Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 427 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #12781 of 12803 Unread 04-22-2015, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing, cycling or kayaking ) - Sacramento CA area
Posts: 6,640
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Do you have price protection that covers the one that you sold me at the end of last year? I guess I should have waited...

The boss wasn't on vacation that week !

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Call me on my direct line - 585-671-2972, 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday
Email me at craig@avscience.com http://shop.avscience.com/
Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SIM2, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, and many more!
Craig Peer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12782 of 12803 Unread 04-22-2015, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
Posts: 4,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1128 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
The boss wasn't on vacation that week !
better than the black Friday deal I received?....

Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Pioneer SC77 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009 Mirage Omni sat speaker system

Last edited by turnne1; 04-22-2015 at 07:08 PM.
turnne1 is offline  
post #12783 of 12803 Unread 04-25-2015, 02:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grigorianvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 597
I have a problem. My surround HDMI headphones dont work with the AV8801. They did work fine with my previous AVR, a Pioneer Elite VSX-53. I am attaching a screenshot of connections. It is in Japanese (they are sold there mostly, there is no English manual, sorry), but the diagram is pretty simple and does not need a translation. Basically, monitor out from AV8801 goes into the headphones processor , from there HDMI out goes into the TV. Simple. But it does not work. The only explanation thaat comes to mind is HDCP or a higher HDMI version in the AV8801 as opposed to the Pioneer Elite I used to have.
There are a couple of workarounds.
1) Get a 6.35mm 1/4" Stereo plug to 2 x RCA Female Socket Audio Headphone Adapter, connect headphones out on the AV8801 and it will work (I hope). I dont want to go this route because the surround capability will be lost. Besides, this ugly adapter and unsightly RCA cables will be hanging on the front panel of the otherwise gorgeous Marantz!
2) Connect Media Server RCA out on the back panel of the Marantz. This is what I have now. The problem that this ONLY sends the Media Server audio to the headphones, BluRay, DVR and all other sources do not.
Question: why wouldn't HDMI work with the headphones? What would you suggest I do? Thanks a lot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	19
Size:	149.7 KB
ID:	684969  

Atlanta Appliances Repair
DAC: Peachtree DAC*ITX || BD Player: Pioneer Elite BDP-41FD || Processor: Marantz AV8801 11.2 Ch || Power Amps: Emotiva XPR-2 (600W), Emotiva XPA-5 Gen 2 (200W) || L/R Speakers: Polk LSiM-705 , Magnepan 2.7, Center : Polk LSiM-704C, Sur: Polk LSiM703 || Sub 1: Sunfire HRS-10 (1,000W). Sub 2: Sunfire True Signature TS-EQ12 (2,700W) ||
grigorianvlad is offline  
post #12784 of 12803 Unread 04-25-2015, 02:46 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,843
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3938 Post(s)
Liked: 2240
^^
If connected to one of the main zone HDMI outputs, the "HDMI Audio Out" setting would have to be set to "TV" in order to pass the audio along with the video, otherwise the Zone 4 HDMI Out will pass audio/video by default.
grigorianvlad likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 04-25-2015 at 02:56 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12785 of 12803 Unread 04-25-2015, 04:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grigorianvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
If connected to one of the main zone HDMI outputs, the "HDMI Audio Out" setting would have to be set to "TV" in order to pass the audio along with the video, otherwise the Zone 4 HDMI Out will pass audio/video by default.
I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your help, JD. Switching to "TV" did the trick! This is the third problem you helped me resolved. Thanks a lot.
WLGeter likes this.

Atlanta Appliances Repair
DAC: Peachtree DAC*ITX || BD Player: Pioneer Elite BDP-41FD || Processor: Marantz AV8801 11.2 Ch || Power Amps: Emotiva XPR-2 (600W), Emotiva XPA-5 Gen 2 (200W) || L/R Speakers: Polk LSiM-705 , Magnepan 2.7, Center : Polk LSiM-704C, Sur: Polk LSiM703 || Sub 1: Sunfire HRS-10 (1,000W). Sub 2: Sunfire True Signature TS-EQ12 (2,700W) ||
grigorianvlad is offline  
post #12786 of 12803 Unread 04-25-2015, 04:09 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,843
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3938 Post(s)
Liked: 2240
^^
Note also that if using an analog connection to headphones, you can also connect to either the Zone 2/3 pre-outs or the Media Player analog output (mirrors Zone 2 pre-out) but doing so would not pass HDMI sources, rather only analog and networking (unlike the newer AV8802 which can also pass 2.0 HDMI and optical/digital coax to Zone 2).
grigorianvlad likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12787 of 12803 Unread 04-25-2015, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grigorianvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Note also that if using an analog connection to headphones, you can also connect to either the Zone 2/3 pre-outs or the Media Player analog output (mirrors Zone 2 pre-out) but doing so would not pass HDMI sources, rather only analog and networking (unlike the newer AV8802 which can also pass 2.0 HDMI and optical/digital coax to Zone 2).
It all works now. For a minute there was another issue. I tested the BluRay player. The signal was DTS-HD MSTR on disk. But the AV8801 showed "Stereo". As soon as I switched from "TV" to "AVP", the signal was correct, but there was no sound in the headphones. But as soon as I switched back to "TV" the Marantz showed the correct DTS-HD MSTR and headphones started to work as well. Must have reset somehow. So, it all works now.
So, thanks guys!

Atlanta Appliances Repair
DAC: Peachtree DAC*ITX || BD Player: Pioneer Elite BDP-41FD || Processor: Marantz AV8801 11.2 Ch || Power Amps: Emotiva XPR-2 (600W), Emotiva XPA-5 Gen 2 (200W) || L/R Speakers: Polk LSiM-705 , Magnepan 2.7, Center : Polk LSiM-704C, Sur: Polk LSiM703 || Sub 1: Sunfire HRS-10 (1,000W). Sub 2: Sunfire True Signature TS-EQ12 (2,700W) ||
grigorianvlad is offline  
post #12788 of 12803 Unread 04-25-2015, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Is there a way for me to do a firmware update if the networking card is not present in my 8801? I bought it 'for parts or not working' and it is missing the network card.
edfowler is online now  
post #12789 of 12803 Unread 04-25-2015, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,690
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2550 Post(s)
Liked: 1273
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
Is there a way for me to do a firmware update if the networking card is not present in my 8801? I bought it 'for parts or not working' and it is missing the network card.
Not that I know of. An 8801 without network connectivity is really crippled. No web access. No configuration load/save. No network apps. No firmware update. Have you considered purchasing a network card?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #12790 of 12803 Unread 04-25-2015, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Not that I know of. An 8801 without network connectivity is really crippled. No web access. No configuration load/save. No network apps. No firmware update. Have you considered purchasing a network card?
Maybe, but a network card costs $234. If I buy one of those then I will have $335 in it. I don't know if it is worth that to me since I only use it for two channel playback.
edfowler is online now  
post #12791 of 12803 Unread 04-25-2015, 02:53 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,843
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3938 Post(s)
Liked: 2240
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
Is there a way for me to do a firmware update if the networking card is not present in my 8801? I bought it 'for parts or not working' and it is missing the network card.
Not as an owner, no. A repair facility could likely do it though.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12792 of 12803 Unread 04-25-2015, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Not as an owner, no. A repair facility could likely do it though.
Problem is, I cannot get in contact with the Marantz repair facility closest to me. They don't answer their phone or respond to emails.
edfowler is online now  
post #12793 of 12803 Unread 04-25-2015, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,690
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2550 Post(s)
Liked: 1273
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
Maybe, but a network card costs $234. If I buy one of those then I will have $335 in it. I don't know if it is worth that to me since I only use it for two channel playback.
Wow, $335 invested in a $3,000 piece of equipment. What were you thinking?

Why do you think you need a firmware update? Are you missing a feature, or having an issue?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #12794 of 12803 Unread 04-25-2015, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I am not having any issues, I have just read in a few places that a certain firmware update had improved the sound quality or something like that.

And thanks for noticing my fortunate investment. There was one other guy that tried to snipe the auction but I was fortunate enough to bid $101.99 while he tried to snipe in at $101.00 even. I don't think I will ever run across a deal like that again. I will have to hand it to the seller too. He packed it very well and went through with the sale even though it was a give away. I'm just tickled that it works.

It was missing the network card, two knobs, and the top and side covers. I think I may make my own covers out of copper and the knobs are cheap. Like I said though, the only thing I would use the network card for would be firmware updates.

It does sound nice
edfowler is online now  
post #12795 of 12803 Unread 04-25-2015, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
Posts: 4,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1128 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Wow, $335 invested in a $3,000 piece of equipment. What were you thinking?
I certainly hope no one actually paid $3000...

Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
I am not having any issues, I have just read in a few places that a certain firmware update had improved the sound quality or something like that.

And thanks for noticing my fortunate investment. There was one other guy that tried to snipe the auction but I was fortunate enough to bid $101.99 while he tried to snipe in at $101.00 even. I don't think I will ever run across a deal like that again. I will have to hand it to the seller too. He packed it very well and went through with the sale even though it was a give away. I'm just tickled that it works.

It was missing the network card, two knobs, and the top and side covers. I think I may make my own covers out of copper and the knobs are cheap. Like I said though, the only thing I would use the network card for would be firmware updates.

It does sound nice
sounds like a good deal

IMO...I would not invest that amount in a network card

Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Pioneer SC77 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #12796 of 12803 Unread 04-27-2015, 11:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by btran33 View Post
Hi Everyone:
I tried to search for this problem but can't seem to find a solution. Last night, when listened to music I started to notice that the Front Left Channel volume was lower than the right.
Bao Tran
I have an AV8801 and I have found a similar fault but with the right hand channel. I am not using balanced interconnects, but phono cables.

I tried the usual things e.g. swap cables and change amp channel but to no effect.

I contacted the suppling dealer, and after trying a factory reset which didn't wori, they arranged for collection so they could test the unit themselves. They tested it and confirmed the right hand channel volume was faulty.

It was then returned for repair back to Marantz. Marantz sent the unit to SST for repair. After a couple of weeks I followed up to find what was happening to be told by an SST engineer that there is no fault with the unit and it is perfect.

I am presuming this must be an intermittent fault, so I pushed a bit further and they are now suggesting as a precautionary measure they want to change the HDMI board.

I was wondering if btran33 managed to get a resolution to the issue he found, or whether anyone else had come across this issue?
eddiesteadygo is offline  
post #12797 of 12803 Unread 05-02-2015, 06:55 AM
Member
 
robert555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi Res Audio File

I just bought my first Hi Res album that I play through I-Tunes hard wired to my Marantz 8801. The file size is about 20 times a 256 kpbs file
at 192/ 24. Do I have to adjust any audio setting in the 8801 for the DAC's to play 192/ 24 files or is it done automatically? Thanks.
robert555 is offline  
post #12798 of 12803 Unread 05-02-2015, 07:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Audiojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Greater Pittsburg
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I think I know the answer already, but just in case that I missed it… The 2 subwoofer outputs can't be designated as front and rear, can they? I'd like to use 2 of my subwoofers for the front and the other output for rear speakers only.

"Suddenly the thought struck me, my floor is someone elses ceiling" - Nils Ferlin
Audiojan is online now  
post #12799 of 12803 Unread 05-02-2015, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,690
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2550 Post(s)
Liked: 1273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiojan View Post
I think I know the answer already, but just in case that I missed it… The 2 subwoofer outputs can't be designated as front and rear, can they? I'd like to use 2 of my subwoofers for the front and the other output for rear speakers only.
Subs receive re-directed bass from any speakers set to Small. It is not possible to separate the speakers into two groups and re-direct a group's bass to a specific subwoofer. So the answer is no.

Since low frequencies are omnidirectional, it is not likely that you would hear any difference anyway, were this possible.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #12800 of 12803 Unread 05-02-2015, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Audiojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Greater Pittsburg
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Thanks AustinJerry. That's what I was afraid of. The reason why I'd like to do this is so I can use one set of subwoofers with the front speakers (i.e. when listening to stereo music) and the other set only when watching movies. I guess I can figure out a way to remote control the power outlet (ZigBee for example) for the rear subwoofers...

"Suddenly the thought struck me, my floor is someone elses ceiling" - Nils Ferlin
Audiojan is online now  
post #12801 of 12803 Unread 05-02-2015, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,690
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2550 Post(s)
Liked: 1273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiojan View Post
Thanks AustinJerry. That's what I was afraid of. The reason why I'd like to do this is so I can use one set of subwoofers with the front speakers (i.e. when listening to stereo music) and the other set only when watching movies. I guess I can figure out a way to remote control the power outlet (ZigBee for example) for the rear subwoofers...
I still don't understand. The overall objective for both music and movies should be smooth, balanced bass. Assuming you have gone to the trouble to make sure the subs are positioned for best bass response, the combined output of four subs is likely to be much smoother than just two subs. And since the bass is Omani-directional, you won't be able to isolate the rear subs when listening to two-channel stereo music.

This assumes, of course, that all your subs are of reasonable quality and closely matched. If the front subs are significantly better quality, or different output, then perhaps my conclusion would be different.

So, I don't mean to be disrespectful, but I think your objective is flawed.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #12802 of 12803 Unread 05-14-2015, 01:53 PM
Senior Member
 
baranowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Does anyone use the Ir extender for the marnatz? the RX101?

I am looking for your thoughts and possible one to try.

shoot me a PM.

Thanks,
Bill
baranowski is offline  
post #12803 of 12803 Unread Today, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikenificent1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Just curious why you dumped the 7702 for the 8801 in the first place? From a lot of accounts, including my own, the preference is the sound and format of the 7702 over the 8801.
Does anyone else agree with this? Is this with an apples to apples comparison? i.e. no Atmos etc.
Mikenificent1 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off