Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 41 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1201 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 06:16 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,408
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 1495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geronimo.USMC View Post

The device with the IR code "Input Mode", as I stated, is either the AV7005 or SR7005. I can't recall which, but I tested it, and it cycles the input mode; Auto, HDMI, Analog, Ext.In

It turns out it's on both model's remotes as they use the same remote; however is referred to as the "A/D" button rather than "Input Mode".

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1202 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 06:18 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,408
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 1495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosano View Post

To AV8801 owners......what is the software upgrade that keeps popping up in a few posts.....what does it address / fix? How long did it take? Was it relatively simple....ie connect to internet and its all automatic...Is it a mandatory upgrade?
Thanks

Pandora fix.

http://us.marantz.com/us/News/Pages/NewsDetails.aspx?NewsID=77

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1203 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,173
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by marathonman View Post

Hi. Just to clarify. Are you connecting the 8801 and the 8807 with the remote control in/out or adc trigger? I have not purchased these units (yet) but i was hoping to use the rc in/out so I could save the dc triggers for other (non-marantz) devices. In the manual that connector looks like an RCA connector. True? Or did I misunderstand your question?

I am using the mini jack not the RCA- in my haste I had it in the adjacent port, not the trigger in.

Also left aux front panel is for audyssey pro...doing a cal now, probably just a 6-8 point as its late....


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
thrang is offline  
post #1204 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

It turns out it's on both model's remotes as they use the same remote; however is referred to as the "A/D" button rather than "Input Mode".
Its called "Input Mode" in the Harmony Database.

HTPC/Gaming Rig:
Silverstone CW02B, I7 3930K, 16GB, ASUS Rampage IV Formula
EVGA Signature Titan> 70 inch ELITE PRO-70X5FD
Auzen HDMI XFi> 7.2 via Marantz AV8801>Wyred4Sound, & Emotiva Amps>Paradigm 100'sV5, ADP590'sV5, 690v5, 20v5's, + Dual HSU-ULS15 Subs

Controlling: Two CX7000ES's via MyMovies
Geronimo.USMC is online now  
post #1205 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 06:53 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,408
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 1495
Got it. Thanks for the clarification. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1206 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 06:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Doesn't look like the remote code is what's causing all the zones to be turned on.
I must have changed something else. Anyone knows where the setting is that sets the other zones to come on when the main power on the remote is turned on?
TaDaaa! I found the workaround on the Logitech forums.

"A better solution to this problem is to set the Power On commoand to be "none" as the input command will power on the unit
Devices>Your AVR>Settings>Power Setting
Then at
Devices>Your AVR>Settings>Adjust Delays
Set the Power On delay to 0ms

This will also speed up the start of all of your Activities
"

I have tested it. This works well.
The only gripe I have now is missing the ir command or setting to switch the rear back surround upmixing OFF on 5.1 DTS sources as in the 4311CI. The current workaround is to manually select "none" in the GUI under speakers, and select "2spkrs" When you need to go from discreet 5.1 to discreet 6 or 7.1......I wish there was another way. Here is to hoping someone comes up with a solution.

HTPC/Gaming Rig:
Silverstone CW02B, I7 3930K, 16GB, ASUS Rampage IV Formula
EVGA Signature Titan> 70 inch ELITE PRO-70X5FD
Auzen HDMI XFi> 7.2 via Marantz AV8801>Wyred4Sound, & Emotiva Amps>Paradigm 100'sV5, ADP590'sV5, 690v5, 20v5's, + Dual HSU-ULS15 Subs

Controlling: Two CX7000ES's via MyMovies
Geronimo.USMC is online now  
post #1207 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jima4a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

I had the pair hooked up for A/B comparisons. March Stereophile.
I can't wait. I am hoping I don't get a big urge to sell my 80.3.

Main Kef: Reference 205/2 & 202/2c, Surrounds: Kef XQ40, Velodyne Optimum 12, Integra DHC 80.3, Oppo BDP-103, Bryston 4Bsst2, Parasound Halo A31. Second B&W: 685 (3), CCM618, Def Tech Powerfield 1500, Onkyo TX-NR1008, DBP 2010, Samsung BD-C7900, Zone 2 Klipsch AW650. Sitting still CCM616, Kef...
jima4a is offline  
post #1208 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
RajeeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCAL
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the suggestions for Discrete Power. I'm gonna call Marantz tomorrow and see if they have any suggestions.

I do have the latest discrete Hex codes for the 8801 that have not been released yet. I will attach it here for you all.

Marantz IR-HEX Codes 11-2012 - NEWEST.xlsx 559k .xlsx file
Attached Files
File Type: xlsx Marantz IR-HEX Codes 11-2012 - NEWEST.xlsx (558.7 KB, 103 views)
RajeeK is offline  
post #1209 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,173
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Finished an 11 point Pro cal a little while ago - one subwoofer distance setting is off by 7 feet or so - fairly odd (left sub is 13.5 feet away from MLP, but Audyssey notes it as 6.1. Identical JL AUdio Fathom 113 on opposite side of front soundstage is accurate to within about a foot of actual distance)

I know the distances aren't exact,, taking into account processing delays within the subs, but this seems fairly amiss...

No lengthy serial delay issues like the 4520 had initially...

Now for some listening. Must say I do like the Integra GUI much better than the Marantz - much more logically laid out


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
thrang is offline  
post #1210 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 08:38 PM
 
avsforumsdsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All DACS are not equal and all implementations of the same DACS are not equal.

There can be significant and easily heard differences between the Digital to Analog Conversion of different equipment. Hearing the difference does require downstream components with enough resolution to present the difference.

When talking about measurements keep in mind that most measurements are made using steady state signals. Music signals are far from steady state and orders of magnitude more complex. While steady state signals may not show interactions that affect the sound, music signals may cause interactions that degrade the perceived quality of the sound.

I certainly do not want to dismiss the placebo effect that many equipment "upgrades" may cause. This is, in most cases, very real. I prefer to refer to listening to music reproduction as a "Psycho-Acoustic" experience where Psycho and Acoustic may not necessarily be equal. Certain "upgrades" may be almost completely Psycho.

To get back on topic, I am very interested to learn exactly what the 8801 wiil provide and what reviewers that I respect think about it.
avsforumsdsd is offline  
post #1211 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 08:42 PM
Member
 
Mark Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

I had the pair hooked up for A/B comparisons. March Stereophile.

I read your article on the NAD T187 A/V surround-sound preamplifier-processor.
Mark Harrison is offline  
post #1212 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 10:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by RajeeK View Post

Thanks for all the suggestions for Discrete Power. I'm gonna call Marantz tomorrow and see if they have any suggestions.
I do have the latest discrete Hex codes for the 8801 that have not been released yet. I will attach it here for you all.
Marantz IR-HEX Codes 11-2012 - NEWEST.xlsx 559k .xlsx file
Would you or anyone send this to Harmony so they can update their database? Maybe ask Marantz themselves to submit it. I tried before & they had the nerve to charge me to do so. Thanks!

HTPC/Gaming Rig:
Silverstone CW02B, I7 3930K, 16GB, ASUS Rampage IV Formula
EVGA Signature Titan> 70 inch ELITE PRO-70X5FD
Auzen HDMI XFi> 7.2 via Marantz AV8801>Wyred4Sound, & Emotiva Amps>Paradigm 100'sV5, ADP590'sV5, 690v5, 20v5's, + Dual HSU-ULS15 Subs

Controlling: Two CX7000ES's via MyMovies
Geronimo.USMC is online now  
post #1213 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 10:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I almost forgot. Does anyone know if you do a web interface backup, does it save the actual Audyssey settings as well in the config.dat? I already had to do a microprocessor reset because of some quirky/flakey HDMI blackout handshake issues after the firmware update & reloaded the backup I made.

HTPC/Gaming Rig:
Silverstone CW02B, I7 3930K, 16GB, ASUS Rampage IV Formula
EVGA Signature Titan> 70 inch ELITE PRO-70X5FD
Auzen HDMI XFi> 7.2 via Marantz AV8801>Wyred4Sound, & Emotiva Amps>Paradigm 100'sV5, ADP590'sV5, 690v5, 20v5's, + Dual HSU-ULS15 Subs

Controlling: Two CX7000ES's via MyMovies
Geronimo.USMC is online now  
post #1214 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 11:05 PM
Senior Member
 
RajeeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCAL
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geronimo.USMC View Post

Would you or anyone send this to Harmony so they can update their database? Maybe ask Marantz themselves to submit it. I tried before & they had the nerve to charge me to do so. Thanks!
Sorry, can't help with submitting this to Harmony, I use a Mx-850 from URC.
RajeeK is offline  
post #1215 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 11:06 PM
Senior Member
 
RajeeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCAL
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geronimo.USMC View Post

I almost forgot. Does anyone know if you do a web interface backup, does it save the actual Audyssey settings as well in the config.dat? I already had to do a microprocessor reset because of some quirky/flakey HDMI blackout handshake issues after the firmware update & reloaded the backup I made.
Yes, I believe it does save all your settings including Audyssey.
RajeeK is offline  
post #1216 of 12111 Old 12-25-2012, 11:07 PM
Senior Member
 
yankee14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried to down load the manual but it gave me a error notice.
I have a question if someone can answer it.

I have three subs, a Velodyne for the .1 and two RELs for my L&R front speakers.
I have the RELs in line with the fronts. Those of you familiar with RELs will understand the type hook up that they can use.
I would like them to have a separate direct RCA out for better sound check and calibration which is an alternative method.

Question:
Can either the Front L&R High or Wide connections be configured as main fronts along with the normal front L&R.
In other words 2 L&R front channel speaker connections.
Some units take a second pair of inputs for a 4-way bi-amp of the front channels.

Thanks.

Greg
yankee14 is offline  
post #1217 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 02:01 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,408
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 1495
^^
The servers may have been down. You should be able to download the manual from either the product page (see below link) or the Support - Downloads and Manuals page .... just checked it and the product page seems to be running okay now. smile.gif

http://us.marantz.com/us/products/pages/ProductDetails.aspx?CatId=AVSeparates&ProductId=AV8801

As is also the case with the 4520CI, the pre-outs cannot be reassigned rather only the onboard amps of the 4520CI can be reassigned.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1218 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 02:02 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,408
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 1495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geronimo.USMC View Post

I almost forgot. Does anyone know if you do a web interface backup, does it save the actual Audyssey settings as well in the config.dat? I already had to do a microprocessor reset because of some quirky/flakey HDMI blackout handshake issues after the firmware update & reloaded the backup I made.

Yes. They are indeed. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1219 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 05:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rosano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Montreal
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ahhhh...thanks. So its just to update Pandora....well Pandora is not available in the Geat White North....so it not an upgrade I need to do. I wonder if any fellow Canucks have this unit yet?Still no ETA on mine.
Rosano is offline  
post #1220 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bfreedma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 9 iron from Philly
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post

Finished an 11 point Pro cal a little while ago - one subwoofer distance setting is off by 7 feet or so - fairly odd (left sub is 13.5 feet away from MLP, but Audyssey notes it as 6.1. Identical JL AUdio Fathom 113 on opposite side of front soundstage is accurate to within about a foot of actual distance)
I know the distances aren't exact,, taking into account processing delays within the subs, but this seems fairly amiss...
No lengthy serial delay issues like the 4520 had initially...
Now for some listening. Must say I do like the Integra GUI much better than the Marantz - much more logically laid out

The distance may have been altered by Pro to get the best integration at the crossover to your mains. I have a similar setup (A100 with pro and a pair of JL113's) and Pro set one of my subs to an odd distance as well. Although I did tweak the distances a bit using an Omnimic, the post Pro measurements showed better sub/main xover integration than the original XT32 only run. The Pro measurements actually got pretty close to the distance tweak I used to correct the original XT32 settings from before the Pro kit investment.

Do you have any measuring capability to confirm your settings?
bfreedma is offline  
post #1221 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 06:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geronimo.USMC View Post

TaDaaa! I found the workaround on the Logitech forums.
"A better solution to this problem is to set the Power On commoand to be "none" as the input command will power on the unit
Devices>Your AVR>Settings>Power Setting
Then at
Devices>Your AVR>Settings>Adjust Delays
Set the Power On delay to 0ms
This will also speed up the start of all of your Activities
"
I have tested it. This works well.
The only gripe I have now is missing the ir command or setting to switch the rear back surround upmixing OFF on 5.1 DTS sources as in the 4311CI. The current workaround is to manually select "none" in the GUI under speakers, and select "2spkrs" When you need to go from discreet 5.1 to discreet 6 or 7.1......I wish there was another way. Here is to hoping someone comes up with a solution.

Reprogrammed the remote last night and tried it this morning.

Works great and as you said fast.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #1222 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 06:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by RajeeK View Post

Sorry, can't help with submitting this to Harmony, I use a Mx-850 from URC.
Time for me to step my remote game up lol.

HTPC/Gaming Rig:
Silverstone CW02B, I7 3930K, 16GB, ASUS Rampage IV Formula
EVGA Signature Titan> 70 inch ELITE PRO-70X5FD
Auzen HDMI XFi> 7.2 via Marantz AV8801>Wyred4Sound, & Emotiva Amps>Paradigm 100'sV5, ADP590'sV5, 690v5, 20v5's, + Dual HSU-ULS15 Subs

Controlling: Two CX7000ES's via MyMovies
Geronimo.USMC is online now  
post #1223 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
akopperl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you connect a stereo component to the analog inputs (balanced or RCA) does the signal bypass all DSP and A/D-D/A conversion? I was thinking about purchasing an outboard DAC and connecting it to the balanced input.
akopperl is offline  
post #1224 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 08:19 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,408
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 1495
No, not with the RCA and therefore not likely with the balanced either, rather only when using the multi channel analog inputs would that be the case.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1225 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 08:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,140
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 582
We had our first units come in, they came and went fast. No time to play with this piece just yet.

Forum Sponsor // \\
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1-866-651-0049 // \\
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1226 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Diesel 48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just ordered one! Woohoo!! Replacing my onkyo 805 receiver. Expecting a big upgrade.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Diesel 48 is offline  
post #1227 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 09:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

No, not with the RCA and therefore not likely with the balanced either, rather only when using the multi channel analog inputs would that be the case.

Then you've got the bass management to deal with.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #1228 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 09:34 AM
Newbie
 
efithian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just put down a deposit. Picking up tomorrow or next day. Replacing Rotel 965 with DTS breakup.
efithian is offline  
post #1229 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 10:17 AM
Member
 
dryeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I am considering this model as a replacement for my beloved Lexicon MC12HD even though that unit still meets most of my needs. Would someone who already has posession of one test for the ability to reuse a HDMI video signal and map it to another input?

What I want to replicate is the way I have an input customized on my Lexicon unit. Specifically I'm looking for the ability to use the HDMI audio and video output of my cable box as say input 1 of the AV8801 and reusing the same cable box HDMI video only portion with the SPDIF audio of my CD player. This way I can play music and watch television at the same time and swap between the two by pressing just one button.
dryeye is offline  
post #1230 of 12111 Old 12-26-2012, 10:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel 48 View Post

Just ordered one! Woohoo!! Replacing my onkyo 805 receiver. Expecting a big upgrade.
I remember that was a great AVR. Sadly I never experienced one, but I was among the first ones with the 605. The first HD decoding AVR I believe. These 8801's are selling like hotcakes. Another question out there on the Harmony front. I see this unit supports a Dynamic Eq toggle IR command, & a Dynamic Eq/Dynamic Volume. Anyone find the Dynamic EQ alone? All I have found is the IR for Dynamic Volume toggle & a Dynamic Eq/Dynamic Volume that toggles them both at the same time. First it displays & cycles the Dynamic EQ with Dynamic Volume under it, then under it on the OSD it starts cycling the Dynamic Volume.

HTPC/Gaming Rig:
Silverstone CW02B, I7 3930K, 16GB, ASUS Rampage IV Formula
EVGA Signature Titan> 70 inch ELITE PRO-70X5FD
Auzen HDMI XFi> 7.2 via Marantz AV8801>Wyred4Sound, & Emotiva Amps>Paradigm 100'sV5, ADP590'sV5, 690v5, 20v5's, + Dual HSU-ULS15 Subs

Controlling: Two CX7000ES's via MyMovies
Geronimo.USMC is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off