Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 418 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12511 of 13054 Old 01-29-2015, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
DrMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMichael View Post
An update on the Schindlers List audio drop out: I let the movie run from the beginning and around the same time as previously mentioned the audio dropped out again. It was in a different spot about 30 seconds pats the previous drop out. The audio comes back on after a rewind but not after a pause. It does not Drop Out if I start a chapter over it appears like the whole movie has to be played. The disc is clean and I don't know why it keeps doing this. Any thoughts? Bad disc?
I think I can rule out the 8801 being the cause of the audio dropout as I played the movie 2 times on my PS4 (that is apart of my HT setup) and no audio drop. So it must be a disc/Oppo compatibility issue....

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60
Marantz AV8801 pre-pro / MM8077 amp
Martin Logan Motion 50XT Center
Martin Logan Motion 60XT Fronts/40 Rears
REL R-528 SE (2)
Oppo BDP-103D/Playstation 4/Furman ELITE-20 PF i
DrMichael is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12512 of 13054 Old 01-29-2015, 06:18 PM
Member
 
btran33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germantown MD
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjazdk View Post
Are you using balanced interconnects?

If yes, then my guess is you have a bad interconnect cable, as that can give you exactly 6dB less gain if either + or - in the cable has no connection.

For a start try switching the interconnect cables to check if the issue follows the cable.
I have tried the on/off...off/on method with no luck! And yes, I have balanced interconnects cables (monoprice) and had tried to swap the cable around. Let me try another cable swapping tonight and see if this is the problem.
Many thanks...
bt
btran33 is offline  
post #12513 of 13054 Old 01-30-2015, 03:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,356
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5100 Post(s)
Liked: 2618
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I mean no disrespect, Beast, but can you explain to me why several resets accomplish more than one reset? Based on my understanding of electronics, this doesn't make any sense. I hear the recommendation many times, but no one has ever presented evidence that proves to me why more than one reset would be required.
The evidence is those forum members who have posted that multiple resets resolved their issue when a single reset did not and I've seen enough posts to that effect that it prompted me to change my long time last line in my sig to what it is today.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12514 of 13054 Old 01-30-2015, 12:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quick Question on 9.1 with Heights

I'd like to run a 9.1 with 2 surround backs and 2 heights. I see in the AV8801 manual that if the source is Dolby True HD, for example, then the output modes possible include Dolby True HD +PLIIx (for SB) *or* Dolby True HD + PLIIz (for heights).

I'd like to run PLIIx and PLIIz at the same time to get the 9.1, will it do this automatically?

I was not a fan of the Audyssey height processing, so I'd like to stick with Dolby's version.

Thanks for any input,

Jon
JonnyFive54950 is offline  
post #12515 of 13054 Old 01-31-2015, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AndyN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Does a microprocessor reset delete all settings ie audyssey, speaker distance, etc?
AndyN is online now  
post #12516 of 13054 Old 01-31-2015, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Andy the answer is yes
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #12517 of 13054 Old 01-31-2015, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,132
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 940
Guys I've been meaning to post this as I just found it but if one needs to do a microprocessor reset and want to retain there Auydssey and all other configuration settings , here's a tip and a feature that's still around I got direct from a Marantz tech!

To Save

Display & Zone Select for 4 seconds

To restore

Setup & Zone Select


This saves a lot of headache and gets you back to that good run of Audyssey you may have liked after a reset
Audiguy3 likes this.
audiofan1 is online now  
post #12518 of 13054 Old 02-03-2015, 12:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyFive54950 View Post
I'd like to run a 9.1 with 2 surround backs and 2 heights. I see in the AV8801 manual that if the source is Dolby True HD, for example, then the output modes possible include Dolby True HD +PLIIx (for SB) *or* Dolby True HD + PLIIz (for heights).

I'd like to run PLIIx and PLIIz at the same time to get the 9.1, will it do this automatically?
Answered my own question. PLIIz = PLIIx + heights, so I can achieve the 9.1 with Dolby PLIIz. And also with Audyssey DSX and DTS NEO:X.
JonnyFive54950 is offline  
post #12519 of 13054 Old 02-05-2015, 01:49 PM
Ace of Bass
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 9,603
Mentioned: 113 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1951 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
Hey dudes, just for those that might not have noticed, I posted my 8801 in the classys

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)
 
HT seats for sale!
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/211-ac...seat-rows.html
Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread
beastaudio is offline  
post #12520 of 13054 Old 02-05-2015, 01:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 16,131
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 328
beast....what are you replacing it with?
JimP is offline  
post #12521 of 13054 Old 02-05-2015, 01:56 PM
Ace of Bass
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 9,603
Mentioned: 113 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1951 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
beast....what are you replacing it with?
Got the 7702 in the rack last night....It will live there until the 8802 comes out. Yea right, I didn't even consider another brand unit after how much I have enjoyed the 8801

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)
 
HT seats for sale!
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/211-ac...seat-rows.html
Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread
beastaudio is offline  
post #12522 of 13054 Old 02-06-2015, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 418
So you have a two week purchase or are you going to wait until the Marantz 8802 is fully "upgraded" from the factory before purchasing?
labman1 likes this.

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)
My Atmos Renovation Part 1 http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...odyssey-part-1
My Atmos Renovation Part 2 http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...odyssey-part-2
Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #12523 of 13054 Old 02-06-2015, 09:13 AM
Ace of Bass
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 9,603
Mentioned: 113 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1951 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post
So you have a two week purchase or are you going to wait until the Marantz 8802 is fully "upgraded" from the factory before purchasing?
Gonna hang around for the fully upgraded deal.
Dave Vaughn likes this.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)
 
HT seats for sale!
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/211-ac...seat-rows.html
Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread
beastaudio is offline  
post #12524 of 13054 Old 02-06-2015, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,132
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post
So you have a two week purchase or are you going to wait until the Marantz 8802 is fully "upgraded" from the factory before purchasing?
I sure hope the fully "upgraded" includes DTS X as all else is ticking my audiophile boxes, if it can best my Oppo 105 for 2/ch this paired with a 103D or Oppo 4k will be a killer combo
audiofan1 is online now  
post #12525 of 13054 Old 02-06-2015, 05:47 PM
Member
 
labman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Have a question. I have an 8801 and was thinking about Atmos like everyone else. Would selling the 8801 then buying a 7702 be a lateral move or waiting for the 8802. I see the 7702 does not have 2.2 for 4k protection. I only have 7.2 channels and it will be awhile before I let go of my calibrated plasma. Wondering what 8801 owners are going to do? Thanks for your help. Love the Marantz sound btw!
labman1 is offline  
post #12526 of 13054 Old 02-06-2015, 06:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,762
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by labman1 View Post
Have a question. I have an 8801 and was thinking about Atmos like everyone else. Would selling the 8801 then buying a 7702 be a lateral move or waiting for the 8802. I see the 7702 does not have 2.2 for 4k protection. I only have 7.2 channels and it will be awhile before I let go of my calibrated plasma. Wondering what 8801 owners are going to do? Thanks for your help. Love the Marantz sound btw!
Try this thread: The **OFFICIAL** Marantz AV7702 Pre/Pro

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #12527 of 13054 Old 02-06-2015, 06:07 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 18,789
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1009 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by labman1 View Post
Have a question. I have an 8801 and was thinking about Atmos like everyone else. Would selling the 8801 then buying a 7702 be a lateral move or waiting for the 8802. I see the 7702 does not have 2.2 for 4k protection. I only have 7.2 channels and it will be awhile before I let go of my calibrated plasma. Wondering what 8801 owners are going to do? Thanks for your help. Love the Marantz sound btw!

Personally I'd wait, but it's up to you. We don't know what's happening with DTS X plus there is very little titles on Atmos at the moment. If your happy with your setup I'd say stick with it but if your in a rush for the next best thing then go for it. Be prepared though if you do upgrade now you might have to upgrade again very soon. My 2 cents [emoji4]


Frank

_________________________

Frank
Franin is online now  
post #12528 of 13054 Old 02-06-2015, 10:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post
are you going to wait until the Marantz 8802 is fully "upgraded" from the factory before purchasing?
I think I'm gonna wait a few months myself, see how all goes. I'm sure they will be good performers
WestCoastD is offline  
post #12529 of 13054 Old 02-06-2015, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 54
setting-up a brand-new AV8801 (still), contemplating whether to use built-in hub to connect all other devices (Oppo BDP-105, etc.,...) to network? Or, instead, employ a third-party switch (Netgear GS605)?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #12530 of 13054 Old 02-07-2015, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
exm
AVS Special Member
 
exm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYY
Posts: 1,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post
setting-up a brand-new AV8801 (still), contemplating whether to use built-in hub to connect all other devices (Oppo BDP-105, etc.,...) to network? Or, instead, employ a third-party switch (Netgear GS605)?
I think most users here are not using the built-in hub. Don't forget also that it's not a gigabit hub
exm is offline  
post #12531 of 13054 Old 02-07-2015, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 9,102
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by exm View Post
I think most users here are not using the built-in hub. Don't forget also that it's not a gigabit hub

... and it is not a switch.


- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 + A21 + A51 | Revel Salon2 (coming soon (I hope), Voice2, Studio2 | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #12532 of 13054 Old 02-07-2015, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,132
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 940
I've used the hub in the past and it works great
audiofan1 is online now  
post #12533 of 13054 Old 02-07-2015, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 418
I have a gigabit switch in my rack and use that.

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)
My Atmos Renovation Part 1 http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...odyssey-part-1
My Atmos Renovation Part 2 http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...odyssey-part-2
Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #12534 of 13054 Old 02-07-2015, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post
setting-up a brand-new AV8801 (still), contemplating whether to use built-in hub to connect all other devices (Oppo BDP-105, etc.,...) to network? Or, instead, employ a third-party switch (Netgear GS605)?
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
I've used the hub in the past and it works great
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post
I have a gigabit switch in my rack and use that.
Thanks.

yeah, I will probably go with my NetGear GS605 Gigabit switch.
WestCoastD is offline  
post #12535 of 13054 Old 02-07-2015, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by labman1 View Post
Have a question. I have an 8801 and was thinking about Atmos like everyone else. Would selling the 8801 then buying a 7702 be a lateral move or waiting for the 8802. I see the 7702 does not have 2.2 for 4k protection. I only have 7.2 channels and it will be awhile before I let go of my calibrated plasma. Wondering what 8801 owners are going to do? Thanks for your help. Love the Marantz sound btw!
regardless, I'm gonna wait a little while before I spring for an AV8802 (maybe until summer 2015 or so). While I would love to have an Atmos capable set-up, I only use 5.1 configuration at the moment. But I am intrigued with analog audio differences, improvement, new updated HDAM circuitry may yield.
WestCoastD is offline  
post #12536 of 13054 Old 02-07-2015, 08:18 PM
Member
 
labman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post
regardless, I'm gonna wait a little while before I spring for an AV8802 (maybe until summer 2015 or so). While I would love to have an Atmos capable set-up, I only use 5.1 configuration at the moment. But I am intrigued with analog audio differences, improvement, new updated HDAM circuitry may yield.
I found an Onkyo 626 that I picked up for $160, they said it turned on then off. It was in protection mode. since it was under warranty sent it in and they repaired it. just go it back yesterday thought I might play with the atmos in this and see how it sounded. Nothing like the 8801 but it would give me an idea. What switching would I need or do I just hook my speakers up to the Onkyo. Now to find some Atmos speakers to go with my VonSchweikert Audio speakers.
labman1 is offline  
post #12537 of 13054 Old 02-08-2015, 01:52 PM
Member
 
Volpar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Saint Petersburg Florida
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I have been reading a lot of this thread and have not seen a lot people saying that the AV8801 sounds good. the price has dropped a lot and I was concentering getting one (1799.00) .




dose any one have any good things to say about it sonically or is this just a ok buy?

Last edited by Volpar; 02-08-2015 at 03:55 PM.
Volpar is offline  
post #12538 of 13054 Old 02-08-2015, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AndyN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Audi- thank you.

audio- just missed your post due to my impatience but this is great to know.
AndyN is online now  
post #12539 of 13054 Old 02-08-2015, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 5,364
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1146 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volpar View Post
I have been reading a lot of this thread and have not seen a lot people saying that the AV8801 sounds good. the price has dropped a lot and I was concentering getting one (1799.00) . dose any one have a good things to say about it sonically or is this just a ok buy?
Buying previous gen model is a good option, I've seen the 7701 pretty cheap too. lowest £999

Pivetta Opera
Bose Jewel speakers.
fatbottom is offline  
post #12540 of 13054 Old 02-08-2015, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by exm View Post
I think most users here are not using the built-in hub. Don't forget also that it's not a gigabit hub
I use the hub because the 8-port switch in my rack is full.
bweissman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off