Frank
Franin is online now  
post #12017 of 12606 Old 09-06-2014, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
Anyone using a Yamaha MX-A5000 Power Amp with the Marantz 8801?
I am, because I started with the Yamaha CX-A5000 preamp but didn't like it. I returned it in exchange for the 8801 but didn't bother swapping power amps.
bweissman is online now  
post #12018 of 12606 Old 09-06-2014, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
dlynch34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by crankbearing View Post
Well only after 9 month of no issues with my Marantz 8801 and 8807 combo I have noticed over the last couple weeks it seems I have had to turn the volume up a little louder in the evenings, a little more each night. I was watching some TV Thursday night and all of the sudden the amp went into protection mode. I turned off both units right away and then proceeded to remove a speaker at a time to see if I had a dead or shorted voice coil in one of my in-wall speakers no luck then I tested all of my balanced cables and same results and it is flashing both the power led and the protect lights which says CALL FOR SERVICE in the manual. Awesome.... first Marantz product I have owned not very impressed. Great sound quality but for a limited time is not my idea of a great investment.
I have had some bad luck recently with mine as well. Their service is little to be desired since they use mostly third party shops for repairs and they can buy subjective depending on whom you are dealing with... It says great when it was working.... 😫
dlynch34 is offline  
post #12019 of 12606 Old 09-06-2014, 06:47 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
I am, because I started with the Yamaha CX-A5000 preamp but didn't like it. I returned it in exchange for the 8801 but didn't bother swapping power amps.
How is the aq in the YAMAHA MX A5000 Amps, esp matched with Marantz? I'm looking at getting a new power amp to match up with my 8801. I'm looking at 2x mx-a5000 or 2x anthem mca 50 or 5 crown xls1500 ( taking a gamble there ) or even 5x parasound halo a23 ( cheaper going down that route but that's if they're prepared to do a deal over here they're cheaper than 2x halo a51 regardless. )

I'm only using for ht purpose, not interested in 2 channel music as I hear music everyday

Regarding auditioning any of them, no one over here stocks Power amps they only order if your ready to buy which makes it very hard.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Frank

Last edited by Franin; 09-06-2014 at 07:14 PM.
Franin is online now  
post #12020 of 12606 Old 09-06-2014, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Frank,

If you can swing the A23, I think it will give you the most bang for your buck. I'm a big Parasound fan.

David Vaughn

Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer

Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)

Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #12021 of 12606 Old 09-06-2014, 08:29 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post
Frank,

If you can swing the A23, I think it will give you the most bang for your buck. I'm a big Parasound fan.
Thanks Dave. I've always wanted parasound but they're too expensive over here in Australia. Going the A23 route is actually more affordable way too go. If they can do the deal that I want I'll buy 5 then but another when I decide to go atmos.

Crossing my fingers here
Franin is online now  
post #12022 of 12606 Old 09-06-2014, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 177
The A23 has plenty of power, especially for movies. I got the A51 and A23 because I got a killer deal on them. In hindsight, I would have been perfectly happy with an A52 and A23 for my use since I rarely listen at ear-splitting levels!

David Vaughn

Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer

Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)

Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #12023 of 12606 Old 09-07-2014, 07:17 AM
Member
 
crankbearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlynch34 View Post
I have had some bad luck recently with mine as well. Their service is little to be desired since they use mostly third party shops for repairs and they can buy subjective depending on whom you are dealing with... It says great when it was working.... 😫
Do I have to call Marantz first or can I just drop it off at the repair shop. There is only one repair shop listed as authorized in my city.

Thanks Dave.
crankbearing is offline  
post #12024 of 12606 Old 09-07-2014, 07:39 AM
Member
 
jb5200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a weird thing going on with my 8801, and maybe it's something totally different. I have a Funk Audio 18.0 w/LMS 5400 driven by a behringer ep4000 and then I have another sub that was built with the exact same driver (TC Sounds LMS 5400), exact same size/shape cabinet, driven by a behringer ep 2500 (same amp for all intensive purposes). Setup across front stage is L, Sub, C, Sub, R.

When I run XT32 I level match the subs and the gain on the amps are pretty much dead on as they should be and the output on the subs show about 76db so all good there. Then XT32 runs its thing and when it's done the only thing I change is the crossover (from 40hz to 60 hz). XT32 set the left sub at -10.0 and the right sub at -10.5 which seems about right.

Here's where the tricky part comes in, there is hardly any output coming from the right sub. In fact I actually have to stand 6 inches in front of it to even make sure it is even on. The left sub is deep, huge, tight, (add just about any adj. you want here)! I even went in and changed the gain from -10.5 to -6.0 and it still is not even close to the left one. The output is louder but nowhere near as huge and deep as the left one.

So I'm thinking that there must be some canceling going on but wouldn't the left one also cancel out and be much softer as well? My room dimensions are 16x22x7.5!

I'm lost!

Thanks,

Jeff
jb5200 is offline  
post #12025 of 12606 Old 09-07-2014, 08:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 21,030
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3386 Post(s)
Liked: 2694
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb5200 View Post
I have a weird thing going on with my 8801, and maybe it's something totally different. I have a Funk Audio 18.0 w/LMS 5400 driven by a behringer ep4000 and then I have another sub that was built with the exact same driver (TC Sounds LMS 5400), exact same size/shape cabinet, driven by a behringer ep 2500 (same amp for all intensive purposes). Setup across front stage is L, Sub, C, Sub, R.

When I run XT32 I level match the subs and the gain on the amps are pretty much dead on as they should be and the output on the subs show about 76db so all good there. Then XT32 runs its thing and when it's done the only thing I change is the crossover (from 40hz to 60 hz). XT32 set the left sub at -10.0 and the right sub at -10.5 which seems about right.

Here's where the tricky part comes in, there is hardly any output coming from the right sub. In fact I actually have to stand 6 inches in front of it to even make sure it is even on. The left sub is deep, huge, tight, (add just about any adj. you want here)! I even went in and changed the gain from -10.5 to -6.0 and it still is not even close to the left one. The output is louder but nowhere near as huge and deep as the left one.

So I'm thinking that there must be some canceling going on but wouldn't the left one also cancel out and be much softer as well? My room dimensions are 16x22x7.5!

I'm lost!

Thanks,

Jeff
Do your subs have adjustable phase controls? If so, just try, for experimental purposes, reversing the phase on the right sub. If it is at 0 now, set it to 180. Don't change anything else. Then report back if this makes any difference and we can go from there if it does.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #12026 of 12606 Old 09-07-2014, 08:23 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,000
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3076 Post(s)
Liked: 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb5200 View Post
I have a weird thing going on with my 8801, and maybe it's something totally different. I have a Funk Audio 18.0 w/LMS 5400 driven by a behringer ep4000 and then I have another sub that was built with the exact same driver (TC Sounds LMS 5400), exact same size/shape cabinet, driven by a behringer ep 2500 (same amp for all intensive purposes). Setup across front stage is L, Sub, C, Sub, R.

When I run XT32 I level match the subs and the gain on the amps are pretty much dead on as they should be and the output on the subs show about 76db so all good there. Then XT32 runs its thing and when it's done the only thing I change is the crossover (from 40hz to 60 hz). XT32 set the left sub at -10.0 and the right sub at -10.5 which seems about right.

Here's where the tricky part comes in, there is hardly any output coming from the right sub. In fact I actually have to stand 6 inches in front of it to even make sure it is even on. The left sub is deep, huge, tight, (add just about any adj. you want here)! I even went in and changed the gain from -10.5 to -6.0 and it still is not even close to the left one. The output is louder but nowhere near as huge and deep as the left one.

So I'm thinking that there must be some canceling going on but wouldn't the left one also cancel out and be much softer as well? My room dimensions are 16x22x7.5!

I'm lost!

Thanks,

Jeff
Have you tried simply swapping the sub pre-outs to see if there is any change?

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12027 of 12606 Old 09-07-2014, 08:37 AM
Member
 
jb5200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeah, I switch the outs and still the same. Someone else had mentioned phase issue but I don't have the option to switch the phase b/c they are external amps or I just don't know how! It is just weird b/c same sub, same amp, gain on amps the same, XT32 puts the level matching the same at 76db with gains on the amps the same and XT32 puts the levels the same -10 and -10.5 so they should have equal output.

To put into perspective I have a TC Sounds Epic 12 with a box I made in my garage and it blows this sub as it sits now away!

UGH!
jb5200 is offline  
post #12028 of 12606 Old 09-07-2014, 11:43 AM
Member
 
Wraith2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Mine is new, out of the box a couple of weeks and I cannot get the 2nd monitor out to work. Via hdmi it worked briefly and then stopped, now it won't show anything even If selected as the main out. Also using component out it worked for a day now it doesn't.

Not impressed.
Wraith2 is offline  
post #12029 of 12606 Old 09-07-2014, 11:52 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,000
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3076 Post(s)
Liked: 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb5200 View Post
Yeah, I switch the outs and still the same. Someone else had mentioned phase issue but I don't have the option to switch the phase b/c they are external amps or I just don't know how! It is just weird b/c same sub, same amp, gain on amps the same, XT32 puts the level matching the same at 76db with gains on the amps the same and XT32 puts the levels the same -10 and -10.5 so they should have equal output.

To put into perspective I have a TC Sounds Epic 12 with a box I made in my garage and it blows this sub as it sits now away!

UGH!
The main reason why it's recommended to manually adjust the Subwoofer Level setting to +/- 3db (whether either by adjusting the gain on the sub itself prior to running Audyssey or afterwards using the Subwoofer Level setting) is to ensure the sub fires when a weaker signal is received. Is there an "Auto/ON" switch? If yes, set it to ON. What happens if you run Audyssey with only that one weak sub?

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 09-07-2014 at 11:57 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12030 of 12606 Old 09-07-2014, 12:01 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,000
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3076 Post(s)
Liked: 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith2 View Post
Mine is new, out of the box a couple of weeks and I cannot get the 2nd monitor out to work. Via hdmi it worked briefly and then stopped, now it won't show anything even If selected as the main out. Also using component out it worked for a day now it doesn't.

Not impressed.
Is the Video Output set to the default of "Auto(Dual)"? Try doing a soft reset by unplugging the unit for 10 minutes and if still no joy, reset the microprocessor (p. 186 OM).

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off