Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 412 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Selden Ball's Avatar Selden Ball
08:22 AM Liked: 537
post #12331 of 12353
12-21-2014 | Posts: 7,831
Joined: Jan 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
Can't wait to find out if its indeed contributing anything or nothing but I suspect it has to do with bandwidth
All of the Atmos discs that I've watched use the standard 48K/s sampling rate. Soundtrack quality normally is the result of the quality of the people doing the audio mixing.
Norcuron's Avatar Norcuron
12:31 PM Liked: 25
post #12332 of 12353
12-21-2014 | Posts: 63
Joined: Jun 2005
HI,

I have had a Max volume issue for a while. It will not currently turn up past 91.5. I have the Marantz App on my iphone and have made sure the Max volume is set to off. I went in and moved it to a max, allowed it to set the level and then went back turn it to off to make sure that is reset. I have also gone into the Marantz menu and made sure it is turned to off. Any other ideas? Yes 91.5 is loud but there are some songs that would be nice to have the max available. Thanks for input and ideas.
kbarnes701's Avatar kbarnes701
12:47 PM Liked: 2312
post #12333 of 12353
12-21-2014 | Posts: 19,843
Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcuron View Post
HI,

I have had a Max volume issue for a while. It will not currently turn up past 91.5. I have the Marantz App on my iphone and have made sure the Max volume is set to off. I went in and moved it to a max, allowed it to set the level and then went back turn it to off to make sure that is reset. I have also gone into the Marantz menu and made sure it is turned to off. Any other ideas? Yes 91.5 is loud but there are some songs that would be nice to have the max available. Thanks for input and ideas.
What are your speaker and sub trims set to? If they are set quite high then the max volume is limited in order to preserve headroom. For example, if you have a total trim boost of 15dB then your max volume will be 15dB down. I am not familiar with the absolute volume scale, so not sure how much higher than 91.5 it should go, but if you set it to the relative volume scale it will tie in with the dBs as indicated in your trim settings.
Norcuron's Avatar Norcuron
12:53 PM Liked: 25
post #12334 of 12353
12-21-2014 | Posts: 63
Joined: Jun 2005
Front L -5, Front R -5.5, Center -3.5, Sub shows -6 in Audyssey but I fluctuate the sub all the time depending on what I am listening to.
kbarnes701's Avatar kbarnes701
02:27 PM Liked: 2312
post #12335 of 12353
12-21-2014 | Posts: 19,843
Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcuron View Post
Front L -5, Front R -5.5, Center -3.5, Sub shows -6 in Audyssey but I fluctuate the sub all the time depending on what I am listening to.
Then it isn't that which is causing the problem. I am out of ideas now though, sorry. At least, one possible cause has been eliminated.
mikejedi123's Avatar mikejedi123
10:38 PM Liked: 41
post #12336 of 12353
12-21-2014 | Posts: 216
Joined: Aug 2007
Ok fellow AVS friends, i have been messing with this beast for the past few days.. on my adventure I encountered a small ground loop hum... flipped my ground switch on my A52 amp and 2125 amp, back and forth and let the Parasound's warm up a bit .. voilia... Gone! Haven't heard it since.. maybe i got lucky , i don't know .. but i seem to get it when i first hook up the amp's to a new pre/pro.. it did the same thing to me when i used the Yam Z7 at first and then went away...!! YAY! #2 cable/sat went haywire on the audio.. reset the microprocessor once.. and then my cable box.. all gone..... #3 I wasn't getting alot of bass.. turns out i didn't set audessey right the first time and had accidentally skipped the subwoofer calibration test, DOH! LOL... fixed all of that business.. and i am starting to dial this thing in and OMG ... it is sounds amazingly different than my old piece, and in a good way , of course.. rich, yet clear.. there is more "there", there.. if you get my drift.. movies sound more real.. i am listening to a dexter gordon blue note Ron Mcmaster cd on my Oppo 105 as I type this..i feel like i am there with him.. it sounds more like an LP.. this is a true pre-amp IMO.... man ... and i have barely scratched the surface of this thing.. Thor sounded unlike i have heard it in my room... more to come guys.. i may have some more to ask you guys possibly.. thanks to Audiofan1 and the rest of you guys for guiding me on this fun journey..
audiofan1's Avatar audiofan1
11:27 PM Liked: 547
post #12337 of 12353
12-21-2014 | Posts: 3,303
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejedi123 View Post
Ok fellow AVS friends, i have been messing with this beast for the past few days.. on my adventure I encountered a small ground loop hum... flipped my ground switch on my A52 amp and 2125 amp, back and forth and let the Parasound's warm up a bit .. voilia... Gone! Haven't heard it since.. maybe i got lucky , i don't know .. but i seem to get it when i first hook up the amp's to a new pre/pro.. it did the same thing to me when i used the Yam Z7 at first and then went away...!! YAY! #2 cable/sat went haywire on the audio.. reset the microprocessor once.. and then my cable box.. all gone..... #3 I wasn't getting alot of bass.. turns out i didn't set audessey right the first time and had accidentally skipped the subwoofer calibration test, DOH! LOL... fixed all of that business.. and i am starting to dial this thing in and OMG ... it is sounds amazingly different than my old piece, and in a good way , of course.. rich, yet clear.. there is more "there", there.. if you get my drift.. movies sound more real.. i am listening to a dexter gordon blue note Ron Mcmaster cd on my Oppo 105 as I type this..i feel like i am there with him.. it sounds more like an LP.. this is a true pre-amp IMO.... man ... and i have barely scratched the surface of this thing.. Thor sounded unlike i have heard it in my room... more to come guys.. i may have some more to ask you guys possibly.. thanks to Audiofan1 and the rest of you guys for guiding me on this fun journey..

Big congrats! Dexter Gordon is a great musician indeed! kudos on that one. It's indeed true the 8801 as a preamp is its hidden gem feature as it allows the something like the 105 to really shine without hindrance and I was as shocked as you on the Oppos analog like SQ. Great tip on the flipping the ground switch on the Parasound's my A21 does give some faint hum but I've always wondered why some flips of the ground lift where better than others, I'll have to give it a go


Enjoy the movies and music
mikejedi123's Avatar mikejedi123
01:52 AM Liked: 41
post #12338 of 12353
12-23-2014 | Posts: 216
Joined: Aug 2007
I am further along on my journey tonight.. I hooked up a digital coaxial cable to my old Arcam CD73 to see if it sounds better than the analog outputs , which are pretty darn good to begin with, and guess what? You are 100% correct, audiofan1! The DAC's inside the 8801 are awesome as well.. they sound different than the 105, but in a toe-tapping rythmic way! Way cool.. i am listening to one of my favorite Rippingtons jazz cd's on the Arcam right now via the coax cable!!! Sounds live!
EZ-Rhino's Avatar EZ-Rhino
05:13 AM Liked: 26
post #12339 of 12353
12-23-2014 | Posts: 236
Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejedi123 View Post
I am further along on my journey tonight.. I hooked up a digital coaxial cable to my old Arcam CD73 to see if it sounds better than the analog outputs , which are pretty darn good to begin with, and guess what? You are 100% correct, audiofan1! The DAC's inside the 8801 are awesome as well.. they sound different than the 105, but in a toe-tapping rythmic way! Way cool.. i am listening to one of my favorite Rippingtons jazz cd's on the Arcam right now via the coax cable!!! Sounds live!
Welcome to the club. Good to hear you are enjoying it. I don't if anyone has mentioned the cooling issue to you. Most of us are using external fans on our 8801's as the rear gets very hot.
mikejedi123's Avatar mikejedi123
11:21 AM Liked: 41
post #12340 of 12353
12-23-2014 | Posts: 216
Joined: Aug 2007
Luckily mine hasn't gotten too hot.. it is on an open rack.. although i will look into a cooling option just in case it starts to get real hot if i play it for real long periods... i will keep an eye out.. thanks!! Yeah, it does sound good.. i am enjoying trying out all of my movies and music!!
audiofan1's Avatar audiofan1
11:33 AM Liked: 547
post #12341 of 12353
12-23-2014 | Posts: 3,303
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejedi123 View Post
I am further along on my journey tonight.. I hooked up a digital coaxial cable to my old Arcam CD73 to see if it sounds better than the analog outputs , which are pretty darn good to begin with, and guess what? You are 100% correct, audiofan1! The DAC's inside the 8801 are awesome as well.. they sound different than the 105, but in a toe-tapping rythmic way! Way cool.. i am listening to one of my favorite Rippingtons jazz cd's on the Arcam right now via the coax cable!!! Sounds live!
Nice indeed to have so many awesome playback options
beastaudio's Avatar beastaudio
02:01 PM Liked: 1050
post #12342 of 12353
12-23-2014 | Posts: 8,207
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcuron View Post
HI,

I have had a Max volume issue for a while. It will not currently turn up past 91.5. I have the Marantz App on my iphone and have made sure the Max volume is set to off. I went in and moved it to a max, allowed it to set the level and then went back turn it to off to make sure that is reset. I have also gone into the Marantz menu and made sure it is turned to off. Any other ideas? Yes 91.5 is loud but there are some songs that would be nice to have the max available. Thanks for input and ideas.
See if you only have the issue when streaming (using the network source or airplay in general) content to the unit, as opposed to other sources like a blue ray player. NOTE: if switching to another source, you HAVE to pause whatever you were previously using the network streaming option for. This is an issue I ran into as well and never found out the source of the issue. Unfortunately, I wasn't even able to find out which component it originated from. I too was on an iphone, so I bought a new android, still the volume stuck. I thought it was the app so I deleted the app, and went with deremote. Nope, not that either.

Here was the rough part: I could switch from my phone to my wife's or friend's iphone when they wanted to stream music to the 8801 and viola, they could get the volume to crank the rest of the way just fine. It was only when I switched back to my control and streaming that the issue would immediately pop back up. Obviously even on a brand new phone, on an entirely different OS never fixed what what happening. I got so frustrated by the end of all of that and running around in circles for so long that I just went and bought two sonos units and haven't looked back since. I would still try:

Microprocessor reset on the 8801 (Might have to do 3 in a row to fully reset the unit)
deletion and reinstallation of the marantz app
checking other sources to see if volume sticks on those whilst not streaming period to the 8801 even when not selected as source.
mikejedi123's Avatar mikejedi123
09:20 PM Liked: 41
post #12343 of 12353
12-23-2014 | Posts: 216
Joined: Aug 2007
Listening to James Taylor/Carole King Live at The Troubador 2007 CD, wow!! on CD Direct setting with my Oppo 105D.. wowza!!! Awesome, i think JT and CK are in my condo , along with their band!!!
beastaudio's Avatar beastaudio
10:14 PM Liked: 1050
post #12344 of 12353
12-23-2014 | Posts: 8,207
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejedi123 View Post
Listening to James Taylor/Carole King Live at The Troubador 2007 CD, wow!! on CD Direct setting with my Oppo 105D.. wowza!!! Awesome, i think JT and CK are in my condo , along with their band!!!
Sorry if I missed, what speakers are you using along with the 8801?
mikejedi123's Avatar mikejedi123
11:23 PM Liked: 41
post #12345 of 12353
12-23-2014 | Posts: 216
Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Sorry if I missed, what speakers are you using along with the 8801?

Hi there, I have the Definitive Technology BP7002's (mains), Def Tech CLR 2500 (center), Infinity Entra .1 rears... and Infinity Entra Center rear center along with my Def Tech Trinity Subwoofer...... They sound great.. i love the Def Tech BiPolar sound.. i believe these sound superior to the newer Def Tech line IMO..... on movies and music.... and with my Parasound A52, 2125 and now adding the 8801 , the system shines even more!!
mikejedi123's Avatar mikejedi123
02:19 AM Liked: 41
post #12346 of 12353
Yesterday | Posts: 216
Joined: Aug 2007
Listening to some Hell Freezes Over by the Eagles XRCD2 in Direct CD and also in DTS NEO X Game mode.. sounds different in good ways in each mode.. I like the detail of the direct CD mode but i also like the spaciousness of the DTS NEO X setting.. it gives it a little extra on this particular live recording.. I am impressed at the versatility of this Marantz.. the midrange is so sweet and it just sounds so balanced.. i can hear all of the high's mids, and lows.. it is totally a transparent pre/pro to the source IMO.. Also was watching my Star Wars Blu-Ray's and my Man of Steel BD as well and i just can't stop listening to moves and music.. i can't wait to fire up Transformers 4........................!!!!!!
AustinJerry's Avatar AustinJerry
07:21 AM Liked: 945
post #12347 of 12353
Yesterday | Posts: 8,110
Joined: Jan 2003
My apologies for a slightly off-topic question. I will be receiving an 8801 soon, and have a question regarding using XLR cables. I recently installed an XPA-7, and am using seven un-balance digital audio cables from Monoprice for the connections. The cables are very stiff, and routing them in my equipment rack was a bear. Are XLR cables inherently more flexibile and easier to handle, or does it depend on the cable brand? I am thinking of getting the cables from Monoprice.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.
Dave Vaughn's Avatar Dave Vaughn
10:23 AM Liked: 130
post #12348 of 12353
Yesterday | Posts: 4,386
Joined: Mar 2002
The Monoprice XLR cables are more flexible than their RCA cables by far. That's what I've been using to good success. I also use their XLR to RCA cables to my subs (actually to the wall plate then a different cable to the subs). I like the secure connection that XLR provides.
beastaudio's Avatar beastaudio
01:10 PM Liked: 1050
post #12349 of 12353
Yesterday | Posts: 8,207
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejedi123 View Post
Listening to some Hell Freezes Over by the Eagles XRCD2 in Direct CD and also in DTS NEO X Game mode.. sounds different in good ways in each mode.. I like the detail of the direct CD mode but i also like the spaciousness of the DTS NEO X setting.. it gives it a little extra on this particular live recording.. I am impressed at the versatility of this Marantz.. the midrange is so sweet and it just sounds so balanced.. i can hear all of the high's mids, and lows.. it is totally a transparent pre/pro to the source IMO.. Also was watching my Star Wars Blu-Ray's and my Man of Steel BD as well and i just can't stop listening to moves and music.. i can't wait to fire up Transformers 4........................!!!!!!
any particular reason you are using DTS neo X "game" setting instead of DTS neox "Music?" You do know you can hold down each of the 4 colored audio buttons to get a quickscreen to pop up with all the audio options for each (Movie/music/game/direct)? Just thought I would point that out in case you didnt know
mikejedi123's Avatar mikejedi123
03:12 PM Liked: 41
post #12350 of 12353
Yesterday | Posts: 216
Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
any particular reason you are using DTS neo X "game" setting instead of DTS neox "Music?" You do know you can hold down each of the 4 colored audio buttons to get a quickscreen to pop up with all the audio options for each (Movie/music/game/direct)? Just thought I would point that out in case you didnt know
Thanks man, i hadn't realized that.. thanks for the heads up.. i will also try DTS Neo music again today.. In fact.. i was just trying to add something to the TrueHD track on Star Trek Into Darkness and i couldn't add DTS neo or anything else except for Virtual and Multi Channel Stereo... IS it becasue its a TrueHD track or am i doing something incorrect? I know how to add it to the stereo CD's, but i pressed the same buttons and i an getting different options on the movie tracks.. Stereo , Dolby TrueHD (in this case), Multi-Channel and Virtual .. it doesnt look like i can add NEo or Dolby iix etc.. even though in the manual it says i can add for movies.. maybe i disabled it somehow when i was listening to music earlier? Any thoughts.. thanks guys...
Selden Ball's Avatar Selden Ball
07:37 PM Liked: 537
post #12351 of 12353
Yesterday | Posts: 7,831
Joined: Jan 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejedi123 View Post
Thanks man, i hadn't realized that.. thanks for the heads up.. i will also try DTS Neo music again today.. In fact.. i was just trying to add something to the TrueHD track on Star Trek Into Darkness and i couldn't add DTS neo or anything else except for Virtual and Multi Channel Stereo... IS it becasue its a TrueHD track or am i doing something incorrect? I know how to add it to the stereo CD's, but i pressed the same buttons and i an getting different options on the movie tracks.. Stereo , Dolby TrueHD (in this case), Multi-Channel and Virtual .. it doesnt look like i can add NEo or Dolby iix etc.. even though in the manual it says i can add for movies.. maybe i disabled it somehow when i was listening to music earlier? Any thoughts.. thanks guys...
The various upmixers can't do anything if the original soundtrack is already occupying all of your speaker channels. STID has a 7.1 channel soundtrack: Front LCR, Side Surround and Rear Surround. DTS Neo:X is only available to augment it if you have Front Wide and/or Front Height speakers in addition to the traditional surround speakers.
mikejedi123's Avatar mikejedi123
03:30 AM Liked: 41
post #12352 of 12353
Today | Posts: 216
Joined: Aug 2007
thanks selden... STID is an awesome sounding track!!! In fact , i knew it sounded good, but with my 8801 its like its a whole level up...!! I used the music mode with my CD's , it's a nice sound as well when i don't want to use Direct , which i often do. I also like using DTS NEO X Music on my 5.1 DTS HD MA and TrueHD Blu-Ray concerts!! Really cool, i was using it on BadCo Live @ Wembley and wow!! And on Live at Montreux: Return to Forever.. also better than i ever heard it!! I am always learning something new.. I also started playing my Xbox One and it actually sounds best on the standard auto mode.. i tried adding the DTS GAME NEO and it sounds werid to me.. maybe cause i am already upscaling the sound thru my Oppo105D and it sounds good enough through that @ auto Call Of Duty Advanced Warfare sounds amazing.. i can hear much more of the surrounds bullet sounds etc now.. I feel that XT32 Audessey makes a real difference in my room.. seems like it is much better than my old Yammie DSP's.. but thats just IMO and who knows it was an older Yammie model RX-z7 ....I am sure the new ones are better..... but I am loving my New 8801..!! i will keep playing with it though.. I think my neighbors thought i had a real space battle going on in my condo with Star Trek Into Darkness!!!
admranger's Avatar admranger
10:49 PM Liked: 21
post #12353 of 12353
Today | Posts: 80
Joined: Jan 2010
Guys, my lovely wife bought me (after much begging) two new front speakers: ATC SCM 19's (had to be stand mount). They are lovely in 2ch mode, with a much wider and deeper soundstage as well as incredible resolution (I'm hearing new, subtle parts of the music that I *thought* knew every note/nuance of). Still getting them broken in, but they are darned impressive speakers. Their resolution is nearly the same as the Vivid B1's (driven by Luxman Class A amp, etc., etc.) I heard in my house during an audio club event. I don't have the SCM 19's four feet out into the listening room though!

So, I have the old B&W LCR's and I am thinking of trying them in my system for a 7.2 system (vs. the 5.2 that I'm used to). Should I use them as wides or highs? Eventually, my wife will decide (aesthetics). I'm just wondering which one is preferred over the other? For wides, I can get about 6' or so wider than my front speakers. However, the left one will be quite a bit forward from the right one, though processing should take that out. If I go with the speakers in the 'high' position, they'll be about 3.5 - 4' above the mains, but narrower in width than the mains.

Looking forward to your input/ideas on this.
Tags: Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra

Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3