Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 409 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12241 of 12261 Old 11-05-2014, 06:42 PM
Member
 
DrMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I have a pressing question for anyone who can help. I know this is off topic for this forum but do not know where else to post it. I have been having a lot of 30 second power outages in our area and want to make sure my gear is protected. I currently have a Furman Elite 20 pfi and want to know of that's enough or should I get something more or different? My conditioner does not have a battery backup and I don't know how important that is. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60
Marantz AV8801 pre-pro / MM8077 amp
Martin Logan Motion 50XT Center
Martin Logan Motion 60XT Fronts/40 Rears
REL R-528 SE (2)
Oppo BDP-103D/Playstation 4/Furman ELITE-20 PF i
DrMichael is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12242 of 12261 Old 11-05-2014, 09:11 PM
Member
 
retate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMichael View Post
I have a pressing question for anyone who can help. I know this is off topic for this forum but do not know where else to post it. I have been having a lot of 30 second power outages in our area and want to make sure my gear is protected. I currently have a Furman Elite 20 pfi and want to know of that's enough or should I get something more or different? My conditioner does not have a battery backup and I don't know how important that is. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Voltage transients are often a factor with 30 second power outages, however, the Furman should be able to handle anything that is dangerous. That is assuming that all of your AV equipment is connected via the Furman including power amps and video equipment. If any of your equipment is not connected via the Furman, then review what you have to protect that equipment from spikes. In terms of battery backup there are two considerations. The first is capacity. The Furman is capable of 16 to 20 amps output. Battery backup with capacity for more than a few amps gets large and very expensive. The second consideration on battery backup units is whether they claim to output a sine wave. The lower cost units typically have an output that only somewhat resembles a sine wave. Whether the battery backup output wave form is a concern in regards to audio and video quality depends on the design of the unit as to whether it has any impact on the output wave form when not in backup mode.


In your situation if you do not have some type of whole house suppression (typically a suppression device that is attached to the breaker box or mounted in the breaker box), that would be the area I would address first as it would give you protection for all of your electronics and appliances. The whole house surge suppression devices that I am familiar with mostly cost $100 or less. However, if you are not familiar with doing electrical work, hiring an electrician to do the install will add to that cost.

Bob
retate is offline  
post #12243 of 12261 Old 11-06-2014, 04:53 AM
Senior Member
 
avman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post
... by limiting airflow and keeping them nice and toasty .
I predict the copper plate goes the way of the network hub


- Rich

I'll welcome that if they use that real estate to put back a couple of coax and optical outputs while keeping the analog media player RCA outputs. That apparently won't happen.
avman09 is offline  
post #12244 of 12261 Old 11-06-2014, 07:05 AM
Member
 
DrMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by retate View Post
Voltage transients are often a factor with 30 second power outages, however, the Furman should be able to handle anything that is dangerous. That is assuming that all of your AV equipment is connected via the Furman including power amps and video equipment. If any of your equipment is not connected via the Furman, then review what you have to protect that equipment from spikes. In terms of battery backup there are two considerations. The first is capacity. The Furman is capable of 16 to 20 amps output. Battery backup with capacity for more than a few amps gets large and very expensive. The second consideration on battery backup units is whether they claim to output a sine wave. The lower cost units typically have an output that only somewhat resembles a sine wave. Whether the battery backup output wave form is a concern in regards to audio and video quality depends on the design of the unit as to whether it has any impact on the output wave form when not in backup mode.


In your situation if you do not have some type of whole house suppression (typically a suppression device that is attached to the breaker box or mounted in the breaker box), that would be the area I would address first as it would give you protection for all of your electronics and appliances. The whole house surge suppression devices that I am familiar with mostly cost $100 or less. However, if you are not familiar with doing electrical work, hiring an electrician to do the install will add to that cost.
Thank you for the great info!

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60
Marantz AV8801 pre-pro / MM8077 amp
Martin Logan Motion 50XT Center
Martin Logan Motion 60XT Fronts/40 Rears
REL R-528 SE (2)
Oppo BDP-103D/Playstation 4/Furman ELITE-20 PF i
DrMichael is offline  
post #12245 of 12261 Old 11-07-2014, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joeycalda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Has anyone else found the dialog enhancer a good feature? I noticed I like it quite a bit better on medium than off. Sounds like you are getting more info, what does it actually do?

Is this a feature in all SSP preamps?

Joey
joeycalda is online now  
post #12246 of 12261 Old 11-07-2014, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joeycalda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Has anyone else found the dialog enhancer a good feature? I noticed I like it quite a bit better on medium than off. Sounds like you are getting more info, what does it actually do?

Is this a feature in all SSP preamps?

Joey
joeycalda is online now  
post #12247 of 12261 Old 11-07-2014, 08:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,005
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1743 Post(s)
Liked: 1691
^^
The Dialog Enhancer setting boosts the "voice frequencies" rather than boosting the entire center channel volume as is the case on the lower models. This feature is also on the Denon 4520CI, X5200W and likely on the new soon to be released flagship models, X7200W and AV8802 as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12248 of 12261 Old 11-07-2014, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
BVLDARI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeycalda View Post
Has anyone else found the dialog enhancer a good feature? I noticed I like it quite a bit better on medium than off. Sounds like you are getting more info, what does it actually do?

Is this a feature in all SSP preamps?

Joey
I think I use it and I like it at lower volumes.

BVLDARI is offline  
post #12249 of 12261 Old 11-08-2014, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeycalda View Post
Has anyone else found the dialog enhancer a good feature? I noticed I like it quite a bit better on medium than off. Sounds like you are getting more info, what does it actually do?

Is this a feature in all SSP preamps?

.




Joey
I have found that it is useful sometimes when a center channel is not positioned correctly - too many reflections from surrounding items or being positioned too low or high. The thing to remember is that it can affect music but usually I find I don't listen to much surround music

Reggie
Family Room:70" Sharp Elite/Marantz AV8801/MM8077/GoldenEar:Triton Ones (superseding Triton 2s), SuperCenter XL center channel, and SuperSat 60surrounds/Oppo BDP-105/Directv Genie/ HP Notebook
Basement: 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000/Marantz AV8003/Marantz MM8003/PSB Stratus Gold Front,Center,Left, Surrounds
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #12250 of 12261 Old 11-11-2014, 03:20 AM
Member
 
anoutsos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to bypass all video processing on the AV8801? I have an Oppo BDP-93 connected to the Marantz via HDMI (using the Marvell chipset) and I would like to benefit from the superior picture processing of the Oppo, without any additional processing.

Also, I have read in some forums that the best way to connect the Oppo is to use an HDMI connection directly to the TV and send the audio via the other (inferior) HDMI output on the Oppo. Apart from this being slightly inconvenient, as the Oppo is far from the TV, so I would need another 5m HDMI cable, I am worried about audio/video sync problems. Is it not the same to turn all the Marantz video processing off?

Finally, does my TV (Panasonic TX-P65VT30) do additional processing of the signal? Is there normally an option for disabling that? I currently use aspect ratio "16:9" but I've heard that the true picture can only be viewed in "Just Scan" mode.

Thanks.
anoutsos is offline  
post #12251 of 12261 Old 11-11-2014, 03:21 AM
Member
 
anoutsos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to bypass all video processing on the AV8801? I have an Oppo BDP-93 connected to the Marantz via HDMI (using the Marvell chipset) and I would like to benefit from the superior picture processing of the Oppo, without any additional processing.

Also, I have read in some forums that the best way to connect the Oppo is to use an HDMI connection directly to the TV and send the audio via the other (inferior) HDMI output on the Oppo. Apart from this being slightly inconvenient, as the Oppo is far from the TV, so I would need another 5m HDMI cable, I am worried about audio/video sync problems. Is it not the same to turn all the Marantz video processing off?

Finally, does my TV (Panasonic TX-P65VT30) do additional processing of the signal? Is there normally an option for disabling that? I currently use aspect ratio "16:9" but I've heard that the true picture can only be viewed in "Just Scan" mode.

Thanks.
anoutsos is offline  
post #12252 of 12261 Old 11-11-2014, 05:49 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,005
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1743 Post(s)
Liked: 1691
^^
Set the "i/p Scaler" setting on the 8801 to OFF. Setting "Video Conversion" to OFF will disable GUI overlay on source video so not recommended unless necessary.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12253 of 12261 Old 11-11-2014, 06:48 AM
Member
 
anoutsos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. So, keeping the "Video Conversion" ON does not add extra video processing, it just overlays the GUI? To be honest, most of the time I find the overlaid GUI difficult to work with, especially when the displayed source is bright. So, if that is the only thing that "Video Conversion" does, I may want to disable it anyway. Or am I missing something?
anoutsos is offline  
post #12254 of 12261 Old 11-11-2014, 07:01 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,005
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1743 Post(s)
Liked: 1691
^^
If the GUI overlay isn't used and only using HDMI sources, disable that as well. Whether a direct Oppo --> TV connection provides a better picture, only you can decide.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12255 of 12261 Old 11-11-2014, 08:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeycalda View Post
Well my fronts are large, side surrounds are small, but that shouldn't make a difference anyways as the LFE should go to the subs regardless.

Joey
You'd think that would work that way but unfortunately, when sound tracks are mastered they often put the LFE in with the bass signal and expect you to seperate it with your crossovers and send it to the subwoofer.

At one time, I was trying to figure out a way to use highly accurate subs for bass redirection and a different type of sub for the LFE signal. It would have worked if the industry would be consistant about sending the LFE signal only to the subwoofer and keep the bass redirects out of the xx.1 channel.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #12256 of 12261 Old 11-11-2014, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Set the "i/p Scaler" setting on the 8801 to OFF. Setting "Video Conversion" to OFF will disable GUI overlay on source video so not recommended unless necessary.
Right and it will pass the video on without processing.

Reggie
Family Room:70" Sharp Elite/Marantz AV8801/MM8077/GoldenEar:Triton Ones (superseding Triton 2s), SuperCenter XL center channel, and SuperSat 60surrounds/Oppo BDP-105/Directv Genie/ HP Notebook
Basement: 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000/Marantz AV8003/Marantz MM8003/PSB Stratus Gold Front,Center,Left, Surrounds
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #12257 of 12261 Old 11-13-2014, 05:33 AM
Senior Member
 
buckley44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiguy3 View Post
Right and it will pass the video on without processing.
So if you have a 4k projector, we would be better off leaving the Marantz set to off
and let the Projector do the processing? I'm speaking about the Sony VW600 4K Projector
buckley44 is online now  
post #12258 of 12261 Old 11-17-2014, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckley44 View Post
So if you have a 4k projector, we would be better off leaving the Marantz set to off
and let the Projector do the processing? I'm speaking about the Sony VW600 4K Projector
Set it to pass through

Reggie
Family Room:70" Sharp Elite/Marantz AV8801/MM8077/GoldenEar:Triton Ones (superseding Triton 2s), SuperCenter XL center channel, and SuperSat 60surrounds/Oppo BDP-105/Directv Genie/ HP Notebook
Basement: 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000/Marantz AV8003/Marantz MM8003/PSB Stratus Gold Front,Center,Left, Surrounds
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #12259 of 12261 Old 11-17-2014, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
discodol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wilton Manors, FL, USA
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiguy3 View Post
Set it to pass through
I'm sorry but if you are talking about HDMI Pass through according to page 128 in the manual Pass Through set to ON passes the selected HDMI input through the AV pre tuner's HDMI output when the AV pre tuner is in standby mode. OFF No HDMI signals are passed through the AV pre tuner's HDMI output in standby mode. This setting has nothing to do with whether or not the Marantz or the Oppo is processing the video signal.

If you are talking about video conversion page 129 describes the possible HDMI output settings. If you want the Oppo to do all the processing I would set Video Mode to Auto, Video Conversion to Off, i/p Scaler to Off, Resolution to Auto, Progressive Mode to Auto.
buckley44 likes this.

David Ferebee
discodol is offline  
post #12260 of 12261 Old 11-19-2014, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 652 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Looking at the possibility of buying an 8801

Onkyo is going to replace my 5508 pre/pro with a 5509...under warranty


I am contemplating selling the 5509 when I get it and buying a Marantz 8801


In looking at what I think the value proposition is of the two 5509/8801


if anyone knows where I might be able to buy a new unit from an authorized dealer for $1800.00 ish...or less


please send me a PM with that information


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5509 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #12261 of 12261 Old 11-19-2014, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,871
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnne1 View Post
Onkyo is going to replace my 5508 pre/pro with a 5509...under warranty

I am contemplating selling the 5509 when I get it and buying a Marantz 8801

In looking at what I think the value proposition is of the two 5509/8801

if anyone knows where I might be able to buy a new unit from an authorized dealer for $1800.00 ish...or less

please send me a PM with that information

Warren

Check out the AV7702 thread. There are AVS folks like Mike and jdsmoothie that can get you pricing:


The **OFFICIAL** Marantz AV7702 Pre/Pro

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off