Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 429 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12841 of 12856 Old 06-16-2015, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Immoros's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone here using a Harmony remote found a way to have a specific sound mode selected as part of an activity?

I have an activity for Whole House Audio that selects my Sonos Input, and a separate activity for Living Room Audio, and am trying to figure out how I can have the former switch to All Channel Stereo but the latter switch to Stereo. I can have the activity select "Mode Music" as part of the startup, but don't see a way to select or move to the specific mode within the "Mode Music" category.
Immoros is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12842 of 12856 Old 06-16-2015, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,965
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2768 Post(s)
Liked: 1410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Immoros View Post
Has anyone here using a Harmony remote found a way to have a specific sound mode selected as part of an activity?

I have an activity for Whole House Audio that selects my Sonos Input, and a separate activity for Living Room Audio, and am trying to figure out how I can have the former switch to All Channel Stereo but the latter switch to Stereo. I can have the activity select "Mode Music" as part of the startup, but don't see a way to select or move to the specific mode within the "Mode Music" category.
If those are separate inputs on the 8801, then each input should remember the mode last used on that input. Assuming you don't change modes on the input, that should work, shouldn't it? Otherwise, I don't know how the Harmony could invoke the "Music" command and select "All channel stero" from the choices.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #12843 of 12856 Old 06-16-2015, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikenificent1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post

It's an easily solved issue. If the components change somehow during the burn-in period, and this change has an audible effect, then all one needs to do is measure the unit when it is brand new, out of the box, and measure it again after whatever period this burn-in is supposed to take. If the components have indeed changed in a way that will deliver audible differences, then this will be easily seen in the resulting measurements. Has anyone ever published such a set of measurements?
So if it's so easy then why didn't you do it already instead of talking out of your... Also has anyone ever published measurements that showed there was no change?? I didn't think so.
Mikenificent1 is offline  
post #12844 of 12856 Old 06-16-2015, 12:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 22,768
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4520 Post(s)
Liked: 3359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikenificent1 View Post
So if it's so easy then why didn't you do it already instead of talking out of your... Also has anyone ever published measurements that showed there was no change?? I didn't think so.
It wasn't me who was making the claim. The burden of proof is always on the person making the claim.
wyliec2 likes this.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #12845 of 12856 Old 06-28-2015, 11:01 AM
Newbie
 
neilramsingh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Damaged/failing output from preamp?

Hello all, not sure if this has been covered or if anyone is able to help, but I'm experiencing a low output signal from the surround right channel of my preamp. For example, when running the test tones, if all channels are at 0db, the surround right channel would have to be at +5db to sound the same (volume wise). When listening to sources, the sound is fine, just the trim must be cranked up on that particular channel to achieve the balanced volume level of the other channels for example. (distances, wires, interconnects have all been checked) (not running audyssey)

i definitely narrowed it down to the surround right channel being the issue, but which electrical component would cause this?
neilramsingh is offline  
post #12846 of 12856 Old 06-28-2015, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Neil are you using a sound meter to verify your levels?
Also have you swapped speaker connection

Last edited by Audiguy3; 06-28-2015 at 12:12 PM.
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #12847 of 12856 Old 06-29-2015, 12:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
A couple of questions from a new owner of an AV8801

  1. Can anyone tell me if it is possible to disable the large Marantz logo that is displayed on the monitor when listening to two channel audio with no video signal (eg CD input)? I would like just a black screen. I know I could just turn off the monitor, but I like having the graphic volume display that pops on when adjusted.
  2. Is there any way to fully power down the unit with the remote? My Crown power amps (which have no remote control) are plugged into a switched power bar that automatically turns off when a third device plugged into the same power bar is powered down. I want the AV8801 to be that third controlling device, so that when turned off, the power amps are shut down. However, when the AV8801 goes into standby, it draws enough power that the power bar considers it to still be on and thus will not turn off the power amps.
warc1 is offline  
post #12848 of 12856 Old 06-29-2015, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,965
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2768 Post(s)
Liked: 1410
Quote:
Originally Posted by warc1 View Post
A couple of questions from a new owner of an AV8801

  1. Can anyone tell me if it is possible to disable the large Marantz logo that is displayed on the monitor when listening to two channel audio with no video signal (eg CD input)? I would like just a black screen. I know I could just turn off the monitor, but I like having the graphic volume display that pops on when adjusted.
  2. Is there any way to fully power down the unit with the remote? My Crown power amps (which have no remote control) are plugged into a switched power bar that automatically turns off when a third device plugged into the same power bar is powered down. I want the AV8801 to be that third controlling device, so that when turned off, the power amps are shut down. However, when the AV8801 goes into standby, it draws enough power that the power bar considers it to still be on and thus will not turn off the power amps.
1. Unfortunately not. What you are referring to is the "Wallpaper", and there is no way to defeat the display of the "Marantz" name.

2. Have you tried the Network setting? There are two choices, "Always On" and "Off in Standby". The second option may reduce the current draw low enough to trigger your power strip. Of course, "Off in Standby" disables the ability to wake up the 8801 using the web interface, if that is a feature you use, so there may be a trade-off.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #12849 of 12856 Old 06-29-2015, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
1. Unfortunately not. What you are referring to is the "Wallpaper", and there is no way to defeat the display of the "Marantz" name.

2. Have you tried the Network setting? There are two choices, "Always On" and "Off in Standby". The second option may reduce the current draw low enough to trigger your power strip. Of course, "Off in Standby" disables the ability to wake up the 8801 using the web interface, if that is a feature you use, so there may be a trade-off.
Thanks for the reply. Changing the network setting to "Off in Standby" worked. I use a Harmony Hub to control all of my HT gear so the web interface is not a necessity for me.
warc1 is offline  
post #12850 of 12856 Old 06-30-2015, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Aetherhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I'm very late to the game, but I am excited to be joining the 8801 club. I will probably pick mine up in a week or so. I have to wait until the guy I am buying it from gets his upgrade.

This unit will be replacing my Denon AVP-A1HDCI. I was originally looking at getting the 8802, but I'm still not quite ready to jump onto Atmos/DTS-X. I figured that the 8801 would be a great stop-gap until I was ready to make the move.

It also helps that I'm getting it for an absolute steal.

"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." - Groucho Marx
Aetherhole is offline  
post #12851 of 12856 Old Today, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
kiwi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If present owners of the 8801 had the chance to change for no cost would you move to the 7702?
kiwi2000 is online now  
post #12852 of 12856 Old Today, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,965
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2768 Post(s)
Liked: 1410
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwi2000 View Post
If present owners of the 8801 had the chance to change for no cost would you move to the 7702?
I would be tempted to consider the 8802, not the 7702. However, there are three factors holding me back. First of all, I use a MiniDSP DDRC-88A with Dirac Live for room correction. The 88A is limited to 8 channels, so it would be difficult for me to take advantage of the additional sound channels for Atmos. (At least one 88A owner is currently experimenting with a second unit to correct the Atmos channels, but it is too early to know how successful this will be). Second, I have zero interest in immersive sound technologies at this time. And finally, I enjoy up-converting 2-channel music to PLII, and the newer Marantz/Denon unis have dropped Pro Logic in favor of DSU. At least one report from a AVS member I respect has reported that DSU is less pleasing than Pro Logic for music content. Since my primary focus is music, I am reluctant to invest in the expensive 8802, risking a step backward in music enjoyment.

So, as far as upgrades go, I am in a holding pattern, perfectly content with my 8801.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #12853 of 12856 Old Today, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 9,085
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I would be tempted to consider the 8802, not the 7702. However, there are three factors holding me back. First of all, I use a MiniDSP DDRC-88A with Dirac Live for room correction. The 88A is limited to 8 channels, so it would be difficult for me to take advantage of the additional sound channels for Atmos. (At least one 88A owner is currently experimenting with a second unit to correct the Atmos channels, but it is too early to know how successful this will be). Second, I have zero interest in immersive sound technologies at this time. And finally, I enjoy up-converting 2-channel music to PLII, and the newer Marantz/Denon unis have dropped Pro Logic in favor of DSU. At least one report from a AVS member I respect has reported that DSU is less pleasing than Pro Logic for music content. Since my primary focus is music, I am reluctant to invest in the expensive 8802, risking a step backward in music enjoyment.

So, as far as upgrades go, I am in a holding pattern, perfectly content with my 8801.

Perhaps you should consider the XMC-1... It has the feature set that matches your requirements.


- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 + A21 + A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
For Sale: Revel Salons and Revel Studios (together or separately)
RichB is online now  
post #12854 of 12856 Old Today, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,965
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2768 Post(s)
Liked: 1410
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post
Perhaps you should consider the XMC-1... It has the feature set that matches your requirements.


- Rich
I follow the XMC-1 thread, and there are some remaining issues with that equipment.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #12855 of 12856 Old Today, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
kiwi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
AustinJerry wrote

Quote:
I would be tempted to consider the 8802, not the 7702. However, there are three factors holding me back. First of all, I use a MiniDSP DDRC-88A with Dirac Live for room correction. The 88A is limited to 8 channels, so it would be difficult for me to take advantage of the additional sound channels for Atmos. (At least one 88A owner is currently experimenting with a second unit to correct the Atmos channels, but it is too early to know how successful this will be). Second, I have zero interest in immersive sound technologies at this time. And finally, I enjoy up-converting 2-channel music to PLII, and the newer Marantz/Denon unis have dropped Pro Logic in favor of DSU. At least one report from a AVS member I respect has reported that DSU is less pleasing than Pro Logic for music content. Since my primary focus is music, I am reluctant to invest in the expensive 8802, risking a step backward in music enjoyment.

So, as far as upgrades go, I am in a holding pattern, perfectly content with my 8801.
Isn't PL11 immersive?
What do you mean by DSU?

I am also reluctant to invest in the expensive 8802 especially with the 7702MK11 arriving later this year. Spotify connect is an excellent feature that my unit does not have and one that the 7702 does. Atmos is neitehr here nor there for me but I might be sorry later.
kiwi2000 is online now  
post #12856 of 12856 Old Today, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,965
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2768 Post(s)
Liked: 1410
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwi2000 View Post
AustinJerry wrote



Isn't PL11 immersive?
What do you mean by DSU?

I am also reluctant to invest in the expensive 8802 especially with the 7702MK11 arriving later this year. Spotify connect is an excellent feature that my unit does not have and one that the 7702 does. Atmos is neitehr here nor there for me but I might be sorry later.
"Immersive audio" is a term that specifically refers to Dolby Atmos and Auro. So in that strict sense, Pro Logic is not "immersive". I may have the acronym wrong, but DSU is the technology that replaced Pro Logic, and involves the ceiling speakers as well. Personally, I don't care for ceiling speakers to be involved in music reproduction, even if only for ambient sounds. When I had Audyssey Heights and Wides, I didn't like those speakers to reproduce music either. Of course, with the 7702 or the 8802, I could use Stereo for 2-channel music, but I like to retain the option of using PLII Music mode as well.
AustinJerry is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off